DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an individual protection device” in claim 1 and “a switching-off apparatus” in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5, 8-10, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the individual protection devices" in line 2 and claims 3-5, 8-9, and 17 each recite the limitation “the at least one individual protection device”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Claim 2 lines 1-2 recites “…a respective one of the individual protection devices…” Claim 1, from which claim 2 depends from, recites a singular individual protection device. It is unclear if claim 2 requires just one or more than one individual protection devices. Did the applicant intend claim 1 to recite “…at least one individual protection device…”?
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the at least one access region" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the at least one tufting station" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This is also unclear as claim 1, from which claim 10 depends, requires “at least two tufting stations.” Similarly, claim 17 requires “the tufting station” instead of plural “tufting stations” that are required by claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6, 11-14, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rioja et al., US 2023/0263299 A1.
The applied reference has a common applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 1, Rioja et al. disclose an apparatus for producing brushware (1) comprising: at least two tufting stations (3, 4, 23, 25, 26, 27) for tufting tufts of bristles in brushware bodies (Abstract, 2); a shared working space in which the tufting stations are arranged (8, see Figures); and an individual protection device for at least one of the tufting stations (16, 17; protective fence that is a light barrier or light grid, see paragraphs [0054]-[0057]), the individual protection device is configured to separate an access region that comprises the tufting stations from the working space (access region at 7, fence portion 17 separates the working space 8 from access region 7, Figures 1-5). Regarding claim 3, at least one individual protection device at least temporarily comprises a protective partition and forms a protective partition (fence portion 17) which separates the access region (7) from a remainder of the working space (8, see Figures). Regarding claim 4, at least one individual protection device comprises an optical protective partition comprising at least one of a light barrier, a light curtain, or a light grid (paragraphs [0017]-[0018], [0054]). Regarding claim 6, there is a switching-off apparatus, which is configured to at least deactivate the other of at least two tufting stations when a protective partition of the individual protection device is breached (apparatus not shown, see paragraphs [0016] and [0055]). Regarding claim 11, the at least two tufting stations are functionally redundant to one another (3 and 4 are redundant, see Abstract and paragraphs [0021], [0069]). Regarding claim 12, the apparatus comprises at least one station for processing and/or handling at least one of brushware or brushware bodies (27, paragraph [0063]). Regarding claim 13, there is a transport apparatus (28) having at least one transport holder (29), which is configured to move at least one of brushware or brushware bodies between stations inside the working space (paragraph [0064]). Regarding claim 14, the transport apparatus comprises at least two transport planes (a plurality of axes, paragraph [0064]) in which the transport holder is moveable between the stations (paragraph [0064]). Regarding claim 19, there is a method comprising continuing to operate at least one of the two tufting stations in the working space when the individual protection device assigned to another one of the at least two tufting stations is activated and an access region containing the other tufting station is separated from the working space (paragraphs [0044]-[0045], see Figures 1-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zahoransky, DE 4009585 A1 (see English translation) in view of Lohmann et al., EP 1437542 A1 (see English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Zahoransky discloses an apparatus (1) for producing brushware (4), the apparatus comprising at least two tufting stations for tufting tufts of bristles in brushware bodies (tamping machines 2, 2a, 2b); a shared working space in which the tufting stations are arranged (the space surrounding the apparatus 1 in Figure 1); and access region that comprises the tufting stations from the working space (unlabeled, each tufting station 2, 2a, 2b are in an access region). Regarding claim 11, the at least two tufting stations are functionally redundant to one another (Figure 1, in that 2, 2a, 2b are tamping machines). Regarding claim 12, there is at least one station for processing and/or handling at least one of brushware or brushware bodies (6, 7, or 8, see also Figures).
Zahoransky recognizes that brush manufacturing stations encounter malfunctions (paragraphs [0002], [0007]), but does not disclose an individual protection device configured to separate an access region from the working space, the individual protection device being an optical protective partition.
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Lohmann et al. teach a an individual protection device that comprises an optical protective partition comprising a light barrier (6, Title, see English translation, protects people from risks that arise from proximity to machine tools). Regarding claim 5, the protection device comprises a light source (7, see English translation paragraph [0027]), a light sink (10), or a deflection mirror (20) for forming an optical protective partition (6, Figures 1-4). Regarding claim 6, there is a switching off apparatus configured to deactivate stations when a protective partition of the individual protection device is breached (binary switching signal, see English translation paragraph [0033] regarding interruptions of the beams by object 13). Lohmann et al. teaches that an individual protective device that is an optical protective partition that is a light barrier is advantageous when protecting individuals in safety critical areas of machines or machine installations to minimize the risk of injury to a person working in that area (see paragraphs [0003]-[0004], [0008]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the working space of the apparatus of Zahoransky to include an individual protection device that is an optical protective partition comprising a light barrier, as Lohmann et al. teach, so that an operator in the proximity of the tufting stations can reduce their risk of injury in the access region of the tufting stations, especially if there is a malfunction at a station.
