DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-4, 6-13, and 15-22 remain pending in this application. Acknowledgement is made of the amendment received 07/07/2026. Claims 5 and 14 are canceled, claims 1-4, 6-13, and 15-20 are amended, and claims 21 and 22 are added for consideration.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “METHOD FOR TWO-DIMENSIONAL METAL LINE PATTERNING IN SEMICONDUCTOR FABRICATION”.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 4 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites “one of spacer recesses in the spacer layer and one of mandrel openings in the mandrel layer”, it appears that it should read “one of spacer recesses in the spacer layer and one of the plurality of mandrel openings in the mandrel layer”; and “the mandrel openings and the enlarged spacer opening”, it appears that it should read “the plurality of mandrel openings and the enlarged spacer opening”. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claims 4 and 13, the claims recite “A method for two-dimensional (2D) patterning, comprising”, it appears they should read “A method of semiconductor fabrication, comprising”, as previously appears in the amendment filed 01/06/2026. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al (US 20180108527 A1, hereafter Huang) in view of Lin et al (US 20220076995 A1, hereafter Lin).
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches: A method of semiconductor fabrication (Huang fig 4, 11A-25, ¶0053), comprising:
forming a plurality of mandrel recesses (Huang LA, LB, LC, fig 11A, 11B, ¶0034, 0045) in a mandrel layer (Huang 401, ¶0022, fig 13A, 17A) over a hard mask layer (Huang 121, ¶0017)(Huang fig 11B, ¶0034);
forming a spacer layer (Huang 1201, ¶0035) over the mandrel layer (Huang fig 12A, 12B, ¶0035);
performing a first patterning process (Huang fig 12A, 12B, ¶0035) on the spacer layer (Huang 1201, ¶0035)(Huang fig 12A, 12B, ¶0035) to form a first opening pattern (Huang 1101, 1103, ¶0036, fig 13A, 13B);
performing a second patterning process (Huang fig 17A, 17B, ¶0041) to etch portions of the mandrel layer to form a second opening pattern (Huang 1701, 1701c, fig 17A, 17B, ¶0041);
performing a third patterning process (Huang fig 20A, 20B, ¶0044, 0045) to form a third opening pattern (Huang 2001, 2003c 2005, 2005c, ¶0045) in the hard mask layer (Huang fig 20A, 20B, ¶0045) based on the first opening pattern and the second opening pattern (Huang fig 13B, 17B, 20B, ¶0044-0046, 2001 formed in 121 is etched using 1101, 2005 formed in 121 is etched using 1701, simultaneously); and
forming, through the hard mask layer (Huang fig 21B, 22B, 23B, 24B, ¶0047-0049, 0051), metal lines (Huang 113M, fig 24B, ¶0051) that are in a semiconductor layer (Huang 111M, ¶0013, under a broadest reasonable interpretation of a semiconductor layer) under the hard mask layer (Huang 24B) and that are arranged in a pattern which corresponds to the third opening pattern (Huang fig 24B, ¶0045, 0051).
Huang does not teach: forming a first patterning layer over the spacer layer, where the first patterning layer is formed with an opening that exposes a part of the spacer layer in one of the plurality of mandrel recesses;
forming a layer of a reverse material over the first patterning layer and within the opening of the first patterning layer; and
performing an etching process to remove the first patterning layer and to etch back the reverse material to form a cut layer on the part of the spacer layer.
Lin, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor device manufacturing, teaches: forming a plurality of mandrel recesses (Lin 201, S, fig 2, ¶0031, opening in 210) in a mandrel layer (Lin 210, under a broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of a “mandrel layer”) over a hard mask layer (Lin 305, ¶0030)(Lin fig 3);
forming a spacer layer (Lin 410, ¶0033, under a BRI of “spacer layer”) over the mandrel layer (Lin fig 4);
forming a first patterning layer (Lin 505, ¶0034, fig 5A) over the spacer layer (Lin fig 5A), where the first patterning layer is formed with an opening (Lin 512A-B, 510A-C, ¶0035, 0037) that exposes a part of the spacer layer (Lin 510A) in one of the plurality of mandrel recesses (Lin fig 5A, ¶0038);
forming a layer of a reverse material (Lin 615, ¶0036-0037, fig 6) over the first patterning layer and within the opening of the first patterning layer (Lin fig 6, ¶0037, 0042);
performing an etching process (Lin 220, 225, ¶0038, 0041) to remove the first patterning layer (Lin 505) and to etch back the reverse material (Lin fig 7, 8, ¶0038-0041) to form a cut layer (Lin 720) on the part of the spacer layer (Lin fig 7-9, ¶0042).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Huang to include “forming a first patterning layer over the spacer layer, where the first patterning layer is formed with an opening that exposes a part of the spacer layer in one of the plurality of mandrel recesses; forming a layer of a reverse material over the first patterning layer and within the opening of the first patterning layer; performing an etching process to remove the first patterning layer and to etch back the reverse material to form a cut layer on the part of the spacer layer”, as taught by Lin, in order to reduce mask count while defining both staples and bridges between adjacent interconnects, thereby allowing for a single interconnect level and/or increasing a single level interconnects’ density (Lin ¶0019, 0020).
