DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-20 remain pending in this application. Acknowledgement is made of the amendment received 01/06/2026. Claims 2, 4, and 13 are amended.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 7, 13, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites “arranged in a pattern that is the combination”, it appears that it should read “arranged in a pattern that is a combination”.
Regarding claim 13, the claim recites “which is one of the mandrel openings adjacent to the to-be-merged recesses”, it appears that it should read “which is one of the mandrel openings adjacent to the to-be-merged recess
Regarding claims 7 and 16, the claims recite “not covered by first cut layer”, it appears that they should read “not covered by the first cut layer”.
Appropriate correction is required
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al (US 20180108527 A1, hereafter Huang).
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses: A method of semiconductor fabrication (Huang fig 4, 11A-25, ¶0053), comprising:
forming a plurality of mandrel recesses (Huang LA, LB, LC, fig 11A, 11B, ¶0034, 0045) in a mandrel layer (Huang 401, ¶0022, fig 13A, 17A) over a hard mask layer (Huang 121, ¶0017)(Huang fig 11B, ¶0034);
performing a first patterning process (Huang fig 12A, 12B, ¶0035) on a spacer layer (Huang 1201, ¶0035) that is deposited over the mandrel layer (Huang fig 12A, 12B, ¶0035) to form a first opening pattern (Huang 1101, 1103, ¶0036, fig 13A, 13B);
performing a second patterning process (Huang fig 17A, 17B, ¶0041) to etch portions of the mandrel layer to form a second opening pattern (Huang 1701, 1701c, fig 17A, 17B, ¶0041);
performing a third patterning process (Huang fig 20A, 20B, ¶0044, 0045) to form a third opening pattern (Huang 2001, 2003c 2005, 2005c, ¶0045) in the hard mask layer (Huang fig 20A, 20B, ¶0045) based on the first opening pattern and the second opening pattern (Huang fig 13B, 17B, 20B, ¶0044-0046, 2001 formed in 121 is etched using 1101, 2005 formed in 121 is etched using 1701, simultaneously); and
forming, through the hard mask layer (Huang fig 21B, 22B, 23B, 24B, ¶0047-0049, 0051), metal lines (Huang 113M, fig 24B, ¶0051) that are in a semiconductor layer (Huang 111M, ¶0013, under a broadest reasonable interpretation of a semiconductor layer) under the hard mask layer (Huang 24B) and that are arranged in a pattern which corresponds to the third opening pattern (Huang fig 24B, ¶0045, 0051).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al (US 20180108527 A1, hereafter Huang), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lin et al (US 20220076995 A1, hereafter Lin).
Regarding claim 2, Huang teaches: The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein performing a third patterning process (Huang fig 20A, 20B, ¶0044, 0045) includes:
patterning the hard mask layer (Huang 121) to form a plurality of mask openings (Huang 2001, 2003c 2005, 2005c) in the hard mask layer (Huang fig 20A, 20B, ¶0045) with the mask openings being arranged in a pattern that is the combination of the first opening pattern (Huang 1101, 1103, fig 20A, 20B, ¶0045) and the second opening pattern (Huang 1701, 1701c)(Huang ¶0044-0046, 2001 formed in 121 is etched using 1101, 2005 formed in 121 is etched using 1701).
Huang does not explicitly teach: etching a portion of the hard mask layer that separates two adjacent mask openings which have different lengths among the mask openings to obtain an enlarged mask opening in the hard mask layer so that the mask openings and the enlarged mask opening are arranged to form the third opening pattern.
Lin, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor device manufacturing, teaches: patterning a hard mask layer (Lin 305) to form a plurality of mask openings (Lin L, LS1, filled by 103, 140A, 140B, fig 1) in the hard mask layer (Lin fig 1, 9, 10, ¶0042) with the mask openings being arranged in a pattern that is the combination of a first opening pattern (Lin 201, S, fig 2, ¶0031, opening in 210) and a second opening pattern (Lin 220, 512A-B, 510A-C, 720, ¶0035, 0037, figs 5A-8, openings formed in 505/615)(Lin fig 9, ¶0042, “the underlayer (e.g., mask layer 305) is masked by a remainder of mask structures 210 summed with plug mask 720”); and
etching a portion of the hard mask layer (Lin ¶0042-0043) that separates two adjacent mask openings which have different lengths (Lin fig 1, ¶0025-0027, 103 having arbitrary collier lengths defined by 130A, fig 1 shows two adjacent 103 of different lengths in y dir) among the mask openings to obtain an enlarged mask opening (Lin 140B, 140A) in the hard mask layer so that the mask openings and the enlarged mask opening are arranged to form a third opening pattern (Lin 230, ¶0043-0044, fig 1, 9, 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Huang to include “etching a portion of the hard mask layer that separates two adjacent mask openings which have different lengths among the mask openings to obtain an enlarged mask opening in the hard mask layer”, and such that “the mask openings and the enlarged mask opening are arranged to form the third opening pattern”, as taught by Lin, in order to reduce mask count while defining both staples and bridges between adjacent interconnects, thereby allowing for a single interconnect level and/or increasing a single level interconnects’ density (Lin ¶0019, 0020).
