DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Valverde-Paniagua et al. [US 2021/0216023 A1].
Regarding claims 1, 13 and 17, Valverde-Paniagua et al. discloses a digital lithography system (Figs. 1A and 1B) comprising:
a stage (130) configured to support a substrate (140);
a bridge (162) disposed above the stage (140); and
a first lithographic processing unit (165) coupled to the bridge (162), comprising:
an optical system (210) comprising one or more reduction optics and configured to transmit optical signals along a shared optical path via the one or more reduction optics both to and from the substrate and the first lithographic processing unit, wherein the shared optical path extends through the one or more reduction optics (paragraph [0033], see also Figs. 2A and 2B);
a scanning unit (Figs. 2A and 2B) comprising an image sensor (208), the image sensor configured to capture images of the substrate via at least one reduction optic of the one or more reduction optics along the shared optical path (paragraph [0024] teaches the sensors are coupled the imaging apparatus to capture the reflection of the focus lasers off the substrate surface), wherein the scanning unit is configured to determine, based on the captured images, surface data indicative of positions of features on a surface of the substrate, wherein the images are captured via the at least one reduction optic of the one or more reduction optics along the shared optical path prior to digital lithographic exposure performed with respect to the substrate (paragraphs [0040]-[0042] teaches the channel of the image projection apparatus includes one or more spatial light modulators, an alignment and inspection system including a focus sensor and a camera, and a plurality of projection optics); and
a lithographic exposure unit (164) configured to perform, based on the surface data determined using the captured images, digital lithographic exposure of the substrate via the at least one reduction optic of the one or more reduction optics along the shared optical path (as shown in Fig. 5, see also paragraph [0047] teaches autofocusing on a substrate during a substrate patterning operation).
Regarding claims 2, 11, 12, 14 and 19, Valverde-Paniagua et al. discloses further comprising: a controller (192, see also paragraphs [0034]-[0035]) configured to: cause the first lithographic processing unit to capture the images of the substrate at a first time during a measurement operation; determine remedial updates for a lithographic exposure pattern based on the captured images; and cause the first lithographic processing unit to perform the digital lithographic exposure of the substrate according to the lithographic exposure pattern as adjusted by the remedial updates at a second time during an exposure operation (as shown in Fig. 5, see also paragraph [0047]), further comprising: a chuck to clamp the substrate to the stage prior to the measurement operation or the exposure operation, wherein the clamp of the substrate to the stage is not released until after the exposure operation, wherein the chuck comprises an electrostatic chuck (paragraphs [0036]-[0038]).
Regarding claims 3, 16 and 20, Valverde-Paniagua et al. discloses further comprising: a plurality of adjacent processing regions spanning a surface profile of the substrate, wherein the first lithographic processing unit is positioned to operate on a first processing region of the plurality of adjacent processing regions; and one or more additional lithographic processing units, each of the one or more additional lithographic processing units is positioned to operate on an additional processing region of the plurality of adjacent processing regions at a same time that the first lithographic processing unit is to operate on the first processing region (as shown in Figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 4, Valverde-Paniagua et al. discloses wherein the lithographic exposure unit comprises an actinic light source and a spatial light modulator, and scanning unit comprises an image sensor (as shown in Figs. 2A and 2B).
Regarding claims 5-7, Valverde-Paniagua et al. discloses wherein the first lithographic processing unit further comprises a first brightfield light source, wherein the scanning unit further comprises a second brightfield light source or a darkfield light source, wherein the scanning unit further comprises a second brightfield light source and a darkfield light source (paragraph [0040]).
Regarding claim 8, Valverde-Paniagua et al. discloses wherein the optical system, the scanning unit, and the lithographic exposure unit transmit and receive optical signals along a common longitudinal axis of the first lithographic processing unit (as shown in Figs. 2A and 2B).
Regarding claim 9, Valverde-Paniagua et al. discloses wherein the optical system comprises reduction optics configured to reduce an image of a lithographic mask pattern onto a surface of the substrate (as shown in Figs. 2A and 2B).
Regarding claims 10, 15 and 18, Valverde-Paniagua et al. discloses wherein the stage is configured to support the substrate at a first region and is further configured to support a second substrate at a second region, the digital lithography system further comprising: a second lithographic processing unit coupled to the bridge, comprising: a second scanning unit; a second lithographic exposure unit; and a second optical system shared by the second scanning unit and the second lithographic exposure unit; wherein the second scanning unit is to use the second optical system to capture images of the second substrate during a measurement operation, and wherein the second lithographic exposure unit is to use the second optical system to perform digital lithographic exposure of the second substrate using the second optical system during an exposure operation, further comprising: a robotic system to move the first substrate off of the second region of the stage, to move the second substrate from the first region of the stage to the second region of the stage, and to move the third substrate to the first region of the stage; wherein the controller is further to: determine remedial updates for a lithographic exposure pattern for the second substrate based on the captured images; cause the first scanning unit to capture images of the third substrate at a second time; and cause the first lithographic exposure unit to perform digital lithographic exposure of the second substrate according to the lithographic exposure pattern as adjusted by the remedial updates at the second time (as shown in Figs. 1-5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEORAM PERSAUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882