Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9 in the reply filed on March 12, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 13, 2024 was filed before the mailing of a first Office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification contains the following typographical error in paragraph 194, “boron (B) icons.” This is understood to be boron (B) ions.
Appropriate correction is required.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the content of the abstract is a nearly word for word repeat of independent claim 1. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the Markush Group “wherein the first barrier layer includes at least one of silicon dioxide, silicon nitride, or silicon oxynitride,” on page 1 lines 13-14. The Markush Group renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what elements are included in the Markush Group. The examiner first notes that, “Although the term "Markush claim" is used throughout the MPEP, any claim that recites alternatively usable members, regardless of format, should be treated as a Markush claim.” See MPEP § 2117 I. The examiner next notes that the Markush Group is introduced by an open-ended transitional phrase, “includes,” and thus, the Markush Group includes additional unrecited elements. The examiner now notes that “If a Markush grouping requires a material selected from an open list of alternatives (e.g., selected from the group ‘comprising’ or ‘consisting essentially of’ the recited alternatives), the claim should generally be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as indefinite because it is unclear what other alternatives are intended to be encompassed by the claim.” See MPEP § 2173.05(h) I.
Claim 3 recites the Markush Group “wherein the ions include fluorine ions or boron ion,” on page 1 lines 16-17. The Markush Group renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what elements are included in the Markush Group. The examiner first notes that, “Although the term "Markush claim" is used throughout the MPEP, any claim that recites alternatively usable members, regardless of format, should be treated as a Markush claim.” See MPEP § 2117 I. The examiner next notes that the Markush Group is introduced by an open-ended transitional phrase, “include,” and thus, the Markush Group includes additional unrecited elements. The examiner now notes that “If a Markush grouping requires a material selected from an open list of alternatives (e.g., selected from the group ‘comprising’ or ‘consisting essentially of’ the recited alternatives), the claim should generally be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as indefinite because it is unclear what other alternatives are intended to be encompassed by the claim.” See MPEP § 2173.05(h) I.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeong et al. (US 2019/0319050).
Regarding Claim 1:
Jeong discloses a display apparatus comprising:
a first substrate (first polymer resin layer, See fig. 1, ref. no. 101 and paragraph 45) including a polymer resin (polymer resin, See paragraph 45);
a first barrier layer (basic barrier layer, See fig. 1, ref. no. 103 and paragraph 45) on the first substrate and including a portion doped with ions (implanting of boron as dopant into a second polymer resin layer having thickness of less than 100 angstroms also implants boron into the basic barrier layer, See fig. 1, ref. nos. 102, 103, paragraph 47 and 73), wherein the portion includes an upper surface of the first barrier layer (the basic barrier layer includes the upper surface of the basic barrier layer, See fig. 1, ref. no. 103. (The examiner notes that implanting boron into an entire basic barrier layer includes implanting boron into a portion of the basic barrier layer that includes an upper surface.)
a second substrate (second polymer resin layer, See fig. 1, ref. no. 102 and paragraph 45) on the upper surface of the first barrier layer and including a polymer resin (polymer resin, See paragraph 45);
a buffer layer (buffer layer, See fig. 1, ref. no. 140 and paragraph 50) on the second substrate;
a first thin-film transistor (thin film transistor, See fig. 1, ref. no. 210 and paragraph 51) on the buffer layer; and
a light-emitting diode (organic light emitting device, See fig. 1, ref. no. 300 and paragraph 51) electrically connected to the first thin-film transistor.
Regarding Claim 2:
Jeong discloses wherein the first barrier layer includes at least one of silicon oxide (silicon oxide, See paragraph 45), silicon nitride (silicon nitride, See paragraph 45), or silicon oxynitride.
Regarding Claim 3:
Jeong discloses wherein the ions include fluorine ions or boron ions (boron, See fig. 1, ref. nos. 102, 103, paragraph 47 and 73).
Regarding Claim 6:
Jeong discloses wherein the first thin-film transistor includes: a first semiconductor layer including a silicon semiconductor (semiconductor layer, See fig. 1, ref. no. 211 and paragraph 52); and a first gate electrode (gate electrode, See fig. 1, ref. no. 213 and paragraph 52) insulated from the first semiconductor layer (there is a gate insulating layer between the gate electrode and the semiconductor layer, See fig. 1, ref. nos. 150, 211, 213, and paragraph 150).