Regarding claim 3, Huang teaches: The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein performing a third patterning process includes:
etching a portion (Huang 1301, 1301 covering 1105) of a spacer layer (Huang 1201, ¶0035) that separates one of spacer recesses (Huang 1101, 1103) in the spacer layer and one of mandrel openings (Huang LA, LB, LC) in the mandrel layer, which is adjacent to the one of the spacer recesses (Huang 1101, 1103, 1701c, ¶0041, fig 13B, 17A)(Huang fig 13A, 17B); and
patterning the hard mask layer (Huang 121) to form a plurality of mask openings (Huang 2001, 2003c 2005, 2005c) in the hard mask layer (Huang fig 20A, 20B, ¶0045) with the mask openings being arranged in a pattern that is identical to the third opening pattern (Huang 2001, 2003c 2005, 2005c, ¶0045)(Huang fig 13B, 17B, 20B, ¶0044-0046, 2001 formed in 121 is etched using 1101, 2005 formed in 121 is etched using 1701, simultaneously).
Huang does not explicitly teach: etching a portion of a spacer layer that separates one of spacer recesses in the spacer layer and one of mandrel openings in the mandrel layer, which is adjacent to the one of the spacer recesses and which has a length different from a length of the one of the spacer recesses, so as to form an enlarged spacer opening, where the spacer recesses, the mandrel openings and the enlarged spacer opening cooperate to form the third opening pattern; and
patterning the hard mask layer to form an enlarged mask opening in the hard mask layer with the mask openings and the enlarged mask opening being arranged in a pattern that is identical to the third opening pattern.
Lin, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor device manufacturing, teaches: etching a portion of a spacer layer (Lin 505, 615, 715, ¶0042)(Lin 220, 701, fig 7) that separates one of spacer recesses (Lin 512A) in the spacer layer (Lin fig 7) and one of mandrel openings (Lin S, fig 2, 5B, ¶0031, opening in 210, filled by 410) in a mandrel layer (Lin 210, under a broadest reasonable interpretation of a “mandrel layer”), which is adjacent to the one of the spacer recesses and which has a length different from a length of the one of the spacer recesses (Lin fig 1, 5B, spacer recess 512A having L2 less than a length of a mandrel opening (opening in 210, filled by 410)), so as to form an enlarged spacer opening (Lin 512A), where the spacer recesses, the mandrel openings and the enlarged spacer opening cooperate to form a third opening pattern (Lin fig 5B, 9, ¶0041, “A union of the opening 512A and mask structure 210 has thus been patterned into the first mask layer”); and
patterning a hard mask layer (Lin 305) to form an enlarged mask opening (Lin 512A, 2S+L, fig 5B, 9) in the hard mask layer with the mask openings and the enlarged mask opening being arranged in a pattern that is identical to the third opening pattern (Lin fig 9, ¶0042, “the underlayer (e.g., mask layer 305) is masked by a remainder of mask structures 210 summed with plug mask 720”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify etching a portion of a spacer layer of the method of Huang to include such that it “is adjacent to the one of the spacer recesses and which has a length different from a length of the one of the spacer recesses, so as to form an enlarged spacer opening”, and such that “the spacer recesses, the mandrel openings and the enlarged spacer opening cooperate to form the third opening pattern”, and “patterning the hard mask layer to form an enlarged mask opening in the hard mask layer with the mask openings and the enlarged mask opening being arranged in a pattern that is identical to the third opening pattern”, as taught by Lin, in order to reduce mask count while defining both staples and bridges between adjacent interconnects, thereby allowing for a single interconnect level and/or increasing a single level interconnects’ density (Lin ¶0019, 0020).
