Detailed Action
Restriction/Election
Applicant’s election of Group I (semiconductor device) in the reply filed on 2/27/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.03(a)).
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
Claims 1 and 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Prasad (U.S. Patent No. 6,281,452).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 9 of Prasad discloses a package comprising: a first package component (27); a second package component (37) bonded to the first package component by a first plurality of solder connectors (55); and a first plurality of spacer connectors (47) extending from the first package component to the second package component, wherein a diameter of a first spacer connector of the first plurality of spacer connectors is larger than a height of a first solder connector of the first plurality of solder connectors, and wherein the first plurality of spacer connectors comprises a different material (polymer) than the first plurality of solder connectors.
Regarding Claim 7
Prasad discloses the diameter of the first spacer connector of the first plurality of spacer connectors is in a range of 40µm to 150µm, and wherein the height of the first solder connector of the first plurality of solder connectors is in a range of 30µm to 100µm (Col. 9, Lines 21-32). Furthermore, said dimensions are related to the device size and materials. Therefore, said dimensions are considered to be a result effective variable. The claim to specific dimensions therefore constitutes an optimization of ranges. In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the parameters as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05).
Claims 1 and 4-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wirz (CN 110651364, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 3 of Wirz discloses a package comprising: a first package component (104b); a second package component (104a) bonded to the first package component by a first plurality of solder connectors (114); and a first plurality of spacer connectors (120) extending from the first package component to the second package component, wherein a diameter (d2) of a first spacer connector of the first plurality of spacer connectors is larger than a height (g1) of a first solder connector of the first plurality of solder connectors, and wherein the first plurality of spacer connectors comprises a different material than the first plurality of solder connectors.
Regarding Claim 4
FIG. 3 of Wirz discloses the second package component comprises an insulating layer (108), and wherein the first plurality of solder connectors and the first plurality of spacer connectors each extend through the insulating layer.
Regarding Claim 5
FIG. 3 of Wirz discloses the second package component comprises an insulating layer, wherein the first plurality of solder connectors extends through the insulating layer, and wherein the insulating layer covers a bottom surface of the first plurality of spacer connectors.
Regarding Claim 6
FIG. 3 of Wirz discloses the first plurality of spacer connectors (120) is adhered to a top surface of the insulating layer by an adhesive (bonding material).
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pu (U.S. Patent No. 6,350,669).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 3 of Pu discloses a package comprising: a first package component (310); a second package component (300) bonded to the first package component by a first plurality of solder connectors (322); and a first plurality of spacer connectors (321) extending from the first package component to the second package component, wherein a diameter of a first spacer connector of the first plurality of spacer connectors is larger than a height of a first solder connector of the first plurality of solder connectors, and wherein the first plurality of spacer connectors comprises a different material than the first plurality of solder connectors (Col. 4, Lines 28-37).
Claims 1, 17, 18, 20 and 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pei (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0296002).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 13 of Pei discloses a package comprising: a first package component (100); a second package component (200) bonded to the first package component by a first plurality of solder connectors (164); and a first plurality of spacer connectors (168) extending from the first package component to the second package component, wherein a diameter of a first spacer connector of the first plurality of spacer connectors is larger than a height of a first solder connector of the first plurality of solder connectors, and wherein the first plurality of spacer connectors comprises a different material than the first plurality of solder connectors.
Regarding Claim 17
FIG. 13 of Pei discloses a package comprising: a package substrate (100, FIG. 10) comprising a solder resist (108) at an exterior surface of the package substrate; a package component (200) bonded to the package substrate by a plurality of solder [0035] connectors (164), wherein the plurality of solder connectors extend through the solder resist; a plurality of spacer connectors (168) physically spacing the package substrate apart from the package component, wherein a diameter of a spacer connector of the plurality of spacer connectors is larger than a height of a solder connector of the plurality of solder connectors, and wherein the plurality of spacer connectors is disposed at least in corner regions of the package substrate in a plan view (FIG. 15); and an underfill [0053] surrounding the plurality of solder connectors and the plurality of spacer connectors.
Regarding Claim 18
FIG. 15 of Pei discloses the plurality of spacer connectors (168) is further disposed at a center of the package substrate in the plan view.
Regarding Claim 20
FIG. 13 of Pei discloses the plurality of spacer connectors (168) extends through the solder resist.
Regarding Claim 21
Pei discloses a package comprising: a first package component (100, FIG. 10) comprising a first insulating layer (108) at an exterior surface of the first package component and a first plurality of conductive features (110) in the first insulating layer; a second package component (200, FIG. 11) comprising a second insulating layer at an exterior surface of the second package component and a second plurality of conductive features in the second insulating layer; a plurality of solder connectors (164) bonding the first plurality of conductive features to the second plurality of conductive features (FIG. 13); a plurality of spacer connectors (168) between the first package component and the second package component, wherein the plurality of spacer connectors interfaces a lateral surface of the first insulating layer; and an underfill surrounding the plurality of solder connectors and the plurality of spacer connectors [0053].
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim 2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wirz, in view of Daekerdi (CN 1182957, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 2
Wirz discloses Claim 1.
Wirz is silent with respect to “the first spacer connector of the first plurality of spacer connectors is disposed in a corner region of the second package component in a plan view”.
