DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim 16-20 is withdrawn from consideration
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 4 August 2026 is acknowledged. Claim 15 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8 and 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2004/0238481) in view of Graham et al. (US 2018/0258546).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses an electroplating system [0044], [0047] (= an electroplating system), comprising:
receptable (1008) (Figure 1A) (= a vessel);
nozzle head within the receptable, the nozzle head comprising a plate (Figure 2) defining a plurality of nozzle openings (1014) through a thickness of the plate [0037] (= a spray jet array disposed within the interior of the vessel, the spray jet array comprising a plate defining a plurality of apertures through a thickness of the plate); and
at least one pump (1020) that is fluidly coupled with an inlet of each of the nozzle openings (Figure 1A) (= at least one fluid pump that is fluidly coupled with an inlet end of each of the plurality of apertures).
Wang differs from the instant claim in that although Wang includes an actuator controlling the chuck (1002) supporting the wafer, Wang does not explicitly disclose a head.
To explicitly teach the concept of a head, Graham is herein cited for disclosing an electroplating device comprising a wafer holder unit (111) comprising an assembly (101) (= head) for supporting and moving a substrate [0094]-[0095] (Figure 1B). Graham for example teaches the clamshell with the cup and a cone for enabling pressure to be applied between the wafer and the seal, thereby securing the wafer in the cup [0094].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a device comprising a head because Graham discloses an assembly for securing a wafer within the device. It would have been obvious to modify the device of Wang with an assembly for securing the wafer within the device.
Regarding claims 2-3, Wang discloses wherein the chuck is rotatable (abstract). Wang discloses wherein the chuck is moveable in the lateral direction, x-axis (Figure 1A, [0049]). Therefore the device of Wang is capable of positioning the center of rotation of the head (or chuck) offset from a center of the nozzle head. Wang in view of Graham discloses the claimed head. Additionally to claim 3, Wang discloses the nozzles moving in the x-axis direction [0049].
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses the plate comprising interior elements of the nozzles such as electrodes (1056, 1060) forming a tube structure within the nozzle (Figures 1D, 1E).
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses channels can range from about 0.1 mm to about 10 mm, which overlaps the claimed range [0146]. Wang discloses the size of the channels can be about one tenth of nozzle diameter. The range of Wang (e.g. 10 x 0.1 mm = 1 mm) overlaps the claimed range therefore a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses additional channel configurations within the nozzle (see Figure 6). The channel sizing is about 0.1 to 10 mm. Wang discloses the channel diameter can be about one tenth of nozzle diameter. In figure 6, Wang discloses an assortment of arrangements of channels. Additionally, Wang discloses varying the pitch between nozzles (Figure 13). Wang further discloses controlling a flow rate depending on nozzle sizes and the distance between the nozzle and the wafer [0040]. Given the collective teachings of Wang, all of the elements including pitch, diameter, gap distance are variable. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize varying the ratios amongst the ranges including pitch, diameter, gap, etc. and arrive at a value of the claimed range by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 11, Wang in view of Graham discloses the claimed invention as applied above. Wang discloses a power supply (1030) [0041].
Regarding claims 12-13, Wang discloses multiple nozzles and channels (= first plurality and second plurality). Wang discloses a liquid mass flow control that can control the amount and rate of electrolyte fluid delivered to the nozzles [0037] including a separate pump for each nozzle [0039]. Additionally, Wang discloses electrolyte fluid directed to each individual nozzle used [0111] (Figure 1A). Wang discloses the power supply (1040). Wang depicts separate, individual power lines in Figures 2-4.
Regarding claim 14, Wang discloses additional channel configurations within the nozzle (see Figure 6). The channel sizing is about 0.1 to 10 mm. Given the sizing of the channels, Wang appears to satisfy the claimed average pitch of the plurality of apertures is no greater than 12 mm given the depiction of the close packed channels of for example Figure 6I.
Regarding claim 15, Wang discloses controlling a flow rate depending on nozzle sizes and the distance between the nozzle and the wafer (= gap distance between outlet and head or wafer position) [0040]. Wang discloses displacing the wafer chuck in various directions depending on the particular application [0093]. The disclosure of Wang is capable of performing the claimed manner of operating since Wang discloses distance adjustment between the wafer and nozzles.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2004/0238481), in view of Graham et al. (US 2018/0258546) and in further view of Hu et al. (CN 114717636).
