DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-16) in the reply filed on 05/08/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention II (method), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/08/2026.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Threaded member (lead screw or ball screw or the like, para. [0048]) in at least claims 1-16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation " wherein: the mount support" in the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 6 appears to be dependent on claim 1 which does not introduce a mount support, but rather could be dependent on claim 4, which introduces a mount support. Examiner will interpret claim 6 to be dependent on claim 4. Appropriate clarification is requested.
Claims 13, 14, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation " wherein: the mounting bracket is configured to be coupled with a bracket” in the claim. Is the bracket the mounting bracket or a different bracket? Also is the mounting bracket in claim 11 the same as the one introduced in claim 1, or the one introduced in claim 4? It is unclear as the terms have become more nebulous. Examiner interprets broadly. Appropriate clarification is requested in all instances.
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "wherein: the mount support is configured to be secured to a bottom plate of a processing chamber” in the claim. In the specification (para. [0051]) the mount support is recited as merely coupled (not secured) to the bottom plate. Examiner interprets as “"wherein: the mount support is configured to be coupled to a bottom plate of a processing chamber.” Appropriate clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-13, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20190360633 to Schaller.
Claim 11: Schaller discloses a tilt actuator (140, Fig. 2A) for a substrate support assembly, comprising: a motor (138 [servomotor]); a threaded member (208 [bolt], Fig. 2B) that is coupled with an output of the motor (138, para. [0022-0023]); a ramp actuator (218 [inner race]) threadingly engaged with the threaded member (208), wherein the ramp actuator (218) comprises an angled top surface (Fig. 2B);
a mount support (220) comprising an angled bottom surface (Fig. 2B), wherein the angled bottom surface is slidingly engaged with the angled top surface (para. [0025]); and a mounting bracket (206 [guide adaptor]), wherein the ramp actuator (218) is slidable relative to the mounting bracket (206, slides through 220, para. [0025]).
Claim 12: Schaller discloses wherein: the mount support (220, Fig. 2B, Schaller) is configured to be coupled to a bottom plate of a processing chamber (202 of 102).
Claim 13: Schaller discloses wherein: the mounting bracket (220, Fig. 2B, 1) is configured to be coupled with a bracket (116) that secures a substrate support assembly (104 [susceptor assembly]) with a bottom plate of a processing chamber (202 of 102).
Claim 15: Schaller discloses further comprising: a first hard stop (one end of 218, Fig. 2B, Schaller) that limits travel of the ramp actuator (218) in a first direction relative to the mounting bracket (220); and a second hard stop (another end of 218) that limits travel of the ramp actuator (218) in a second direction relative to the mounting bracket (220, 218 having radial motion, para. [0025]).
Claim 16: Schaller discloses wherein: the angled top surface (top surface of 218, Fig. 2B, Schaller) and the angled bottom surface (bottom of 220) are angled in opposite directions relative to horizontal (Fig. 2B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190360633 to Schaller.
Claim 1: Schaller discloses a semiconductor processing chamber, comprising: a chamber body (102 [processing chamber], Fig. 1); a bottom plate (202 [base bracket]) coupled with a bottom surface of the chamber body (120 [chamber base] of 102); a substrate support assembly (104 [substrate support assembly]) disposed within the chamber body (102), the substrate support assembly (104) comprising a support plate (110 [pedestal]) and a support stem (112 [stem]) coupled with the support plate (110, Fig. 1);
a mounting bracket (116 [pedestal assembly carrier]) that couples the support stem (112) with a lower surface of the bottom plate (202); and a plurality of tilt actuators (140 [spherical thrust assemblies]), wherein: each of the plurality of tilt actuators (140) couples the mounting bracket (116) with the lower surface of the bottom plate (202, Fig. 2A); and each of the plurality of tilt actuators (140) is operable to adjust a vertical distance between the lower surface of the bottom plate (202) and the mounting bracket (116) at a mounting site of the respective tilt actuator to adjust a planarity of the support plate (110) relative to the showerhead (para. [0019]).
However Schaller does not disclose adjusting a planarity of the support plate relative to the bottom plate.
Yet Schaller teaches repeatably positioning the pedestal using precision dynamic leveling for the purpose of improving positional resolution (para. [0005]). It is noted that a plate and a shower head both necessarily have substantially flat surfaces to adjust planarity relative to, thus reasonably reading on the claim limitation.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitation above as taught by Schaller with motivation to improve positional resolution.
