Detailed Action
Drawings Objection
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations “a core of the first plurality of spacer connectors extends along a sidewall of the UBMs” in Claim 1, “the plurality of solder connectors extend through the solder resist and further extend continuously from the UBMs to the contact pads in the solder resist” in Claim 17, and “a diameter of a first solder connector of the plurality of solder connectors is greater than a vertical distance measured from a lateral surface of a first conductive feature of the first plurality of conductive features to a lateral surface of a second conductive feature of the second plurality of conductive features” in Claim 21 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 112
Claims 1-10, 12 and 17-25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The limitations “a core of the first plurality of spacer connectors extends along a sidewall of the UBMs” in Claim 1, “the plurality of solder connectors extend through the solder resist and further extend continuously from the UBMs to the contact pads in the solder resist” in Claim 17, and “a diameter of a first solder connector of the plurality of solder connectors is greater than a vertical distance measured from a lateral surface of a first conductive feature of the first plurality of conductive features to a lateral surface of a second conductive feature of the second plurality of conductive features” in Claim 21 are not disclosed in the application as originally filed. Claims 2-10, 12, 18-20 and 22-25 depend from Claims 1, 17 and 21.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
Claims 1 and 2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Daekerdi (CN 1182957) of record.
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 5 of Daekerdi discloses a package comprising: a first package component (1) comprising a plurality of underbump metallizations (UBMs 34); a second package component (24) bonded to the first package component by a first plurality of solder connectors (11); and a first plurality of spacer connectors (33) extending from the first package component to the second package component, wherein a diameter of a first spacer connector of the first plurality of spacer connectors is larger than a height of a first solder connector of the first plurality of solder connectors, wherein the first plurality of spacer connectors comprises a different material than the first plurality of solder connectors, wherein the first plurality of spacer connectors comprises a solder-plated core, and wherein a core of the first plurality of spacer connectors extends along a sidewall of the UBMs: and an underfill (122) surrounding the first plurality of spacer connectors (high meting point solder) and the first plurality of solder connectors (eutectic lead/tin, lead/bismuth, tin/bismuth, tin/indium alloy).
Regarding Claim 2
FIG. 4 of Daekerdi discloses the first spacer connector (33) of the first plurality of spacer connectors is disposed in a corner region of the second package component in a plan view.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1 and 4-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wirz (CN 110651364) of record, in view of Daekerdi (CN 1182957) of record.
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 3 of Wirz discloses a package comprising: a first package component (104a) comprising a plurality (FIG. 1) of underbump metallizations (UBMs 118); a second package component (104b) bonded to the first package component by a first plurality of solder connectors (114); and a first plurality of spacer connectors (120) extending from the first package component to the second package component, wherein a diameter of a first spacer connector of the first plurality of spacer connectors is larger than a height (g1) of a first solder connector of the first plurality of solder connectors, wherein the first plurality of spacer connectors comprises a different material than the first plurality of solder connectors, wherein the first plurality of spacer connectors comprises a solder-plated core, and wherein a core of the first plurality of spacer connectors extends along a sidewall of the UBMs: and an underfill (122) surrounding the first plurality of spacer connectors.
Wirz is silent with respect to an underfill surrounding the first plurality of solder connectors.
FIG. 5 of Daekerdi discloses a similar package, comprising a first package component (1) comprising a plurality of underbump metallizations (UBMs 34); a second package component (24) bonded to the first package component by a first plurality of solder connectors (11); and a first plurality of spacer connectors (33) extending from the first package component to the second package component, wherein a diameter of a first spacer connector of the first plurality of spacer connectors is larger than a height of a first solder connector of the first plurality of solder connectors; and an underfill (29) surrounding the first plurality of spacer connectors (33) and the first plurality of solder connectors (11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wirz, as taught by Daekerdi. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wirz in the above manner for purpose of providing structural reinforcement (Abstract of Daekerdi).
Regarding Claim 4
FIG. 3 of Wirz discloses the second package component comprises an insulating layer (108), and wherein the first plurality of solder connectors and the first plurality of spacer connectors each extend through the insulating layer.
