Response to Amendments
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed 03/26/2026; in which: claims 1, 4-6. 12, 15, 16, 20 and 22 are amended; claims 2, 3, 13, 14, and 21 are cancelled; no new claims are added; and the rejection of the claims are traversed. Claims 1, 4-12, 15-20, and 22-24 are currently pending an Office action on the merits as follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 03/26/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 4-12, 15-20, and 22-24 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Nam et al, US 20170345882
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nam et al, US 20170345882.
Regarding claim 1, Nam discloses : A display device comprising: a main display area and(Fig. 3, left side) a sub-display area adjacent to each other(right side); a transistor in the main display area(#114); a light emitting element which is in the sub-display area and electrically connected to the transistor(#130), the light emitting element comprising a first electrode(#132), a light emitting layer(#134) and a second electrode(#136); a connection line which extends from the main display area to the sub-display area and connects the transistor to the light emitting element(#148 connected to #114 through #110 [0043]) ; and a via layer between the transistor and the light emitting element(#126), wherein the via layer comprises: [[has ]] a first area overlapping the first electrode(Fig. 3 annotated, #126 red overlapping #132), the first area having a first thickness, and a second area which overlaps the connection line together with not overlapping the first electrode, the second area having a second thickness smaller than the first thickness(Fig. 3 annotated, #126 yellow overlapping #148 with a smaller thickness than #126 red).
Fig. 3 annotated
Regarding claim 4, Nam discloses : The display device of claim 1, wherein the connection line overlaps the first area and the second area of the via layer(Fig. 3 annotated, #148 overlaps #126 red and #126 yellow).
Regarding claim 5, Nam discloses : The display device of claim , further comprising: a light emission area(Fig. 3 emission area defined by #138 [0043]) and a light transmission area adjacent to each other(Transmission areas defined by #R), and a bank covering a portion of the first electrode of the light emitting element(#138 shown covering a portion of #132) and partitioning the light emission area and the light transmission area(#138 defining emission area [0043]), wherein the first area of the via layer overlaps the light emission area(Fig. 3 annotated, #126 red overlaps area defined by #138), and the second area of the via layer overlaps the light transmission area(#126 yellow overlaps area defined by #R).
Regarding claim 6, Nam discloses : The display device of claim 1, further comprising a light emission area(Fig. 3, emission area defined by #138) and a light transmission area adjacent to each other(transmission area defined by #R), wherein, an opening is defined in the via layer(opening define by the end of layer #126 on the left and #126 on the right), and the opening overlaps the light transmission area together with not overlapping the first area or the second area of the via layer(opening define by the end of layer #126 on the left and #126 on the right. Opening does not overlap #126 red and #126 yellow of Fig. 3 annotated).
Regarding claim 7, Nam discloses : The display device of claim 6, further comprising: a substrate in the main display area and the sub-display area(Fig. 3, #101); and an interlayer insulating layer between the substrate and the connection line(#116 between #101 and #148), wherein the opening which is defined in the via layer exposes the interlayer insulating layer to outside the via layer(Opening defined by ending of layer #126 on the right and #126 on the left with #116 exposed in the opening).
Regarding claim 8, Nam discloses : The display device of claim 5, wherein the first area of the via layer overlaps the light emission area(Fig. 3 annotated, #126 red overlaps emission area defined by bank #138 [0043]).
Regarding claim 9, Nam discloses : The display device of claim 1, wherein the via layer is in the sub-display area and extends from the sub-display area and into the main display area(Fig. 3, #126 extends from the left to the right), and wherein the first thickness of the via layer in the sub-display area is the same as a thickness of the via layer in the main display area(Horizontal area of #126 on the left is the same thickness as the horizontal area of #126 on the right).
Regarding claim 11, Nam discloses : The display device of claim 1, wherein the connection line comprises a transparent conductive oxide(#148 formed of indium tin oxide [0043]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 12, 15-18, 20, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al, US 20170345882 in view of Kim et al, US 20210057457.
Regarding claim 10, Nam discloses : The display device of claim 1.