Claims 4, 9, 10, 13, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al (US 20180108527 A1, hereafter Huang) in view of Lin et al (US 20220076995 A1, hereafter Lin).
Regarding claim 4, Huang teaches: A method of semiconductor fabrication (Huang fig 4, 11A-25, ¶0053), comprising:
forming a plurality of mandrel recesses (Huang LA, LB, LC, fig 11A, 11B, ¶0034, 0045) in a mandrel layer (Huang 401, ¶0022, fig 13A, 17A) over a hard mask layer (Huang 121, ¶0017)(Huang fig 11B, ¶0034) that is disposed over a dielectric layer (Huang 111M, ¶0013)(Huang fig 4B, 17A);
forming a plurality of spacer recesses (Huang 1101, 1103, 1701c, ¶0041, fig 13B, 17A) of a spacer layer (Huang 1201, ¶0035) respectively in the mandrel recesses (Huang fig 13A, 13B, 17A, 17B), where two of the spacer recesses (Huang 1701c) extend in a direction (Huang ¶0041, fig 17A, y dir with respect to fig 17A), are aligned in the direction (Huang fig 17A) and are spaced apart from each other in the direction by a first cut layer (Huang 1301, 1301 covering 1105)(Huang fig 17A), and the spacer recesses cooperate to form a first opening pattern (Huang ¶0044-0046, 2005c formed in 121 is etched using 1701c);
patterning the mandrel layer (Huang fig 17A, 17B, ¶0041) to form a second opening pattern (Huang 1701, fig 17A, 17B, ¶0041) in the mandrel layer;
patterning the hard mask layer (Huang 121) to form a plurality of mask openings (Huang 2001, 2003c 2005, 2005c) in the hard mask layer (Huang fig 20A, 20B, ¶0045) with the mask openings being arranged in a pattern that is the combination of the first opening pattern (Huang 1101, 1103, fig 20A, 20B, ¶0045) and the second opening pattern (Huang 1701, 1701c)(Huang ¶0044-0046, 2001 formed in 121 is etched using 1101, 2005 formed in 121 is etched using 1701); and
forming, in the dielectric layer through the hard mask layer, metal lines (Huang 113M, fig 24B, ¶0051) that are arranged in a pattern which corresponds to a third opening pattern (Huang fig 24B, ¶0045, 0051).
Huang does not explicitly teach: etching a portion of the hard mask layer that separates two adjacent mask openings which have different lengths among the mask openings to obtain an enlarged mask opening in the hard mask layer so that the mask openings and the enlarged mask opening are arranged to form the third opening pattern.
Lin, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor device manufacturing, teaches: patterning a hard mask layer (Lin 305) to form a plurality of mask openings (Lin L, LS1, filled by 103, 140A, 140B, fig 1) in the hard mask layer (Lin fig 1, 9, 10, ¶0042) with the mask openings being arranged in a pattern that is the combination of a first opening pattern (Lin 201, S, fig 2, ¶0031, opening in 210) and a second opening pattern (Lin 220, 512A-B, 510A-C, 720, ¶0035, 0037, figs 5A-8, openings formed in 505/615)(Lin fig 9, ¶0042, “the underlayer (e.g., mask layer 305) is masked by a remainder of mask structures 210 summed with plug mask 720”); and
etching a portion of the hard mask layer (Lin ¶0042-0043) that separates two adjacent mask openings which have different lengths (Lin fig 1, ¶0025-0027, 103 having arbitrary collier lengths defined by 130A, fig 1 shows two adjacent 103 of different lengths in y dir) among the mask openings to obtain an enlarged mask opening (Lin 140B, 140A) in the hard mask layer so that the mask openings and the enlarged mask opening are arranged to form a third opening pattern (Lin 230, ¶0043-0044, fig 1, 9, 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Huang to include “etching a portion of the hard mask layer that separates two adjacent mask openings which have different lengths among the mask openings to obtain an enlarged mask opening in the hard mask layer”, and such that “the mask openings and the enlarged mask opening are arranged to form the third opening pattern”, as taught by Lin, in order to reduce mask count while defining both staples and bridges between adjacent interconnects, thereby allowing for a single interconnect level and/or increasing a single level interconnects’ density (Lin ¶0019, 0020).
