Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II in the reply filed on 01/28/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16, 17, 21-30 and 32-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, US 20180151535, hereafter ‘Chen’ in view of Batz-Sohn et al, US 6190778, hereafter ‘Batz-Sohn’.
Regarding claim 16, Chen discloses : A method of forming a semiconductor structure, comprising: providing a first component comprising a first dielectric layer(Fig. 4, #210 on #200); providing a second component comprising a second dielectric layer(#310 on #300); depositing a first organic base layer, comprising first carbon chain structures, on a first surface of the first dielectric layer(#230 on #210 to include carbon chain structures [0036, 0080]); depositing a second organic base layer, comprising second carbon chain structures, on a second surface of the second dielectric layer(#230 on #310 to include carbon chain structures [0036, 0080]); placing the first component and the second component within proximity to one another such that the first surface is facing the second surface(First and second wafer bonded together [0067]).
Chen does not disclose : bonding the first component to the second component by forming covalent bonds between the first carbon chain structures and the second carbon chain structures to thereby form the semiconductor structure.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Batz-Sohn teaches : bonding the first component to the second component by forming covalent bonds between the first carbon chain structures and the second carbon chain structures to thereby form the semiconductor structure(Fig. 1, bonding of Si-wafer 1 and Si-Wafer 2 by forming covalent bonds with carbon chain structures).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of Batz-Sohn to Chen to bond two silicon bodies through covalent bonds at relatively low temperatures (Batz-Sohn, Col. 2, line27-34).
Regarding claim 17, Chen as modified by Batz-Sohn discloses : The method of claim 16.
Chen teaches : wherein bonding the first component to the second component further comprises: forcing the first surface and the second surface toward one another with a pressure that is between 0.1 N/cm2 and 500 N/cm2(Pressure may be in the range 100kPa-50 MPa[0075]); and subjecting the semiconductor structure to an elevated temperature that is between 150°C and 350° C(Temperature may be in the range 100° C.-600° C [0075]).
Regarding claim 21, Chen discloses : A method of forming a semiconductor structure comprising: providing a first component having a first dielectric surface(Fig. 4, #200 to include #210); forming an organic coupling layer on the first dielectric surface by chemically attaching carbon chain structures to an inorganic backbone of the first dielectric surface(#230 formed on at least on one dielectric surface [0035]); aligning a second component having a second dielectric surface opposite the first dielectric surface(#300 to include #310, #300 shown to be aligned with #200); activating at least one organic functional group of the carbon chain structures after alignment(Hydroxyl group formed during formation of forming #230 [0040]).
Chen does not disclose : forming covalent bonds across an interface between the first dielectric surface and the second dielectric surface through the activated organic functional group.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Bat-Sohn teaches : forming covalent bonds across an interface between the first dielectric surface and the second dielectric surface through the activated organic functional group(Fig. 1 covalent bonds between Si-wafer 1 and Si-wafer 2 with carbon chain structures).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of Batz-Sohn to Chen to bond two silicon bodies through covalent bonds at relatively low temperatures (Batz-Sohn, Col. 2, line27-34).
Regarding claim 22, Chen as modified by Batz-Sohn discloses : The method of claim 21.
Chen teaches : wherein the carbon chain structures include a proximal end bonded to silicon atoms of the first dielectric surface ((CF3(CF2)2(CH2)2SiCl3) to include proximal end bonded with silicon atoms [0080]).
Regarding claim 23, Chen as modified by Batz-Sohn discloses : The method of claim 21.
Chen teaches : wherein activating the at least one organic functional group includes plasma exposure after alignment of the first component and the second component(Plasma treatment to absorb water molecule in air [0040-0042]).
Regarding claim 24, Chen as modified by Batz-Sohn discloses : The method of claim 21.
Chen teaches : wherein the second dielectric surface is free of an organic base layer prior to alignment(#230 formed on at least on one dielectric surface [0035]).