Regarding Claim 9:
Jeong discloses a second barrier layer (barrier layer, See fig. 1, ref. no. 140 and paragraph 50) between the second substrate and the buffer layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2014/0339517) in view of Tong (US 7,109,092).
Regarding Claim 1:
Park discloses a display apparatus comprising:
a first substrate (first plastic layer, See fig. 4, ref. no. 1PL, paragraphs 67 and 95-96) including a polymer resin (polyimide, See paragraph 67);
a first barrier layer (first barrier layer, See fig. 4, ref. no. 1BL and paragraph 95) on the first substrate;
a second substrate (second plastic layer, See fig. 4, ref. no. 2PL, paragraphs 67 and 95-96) on the upper surface of the first barrier layer and including a polymer resin (polyimide, See paragraph 67);
a buffer layer (buffer layer formed on second burrier layer, See fig. 4, ref. nos. 110, 2BL, paragraphs 74-75 and 95) on the second substrate;
a first thin-film transistor (thin film transistor, See fig. 2, ref. no. TFT, fig. 4, ref. no. 110, paragraphs 74-75 and 95) on the buffer layer; and
a light-emitting diode (OLED, See fig. 2, ref. nos. OLED, 120, fig. 4, ref. no. 120, paragraphs 77 and 95) electrically connected to the first thin-film transistor.
Park does not disclose a portion of the first barrier layer doped with ions and wherein the portion includes an upper surface of the first barrier layer.
Tong disclose implanting fluorine ions into bonding layers on substrates (See fig. 1, ref. no. 11, fig. 2, ref. nos. 201, 204, and col. 4 lines 9-47). (The examiner notes that implanting fluorine ions into an entire layer includes implanting fluorine ions into a portion of the layer that includes an upper surface.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display apparatus of Park to include implanting fluorine ions into the first barrier layer as taught by Tong in order to increase the strength of the bond between the first plastic layer and the second plastic layer. (See Tong col. 4 lines 51-56)
Regarding Claim 2:
Park discloses wherein the first barrier layer includes at least one of silicon oxide (silicon oxide, See paragraph 70), silicon nitride (silicon nitride, See paragraph 70), or silicon oxynitride.
Regarding Claim 3:
Tong discloses wherein the ions include fluorine ions (fluorine, See col. 4 lines 9-47) or boron ions.
Regarding Claim 5:
Park discloses wherein adhesive force of the first barrier layer is 200 gf/inch or more (an adhesive force of 216.41 gf/inch for a silicon nitride barrier layer, See table 1, paragraphs 103 and 107. The examiner also notes that modifying Park to increase the adhesive strength of the barrier would increase the adhesive force beyond 216.41 gf/inch).
Regarding Claim 6:
Park discloses wherein the first thin-film transistor includes: a first semiconductor layer including a silicon semiconductor (semiconductor layer, See fig. 2, ref. no. 111 and paragraph 74); and a first gate electrode (gate electrode, See fig. 2, ref. no. 113 and paragraph 74) insulated from the first semiconductor layer (there is a gate insulating layer between the gate electrode and the semiconductor layer, See fig. 2, ref. nos. 111, 112, 113, and paragraph 74).
Regarding Claim 9:
Park discloses a second barrier layer (second barrier layer, See figs. 2, 4, ref. no. 2BL, paragraphs 75 and 96) between the second substrate and the buffer layer.
Claims 1-3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0199720) in view of Tong (US 7,109,092).
Regarding Claim 1:
Kim discloses a display apparatus comprising:
a first substrate (first barrier layer, See fig. 8, ref. no. 100a and paragraphs 132-133) including a polymer resin (polymer resin, See paragraph 133);
a first barrier layer (first barrier layer, See fig. 8, ref. no. 100b and paragraphs 132-133) on the first substrate;
a second substrate (second barrier layer, See fig. 8, ref. no. 100c and paragraphs 132-133) on the upper surface of the first barrier layer and including a polymer resin (polymer resin, See paragraph 133);
a buffer layer (buffer layer, See fig. 8, ref. no. 111 paragraph 169) on the second substrate;
a first thin-film transistor (thin film transistor, See fig. 8, ref. no. T1 and paragraphs 176-177) on the buffer layer; and
a light-emitting diode (OLED2, See fig. 8, ref. nos. OLED2, T1, and paragraph 193) electrically connected to the first thin-film transistor.