Nam does not disclose : further comprising a connection electrode which is between the via layer and the first electrode, wherein the connection electrode together with the connection line connects the transistor to the light emitting element.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches : further comprising a connection electrode which is between the via layer and the first electrode(Fig. 4, #161 between #VIA2 and #ANO), wherein the connection electrode together with the connection line connects the transistor to the light emitting element(#AR1 connected to #ANO through #161).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of Kim to Nam to include a connection electrode to form a connection between a transistor and light emitting element through multiple layers of a display device.
Regarding claim 12, Nam discloses : A display device comprising: a main display area and a sub-display area adjacent to each other(Fig. 3 annotated, left of #138 and right of #138 display areas defined by #R); a transistor in the main display area(#114 on the left side); a light emitting element which is in the sub-display area(#130 on the right side) and electrically connected to the transistor(#130 connected to #114 through #148), the light emitting element comprising a first electrode(#132), a light emitting layer(#134) and a second electrode(#136); a connection line which extends from the main display area to the sub-display area and connects the transistor to the light emitting element(#148 extending from the right to left side connecting #132 to #114 [0043]); and in order from the connection line to the light emitting element, a first via layer(#126), the first via layer comprises: a first area overlapping the first electrode in the sub-display area, the first area having a first thickness(#126 red overlapping #132 on the right side), and a second area overlapping the connection line together with not overlapping the first electrode, the second area having a second thickness smaller than the first thickness(#126 yellow on the left side overlapping #148 and not overlapping #132 with a smaller thickness than #126 red on the right side).
Nam does not disclose : a second via layer, and the second via layer comprises: a third area overlapping the first electrode in the sub-display area, the third area having a third thickness, and a fourth area overlapping the connection line together with not overlapping the first electrode, the fourth area having a fourth thickness smaller than the third thickness.
However, Kim teaches : a second via layer, and the second via layer comprises: a third area overlapping the first electrode in the sub-display area, the third area having a third thickness, and a fourth area overlapping the connection line together with not overlapping the first electrode, the fourth area having a fourth thickness smaller than the third thickness(#Via2 on top of #via 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of Kim to Nam to include a second via layer on top of a first via layer with the same thickness configurations as the via layer of Nam, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954). See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 15, Nam as modified by Kim discloses : The display device of claim 12.
Nam as modified by Kim teaches : wherein the first area of the first via layer overlaps the third area of the second via layer, and the second area of the first via layer overlaps the fourth area of the second via layer(Kim, #Via1 and #via2 combined with the teachings of Nam Fig. 3 annotated, #126 yellow and #126 red with varying thicknesses).
Regarding claim 16, Nam as modified by Kim discloses : The display device of claim 12.
Nam teaches : further comprising: a light emission area and a light transmission area adjacent to each other(Fig. 3 annotated, Emission area defined by #138 [0043]), and a bank covering a portion of the first electrode(#138 covering #132) and partitioning the light emission area and the light transmission area(#138 partitioning transmission area #R on the left and #R on the right) wherein the first area of the first via layer and the third area of the second via layer each overlaps the light emission area(#126 red overlaps #138), and the second area of the first via layer and the fourth area of the second via layer each overlaps the light transmission area(#126 yellow overlaps #R on right side).
Regarding claim 17, Nam as modified by Kim discloses : The display device of claim 16.
Nam teaches :wherein a first opening is defined in the first via layer(Fig. 3 annotated, opening defined between #126 red and #126 yellow), the first opening area in an area of the first via layer other than the first area and the second area(opening not overlapping #126 red and #126 yellow).
Nam as modified by Kim teaches : and the first opening which is defined in the first via layer overlaps the fourth area of the second via layer together with overlapping the light transmission area(Kim, A second via layer #via2 on top of a first via layer where an opening would overlap an a second via layer as modified by Nam).
Regarding claim 18, Nam as modified by Kim discloses : The display device of claim 17.
Nam teaches : further comprising: a substrate in the main display area and the sub-display area(#101); and an interlayer insulating layer between the substrate and the connection line(#116), wherein the first opening which is defined in the first via layer exposes the interlayer insulating layer to outside the first via layer(opening defined by #138 exposes #116).