FIG. 3 of Daekerdi discloses a similar package, wherein the first spacer connector (16) of the first plurality of spacer connectors is disposed in a corner region of the second package component in a plan view.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wirz, as taught by Daekerdi. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wirz in the above manner for purpose of providing structural reinforcement (Abstract of Daekerdi).
Claims 2, 3 and 8-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prasad, in view of Lu (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0082798).
Regarding Claim 2
Prasad discloses Claim 1.
Prasad is silent with respect to “the first spacer connector of the first plurality of spacer connectors is disposed in a corner region of the second package component in a plan view”.
FIG. 4 of Lu discloses a similar package, wherein the first spacer connector (432) of the first plurality of spacer connectors is disposed in a corner region of the second package component in a plan view.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Prasad, as taught by Lu. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Prasad in the above manner for purpose of improving yield ([0001] of Lu).
Regarding Claim 3
FIG. 4 of Lu discloses the first spacer connector of the first plurality of spacer connectors is disposed at a center point of the second package component in a plan view.
Regarding Claim 8
FIG. 2 of Lu discloses each of the first plurality of solder connectors physically contacts a respective conductive pad of a plurality of conductive pads of the first package component, and wherein the diameter of the first spacer connector of the first plurality of spacer connectors is larger than a diameter of a first conductive pad of the plurality of conductive pads in a plan view (FIG. 4).
Regarding Claim 9
FIG. 2 of Lu discloses the diameter of the first spacer connector of the first plurality of spacer connectors is in a range of 40µm to 150µm, and wherein the diameter of the first conductive pad of the plurality of conductive pads in a plan view is in a range of 20µm to 100µm [0030]. Furthermore, said dimensions are related to the device size and materials. Therefore, said dimensions are considered to be a result effective variable. The claim to specific dimensions therefore constitutes an optimization of ranges. In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the parameters as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 10
FIG. 2 of Lu discloses each of the first plurality of spacer connectors comprises a rubber ball, a copper-cored ball, or a plastic ball [0029].
Regarding Claim 11
FIG. 2 of Lu discloses each of the first plurality of spacer connectors (232) is solder plated.
Regarding Claim 12
FIG. 2 of Lu discloses a second plurality of solder connectors on a surface of the second package component opposite to the first package component; and a second plurality of spacer connectors on the surface of the second package component opposite to the first package component, wherein a diameter of a second spacer connector of the second plurality of spacer connectors is larger than a height of a second solder connector of the second plurality of solder connectors, and wherein the second plurality of spacer connectors comprises a different material than the second plurality of solder connectors.
Claims 2 and 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prasad, in view of Tsao (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0202358).
Regarding Claim 2
Prasad discloses Claim 1.
Prasad is silent with respect to “the first spacer connector of the first plurality of spacer connectors is disposed in a corner region of the second package component in a plan view”.
FIG. 24 of Tsao discloses a similar package, wherein the first spacer connector (180) of the first plurality of spacer connectors is disposed in a corner region of the second package component in a plan view.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Prasad, as taught by Tsao. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Prasad in the above manner for purpose of enhancing functionalities ([0001] of Tsao).
Regarding Claim 3
FIG. 26 of Tsao discloses the first spacer connector of the first plurality of spacer connectors is disposed at a center point of the second package component in a plan view.
Claim 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pei, in view of Lu (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0082798).
Regarding Claim 19
Pei discloses Claim 17.
Pei is silent with respect to “each of the first plurality of spacer connectors comprises a rubber ball, a copper-cored ball, or a plastic ball”.
FIG. 2 of Lu discloses a similar package, wherein each of the first plurality of spacer connectors comprises a rubber ball, a copper-cored ball, or a plastic ball [0029].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Pei, as taught by Lu. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Pei in the above manner for purpose of improving reliability ([0029] of Lu).
Claim 22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pei, in view of Lin (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2008/0029903).
Regarding Claim 22
Pei discloses Claim 21.
Pei is silent with respect to “the plurality of spacer connectors is attached to a lateral surface of the second insulating layer by an adhesive”.
FIG. 9 of Lin discloses a similar package, wherein the plurality of spacer connectors (360) is attached to a lateral surface of the second insulating layer (230) by an adhesive (340).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Pei, as taught by Lin. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Pei in the above manner for purpose of improving connection ([0014] of Lin).
Claims 23 and 24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pei, in view of Lu.
Regarding Claim 23
Pei discloses Claim 21.
Pei is silent with respect to “each of the first plurality of spacer connectors comprises a rubber ball, a copper-cored ball, or a plastic bal”.
FIG. 2 of Lu discloses a similar package, wherein each of the first plurality of spacer connectors comprises a rubber ball, a copper-cored ball, or a plastic ball [0029].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Pei, as taught by Lu. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Pei in the above manner for purpose of improving reliability ([0029] of Lu).
Regarding Claim 24
FIG. 2 of Lu discloses each of the first plurality of spacer connectors (232) is solder plated, and the plurality of spacer connectors is attached to a third plurality of conductive features in the second insulating layer.
Pertinent Art
Labonte (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0140361), Sidhu (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2014/0319682).
Conclusion
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897