DETAILED ACTION
Amendment, received 8/4/2026, has been entered.
Claims 1-11 are elected for examination and claims 12-20 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0131045 A1), hereafter referred to as Lee, in view of Sakariya et al. (US Pub. No. 2014/0159064 A1), hereafter referred to as Sakariya.
As to claim 1, Lee discloses a display device (figs 7-9; [0043]), comprising:
a first electrode (fig 9, EL1) above a surface of a substrate (SUB);
light-emitting elements (LD1, LD2, LD3) comprising:
a first end portion (bottom portion of 16) above, contacting, and electrically connected to, the first electrode (EL1);
a second end portion (top end portion) opposite to the first end portion (bottom portion of 16) with respect to a direction that is perpendicular to the surface of the substrate (SUB);
a bonding electrode (16);
a second layer (15);
an active layer (13; [0059]);
a first layer (12); and
a third layer (11) having conductivity by doping an impurity into an intrinsic semiconductor layer ([0061]; n-type semiconductor layer 11 includes n-type impurities);
an intermediate layer (INS1) over the light-emitting elements (LD), and exposing the second end portion (top end portion); and
a second electrode (EL2) above the intermediate layer (INS1), and contacting and electrically connected to the second end portion (top end portion of LD).
Lee does not disclose wherein the second layer, the active layer, the first layer, and the third layer have a same diameter, which is greater than a diameter of the bonding electrode.
Nonetheless, Sakariya discloses a similar display structure including a micro-LED with straight sidewalls or tapered sidewalls ([0144]) and including a diameter which is greater than a diameter of a bonding electrode (fig 5A, diameter of micro-LED 450 is greater than diameter of bonding electrode 420; [0145]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to form the micro-LED of Lee with any one of outwardly tapered sidewalls, inwardly tapered sidewalls or straight sidewalls with a diameter greater than that of a bonding electrode as taught by Sakariya as a matter of design choice that one of ordinary skill in the art would choose based on the manufacturing elements of the diode.
As to claim 2, Lee in view of Sakariya disclose the display device of claim 1 (paragraphs above).
Lee further discloses wherein the bonding electrode (16) is at the first end portion (bottom end portion), and electrically connected to the first electrode (EL1), and
wherein the third layer (11) is at the second end portion (top end portion), and electrically connected to the second electrode (EL2).
As to claim 3, Lee in view of Sakariya disclose the display device of claim 2 (paragraphs above).
Lee further discloses wherein the first layer comprises an n-type semiconductor layer, and the second layer comprises a p-type semiconductor layer ([0065]-[0066]).
As to claim 4, Lee in view of Sakariya disclose the display device of claim 3 (paragraphs above).
Lee further discloses wherein the intermediate layer comprises an organic layer ([0169]).
As to claim 5, Lee in view of Sakariya disclose the display device of claim 4 (paragraphs above).
Lee further discloses a first bank (BNK) defining an opening (EMA) above the first electrode (EL1) to expose an area of the first electrode (EL1); and
a cover layer (CTL) above the second electrode (EL2).
As to claim 6, Lee in view of Sakariya disclose the display device of claim 5 (paragraphs above).
Lee further discloses wherein the intermediate layer (INS1) is between the first bank (BNK) and the light-emitting elements (LD) in the opening of the first bank in plan view, thereby fixing the light-emitting elements (LD), and has a flat surface (flat surface of INS1).
As to claim 7, Lee in view of Sakariya disclose the display device of claim 5 (paragraphs above).
Lee further discloses a color conversion layer (LCP) comprising a color conversion pattern (CCL1) above the cover layer (CTL) and corresponding to the light-emitting elements (LD), and a second bank (LBP1) adjacent to the color conversion pattern (CCL1), above the cover layer (CTL), and corresponding to the first bank (BNK); and
a color filter layer (CF1) above the color conversion layer (CCL1), and configured to selectively transmit light emitted from the color conversion layer ([0189]).
As to claim 8, Lee in view of Sakariya disclose the display device of claim 1 (paragraphs above).
Lee does not disclose a conductive pattern between the first electrode and the first end portion of the light-emitting elements.
Nonetheless, Sakariya discloses a conductive pattern (fig 3W, 132) between a first electrode (116) and a first end portion (bottom portion) of light-emitting elements (400).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include the conductive pattern of Sakariya in the display device of Lee since this will improve the light emission efficiency of the pixels by improving reflection of the pixel emission region.