Regarding claim 25, Chen as modified by Batz-Sohn discloses : The method of claim 21.
Batz-Sohn teaches : wherein forming covalent bonds occurs at a temperature between 150 °C and 350 °C(covalent bonds formed after being heated at 170°C [Col 3, line 26-35]).
Regarding claim 26, Chen as modified by Batz-Sohn discloses : The method of claim 21.
Chen teaches : wherein the carbon chain structures include a carbon number between 10 and 1000(#230 to include (CH3(CH2)17SiCl3)).
Regarding claim 27, Chen as modified by Batz-Sohn discloses : The method of claim 21.
Chen teaches : wherein the first component is a semiconductor die and the second component is a semiconductor die(3D integrated circuit technology to include wafer bonding of integrated circuit chips [0003]).
Regarding claim 28, Chen as modified by Batz-Sohn discloses : The method of claim 21.
Chen teaches : further comprising forming metal to metal bonds between opposing electrical bonding structures during the same bonding operation(Fig. 2, #220 and #320 to be bonded into #240 of Fig. 4 [0081]).
Regarding claim 29, Chen discloses : A method of forming a semiconductor structure comprising: treating a dielectric surface of a first component to generate reactive surface sites(Plasma treatment process for dielectric layer #210 [0040]); depositing an organic layer comprising carbon chain structures on the treated dielectric surface(precursor deposited on #210 to include carbon chain [0043]); bringing a second dielectric surface into contact with the organic layer(#230 formed on at least on one dielectric surface [0035]).
Chen does not disclose : thermally inducing cross linking reactions within the organic layer to bond the first component to the second component.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Batz-Sohn teaches : thermally inducing cross linking reactions within the organic layer to bond the first component to the second component(Fig. 1, Van der Waals forces and covalent bonding between first and second Si-Wafers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of Batz-Sohn to Chen to bond two silicon bodies through covalent bonds at relatively low temperatures (Batz-Sohn, Col. 2, line27-34).
Regarding claim 30, Chen as modified by Batz-Sohn discloses : The method of claim 29.
Chen teaches : wherein treating the dielectric surface includes generating surface hydroxyl groups(hydroxylation process to form hydroxyl groups [0040]).
Regarding claim 32, Chen as modified by Batz-Sohn discloses : The method of claim 29.
Chen teaches : wherein thermally inducing cross linking reactions includes bonding between organic functional groups located on adjacent carbon chain structures(First intermediate product may include a reaction with product having absorption groups [0040]).
Regarding claim 33, Chen as modified by Batz-Sohn discloses : The method of claim 29.
Chen teaches : wherein the organic layer has a thickness between 0.5 nm and 30 nm(Thickness of layer is 5 Å-20 Å [0058]).
Regarding claim 34, Chen as modified by Batz-Sohn discloses : The method of claim 29.
Chen teaches : wherein the carbon chain structures include a hydrogen to carbon ratio greater than 2((CH3(CH2)17SiCl3) [0080] 18 carbon and a H/C ratio greater than 2).
Regarding claim 35, Chen as modified by Batz-Sohn discloses : The method of claim 29.
Chen teaches : wherein the second component includes electrical bonding structures embedded in the second dielectric surface(#320 on #310 with #320 be bonded into #240 with #240 to include metals [0081]).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, US 20180151535, hereafter ‘Chen’ in view of Batz-Sohn et al, US 6190778, hereafter ‘Batz-Sohn’ in further view Negreira et al, US 20150170903, hereafter ‘Negreira’ .
Regarding claim 18, Chen as modified by Batz-Sohn discloses : The method of claim 16.