Regarding claim 9, Huang in view of Lin teaches: The method as claimed in claim 4, wherein patterning the mandrel layer (Huang 401)(Huang fig 11A, 11B, ¶0034, 0045):
forming a second patterning layer (Huang 1601, ¶0039) over the mandrel layer (Huang 401), the spacers (Huang 1301) and the first cut layer (Huang 1301, 1301 covering 1105)(Huang fig 16B), where the second patterning layer covers each of the spacer recesses (Huang 1101, 1103, 1701c) and is formed with multiple openings (Huang 1603, fig 16A, 16B, ¶0018-0020, 0040, at least multiple opening formed in trilayers of 1601) that correspond to the second opening pattern (Huang 1701, 1701c) and that expose portions of the mandrel layer (Huang fig, 16B, 18B); and
etching the portions of the mandrel layer (Huang 401) with the second patterning layer serving as a mask to form the mandrel openings (Huang LA, LB, LC) in the mandrel layer (Huang fig 18B, fig 20A).
Regarding claim 10, Huang in view of Lin teaches: The method as claimed in claim 9, wherein the second opening pattern (Huang 1701, 1701c) in the mandrel layer (Huang 401) includes multiple mandrel openings, where two of the mandrel openings (Huang LC) extend in the direction, are aligned in the direction, and are spaced apart from each other in the direction by a second cut layer (Huang 1105) of the mandrel layer (Huang fig 11A, 11B).
Regarding claim 13, Huang teaches: A method of semiconductor fabrication, comprising:
forming a plurality of mandrel recesses (Huang LA, LB, LC, fig 11A, 11B, ¶0034, 0045) in a mandrel layer (Huang 401, ¶0022, fig 13A, 17A) over a hard mask layer (Huang 121, ¶0017)(Huang fig 11B, ¶0034) that is disposed over a dielectric layer (Huang 111M, ¶0013)(Huang fig 4B, 17A);
forming a plurality of spacers (Huang 1301) respectively in the mandrel recesses (Huang fig 13A, 13B, 17A, 17B), where the spacers are respectively connected to sidewalls of the mandrel layer bordering the mandrel recesses (Huang fig 13B) and have spacer recesses (Huang 1101, 1103, 1701c, ¶0041, fig 13B, 17A) respectively formed therein (Huang fig 13B, 17A), and two of the spacer recesses (Huang 1701c) extend in a direction (Huang ¶0041, fig 17A, y dir with respect to fig 17A), are aligned in the direction (Huang fig 17A) and are spaced apart from each other in the direction by a first cut layer (Huang 1301, 1301 covering 1105)(Huang fig 17A);
patterning the mandrel layer (Huang fig 11A, 11B, ¶0034, 0045) to form a plurality of mandrel openings (Huang LA, LB, LC, fig 11A, 11B, ¶0034, 0045) in the mandrel layer (Huang fig 11A, 11B), where two of the mandrel openings (Huang LC) extend in the direction, are aligned in the direction, and are spaced apart from each other in the direction by a second cut layer (Huang 1105) of the mandrel layer (Huang fig 11A, 11B);
patterning the hard mask layer (Huang 121) with the mandrel layer (Huang 401), the spacers (Huang 1301) and the first cut layer (Huang 1301, 1301 covering 1105) collectively serving as a mask to form a plurality of mask openings (Huang 2001, 2003c 2005, 2005c) in the hard mask layer (Huang fig 20A, 20B, ¶0044-0046); and
forming, in the dielectric layer through the hard mask layer, metal lines (Huang 113M, fig 24B, ¶0051) that are arranged in a pattern in which mask openings are arranged (Huang fig 24B, ¶0045, 0051).
Huang does not explicitly teach: etching a portion of one of the spacers that separates a to-be-merged recess of the spacer recesses and an adjacent mandrel opening, which is one of the mandrel openings adjacent to the to-be-merged recesses (as best understood to mean “to-be-merged recess”) and which has a length different from a length of the to-be-merged recess, so as to form an enlarged spacer opening; and
forming a plurality enlarged mask opening in the hard mask layer; and forming metal lines that are arranged in the enlarged mask opening.