Claim 2: Schaller discloses further comprising: a ball joint (142 [joint], Fig. 2A, Schaller) that vertically fixes a position of one point of the mounting bracket (116) relative to the bottom plate (202), wherein the plurality of tilt actuators (140) comprises two tilt actuators (140) spaced apart from the ball joint (142).
Claim 3: Schaller discloses further comprising: a faceplate (124 [showerhead], Fig. 1, Schaller) seated atop the chamber body (102, Fig. 1).
Claim 4: Schaller discloses wherein: each of the plurality of tilt actuators (140, Fig. 2A, Schaller) comprises: a motor (138 [servomotor]); a threaded member (208 [bolt], Fig. 2B) that is coupled with an output of the motor (138, para. [0022-0023]); a ramp actuator (218 [inner race]) threadingly engaged with the threaded member (208), wherein the ramp actuator (218) comprises an angled top surface (Fig. 2B);
a mount support (220) comprising an angled bottom surface (Fig. 2B), wherein the angled bottom surface is slidingly engaged with the angled top surface (para. [0025]); and an actuator mounting bracket (206 [guide adaptor]), wherein the ramp actuator (218) is slidable relative to the actuator mounting bracket (206, slides through 220, para. [0025]).
Claim 5: Schaller discloses wherein: the actuator mounting bracket (206, Fig. 2B, Schaller) is coupled with the mounting bracket (116, Fig. 2B).
Claim 6: Schaller discloses wherein: the mount support (220, Fig. 2B, Schaller) is coupled with the lower surface of the bottom plate at a fixed location (202, Fig. 1).
Claim 7: Schaller discloses wherein: the mount support (220) comprises a ball mount (220, Fig. 2B, para. [0025]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaller as applied to claims 1-7 above, and further in view of US 20220316066 to Santiago.
Claim 8: The apparatus of Schaller does not disclose wherein: the plurality of tilt actuators are operable to adjust the planarity of the support plate to have a maximum tilt amplitude of at least 0.5 mm.
However Santiago teaches that it is contemplated that a maximum tilt of the substrate support assembly may be above 0.1 inches or less (and other ranges are given), for the purpose of adjusting the orientation of the support body in relation to the showerhead (para. [0030]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the optimization of maximum tilt as taught by Santiago with motivation to adjust the orientation of the support body in relation to the showerhead.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaller as applied to claims 1-7 above, and further in view of US 20160355927 to Weaver.
Claim 9, 10: The apparatus of Schaller does not disclose (claim 9) wherein: a lift motor coupled with the support stem, the lift motor being operable to translate the substrate support assembly vertically within the chamber body; (claim 10) wherein: the lift motor and the plurality of tilt actuators are operable independently of one another.
Weaver discloses (claim 9) wherein: a lift motor (428 [z-axis motor], fig. 10) coupled with the support stem (160 [shaft]), the lift motor (428) being operable to translate the substrate support assembly (140 [susceptor assembly]) vertically within the chamber body (101 [vacuum chamber]); (claim 10) wherein: the lift motor (428) and the plurality of tilt actuators (316/310 [v-blocks][actuators] of 300 [positioning system]) are operable independently of one another (para. [0055]) for the purpose of positioning the susceptor in close proximity to a gas injector plate (para. [0055]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Weaver with motivation to position the susceptor in close proximity to a gas injector plate.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaller as applied to claims 11-13, 15-16 above, and further in view of US 20160355927 to Weaver.
Claim 14: The apparatus of Schaller does not disclose further comprising: a linear bearing disposed between the ramp actuator and the mounting bracket.
Weaver discloses different kinds of bearings disposed between two components including a linear bearing (379) as an option (Fig. 8A, 8B, para. [0050]) for the purpose of allowing adequate range of motion and providing positive retention of the supported elements (para. [0050]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the radial bearing of Schaller with an option of a linear bearing as taught by Weaver with motivation to allow adequate range of motion and providing positive retention of the supported elements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20250062156 discloses six linear actuators (122, Fig. 3) coupled to a stationary mount (114) and a movable mount (116), the linear actuators capable to have different lengths and radial or non-radial symmetry (para. [0069]).
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718