Regarding claim 2, Huang in view of Lin teaches: The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein performing the third patterning process (Huang fig 20A, 20B, ¶0044, 0045) includes:
patterning the hard mask layer (Huang 121) to form a plurality of mask openings (Huang 2001, 2003c 2005, 2005c) in the hard mask layer (Huang fig 20A, 20B, ¶0045) with the plurality of mask openings being arranged in a pattern that is a combination of the first opening pattern (Huang 1101, 1103, fig 20A, 20B, ¶0045) and the second opening pattern (Huang 1701, 1701c)(Huang ¶0044-0046, 2001 formed in 121 is etched using 1101, 2005 formed in 121 is etched using 1701).
Huang in view of Lin does not explicitly teach: etching a portion of the hard mask layer that separates two adjacent mask openings which have different lengths among the plurality of mask openings to obtain an enlarged mask opening in the hard mask layer so that the plurality of mask openings and the enlarged mask opening are arranged to form the third opening pattern.
Lin further teaches: patterning a hard mask layer (Lin 305, ¶0042) to form a plurality of mask openings (Lin L, LS1, filled by 103, 140A, 140B, fig 1) in the hard mask layer (Lin fig 1, 9, 10, ¶0042) with the mask openings being arranged in a pattern that is the combination of a first opening pattern (Lin 201, S, fig 2, ¶0031, opening in 210) and a second opening pattern (Lin 220, 512A-B, 510A-C, 720, ¶0035, 0037, figs 5A-8, openings formed in 505/615)(Lin fig 9, ¶0042, “the underlayer (e.g., mask layer 305) is masked by a remainder of mask structures 210 summed with plug mask 720”); and
etching a portion of the hard mask layer (Lin ¶0042-0043) that separates two adjacent mask openings which have different lengths (Lin fig 1, ¶0025-0027, 103 having arbitrary collier lengths defined by 130A, fig 1 shows two adjacent 103 of different lengths in y dir) among the plurality of mask openings to obtain an enlarged mask opening (Lin 140B, 140A) in the hard mask layer so that the plurality of mask openings and the enlarged mask opening are arranged to form a third opening pattern (Lin 230, ¶0043-0044, fig 1, 9, 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Huang in view of Lin to include “etching a portion of the hard mask layer that separates two adjacent mask openings which have different lengths among the plurality of mask openings to obtain an enlarged mask opening in the hard mask layer”, and such that “the plurality of mask openings and the enlarged mask opening are arranged to form the third opening pattern”, as further taught by Lin, in order to reduce mask count while defining both staples and bridges between adjacent interconnects, thereby allowing for a single interconnect level and/or increasing a single level interconnects’ density (Lin ¶0019, 0020).
Regarding claim 3, Huang in view of Lin teaches: The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein performing the third patterning process includes:
etching a portion (Huang 1301, 1301 covering 1105) of the spacer layer (Huang 1201, ¶0035) that separates one of spacer recesses (Huang 1101, 1103) in the spacer layer and one of mandrel openings (Huang LA, LB, LC) in the mandrel layer, which is adjacent to the one of the spacer recesses (Huang 1101, 1103, 1701c, ¶0041, fig 13B, 17A)(Huang fig 13A, 17B); and
patterning the hard mask layer (Huang 121) to form a plurality of mask openings (Huang 2001, 2003c 2005, 2005c) in the hard mask layer (Huang fig 20A, 20B, ¶0045) with the mask openings being arranged in a pattern that is identical to the third opening pattern (Huang 2001, 2003c 2005, 2005c, ¶0045)(Huang fig 13B, 17B, 20B, ¶0044-0046, 2001 formed in 121 is etched using 1101, 2005 formed in 121 is etched using 1701, simultaneously).