Lin, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor device manufacturing, teaches: forming a plurality of mandrel recesses (Lin 201, S, fig 2, ¶0031, opening in 210) in a mandrel layer (Lin 210, under a broadest reasonable interpretation of a “mandrel layer”) over a hard mask layer (Lin 305) that is disposed over a dielectric layer (Lin 105)(Lin fig 3);
etching a portion of one of the spacers (Lin 512A) that separates a to-be-merged recess of the spacer recesses (Lin 512A) and an adjacent mandrel opening (Lin fig 5B), which is one of the mandrel openings adjacent to the to-be-merged recess (Lin fig 9) and which has a length different from a length of the to-be-merged recess (Lin fig 1, 5B, spacer recess 512A having L2 less than a length of a mandrel opening (opening in 210, filled by 410)), so as to form an enlarged spacer opening (Lin 512A, fig 8)(Lin fig 5B, 9, ¶0041, “A union of the opening 512A and mask structure 210 has thus been patterned into the first mask layer”), and
forming a plurality enlarged mask opening (Lin 140A, 140B) in the hard mask layer (Lin ¶0042-0043); and forming metal lines that are arranged in the enlarged mask opening (Lin 235, ¶0045, fig 1, 9, 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Huang to include “etching a portion of one of the spacers that separates a to-be-merged recess of the spacer recesses and an adjacent mandrel opening, which is one of the mandrel openings adjacent to the to-be-merged recess and which has a length different from a length of the to-be-merged recess, so as to form an enlarged spacer opening; and forming a plurality enlarged mask opening in the hard mask layer; and forming metal lines that are arranged in the enlarged mask opening”, as taught by Lin, in order to reduce mask count while defining both staples and bridges between adjacent interconnects, thereby allowing for a single interconnect level and/or increasing a single level interconnects’ density (Lin ¶0019, 0020).
Regarding claim 18, Huang in view of Lin teaches: The method as claimed in claim 13, wherein patterning the mandrel layer includes:
forming a second patterning layer (Huang 1601, ¶0039) over the mandrel layer (Huang 401), the spacers (Huang 1301) and the first cut layer (Huang 1301, 1301 covering 1105)(Huang fig 16B), where the second patterning layer covers each of the spacer recesses (Huang 1101, 1103, 1701c) and is formed with multiple openings (Huang 1603, fig 16A, 16B, ¶0018-0020, 0040, at least multiple opening formed in trilayers of 1601) that expose portions of the mandrel layer (Huang fig, 16B, 18B); and
etching the portions of the mandrel layer (Huang 401) with the second patterning layer serving as a mask to form the mandrel openings (Huang LA, LB, LC) in the mandrel layer (Huang fig 18B, fig 20A).
Regarding claim 19, Huang in view of Lin teaches: The method as claimed in claim 13, further comprising, subsequent to patterning the mandrel layer (Huang 401)(Huang fig 11A, 11B, ¶0034, 0045):
forming a third patterning layer (Huang 1601, ¶0039) over the mandrel layer (Huang 401), the spacers (Huang 1301) and the first cut layer (Huang 1301, 1301 covering 1105)(Huang fig 16B), where the third patterning layer covers the spacer recesses (Huang 1101, 1103, 1701c) and the mandrel openings (Huang LA, LB, LC), and is formed with at least one opening (Huang 1603, fig 16A, 16B, ¶0018-0020, 0040) that exposes the portion of one of the spacers (Huang as modified to include Lin 512A)(Huang fig 18B, fig 20A, similar to Lin fig 7, 8);
wherein in etching a portion of one of the spacers, the portion of the one of the spacers is etched with the third patterning layer serving as a mask so that the to-be-merged recess (Huang as modified to include Lin fig 1, 5B, spacer recess 512A) and the adjacent mandrel opening which have different lengths (Huang LC) are connected to form the enlarged spacer opening (Huang as modified to include Lin 512A, fig 8).
Regarding claim 20, Huang in view of Lin teaches: The method as claimed in claim 19, wherein in etching a portion of one of the spacers (Huang as modified to include Lin 512A), one segment of the enlarged spacer opening (Huang as modified to include Lin 512A, fig 8) that is formed from a single one of the to-be-merged recess (Huang as modified to include Lin fig 1, 5B, spacer recess 512A) and the adjacent mandrel opening (Huang LC, similar to Lin S, 210) has a width smaller than a width of the remaining segment of the enlarged spacer opening that is formed from both the to-be-merged recess and the adjacent mandrel opening (Lin S<2S+L, fig 1, 5B, 10).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8, 11, 12, and 14-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, it is allowable, notwithstanding above objection, primarily because the prior arts of record, singly or in combination, neither anticipates nor render obvious the following limitations when taken in combination with all other limitations:
forming the first cut layer on the spacer layer in one of the mandrel recesses. (Applicant fig 2, ¶0027).