Regarding claim 9, Wang in view of Graham fails to disclose wherein the plate defines a plurality of drain tubes.
Hu discloses an electroplating device comprising a spray plate (1) and return port (9) (Figure 1, [n0059]). Hu discloses the spray disc with through holes (12) and return channels (13). Hu teaches that the liquid is sprayed into the inner cavity through the inlet (10) and after being sprayed out through the through holes (12), the liquid passes through the anode [0077]. Hu further teaches that a return port is opened at the bottom of the liquid collection tank (11) [n0066]. Hu teaches the liquid draining out the port and flowing to the liquid storage tank (40) [n0088].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a device comprising drain tubes because Hu discloses a similar device comprising a return port to collect the liquid and flow it to a storage tank. It would have been obvious to modify the device of Wang in view of Graham with a return port to collect and recirculate processing liquid [n0087]. Regarding multiple drain tubes, there mere duplication of parts has no patentably significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (MPEP § 2144.04 VI B).
Claim(s) 1, 5-6 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dietrich et al. (US 2013/0186852) in view of Graham et al. (US 2018/0258546).
Regarding claim 1, Dietrich discloses an electrolytic device (title) (= an electroplating system) comprising:
A process basin [0035] (= a vessel);
A flow distribution device (1) comprising openings (8) (Figure 2) (= a spray jet array disposed within the interior of the vessel, the spray jet array comprising a plate defining a plurality of apertures through a thickness of the plate);
A pumped process solution flows through at least one outlet opening at a relatively high speed in the direction of the substrate [0011] (= at least one fluid pump that is fluidly coupled with an inlet end of each of the plurality of apertures).
Although Dietrich discloses a suspended substrate (4), Dietrich differs from the instant claim in that Dietrick fails to disclose the claimed head.
To explicitly teach the concept of a head, Graham is herein cited for disclosing an electroplating device comprising a wafer holder unit (111) comprising an assembly (101) (= head) for supporting and moving a substrate [0094]-[0095] (Figure 1B). Graham for example teaches the clamshell with the cup and a cone for enabling pressure to be applied between the wafer and the seal, thereby securing the wafer in the cup [0094].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a device comprising a head because Graham discloses an assembly for securing a wafer within the device. It would have been obvious to modify the device of Dietrich with an assembly for securing the wafer within the device.
Regarding claim 5, Dietrich discloses the plating comprising a first plate (top portion of the distribution body);
Openings (8) and passages (9) (Figure 2) [0042];
The distribution body comprising a second plate (i.e. bottom portion of distribution body);
An outlet of the openings (8) and passages (9) extend through a top surface of the first plate;
An inlet of the openings extends through a bottom surface of the first plate;
An inlet of the passages extends through a bottom surface of the second plate (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, the openings and the passages are arranged about the first plate in an alternating fashion (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 8, Dietrich discloses openings have a diameter of 0.05 to 10 mm [0019] which overlaps with the claimed range therefore a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Regarding claim 9, Dietrich discloses a plurality of passages (9) (= drain tubes).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art alone or in combination does not disclose or render obvious the combination of claim limitations of claims 1 and 5-7. In particular, the prior art does not disclose the at least one fluid pump is fluidly coupled with the first plurality of apertures via the plenum and is fluidly coupled with the second plurality of apertures via the bottom surface of the second plate.
The closest prior art includes the teachings of Dietrich et al. and Wang et al. as described above. Additionally, Dietrich discloses the device comprising individual tubes as the connecting passages (9) [0041] (Figure 3) and wherein a spacing exists of the liquid passage (7). The fluid pump of Dietrich is coupled with the openings and the liquid passages (7). The cited prior art fails to disclose at least one fluid pump is fluidly coupled with the first plurality of apertures via the plenum and is fluidly coupled with the second plurality of apertures via the bottom surface of the second plate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 6,103,096 spray
US 6,080,288 multiple spray apertures
US 2004/0226816 plating device with spray
/Stefanie S Wittenberg/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795