Huang in view of Lin does not explicitly teach: etching a portion of a spacer layer that separates one of spacer recesses in the spacer layer and one of mandrel openings in the mandrel layer, which is adjacent to the one of the spacer recesses and which has a length different from a length of the one of the spacer recesses, so as to form an enlarged spacer opening, where the spacer recesses, the mandrel openings and the enlarged spacer opening cooperate to form the third opening pattern; and
patterning the hard mask layer to form an enlarged mask opening in the hard mask layer with the plurality of mask openings and the enlarged mask opening being arranged in a pattern that is identical to the third opening pattern.
Lin further teaches: etching a portion of a spacer layer (Lin 715, ¶0042)(Lin 220, 701, fig 7) that separates one of spacer recesses (Lin 512A) in the spacer layer (Lin fig 7) and one of mandrel openings (Lin S, fig 2, 5B, ¶0031, opening in 210, filled by 410) in a mandrel layer (Lin 210, under BRI of a “mandrel layer”), which is adjacent to the one of the spacer recesses and which has a length different from a length of the one of the spacer recesses (Lin fig 1, 5B, spacer recess 512A having L2 less than a length of a mandrel opening (opening in 210, filled by 410)), so as to form an enlarged spacer opening (Lin 512A), where the spacer recesses, the mandrel openings and the enlarged spacer opening cooperate to form a third opening pattern (Lin fig 5B, 9, ¶0041, “A union of the opening 512A and mask structure 210 has thus been patterned into the first mask layer”); and
patterning a hard mask layer (Lin 305) to form an enlarged mask opening (Lin 512A, 2S+L, fig 5B, 9) in the hard mask layer with the plurality of mask openings and the enlarged mask opening being arranged in a pattern that is identical to the third opening pattern (Lin fig 9, ¶0042, “the underlayer (e.g., mask layer 305) is masked by a remainder of mask structures 210 summed with plug mask 720”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify etching a portion of a spacer layer of the method of Huang in view of Lin such that it “is adjacent to the one of the spacer recesses and which has a length different from a length of the one of the spacer recesses, so as to form an enlarged spacer opening”, and such that “the spacer recesses, the mandrel openings and the enlarged spacer opening cooperate to form the third opening pattern”, and “patterning the hard mask layer to form an enlarged mask opening in the hard mask layer with the plurality of mask openings and the enlarged mask opening being arranged in a pattern that is identical to the third opening pattern”, as further taught by Lin, in order to reduce mask count while defining both staples and bridges between adjacent interconnects, thereby allowing for a single interconnect level and/or increasing a single level interconnects’ density (Lin ¶0019, 0020).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6-13, and 15-22 are allowable if rewritten to overcome the formal objections above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, it is allowable primarily because the prior arts of record, singly or in combination, neither anticipates nor render obvious the following limitations when taken in combination with all other limitations:
forming the first cut layer on the spacer layer in one of the plurality of mandrel recesses. (Applicant fig 2, ¶0027).
Huang et al (US 20180108527 A1, hereafter Huang) teaches: A method for two-dimensional (2D) patterning (as best understood to mean “A method of semiconductor fabrication”)(Huang fig 4, 11A-25, ¶0053), comprising:
forming a plurality of mandrel recesses (Huang LA, LB, LC, fig 11A, 11B, ¶0034, 0045) in a mandrel layer (Huang 401, ¶0022, fig 13A, 17A) over a hard mask layer (Huang 121, ¶0017)(Huang fig 11B, ¶0034) that is disposed over a dielectric layer (Huang 111M, ¶0013)(Huang fig 4B, 17A);
forming a plurality of spacer recesses (Huang 1101, 1103, 1701c, ¶0041, fig 13B, 17A) of a spacer layer (Huang 1201, ¶0035) respectively in the plurality of mandrel recesses (Huang fig 13A, 13B, 17A, 17B), where two of the plurality of spacer recesses (Huang 1701c) extend in a direction (Huang ¶0041, fig 17A, y dir with respect to fig 17A), are aligned in the direction (Huang fig 17A) and are spaced apart from each other in the direction by a first cut layer (Huang 1301, 1301 covering 1105)(Huang fig 17A), and the plurality of spacer recesses cooperate to form a first opening pattern (Huang ¶0044-0046, 2005c formed in 121 is etched using 1701c);
patterning the mandrel layer (Huang fig 17A, 17B, ¶0041) to form a second opening pattern (Huang 1701, fig 17A, 17B, ¶0041) in the mandrel layer;
patterning the hard mask layer (Huang 121) to form a plurality of mask openings (Huang 2001, 2003c 2005, 2005c) in the hard mask layer (Huang fig 20A, 20B, ¶0045) with the plurality of mask openings being arranged in a pattern that is the combination of the first opening pattern (Huang 1101, 1103, fig 20A, 20B, ¶0045) and the second opening pattern (Huang 1701, 1701c)(Huang ¶0044-0046, 2001 formed in 121 is etched using 1101, 2005 formed in 121 is etched using 1701); and
forming, in the dielectric layer through the hard mask layer, metal lines (Huang 113M, fig 24B, ¶0051) that are arranged in a pattern which corresponds to a third opening pattern (Huang fig 24B, ¶0045, 0051),
wherein forming the plurality of spacer recesses includes:
depositing the spacer layer (Huang 1201, ¶0035, similar to Lin 505/615) over the mandrel layer (Huang 401, similar to Lin 210) and in the plurality of mandrel recesses (Huang LA, LB, LC, similar to Lin 201, S)(Huang ¶0035, fig 12B, similar to Lin fig 6, ¶0037); and
anisotropically etching the spacer layer to form the spacers (Huang 1301)(Huang ¶0036, fig 13B).
