Election/Restrictions
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/12/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/16/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8, and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu (US 20220320395 A1) in view of Kawata (US 20170179159 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ryu teaches, in FIG. 21, a display device 11 which has a first substrate 1110 having a flexibility (paragraph 0185) and a pad electrode PD disposed on the first substrate, additionally, a connection line 1140 extending in DR1 and a flexible circuit board (paragraph 0095) - which constitutes a flexible film - forming a driving member. In addition, FIG. 9 shows a that a light emitting area LA is disposed above this structure; paragraph 0071 notes that these light areas can be arranged in a matrix about the display device (which forms rows extending in a second direction intersecting the first in a plan view, see FIG. 2), meaning that the aforementioned structure including the pad electrode is dispersed likewise.
Ryu does not teach a connection electrode disposed between the pad electrode and the connection wires.
Kawata teaches, in FIG. 4, a “connection line” 100 which is on a curved substrate 200, electrically coupled to pad electrode PD via “projection” T (connection electrode).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the connection electrode taught by Kawata with the display device taught by Ryu. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to add the connection electrode in order to, for example, increase connection reliability.
Regarding claim 2, as shown above, Kawata teaches a connection wire and pad electrode electrically connected through a connection electrode.
Regarding claim 4, Ryu further teaches, in FIG. 21, a “second conductive adhesive member” 1151 (bonding pattern) overlapping the connection wires in a plan view. Additionally, this is arranged to define a plurality of rows extending in a second direction in a plan view, along with the pad electrode structure, as shown above.
Additionally, Kawata teaches a connection electrode coupling the pad electrode and connection wire. In addition, Kawata teaches a conductive film 3 which “comprises conductive particles CP dispersed in an adhesive agent” (paragraph 0051).
Regarding claim 5, Ryu and Kawata teach a connection electrode and bonding pattern.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to bond the connection wires taught by Ryu with the connection electrode taught by Kawata with the bonding pattern also taught by Ryu. One having ordinary skill in the art is motivated to do so in order to, for example, secure the connection electrode in place.
Regarding claim 6, as stated above, Ryu and Kawata teach that the connection wires and connection electrodes are bonding by bonding patterns.
Additionally, Kawata teaches, in FIG. 4, a “support substrate” 5 which has an opening exposing the connection electrode T.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the display device taught by Ryu and Kawata such that the connection electrodes are exposed by an opening in the first substrate, as taught by Kawata. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to, for example, allow for the connection electrode to be bonded to the pad electrode via the bonding pattern directly (as opposed to more complex techniques, such as fitting the flexible film into a gap after applying an adhesive as shown in FIGS. 20 and 21 of Ryu), reducing manufacturing cost and increasing yield.
Regarding claim 8, Ryu further teaches a conductive adhesive member (bonding pattern) 1151. The examiner notes that the inclusion of the word “conductive” teaches the presence of a conductive material therein.
Regarding claim 10, Ryu further teaches a second substrate, 2120, disposed above the conductive film 1151, in which Kawata teaches the inclusion of connection electrodes, as shown above.
Regarding claim 11, Ryu further teaches a through hole TH2, which exposes the top of the conductive film 1151 wherein Kawata teaches the inclusion of connection electrodes, as shown above. In addition, the pad electrode is electrically connected to the bonding pattern (and therefore the connection electrodes taught by Kawata).
Regarding claim 12, Ryu further teaches a “barrier layer” 1131 disposed on the first substrate. In addition, Ryu teaches “adhesive layer” 1180 disposed between the first and second layer. One having ordinary skill in the art would appreciate this to be a barrier layer do to it lacking conductive properties. The barrier layer 1180 is also disposed in a same layer as the bonding pattern 1151 (in which the connection electrodes taught by Kawata is disposed).
Regarding claim 13, Ryu further teaches, in FIG. 21, that end portions of the connection wires 1142 protrude farther in the first direction than an end portion of the flexible film.
Regarding claim 14, Ryu and Kawata further teach openings exposing the connection electrodes (and therefore the connection wires). Therefore, the plurality of rows extending in a second direction in a plan view defined by the connection electrodes, as shown above, also teaches openings in that are oriented likewise. Additionally, as shown above the connection electrodes overlap the film openings in a plan view.
Claim(s) 3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu (US 20220320395 A1) in view of Kawata (US 20170179159 A1), in further view of Kim (US 10937842 B2).
Regarding claim 3, Ryu and Kawata teach the limitations of claim 1, but do not teach that the connection electrodes of a first row are disposed between the connection electrodes of a second row.
Kim teaches, in FIG. 8, a first row of contact holes in a direction D2 (711, 712) which is disposed between a second row of contact holes (721, 722) most adjacent to the first row, among the plurality of rows in a plan view. Additionally, FIGS. 9 and 10 show that the contact holes comprise a contact electrode 710.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the display device taught by Ryu and Kawata with the connection electrode layout taught by Kim. This ensures that connection electrodes are spaced apart from each other in both a first and second direction from a plan view (Kim, paragraph 41), which one of ordinary skill in the art would understand to maximize spacing and therefore decrease parasitic capacitance.
Regarding claim 7, Ryu teaches that the structure including the pad electrode (to which the bonding patterns are affixed, as well as to the connection electrodes, as taught by Kawata) are arranged into rows, and Kim teaches that the connection electrodes of a first row are between the connection electrodes of a second row, as shown above. Therefore, this combination of teachings also teaches that the bonding patterns are oriented likewise.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu (US 20220320395 A1) in view of Kawata (US 20170179159 A1), in further view of Yi et al (Li, Y., Moon, KS. & Wong, C.P. Monolayer-protected silver nano-particle-based anisotropic conductive adhesives: Enhancement of electrical and thermal properties. J. Electron. Mater. 34, 1573–1578 (2005). https://doi.org/10.1007/s11664-005-0167-5).
Regarding claim 9, Ryu teaches a plurality of bonding patterns, as shown above.
Ryu does not explicitly teach that these bonding patterns includes silver, copper, chromium, or aluminum.
Yi et al teaches, in the abstract, that the introduction of monolayer-coated silver nanoparticles into conductive adhesives improves the electrical and thermal properties thereof.
It would have been obvious to modify Ryu and Kawata with Yi et al such that the bonding patterns taught by Ryu and Kawata comprise silver, as taught by Yi et al, in order to garner the benefits taught by Yi et al.
Conclusion
/G.S.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2897