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zahoransky, DE 4009585 A1 (see English translation) and Lohmann et al., EP 1437542 A1 (see English translation).
Zahoransky and Lohmann et al. disclose all elements previously discussed above, however neither particularly state that there are more than one individual protection devices so that one is provided for each tufting station wherein the individual protection device separates the access region from a remainder of the working space. Regarding claims 2-3, in Zahoransky there are multiple tufting devices (2, 2a, 2b) and each have an access region within the working space (the unlabeled area surrounding each station where 2, 2a, 2b are located in Figure 1).
As previously stated, Lohmann et al. teach that an individual protective device (an optical protective partition that is a light barrier) is advantageous when protecting individuals in safety critical areas of machines or machine installations to minimize the risk of injury to a person working in that area (see paragraphs [0003]-[0004], [0008]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify each of the tufting stations and each respective access region of Zahoransky so that there is an individual protection device, such as the one taught by Lohmann et al. provided for each station and separates each access region from a remainder of the working space in order to separately protect any and all operators that are at any of the individual tufting stations. In addition MPEP 2144.04 recites that a mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the number of individual protection devices of Zahoransky and Lohmann et al. so that each tufting station has its own protection device.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zahoransky, DE 4009585 A1 (see English translation) and Lohmann et al., EP 1437542 A1 (see English translation) as applied to claim 1, in view of Iida, WO 2007/010795 A1 (see English translation).
Zahoransky and Lohmann et al. disclose all elements previously discussed above, however fail to disclose a protective enclosure which surrounds the working space. With regards to claim 8, the access regions of Zahoransky is separable from the working space by the at least one individual protection device taught by Lohmann et al. (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Iida et al. teach a working space (100) within which a robot (15a, “picking work, machining work, assembling work and the like”) performs operations. Regarding claims 7-8, Iida teaches that it is advantageous to provide a protective enclosure around the working space (16, paragraph [0059]) in order to protect the operator or worker nearby (claim 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Zahoransky and Lohmann et al. to further include a protective enclosure which surrounds the working space, as taught by Ilya et al., in order to protect the safety of a worker or operator that is near the apparatus.
Claim(s) 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zahoransky, DE 4009585 A1 (see English translation) and Lohmann et al., EP 1437542 A1 (see English translation) as applied to claim 1, in view of Boucherie et al., WO 2021/204853 A1 (see English translation).
Zahoransky and Lohmann et al. disclose all elements previously discussed above. Zahoransky discusses tufting stations in general (2, 2a, 2b, see paragraph [0020]) but does not discuss in detail the tufting process or equipment used in tufting, and in particular does not disclose a transport holder configured to move brushware or brushware bodies or a tufting tool moveable to working positions in each of at least two transport planes.
Boucherie et al. teach an apparatus for producing brushware (Title) that comprises at least two tufting stations (18, English translation paragraphs [0018] and [0022]) for tufting tufts of bristles in brushware bodies (brush body 32). Regarding claim 13, within the apparatus and tufting station, there further comprises a transport apparatus having at least one transport holder (12, 30; Figures 1 and 5) which is configured to move at least one of brushware or brushware bodies between stations inside a working space (Figure 1, English translation paragraphs [0006]-[0007]). Regarding claim 14, the transport apparatus comprises at least two transport planes, in each of which at least one transport holder is moveable between the stations (moves vertically along H, Figure 2; moves about axis M in Figure 5). Regarding claim 15, at least one of the tufting stations comprises a tufting tool (18, 52) which is movable to working positions in each of the at least two transport planes of the transport apparatus (see directional arrows at 52 in Figures 3-4), and at least one of the tufting stations comprises a guide (unlabeled support of 52), along which the tufting tool is moveable to the working positions in the at least two transport planes of the transport apparatus (vertically at arrow P in Figure 3 and horizontally towards 12 in Figure 3). Regarding claim 16, the at least two tufting stations (English translation paragraph [0022]) include a number of tufting stations that corresponds to a number of the transport planes of the transport apparatus (two tufting stations and two planes, see above discussion), and each of the tufting stations comprise a respective one of the tufting tools (52) and each of the transport planes is assigned a respective one of the tufting tools (tool 52 can be present in both planes of the transport apparatus, see Figures). The tufting stations taught by Boucherie et al. equipped with a transport apparatus, transport holder, and transport planes is designed for increasing the process speed in which brushware can be manufactured (see English translation paragraphs [0025], [0027]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the tufting stations of Zahoransky and Lohmann et al. for the ones taught by Boucherie et al. so that the tufting stations can produce brushware and an increased speed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 and 17-18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As best understood, none of the prior art made of record discloses, teaches, or suggests the invention of claims 9-10 and 17-18. Ilya et al. does not teach that the enclosure is openable in the access region, and the individual protection device is configured to be activated by opening the protective enclosure in the access region. Ilya et al. also does not teach a controller configured to activate the individual protection device when the protective enclosure is opened or is open in the access region, or to deactivate a tufting station.
Conclusion
/LAURA C GUIDOTTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723
lcg