Regarding Claim 5
FIG. 3 of Wirz discloses the second package component comprises an insulating layer, wherein the first plurality of solder connectors extends through the insulating layer, and wherein the insulating layer covers a bottom surface of the first plurality of spacer connectors.
Regarding Claim 6
FIG. 3 of Wirz discloses the first plurality of spacer connectors (120) is adhered to a top surface of the insulating layer by an adhesive (bonding material).
Claims 1-3, 8-10, 12 and 17-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pei (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0296002) of record, in view of Lu (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0082798) of record.
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 13 of Pei discloses a package comprising: a first package component (100) comprising a plurality of underbump metallizations (UBMs) (110/160); a second package component (200) bonded to the first package component by a first plurality of solder connectors (164); and a first plurality of spacer connectors (168) extending from the first package component to the second package component, wherein a diameter of a first spacer connector of the first plurality of spacer connectors is larger than a height of a first solder connector of the first plurality of solder connectors, wherein the first plurality of spacer connectors comprises a solder-plated core, and wherein a core of the first plurality of spacer connectors extends along a sidewall of the UBMs; and an underfill [0053] surrounding the plurality of solder connectors and the plurality of spacer connectors.
Pei is silent with respect to “the first plurality of spacer connectors comprises a different material than the first plurality of solder connectors”.
FIG. 6 of Lu discloses a similar package, wherein the first plurality of spacer connectors (682) comprises a different material than the first plurality of solder connectors (681).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Pei, as taught by Lu. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Pei in the above manner for purpose of improving yield in assembly processes ([0001] of Lu).
Regarding Claim 2
FIG. 4 of Lu discloses the first spacer connector of the first plurality of spacer connectors is disposed in a corner region of the second package component in a plan view.
Regarding Claim 3
FIG. 4 of Lu discloses the first spacer connector of the first plurality of spacer connectors is disposed at a center point of the second package component in a plan view.
Regarding Claim 8
FIG. 2 of Lu discloses each of the first plurality of solder connectors physically contacts a respective conductive pad of a plurality of conductive pads of the first package component, and wherein the diameter of the first spacer connector of the first plurality of spacer connectors is larger than a diameter of a first conductive pad of the plurality of conductive pads in a plan view (FIG. 4).
Regarding Claim 9
FIG. 2 of Lu discloses the diameter of the first spacer connector of the first plurality of spacer connectors is in a range of 40µm to 150µm, and wherein the diameter of the first conductive pad of the plurality of conductive pads in a plan view is in a range of 20µm to 100µm [0030]. Furthermore, said dimensions are related to the device size and materials. Therefore, said dimensions are considered to be a result effective variable. The claim to specific dimensions therefore constitutes an optimization of ranges. In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the parameters as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 10
FIG. 2 of Lu discloses each of the first plurality of spacer connectors comprises a rubber ball, a copper-cored ball, or a plastic ball [0029].
Regarding Claim 12
FIG. 2 of Lu discloses a second plurality of solder connectors on a surface of the second package component opposite to the first package component; and a second plurality of spacer connectors on the surface of the second package component opposite to the first package component, wherein a diameter of a second spacer connector of the second plurality of spacer connectors is larger than a height of a second solder connector of the second plurality of solder connectors, and wherein the second plurality of spacer connectors comprises a different material than the second plurality of solder connectors.
Regarding Claim 17
FIG. 13 of Pei discloses a package comprising: a package substrate (100, FIG. 10) comprising a solder resist (108/112) at an exterior surface of the package substrate; and contact pads (110) in the solder resist; a package component (200) bonded to the package substrate by a plurality of solder [0035] connectors (164-166), wherein package component comprises a plurality of underbump metallizations (UBMs under 166) extending through an insulating layer, and wherein the plurality of solder connectors extend through the solder resist and further extend continuously from the UBMs to the contact pads in the solder resist; a plurality of spacer connectors (168) physically spacing the package substrate apart from the package component, wherein the plurality of spacer connectors is disposed at least in corner regions of the package substrate in a plan view (FIG. 15); and an underfill [0053] surrounding the plurality of solder connectors and the plurality of spacer connectors.