Chen as modified by Batz-Sohn does not disclose : wherein depositing the first organic base layer and the second organic base layer on the first surface and the second surface, respectively, further comprises: forming a solution comprising carbon chain structures in an organic solvent; and depositing the solution on the first surface and the second surface to thereby form the first organic base layer and the second organic base layer, respectively, wherein depositing the solution further comprises performing a plasma jet process, a spin coating process, or a spray coating process, to thereby deposit the solution on the first surface and the second surface.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Negreira teaches : wherein depositing the first organic base layer and the second organic base layer on the first surface and the second surface, respectively, further comprises: forming a solution comprising carbon chain structures in an organic solvent(Self-assembled monolayers to include a chain of carbon molecules [0007] with organic solvent PGMEA [0006-0007]); and depositing the solution on the first surface and the second surface to thereby form the first organic base layer and the second organic base layer, respectively, wherein depositing the solution further comprises performing a plasma jet process, a spin coating process, or a spray coating process, to thereby deposit the solution on the first surface and the second surface(Spin-coating process used for dispensing chemicals onto a substrate [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of Negreira to Chen and Batz-Sohn to include a solution comprising carbon chain structures in an organic solvent that is deposited with a spin-coating process to reduce the amount of chemicals used to generate self-assembled monolayers ( Nregreira [0003-0005]).
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, US 20180151535, hereafter ‘Chen’ in view of Batz-Sohn et al, US 6190778, hereafter ‘Batz-Sohn’ in further view Negreira et al, US 20150170903, hereafter ‘Negreira’ in further view of Tsuchida, US 20150044466, hereafter ‘Tsuchida’.
Regarding claim 19, Chen as modified by Batz-Sohn and Negreira discloses : The method of claim 18.
Chen teaches : wherein forming the solution further comprises: forming a precursor compound comprising the carbon chain structures each having a first end bonded to a silanol group and a second end bonded to an organic functional group(Precursor may include CF2 (CF2)7(CH2)2 SiCl3 [0043]).
Chen as modified by Batz-Sohn and Negreira does not disclose : dissolving the precursor compound in the organic solvent, wherein the organic functional group comprises one of an amine, and epoxide, a carboxyl group, an isocyanate group, a hydroxyl group, or a compound formed from a reaction between two or more of an amine, and epoxide, a carboxyl group, an isocyanate group, a hydroxyl group.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tsuchida teaches : dissolving the precursor compound in the organic solvent, wherein the organic functional group comprises one of an amine, and epoxide, a carboxyl group, an isocyanate group, a hydroxyl group, or a compound formed from a reaction between two or more of an amine, and epoxide, a carboxyl group, an isocyanate group, a hydroxyl group(Typical organic reactive groups on silane coupling agents include vinyl, amino, epoxy, (meth)acrylic, mercapto, isocyanate, ketimine structure, and styryl groups [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of organic reactive groups of Tsuchida to Chen, Batz-Sohn, and Negreira to improve bonds between inorganic and organic materials (Tsuchida [0003,0010]).
Regarding claim 20, Chen as modified by Batz-Sohn, Negreira, and Tsuchida discloses : The method of claim 19.
Chen teaches : wherein forming the precursor compound further comprises forming carbon chain structures that comprise: a carbon number that is between 10 and 1000; and a hydrogen to carbon ratio H/C that is greater than 2 ((CH3(CH2)17SiCl3) [0080] 18 carbon and a H/C ratio greater than 2).
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, US 20180151535, hereafter ‘Chen’ in view of Batz-Sohn et al, US 6190778, hereafter ‘Batz-Sohn’ in further view of Gabelnick et al, US 20070264508, hereafter ‘Gabelnick’.
Regarding claim 31, Chen as modified by Batz-Sohn discloses : The method of claim 29.
Chen as modified by Batz-Sohn does not disclose : wherein depositing the organic layer includes a plasma jet deposition process.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Gabelnick teaches : wherein depositing the organic layer includes a plasma jet deposition process(Plasma polymerized organosilicon deposition [0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of Gabelnick to Chen and Batz-Sohn to include plasma deposition of an organic layer to improve adhesion of organic film (Gabelnick [0023]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : US 20230253361 – Hybrid bonding of semiconductor devices .
/D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897