DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota et al. (JP 2019-129243) (“Ota”) in view of Numata (US 2020/0254389).
With regard to claim 1, figs. 1-2 of Ota discloses a substrate processing apparatus comprising: a reservoir 110 configured to temporarily store a processing liquid L for processing a substrate W; a replenisher 220 configured to replenish the processing liquid L to the reservoir 110; a gas supplier 210 configured to supply gas G to the reservoir 110 to pressurize an interior of the reservoir 110; and a controller 180, wherein the controller 180 is configured to control the gas supplier 210 to execute a process of replenishing the processing liquid L from the replenisher 220 to the reservoir 110 while regulating a magnitude of an internal pressure 170 of the reservoir 110.
Ota does not disclose a flow rate measurer configured to measure a flow rate of the processing liquid replenished to the reservoir; wherein the controller is configured to control the gas supplier based on a value measured by the flow rate measurer.
However, fig. 4 of Numata discloses a flow rate measurer 310 configured to measure a flow rate of the processing liquid 200 replenished to the reservoir 30; wherein the controller 70 is configured to control the pump 40 based on a value measured by the flow rate measurer 310.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to control the check valve for the gas supply of Ota with the measurement results of the flow rate of the replenisher liquid as taught in Numata in order to control the flow of processing liquid based on the flow rate of the replenisher liquid suppled from the replenisher tank to the process liquid tank. See par [0155] of Numata.
With regard to claim 9, figs. 1-2 of Ota discloses a nozzle 122 connected in a fluidic sense to the reservoir 110, wherein the controller 180 is configured to control the gas supplier 210 to pressurize the interior of the reservoir 110 and to further execute a process of ejecting the processing liquid L in the interior of the reservoir from the nozzle 122.
With regard to claim 15, figs. 1-2 of Ota discloses a substrate processing method comprising: supplying gas from a gas supplier 210 to a reservoir 110 configured to temporarily store a processing liquid L for processing a substrate W to pressurize an interior of the reservoir 110; and replenishing the processing liquid L from a replenisher 220 to the reservoir 110 while regulating a magnitude of an internal pressure 170 of the reservoir 110 by the gas supplier 210.
Ota does not disclose measuring, by a flow rate measurer, a flow rate of the processing liquid when the reservoir is replenished with the processing liquid for processing the substrate; regulating a magnitude of an internal pressure of the reservoir by the gas supplier based on a value measured by the flow rate measurer.
However, fig. 4 of Numata discloses measuring, by a flow rate measurer 310, a flow rate of the processing liquid 200 when the reservoir 30 is replenished with the processing liquid 200 for processing the substrate (“substrate”, par [0205]); regulating a magnitude of an internal pressure of the reservoir 30 by the pump 40 based on a value measured by the flow rate measurer 310.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to control the check valve for the gas supply of Ota with the measurement results of the flow rate of the replenisher liquid as taught in Numata in order to control the flow of processing liquid based on the flow rate of the replenisher liquid suppled from the replenisher tank to the process liquid tank. See par [0155] of Numata.
With regard to claim 18, figs. 1-2 of Ota discloses ejecting the processing liquid L in the reservoir 110 from a nozzle 122 connected in a fluidic sense to the reservoir 110 by pressurizing the interior 110 of the reservoir 110 by the gas supplier 210.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota et al. (JP 2019-129243) (“Ota”), Numata (US 2020/0254389), and Muta et al. (US 2020/0357662) (“Muta”).
With regard to claim 8, Ota and Numata do not disclose: a rotary holder configured to hold and rotate the substrate; and a container configured to accommodate the rotary holder and the reservoir.
However, figs. 3-4 of Muta discloses a rotary holder 21 configured to hold and rotate the substrate W; and a container 2 configured to accommodate the rotary holder 21 and the reservoir 60A.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the substrate of Ota on a rotary holder as taught in Muta in order to rotate the wafer based on operation instruction from the control. See par [0054] of Muta.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 10-14, 16-17, and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN TZU-HUNG LIU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893