As to claim 9, Lee discloses a display device (figs 7-9; [0043]) comprising:
a substrate (SUB) comprising an emission area (EMA) and a non-emission area (NEMA);
a passivation layer (PSV) above a surface of the substrate (SUB);
a (1-1)th electrode, a (1-2)th electrode, and a (1-3)th electrode (electrodes EL1 corresponding to PXL1-3) above the passivation layer (PSV), and spaced apart (spaced apart pixel electrodes EL1 for PXL1-3);
a first bank (BNK) above the (1-1)th electrode, the (1-2)th electrode, the (1-3)th electrode (EL1), and the passivation layer (PSV), and defining an opening exposing respective areas of the (1-1)th electrode, the (1-2)th electrode, and the (1-3)th electrode (openings in BNK);
first light-emitting elements (LD1) comprising a first end portion (16) above, contacting, and electrically connected to the (1-1)th electrode (EL1), and a second end portion (top portion) opposite to the first end portion in a direction perpendicular to the surface of the substrate (SUB);
second light-emitting elements (LD2) comprising a first end portion (16) above, contacting, and electrically connected to the (1-2)th electrode (EL1), and a second end portion (top) opposite to the first end portion in the direction perpendicular to the surface of the substrate (SUB);
third light-emitting elements (LD3) each comprising a first end portion (16) above, contacting, and electrically connected to the (1-3)th electrode (EL1), and a second end portion (top portion) opposite to the first end portion in the direction perpendicular to the surface of the substrate (SUB);
an intermediate layer (INS1) over the first light-emitting elements (LD), the second light-emitting elements (LD), the third light-emitting elements (LD), and the first bank (BNK), and exposing the second end portions (top portion) of the first light-emitting elements, the second light-emitting elements, and the third light-emitting elements (LDs); and
a second electrode (EL2) above the intermediate layer (INS1), contacting the second end portions of the first light-emitting elements (LD1), the second light-emitting elements (LD2), and the third light-emitting elements (LD3), and electrically connected to the first light-emitting elements, the second light-emitting elements, and the third light-emitting elements ([0116]),
wherein the first light-emitting elements (LD1), the second light-emitting elements (LD2), and the third light-emitting elements (LD3) comprise a bonding electrode (16), a second layer (15), an active layer (13), a first layer (12), and a third layer (11), which has conductivity by doping an impurity into an intrinsic semiconductor layer ([0061]; n-type semiconductor layer 11 includes n-type impurities), that are sequentially arranged toward the second electrode (EL2).
Lee does not disclose wherein the second layer, the active layer, the first layer, and the third layer have a same diameter, which is greater than a diameter of the bonding electrode.
Nonetheless, Sakariya discloses a similar display structure including a micro-LED with straight sidewalls or tapered sidewalls ([0144]) and including a diameter which is greater than a diameter of a bonding electrode (fig 5A, diameter of micro-LED 450 is greater than diameter of bonding electrode 420; [0145]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to form the micro-LED of Lee with any one of outwardly tapered sidewalls, inwardly tapered sidewalls or straight sidewalls with a diameter greater than that of a bonding electrode as taught by Sakariya as a matter of design choice that one of ordinary skill in the art would choose based on the manufacturing elements of the diode.
As to claim 10, Lee in view of Sakariya disclose the display device of claim 9 (paragraphs above).
Lee further discloses wherein the bonding electrode (16) is at the first end portion (bottom portion), and is electrically connected to a respective one of the (1-1)th electrode, the (1-2)th electrode, and the (1-3)th electrode (EL1), and
wherein the third layer (11) is at the second end portion (top portion), and is electrically connected to the second electrode (EL2).
As to claim 11, Lee in view of Sakariya disclose the display device of claim 9 (paragraphs above).
Lee further discloses wherein the first layer comprises an n-type semiconductor layer, and the second layer comprises a p-type semiconductor layer ([0065]-[0066]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that Lee does not anticipate the amended claim limitations.
Examiner agrees, however, the claims are obvious based on Lee in view of Sakariya.
Applicant argued that Sakariya does not appear to cure the deficiencies of Lee to teach or suggest the abovementioned features of claim 1 and 9.
Examiner disagrees because Sakariya teaches in figure 5A and paragraphs [0144]-[0145] that a micro-LED for a display device may include sidewalls that are either inwardly tapered, outwardly tapered or straight while having a bonding electrode that has a diameter such that the amended claim limitations are obvious with respect to Lee in view of Sakariya, as presented in the office action above.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 8,987,765 B2.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAUN M CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 8/26/2026