DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species II in the reply filed on 2/10/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 16 and 17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/10/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 11, 15, 21, 23, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by YOSHIDA et al. (US PG Pub 2019/0122955, hereinafter Yoshida).
Regarding claim 1, figure 17 of Yoshida discloses a semiconductor device package, comprising:
a semiconductor die (11), comprising:
a wide bandgap semiconductor material (11a, ¶ 41); and
a metallization layer (11c) on a surface of the semiconductor die;
a submount (13); and
wherein the metallization layer (11c) of the semiconductor die is directly bonded to the submount (13).
Regarding claim 2, figure 17 of Yoshida discloses the metallization layer (11c) and the submount (13) each comprise a malleable metal (¶ 42, 46) at an interface between the metallization layer and the submount.
Regarding claim 3, figure 17 of Yoshida discloses the metallization layer (11c) and the submount (13) comprise aluminum (¶ 42) at the interface between the metallization layer and the submount.
Regarding claim 6, figure 17 of Yoshida discloses the metallization layer (11c) of the semiconductor die is directly bonded to the submount (13) via an ultrasonic bond (¶ 39).
Regarding claim 8, figure 17 of Yoshida discloses the semiconductor device package does not include any die-attach material at an interface between the metallization layer (11c) and the submount (13).
Regarding claim 11, figure 17 of Yoshida discloses the submount (13) comprises a first metal layer (7), a second metal layer (5) , and an insulating material (6) between the first metal layer and the second metal layer.
Regarding claim 15, figure 17 of Yoshida discloses the metallization layer (11c) is on a substrate of the semiconductor die (11).
Regarding claim 21, figure 17 of Yoshida discloses the semiconductor die (11) comprises silicon carbide (¶ 41).
Regarding claim 23, figure 17 of Yoshida discloses the semiconductor die (11) comprises a silicon carbide-based MOSFET (¶ 81), a silicon carbide-based Schottky diode, or a Group III nitride-based high electron mobility transistor.
Regarding claim 40, figure 17 of Yoshida discloses a method of providing a semiconductor device package, the method comprising:
providing a metallization layer (11c) on a surface of a semiconductor die (11), the semiconductor die comprising a wide bandgap semiconductor (11a, ¶ 41); and
directly bonding the metallization layer to a submount using a direct bonding process (¶ 39).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Napetschnig et al. (US PG Pub 2020/0043876, hereinafter Napetschnig).
Regarding claim 24, figure 8 of Napetschnig discloses a semiconductor device package, comprising:
a semiconductor die (102), comprising:
a wide bandgap semiconductor material (¶ 15); and
a metallization layer (104) on a surface of the semiconductor die; and
an aluminum lead frame (110, ¶ 29).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida.
Regarding claim 7, Yoshida does not explicitly disclose the surface of the submount comprises a surface roughness measured as arithmetic average roughness Ra in a range of about 0.1 µm to about 100 µm.
However, it would have been obvious to form the device of Yoshida to have a surface roughness of the submount within the claimed range, since it has been held by the Federal circuit that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. (In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida in view of Masayuki et al. (US PG Pub 2002/0050585, hereinafter Masayuki.
Regarding claim 12, figure 17 of Yoshida discloses the submount (13) is mounted to a cooler (12, ¶ 37).
Yoshida does not explicitly disclose a lead frame.
In the same field of endeavor, Masayuki discloses coolers and lead frames can equivalently be used for heat dissipation (¶ 40).
In light of such teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to mounting the submount to a leadframe as taught by Masayuki for the purpose of substituting art recognized equivalents known to be used for the same purpose. see MPEP 2144.06.
Regarding claim 13, figure 17 of Yoshida discloses the metallization layer (11c) is associated with a contact for one or more semiconductor devices on the semiconductor die (11).
Claims 1, 10, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US PG Pub 2020/0357729, hereinafter Kim) in view of Yoshida.
Regarding claim 1, figure 1 of Kim discloses a semiconductor device package, comprising:
a semiconductor die (101); and
a metallization layer (128) on a surface of the semiconductor die;
a submount (104); and
wherein the metallization layer (128) of the semiconductor die is directly bonded to the submount (104).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the semiconductor die comprising a wide bandgap semiconductor material.
In the same field of endeavor, Yoshida discloses a semiconductor die (11), comprising:
a wide bandgap semiconductor material (11a, ¶ 41).
In light of such teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the side to comprise a wide bandgap semiconductor material as taught by Yoshida for the purpose of increasing electric field strength against dielectric breakdown (¶ 41).
Regarding claim 10, figure 1 of Kim discloses the submount (104) is a lead frame or a clip structure (¶ 25).
Regarding claim 18, figure 1 of Kim discloses one or more wire bonds (127) to the semiconductor die (101).
Regarding claim 19, figure 1 of Kim discloses an encapsulating material (120) on the semiconductor die (101).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Yoshida, as applied to claim 1, further in view of Kim et al. (US PG Pub 2012/0319259, hereinafter Kim 2).
Regarding claim 9, figure 1 of Kim discloses the submount (104) comprises aluminum (¶ 26).
Kim does not explicitly disclose a surface of the submount opposite the semiconductor die (101) is an anodized surface.
In the same field of endeavor, figure 2 of Kim 2 discloses a surface of a submount (111/121) opposite a semiconductor die (114) is an anodized surface (112/122).
In light of such teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form an anodized surface on a surface of the submount opposite the semiconductor die as taught by Kim 2 for the purpose of improving the heat radiation property (¶ 50).
Conclusion
/YU-HSI D SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817