Lin et al (US 20220076995 A1, hereafter Lin) teaches: patterning a hard mask layer (Lin 305) to form a plurality of mask openings (Lin L, LS1, filled by 103, 140A, 140B, fig 1) in the hard mask layer (Lin fig 1, 9, 10, ¶0042) with the plurality of mask openings being arranged in a pattern that is the combination of a first opening pattern (Lin 201, S, fig 2, ¶0031, opening in 210) and a second opening pattern (Lin 220, 512A-B, 510A-C, 720, ¶0035, 0037, figs 5A-8, openings formed in 505/615)(Lin fig 9, ¶0042, “the underlayer (e.g., mask layer 305) is masked by a remainder of mask structures 210 summed with plug mask 720”); and
etching a portion of the hard mask layer (Lin ¶0042-0043) that separates two adjacent mask openings which have different lengths (Lin fig 1, ¶0025-0027, 103 having arbitrary collier lengths defined by 130A, fig 1 shows two adjacent 103 of different lengths in y dir) among the plurality of mask openings to obtain an enlarged mask opening (Lin 140B, 140A) in the hard mask layer so that the plurality of mask openings and the enlarged mask opening are arranged to form a third opening pattern (Lin 230, ¶0043-0044, fig 1, 9, 10); and
forming a first cut layer (Lin 715) on a spacer layer (Lin 505/615)(Lin fig 7, ¶0039).
Neither Huang, nor Lin, either alone or in combination, teaches: forming the first cut layer on the spacer layer in one of the plurality of mandrel recesses, as required by claim 4.
Therefore, Huang in view of Lin in combination disclose some of the features of the claimed invention, but there is no motivation/teaching and do not render obvious to combine and/or modify Huang, Lin, Chu, or any other prior arts of record so that all of limitations of claim 4 as a whole can be met.
Regarding claims 6-12, 21, and 22, the dependent claims are allowed for their dependency to claim 4.
Regarding claim 13, it is allowable primarily because the prior arts of record, singly or in combination, neither anticipates nor render obvious the following limitations when taken in combination with all other limitations:
forming the first cut layer on the spacer layer in one of the plurality of mandrel recesses. (Applicant fig 2, ¶0027).
Huang et al (US 20180108527 A1, hereafter Huang) teaches: A method for two-dimensional (2D) patterning (as best understood to mean “A method of semiconductor fabrication”), comprising:
forming a plurality of mandrel recesses (Huang LA, LB, LC, fig 11A, 11B, ¶0034, 0045) in a mandrel layer (Huang 401, ¶0022, fig 13A, 17A) over a hard mask layer (Huang 121, ¶0017)(Huang fig 11B, ¶0034) that is disposed over a dielectric layer (Huang 111M, ¶0013)(Huang fig 4B, 17A);
forming a plurality of spacers (Huang 1301) respectively in the plurality of mandrel recesses (Huang fig 13A, 13B, 17A, 17B), where the plurality of spacers are respectively connected to sidewalls of the mandrel layer bordering the plurality of mandrel recesses (Huang fig 13B) and have spacer recesses (Huang 1101, 1103, 1701c, ¶0041, fig 13B, 17A) respectively formed in the plurality of mandrel recesses (Huang fig 13B, 17A), and two of the spacer recesses (Huang 1701c) extend in a direction (Huang ¶0041, fig 17A, y dir with respect to fig 17A), are aligned in the direction (Huang fig 17A) and are spaced apart from each other in the direction by a first cut layer (Huang 1301, 1301 covering 1105)(Huang fig 17A);
patterning the mandrel layer (Huang fig 11A, 11B, ¶0034, 0045) to form a plurality of mandrel openings (Huang LA, LB, LC, fig 11A, 11B, ¶0034, 0045) in the mandrel layer (Huang fig 11A, 11B), where two of the plurality of mandrel openings (Huang LC) extend in the direction, are aligned in the direction, and are spaced apart from each other in the direction by a second cut layer (Huang 1105) of the mandrel layer (Huang fig 11A, 11B);
patterning the hard mask layer (Huang 121) with the mandrel layer (Huang 401), the plurality of spacers (Huang 1301) and the first cut layer (Huang 1301, 1301 covering 1105) collectively serving as a mask to form a plurality of mask openings (Huang 2001, 2003c 2005, 2005c) in the hard mask layer (Huang fig 20A, 20B, ¶0044-0046); and
forming, in the dielectric layer through the hard mask layer, metal lines (Huang 113M, fig 24B, ¶0051) that are arranged in a pattern in which plurality of mask openings are arranged (Huang fig 24B, ¶0045, 0051),
wherein forming the plurality of spacer recesses includes:
depositing the spacer layer (Huang 1201, ¶0035, similar to Lin 505/615) over the mandrel layer (Huang 401, similar to Lin 210) and in the plurality of mandrel recesses (Huang LA, LB, LC, similar to Lin 201, S)(Huang ¶0035, fig 12B, similar to Lin fig 6, ¶0037); and
anisotropically etching the spacer layer to form the spacers (Huang 1301)(Huang ¶0036, fig 13B).