Huang in view of Lin teaches: The method as claimed in claim 4, wherein forming a plurality of spacer recesses includes:
depositing a spacer layer (Huang 1201, ¶0035, similar to Lin 505/615) over the mandrel layer (Huang 401, similar to Lin 210) and in the mandrel recesses (Huang LA, LB, LC, similar to Lin 201, S)(Huang ¶0035, fig 12B, similar to Lin fig 6, ¶0037); and
anisotropically etching the spacer layer to form the spacers (Huang 1301)(Huang ¶0036, fig 13B).
Lin further teaches: forming the first cut layer (Lin 715) on the spacer layer (Lin 505/615)(Lin fig 7, ¶0039).
Neither Huang, nor Lin, either alone or in combination, teaches: forming the first cut layer on the spacer layer in one of the mandrel recesses, as required by claim 5.
Therefore, Huang in view of Lin in combination disclose some of the features of the claimed invention, but there is no motivation/teaching and do not render obvious to combine and/or modify Huang, Lin, Chu, or any other prior arts of record so that all of limitations of claim 5 as a whole can be met.
Regarding claims 6-8, the dependent claims are allowed for their dependency to claim 5.
Regarding claim 11, it is allowable, notwithstanding above objection, primarily because the prior arts of record, singly or in combination, neither anticipates nor render obvious the following limitations when taken in combination with all other limitations:
subsequent to patterning the hard mask layer:
forming a third patterning layer over the hard mask layer, where the third patterning layer covers the mask openings and is formed with an opening that exposes the portion of the hard mask layer;
wherein in etching a portion of the hard mask layer, the portion of the hard mask layer is etched with the third patterning layer serving as a mask so that the two adjacent mask openings which have different lengths are connected to form the enlarged mask opening in the hard mask layer. (Applicant fig 2, 12A, ¶0055).
Huang in view of Lin teaches: The method as claimed in claim 4, and
forming a third patterning layer (Huang 1601, ¶0039) over the hard mask layer (Huang 121), where the third patterning layer is formed with an opening that exposes the portion of the hard mask layer (Huang fig 17B, similar to Lin fig 8).
Neither Huang, nor Lin, either alone or in combination, teaches: the claim limitations, as required by claim 11.
Therefore, Huang in view of Lin in combination disclose some of the features of the claimed invention, but there is no motivation/teaching and do not render obvious to combine and/or modify Huang, Lin, Chu, or any other prior arts of record so that all of limitations of claim 11 as a whole can be met.
Regarding claim 12, the dependent claim is allowed for its dependency to claim 11.
Regarding claim 14, it is allowable, notwithstanding above objection, primarily because the prior arts of record, singly or in combination, neither anticipates nor render obvious the following limitations when taken in combination with all other limitations:
forming the first cut layer on the spacer layer in one of the mandrel recesses. (Applicant fig 2, ¶0027).
Huang in view of Lin teaches: The method as claimed in claim 13, wherein forming a plurality of spacers includes:
depositing a spacer layer (Huang 1201, ¶0035, similar to Lin 505/615) over the mandrel layer (Huang 401, similar to Lin 210) and in the mandrel recesses (Huang LA, LB, LC, similar to Lin 201, S)(Huang ¶0035, fig 12B, similar to Lin fig 6, ¶0037); and
anisotropically etching the spacer layer to form the spacers (Huang 1301)(Huang ¶0036, fig 13B).
Lin further teaches: forming the first cut layer (Lin 715) on the spacer layer (Lin 505/615)(Lin fig 7, ¶0039).
Neither Huang, nor Lin, either alone or in combination, teaches: forming the first cut layer on the spacer layer in one of the mandrel recesses, as required by claim 14.
Therefore, Huang in view of Lin in combination disclose some of the features of the claimed invention, but there is no motivation/teaching and do not render obvious to combine and/or modify Huang, Lin, Chu, or any other prior arts of record so that all of limitations of claim 14 as a whole can be met.
Regarding claims 15-17, the dependent claims are allowed for their dependency to claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Chu et al (US 20190206725 A1) is cited as an example of an analogous method.
Huang et al (US 20190006174 A1) is cited as an example of an analogous method.
/NICHOLAS B. MICHAUD/
EXAMINER
Art Unit 2818
/Mounir S Amer/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818