DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I (Claims 1-11) in the reply filed on 4/1/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0131045 A1), hereafter referred to as Lee.
As to claim 1, Lee discloses a display device (figs 7-9; [0043]), comprising:
a first electrode (fig 9, EL1) above a surface of a substrate (SUB);
light-emitting elements (LD1, LD2, LD3) comprising:
a first end portion (bottom portion of 16) above, contacting, and electrically connected to, the first electrode (EL1);
a second end portion (top end portion) opposite to the first end portion (bottom portion of 16) with respect to a direction that is perpendicular to the surface of the substrate (SUB);
a bonding electrode (16);
a second layer (15);
an active layer (13; [0059]);
a first layer (12); and
a third layer (11) having conductivity by doping an impurity into an intrinsic semiconductor layer ([0061]; n-type semiconductor layer 11 includes n-type impurities);
an intermediate layer (INS1) over the light-emitting elements (LD), and exposing the second end portion (top end portion); and
a second electrode (EL2) above the intermediate layer (INS1), and contacting and electrically connected to the second end portion (top end portion of LD).
As to claim 2, Lee discloses the display device of claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the bonding electrode (16) is at the first end portion (bottom end portion), and electrically connected to the first electrode (EL1), and
wherein the third layer (11) is at the second end portion (top end portion), and electrically connected to the second electrode (EL2).
As to claim 3, Lee discloses the display device of claim 2 (paragraphs above),
wherein the first layer comprises an n-type semiconductor layer, and the second layer comprises a p-type semiconductor layer ([0065]-[0066]).
As to claim 4, Lee discloses the display device of claim 3 (paragraphs above),
wherein the intermediate layer comprises an organic layer ([0169]).
As to claim 5, Lee discloses the display device of claim 4 (paragraphs above),
a first bank (BNK) defining an opening (EMA) above the first electrode (EL1) to expose an area of the first electrode (EL1); and
a cover layer (CTL) above the second electrode (EL2).
As to claim 6, Lee discloses the display device of claim 5 (paragraphs above),
wherein the intermediate layer (INS1) is between the first bank (BNK) and the light-emitting elements (LD) in the opening of the first bank in plan view, thereby fixing the light-emitting elements (LD), and has a flat surface (flat surface of INS1).
As to claim 7, Lee discloses the display device of claim 5 (paragraphs above),
a color conversion layer (LCP) comprising a color conversion pattern (CCL1) above the cover layer (CTL) and corresponding to the light-emitting elements (LD), and a second bank (LBP1) adjacent to the color conversion pattern (CCL1), above the cover layer (CTL), and corresponding to the first bank (BNK); and
a color filter layer (CF1) above the color conversion layer (CCL1), and configured to selectively transmit light emitted from the color conversion layer ([0189]).
As to claim 9, Lee discloses a display device (figs 7-9; [0043]) comprising:
a substrate (SUB) comprising an emission area (EMA) and a non-emission area (NEMA);
a passivation layer (PSV) above a surface of the substrate (SUB);
a (1-1)th electrode, a (1-2)th electrode, and a (1-3)th electrode (electrodes EL1 corresponding to PXL1-3) above the passivation layer (PSV), and spaced apart (spaced apart pixel electrodes EL1 for PXL1-3);
a first bank (BNK) above the (1-1)th electrode, the (1-2)th electrode, the (1-3)th electrode (EL1), and the passivation layer (PSV), and defining an opening exposing respective areas of the (1-1)th electrode, the (1-2)th electrode, and the (1-3)th electrode (openings in BNK);
first light-emitting elements (LD1) comprising a first end portion (16) above, contacting, and electrically connected to the (1-1)th electrode (EL1), and a second end portion (top portion) opposite to the first end portion in a direction perpendicular to the surface of the substrate (SUB);
second light-emitting elements (LD2) comprising a first end portion (16) above, contacting, and electrically connected to the (1-2)th electrode (EL1), and a second end portion (top) opposite to the first end portion in the direction perpendicular to the surface of the substrate (SUB);
third light-emitting elements (LD3) each comprising a first end portion (16) above, contacting, and electrically connected to the (1-3)th electrode (EL1), and a second end portion (top portion) opposite to the first end portion in the direction perpendicular to the surface of the substrate (SUB);
an intermediate layer (INS1) over the first light-emitting elements (LD), the second light-emitting elements (LD), the third light-emitting elements (LD), and the first bank (BNK), and exposing the second end portions (top portion) of the first light-emitting elements, the second light-emitting elements, and the third light-emitting elements (LDs); and
a second electrode (EL2) above the intermediate layer (INS1), contacting the second end portions of the first light-emitting elements (LD1), the second light-emitting elements (LD2), and the third light-emitting elements (LD3), and electrically connected to the first light-emitting elements, the second light-emitting elements, and the third light-emitting elements ([0116]),
wherein the first light-emitting elements (LD1), the second light-emitting elements (LD2), and the third light-emitting elements (LD3) comprise a bonding electrode (16), a second layer (15), an active layer (13), a first layer (12), and a third layer (11), which has conductivity by doping an impurity into an intrinsic semiconductor layer ([0061]; n-type semiconductor layer 11 includes n-type impurities), that are sequentially arranged toward the second electrode (EL2).
As to claim 10, Lee discloses the display device of claim 9 (paragraphs above),
wherein the bonding electrode (16) is at the first end portion (bottom portion), and is electrically connected to a respective one of the (1-1)th electrode, the (1-2)th electrode, and the (1-3)th electrode (EL1), and
wherein the third layer (11) is at the second end portion (top portion), and is electrically connected to the second electrode (EL2).
As to claim 11, Lee discloses the display device of claim 9 (paragraphs above),
wherein the first layer comprises an n-type semiconductor layer, and the second layer comprises a p-type semiconductor layer ([0065]-[0066]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Sakariya et al. (US Pub. No. 2014/0159064 A1), hereafter referred to as Sakariya.
As to claim 8, Lee discloses the display device of claim 1 (paragraphs above).
Lee does not disclose a conductive pattern between the first electrode and the first end portion of the light-emitting elements.
Nonetheless, Sakariya discloses a conductive pattern (fig 3W, 132) between a first electrode (116) and a first end portion (bottom portion) of light-emitting elements (400).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include the conductive pattern of Sakariya in the display device of Lee since this will improve the light emission efficiency of the pixels by improving reflection of the pixel emission region.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 8,987,765 B2.
Conclusion
/SHAUN M CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 5/11/2026