Lin et al (US 20220076995 A1, hereafter Lin) teaches: forming a plurality of mandrel recesses (Lin 201, S, fig 2, ¶0031, opening in 210) in a mandrel layer (Lin 210, under a broadest reasonable interpretation of a “mandrel layer”) over a hard mask layer (Lin 305) that is disposed over a dielectric layer (Lin 105)(Lin fig 3);
etching a portion of one of a plurality of spacers (Lin 512A) that separates a to-be-merged recess of the spacer recesses (Lin 512A) and an adjacent mandrel opening (Lin fig 5B), which is one of a plurality of mandrel openings adjacent to the to-be-merged recess (Lin fig 9) and which has a length different from a length of the to-be-merged recess (Lin fig 1, 5B, spacer recess 512A having L2 less than a length of a mandrel opening (opening in 210, filled by 410)), so as to form an enlarged spacer opening (Lin 512A, fig 8)(Lin fig 5B, 9, ¶0041, “A union of the opening 512A and mask structure 210 has thus been patterned into the first mask layer”), and
forming a plurality enlarged mask opening (Lin 140A, 140B) in the hard mask layer (Lin ¶0042-0043); and forming metal lines that are arranged in the enlarged mask opening (Lin 235, ¶0045, fig 1, 9, 10); and
forming a first cut layer (Lin 715) on a spacer layer (Lin 505/615)(Lin fig 7, ¶0039).
Neither Huang, nor Lin, either alone or in combination, teaches: forming the first cut layer on the spacer layer in one of the plurality of mandrel recesses, as required by claim 13.
Therefore, Huang in view of Lin in combination disclose some of the features of the claimed invention, but there is no motivation/teaching and do not render obvious to combine and/or modify Huang, Lin, Chu, or any other prior arts of record so that all of limitations of claim 13 as a whole can be met.
Regarding claims 15-20, the dependent claims are allowed for their dependency to claim 13.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 07/07/2026, with respect to rejections made under 35 USC § 102 or 103 of claims 1-3 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments filed 07/07/2026, with respect to the previous rejections made under 35 USC § 102 of claim 1 and 35 USC § 103 of claims 2 and 3 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection, as necessitated by amendment, is made under 35 USC § 103 of Huang et al (US 20180108527 A1, hereafter Huang) in view of Lin et al (US 20220076995 A1, hereafter Lin), which teaches the amended limitations of claim 1, as disclosed above.
Further, regarding applicant’s argument that independent claim 1 has been “amended to substantially include the subject matter of allowable dependent claim 6”, and that “claim 6 did not previously depend from claim 1, it is still believed that amended claim 1 and its dependent claims are also in condition for allowance for at least the same reasons as allowable claim 6” (Remarks dated 07/07/2026, page 12); claim 6 was indicated as allowable due to its dependency to claim 5. However, it does not appear that all of the limitations of original claim 5 and claim 4, from which claim 6 depends, have been incorporated in claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Licausi et al (US 20180174895 A1) is cited as an example of an analogous method further using multiple patterning steps over a mandrel layer to form self-aligned metal line cuts below the mandrel layer in a hard mask layer.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS B. MICHAUD/
EXAMINER
Art Unit 2818
/BRIAN TURNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818