DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of method claims in the reply filed on 02/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-13 and 21-25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claimed limitation of as recited in claim 9, is unclear as to the structural relationship between the molding material and the claimed semiconductor die and the lead frame.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-13 and 21-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao et al. (12,272,637) in view of Carson et al. (10,535,611) and Shibuya et al. (2019/0206768).
Regarding claims 9, 26 and 32, Liao et al. teach in figures 1-4 and related text a method, comprising:
coupling a semiconductor die 320 to a substrate 306 (See figure 3Z);
coupling a lead frame 430b to at least one of the semiconductor die 402 or the substrate 404 (see figure 4); and
forming a molding material 328 (see figure 3Z) having an elongated protrusion (the top vertical protrusion) and a notch (i.e. a trench, see figure 3M), the elongated protrusion being aligned along a longitudinal axis, and the notch facing in a direction away from the longitudinal axis.
Liao et al. do not explicitly state that element 430b is a lead frame and that molding material 328 having an elongated protrusion and a notch, wherein the elongated protrusion being aligned along a longitudinal axis, and the notch facing in a direction away from the longitudinal axis.
Carson et al. teach in figure 4 and related text a molding material 140 having an elongated protrusion and a notch, wherein the elongated protrusion being aligned along a longitudinal axis, and the notch facing in a direction away from the longitudinal axis.
Shibuya et al. teach in figure 13 and related text a lead frame 1300.
Liao et al., Carson et al. and Shibuya et al. are analogous art because they are directed to packaging devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Liao et al. because they are from the same field of endeavor.It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use element 430b as a lead frame, as taught by Shibuya et al., and to form molding material 328 as having an elongated protrusion and a notch, wherein the elongated protrusion being aligned along a longitudinal axis, and the notch facing in a direction away from the longitudinal axis, as taught by Carson et al., in Liao et al.’s device, in order to provide external connections to the device and in order to improve the device characteristics.
Regarding claim 10, Liao et al. teach in figures 1-4 and related text that the semiconductor die is coupled to the substrate via a printed solder (not shown).
Regarding claim 11, Liao et al. teach in figures 1-4 and related text that the lead frame is coupled to the semiconductor die via interconnects 122, 1244 or a wirebond (not shown).
Regarding claim 12, Liao et al. do not teach that the molding material is formed using a transfer molding process.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to form the molding material using a transfer molding process, in Liao et al.’s device, in order to simplify the processing steps of making the device.
Regarding claim 13, in the combined device, Shibuya et al. teach in figure 14 and related text trimming the lead frame 1104 to define a plurality of leads 1110 extending from the molding material 1300 along a first direction, the elongated protrusion being aligned along a second direction orthogonal to the first direction, and the notch being disposed between a pair of the plurality of leads.
Regarding claim 21, in the combined device, Liao et al. teach in figures 1-4 and related text forming the molding material 328 (see figure 3Z) includes defining a trench (can be defined as a notch see figure 3M) disposed between the elongated protrusion and a conductive surface of the substrate that is exposed through the molding material.
Regarding claim 22, Liao et al. teach in figures 1-4 and related text that forming the trench is aligned along the longitudinal axis.
Regarding claim 23, Liao et al. teach in figures 1-4 and related text that the elongated protrusion and a trench collectively define at least a portion of a lead-substrate creepage distance.
Regarding claim 24, Liao et al. teach in figures 1-4 and related text that the notch has a surface that defines at least a portion of a lead-lead creepage distance.
Regarding claim 25, Liao et al. teach in figures 1-4 and related text that the notch is disposed between a pair of extensions made from the molding material.
Regarding claim 26, Liao et al., Carson et al. and Shibuya et al. teach substantially the entire claims structure, as recited above, including coupling a semiconductor die to a substrate; coupling a lead frame to at least one of the semiconductor die or the substrate, the lead frame including at least a first lead and a second lead extending in a first direction; and forming a molding material around at least a portion of the semiconductor die and at least a portion of the lead frame, the molding material defining a trench and a notch (see figure 3M of Liao et al., figure 14 of Shibuya et al. and figure 4 of Carson et al.), the trench being aligned along a second direction orthogonal to the first direction, the notch being disposed between the first lead and the second lead (see figure 14 of Shibuya et al.)
Regarding claim 27, Liao et al. teach in figures 1-4 and related text that the molding material defines an elongated protrusion disposed between the trench and notch.
Regarding claim 28, Liao et al. teach in figures 1-4 and related text that the trench and the elongated protrusion collectively define at least a portion of a lead-substrate creepage distance.
Regarding claim 29, Liao et al. teach in figures 1-4 and related text that the trench is aligned along the second direction.
Regarding claim 30, Liao et al. teach in figures 1-4 and related text that the notch is disposed between a pair of extensions made from the molding material.
Regarding claim 31, in the combined device, Liao et al. teach in figures 1-4 and related text that the molding material is formed using a transfer molding process that defines the trench and the notch.
Regarding claim 32, Liao et al., Carson et al. and Shibuya et al. teach substantially the entire claims structure, as recited above, including coupling a semiconductor die to a substrate; coupling a lead frame to at least one of the semiconductor die or the substrate, the lead frame including at least a first lead and a second lead extending in a first direction; and forming a molding material around at least a portion of the semiconductor die and at least a portion of the lead frame such that the molding material defining an elongated protrusion and a trench between the elongated protrusion and the surface of the substrate, the elongated protrusion and the trench being aligned along a second direction orthogonal to the first direction.
Prior art does not explicitly state that a surface of the substrate is exposed through the molding material.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to expose a surface of the substrate through the molding material, in prior art’s device, in order to simplify the processing steps of making the device by providing external connections to the die without the need of etching the mold.
Regarding claim 33, in the combined device, Liao et al. teach in figures 1-4 and related text that forming the molding material includes forming a notch between the first lead and the second lead.
Regarding claim 34, Liao et al. teach in figures 1-4 and related text that a surface of the elongated protrusion is coplanar with the surface of the substrate.
Regarding claim 35, Liao et al. teach in figures 1-4 and related text that the trench and the elongated protrusion collectively define at least a portion of a lead-substrate creepage distance.
O.N. /ORI NADAV/
3/14/2026 PRIMARY EXAMINER
TECHNOLOGY CENTER 2800