Kim does not disclose a portion of the first barrier layer doped with ions and wherein the portion includes an upper surface of the first barrier layer.
Tong disclose implanting fluorine ions into bonding layers on substrates (See fig. 1, ref. no. 11, fig. 2, ref. nos. 201, 204, and col. 4 lines 9-47). (The examiner notes that implanting fluorine ions into an entire layer includes implanting fluorine ions into a portion of the layer that includes an upper surface.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display apparatus of Kim to include implanting fluorine ions into the first barrier layer as taught by Tong in order to increase the strength of the bond between the first plastic layer and the second plastic layer. (See Tong col. 4 lines 51-56)
Regarding Claim 2:
Kim discloses wherein the first barrier layer includes at least one of silicon oxide (silicon oxide, See paragraph 134), silicon nitride (silicon nitride, See paragraph 134), or silicon oxynitride (silicon oxynitride, See paragraph 134).
Regarding Claim 3:
Tong discloses wherein the ions include fluorine ions (fluorine, See col. 4 lines 9-47) or boron ions.
Regarding Claim 6:
Kim discloses wherein the first thin-film transistor includes: a first semiconductor layer including a silicon semiconductor (first semiconductor layer, See fig. 8, ref. no. Act1 and paragraph 176); and a first gate electrode (first gate electrode, See fig. 8, ref. no. GE1 and paragraph 176) insulated from the first semiconductor layer (there is a first gate insulating layer between the first gate electrode and the first semiconductor layer, See fig. 8, ref. no. 112 and paragraph 177).
Regarding Claim 7:
Kim discloses an insulating layer (first insulating layer, See fig. 8, ref. no. 113 and paragraph 178) covering the first gate electrode; and a second thin-film transistor (second thin film transistor, See fig. 8, ref. no. T2 and paragraph 176) on the insulating layer and including a second semiconductor layer (second semiconductor layer, See fig. 8, ref. no. Act2 and paragraph 176) and a second gate electrode (second gate electrode, See fig. 8, ref. no. GE1 and paragraph 176) insulated from the second semiconductor layer (there is a second gate insulating layer between the second gate electrode and the second semiconductor layer, See fig. 8, ref. no. 115 and paragraph 169), wherein the second semiconductor layer includes an oxide semiconductor (the second semiconductor layer may include oxide semiconductor, See paragraph 180).
Regarding Claim 8:
Kim discloses a bottom metal layer (bottom metal layer, See fig. 8, ref. no. BML and paragraph 169) between the second substrate and the buffer layer.
Regarding Claim 9:
Park discloses a second barrier layer (second barrier layer, See figs. 2, 4, ref. no. 2BL, paragraphs 75 and 96) between the second substrate and the buffer layer.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2014/0339517) in view of Tong (US 7,109,092) further in view of Zhao (US 2021/0036068).
Regarding Claim 4:
The above stated combination of Park and Tong discloses the above stated display apparatus.
The above stated combination of Park and Tong does not disclose wherein the second substrate includes transparent polyimide.
Zhao discloses a substrate is a flexible transparent polyimide substrate (See fig. 1, ref. no. 1 and paragraph 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display apparatus of Park and Tong to include the second substrate include transparent polyimide as taught by Zhao in order to increase light transmittance. (See Zhao paragraph 28.)
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0199720) in view of Tong (US 7,109,092) further in view of Zhao (US 2021/0036068).
Regarding Claim 4:
The above stated combination of Kim and Tong discloses the above stated display apparatus.
The above stated combination of Kim and Tong does not disclose wherein the second substrate includes transparent polyimide.
Zhao discloses a substrate is a flexible transparent polyimide substrate (See fig. 1, ref. no. 1 and paragraph 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display apparatus of Kim and Tong to include the second substrate include transparent polyimide as taught by Zhao in order to increase light transmittance. (See Zhao paragraph 28.)
Conclusion
/CALEEN O SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/B.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2899