Kim teaches : and the second via layer is in contact with the interlayer insulating layer(Fig. 4, #idl4 contacting #via1 in opening #BA).
Regarding claim 20, Nam discloses : A display device comprising: a main display area and a sub-display area adjacent to each other(Fig. 3 annotated, left side #R and right side #R); a transistor in the main display area(#114); a light emitting element which is in the sub-display area and electrically connected to the transistor(#130 connected to #114 [0043]), the light emitting element comprising a first electrode(#132), a light emitting layer(#134) and a second electrode(#136); a connection line which extends from the main display area to the sub-display area(#148 extends from the right side to the left side) and connects the transistor to the light emitting element(#130 connected to #114 through #148 [0043]); and in order from the connection line to the light emitting element, a second via layer(#126); the second via layer comprises a first area overlapping the first electrode in the sub-display area(#126 red overlapping #132), and a second area which overlaps the connection line together with not overlapping the first electrode(#126 yellow overlaps #148 without overlapping #132), and the first area of the second via layer has a first thickness, and the second area of the second via layer has a second thickness smaller than the first thickness(Thickness of #126 yellow is less than a thickness of #126 red).
Nam does not disclose : a first via layer
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches : a first via layer(Fig. 4, display device with two via layers #Via1 and #Via2.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of Kim to Nam to have multiple via layers in a display device.
Regarding claim 22, Nam as modified by Kim discloses : The display device of claim 20.
Nam teaches : further comprising: a light emission area and a light transmission area adjacent to each other(Fig. 3 annotated, #130 defines emission area and #138 defines transmission area [0043]), and a bank covering a portion of the first electrode(#138 covering #132) and partitioning the light emission area and the light transmission area(#138 partitions the right side with #134 to the left side with #114), wherein the first area of the second via layer overlaps the light emission area(#126 red overlaps #134), and the second area of the second via layer overlaps the light transmission area(#126 yellow overlaps right side).
Claim(s) 19, 23, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al, US 20170345882 in view of Kim et al, US 20210057457 in further view of Kim et al, US 20220209161, hereafter ‘161’.
Regarding claim 19, Nam as modified by Kim discloses : The display device of claim 16.
Nam teaches : wherein a first opening is defined in the first via layer(Fig. 3 annotated, opening defined between #126), the first opening in an area of the first via layer other than the first area and the second area(#126 red and #126 yellow is an area where the layer is cut off),
Nam as modified by Kim does not disclose : a second opening is defined in the second via layer, the second opening in an area of the second via layer other than the third area and the fourth area, and the first opening of the first via layer and the second opening of the second via layer overlap each other.
However, in the same field of endeavor, ‘161 teaches : a second opening is defined in the second via layer(Second opening defined by end of layer #113), the second opening in an area of the second via layer other than the third area and the fourth area(Opening define by end of #113 outside of layer #113), and the first opening of the first via layer and the second opening of the second via layer overlap each other(First opening defined by end of layer #111. First opening and second opening overlap each other).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of ‘161 to Nam and Kim to modify layers of a display device to increase overall transmittance (‘161 [0004]).
Regarding claim 23, Nam as modified by Kim discloses : The display device of claim 22.
Nam as modified by Kim does not disclose : wherein an opening is defined in the second via layer, and the opening overlaps the light transmission area together with not overlapping the first area or the second area of the second via layer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, ‘161 teaches : wherein an opening is defined in the second via layer(Fig. 1, Opening in #T, and the opening overlaps the light transmission area together with not overlapping the first area or the second area of the second via layer(Opening in #T not overlapping #111).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of ‘161 to Nam and Kim to modify layers of a display device to increase overall transmittance (‘161 [0004]).
Regarding claim 24, Nam as modified by Kim and ‘161 discloses : The display device of claim 23.
Kim teaches : wherein a thickness of the first via layer is the same at each of the first area, the second area and the opening of the second via layer(#Via2 stayed a constant thickness compared to #Via1 through different areas and #OP2).
Conclusion
/D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897