DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I in the reply filed on 06/24/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 26-30 are withdrawn since claims 26-30 have anti reflective layer, buffer grid, barrier grid; which were not present in the elected group, since those layers and grids make the invention in claim 26 mutually exclusive from the claim 1.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claim 2 limitation “and a distance between the fifth sidewall and the sixth sidewall decreases as a distance from the substrate increases”; and the claim limitation 22 “a metal grid and a nitride grid between the metal grid and the oxide grid”; must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. With respect to claim limitation “a distance between the fifth sidewall and the sixth sidewall decreases as a distance from the substrate increases” is not shown any where in the specification.
Claims 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. With respect to claim limitation “a metal grid and a nitride grid between the metal grid and the oxide grid”, is no where presented in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3-7,10,21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng et al (US Pub No. 20180374884).
With respect to claim 1, Cheng et al discloses a grid structure (all 313) over the substrate (where 101 is formed), wherein from a cross-sectional view, the grid structure comprises: a first grid (the middle one) having a lower portion (306a) that has a first sidewall (left sidewall) and a second sidewall (right sidewall) opposing the first sidewall; and a second grid over the first grid (308 in the middle), the second grid having a third sidewall (left side) and a fourth sidewall opposing the third sidewall (right sidewall), wherein a distance between the third sidewall and the fourth sidewall (in the x direction) is less than a distance between the first sidewall and the second sidewall (in the x direction); and a color filter extending through the grid structure (Fig.4).
With respect to claim 3, Cheng et al discloses, wherein from the cross-sectional view (Fig.4), the first grid of the grid structure has an upper portion (portion of 306a near it’s top side and it’s top side included), and a top end of the upper portion of the first grid (it’s top surface) has a narrower width than a bottom end of the upper portion of the first grid (Fig.4) .
With respect to claim 4, Cheng et al discloses the top end of the upper portion of the first grid (it’s top side) has a same width as a bottom end of the second grid (because they are in direct contact with each other), and the bottom end of the upper portion of the first grid (horizontal line in middle of the 306) has a same width as a top end of the lower portion of the first grid (because the bottom portion ends in the middle of the 306).
With respect to claim 5, Cheng et al discloses wherein from the cross-sectional view, the top end of the upper portion of the first grid (it’s top surface,Fig.4) has a narrower width than a top end of the lower portion of the first grid (the horizontal line in the middle of the first grid).
With respect to claim 6, Cheng et al discloses wherein from the cross-sectional view, the bottom end of the upper portion of the first grid (as was described above,Fig.4) has a wider width (Fig.4) than a bottom end of the second grid (the bottom side of the second grid,Fig.4).
With respect to claim 7, Cheng et al discloses wherein from the cross-sectional view, the upper portion of the first grid has a trapezoidal profile (portion of the first grid from the middle to it’s top side,Fig.4).
With respect to claim 10, Cheng et al discloses wherein the first grid (Para 50) is made of a different material than the second grid (Para 58).
With respect to claim 21, Cheng et al discloses: a substrate (where 106 is formed); a grid structure over the substrate (313), wherein from a cross-sectional view, the grid structure comprises: an oxide grid (308, para 55 silicon oxide) the oxide grid having a lower portion that has a first sidewall (lower portion= from it’s middle portion to it’s lower side; the lower portion’s let sidewall) and a second sidewall (right sidewall) opposing the first sidewall; and an oxynitride grid over the oxide grid (310, para 57) the oxynitride grid having a third sidewall (left sidewall) and a fourth sidewall (right sidewall) opposing the third sidewall, wherein a distance between the third sidewall and the fourth sidewall (in x axis) is less than a distance between the first sidewall and the second sidewall (Fig.4); and a color filter extending through the grid structure (316).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al (US Pub No. 20180374884), in view of Chou et al (US Pub No. 20160276394).
With respect to claim 8, Cheng et al does not explicitly disclose wherein from the cross-sectional view, the lower portion of the first grid has a rectangular profile. On the other hand, Chou et al discloses that wherein from the cross-sectional view, the lower portion of the first grid (124,Fig.1A) has a rectangular profile (Fig.1A). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Cheng et al according to the teachings of the Chou et al such that the lower portion of the first grid has a rectangular profile as a design choice.
With respect to claim 9, Chou et al discloses wherein from the cross-sectional view, the second grid (126,Fig.1B) has a rectangular profile (Fig.1b).
Conclusion
/ALI NARAGHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817