Pei is silent with respect to “a diameter of a spacer connector of the plurality of spacer connectors is larger than a height of a solder connector of the plurality of solder connectors”.
FIG. 6 of Lu discloses a similar package, wherein a diameter of a spacer connector (682) of the plurality of spacer connectors is larger than a height of a solder connector (681) of the plurality of solder connectors.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Pei, as taught by Lu. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Pei in the above manner for purpose of improving yield in assembly processes ([0001] of Lu).
Regarding Claim 18
FIG. 15 of Pei discloses the plurality of spacer connectors (168) is further disposed at a center of the package substrate in the plan view.
Regarding Claim 19
FIG. 2 of Lu discloses each of the first plurality of spacer connectors comprises a rubber ball, a copper-cored ball, or a plastic ball [0029].
Regarding Claim 20
FIG. 13 of Pei discloses the plurality of spacer connectors (168) extends through the solder resist.
Claim 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daekerdi, in view of Prasad (U.S. Patent No. 6,281,452) of record.
Regarding Claim 7
Daekerdi discloses Claim 1.
Daekerdi is silent with respect to “the diameter of the first spacer connector of the first plurality of spacer connectors is in a range of 40µm to 150µm, and wherein the height of the first solder connector of the first plurality of solder connectors is in a range of 30µm to 100µm”.
Prasad discloses a similar package, wherein the diameter of the first spacer connector of the first plurality of spacer connectors is in a range of 40µm to 150µm, and wherein the height of the first solder connector of the first plurality of solder connectors is in a range of 30µm to 100µm (Col. 9, Lines 21-32).
Furthermore, said dimensions are related to the device size and materials. Therefore, said dimensions are considered to be a result effective variable. The claim to specific dimensions therefore constitutes an optimization of ranges. In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the parameters as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Daekerdi, as taught by Prasad. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Daekerdi in the above manner for purpose of providing a structure for mounting electronic devices (Col. 5, Lines 10-26 of Prasad).
Claims 17, 21 and 22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2011/0318878), in view of Pu (U.S. Patent No. 6,350,669) of record.
Regarding Claim 17
FIG. 1 of Tanaka discloses a package comprising: a package substrate (12) comprising a solder resist (17) at an exterior surface of the package substrate; and contact pads (12c) in the solder resist; a package component (20) bonded to the package substrate by a plurality of solder connectors (18 within 10), wherein the package component comprises a plurality of underbump metallizations (UBMs 20b) extending through an insulating layer (17), and wherein the plurality of solder connectors extend through the solder resist and further extend continuously from the UBMs to the contact pads in the solder resist; a plurality of spacer connectors (18 within 30) physically spacing the package substrate apart from the package component wherein the plurality of spacer connectors is disposed at least in corner regions of the package substrate in a plan view (FIG. 2); and an underfill (18a) surrounding the plurality of solder connectors and the plurality of spacer connectors.
Tanaka is silent with respect to “a diameter of a first spacer connector of the first plurality of spacer connectors is larger than a height of a first solder connector of the first plurality of solder connectors”.
FIG. 2 of Pu discloses a similar package, wherein a diameter of a first spacer connector of the first plurality of spacer connectors (222) is larger than a height of a first solder connector of the first plurality of solder connectors (221).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tanaka, as taught by Pu. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Tanaka in the above manner for purpose of preventing collapsing during solder-reflow process (Col. 2, Lines 18-21 of Pu).
Regarding Claim 21
FIG. 1 of Tanaka discloses a package comprising: a first package component (12) comprising a first insulating layer (17) at an exterior surface of the first package component and a first plurality of conductive features (12c) in the first insulating layer; a second package component (20) comprising a second insulating layer (17) at an exterior surface of the second package component and a second plurality of conductive features (20b) in the second insulating layer; a plurality of solder connectors (18 within 10) bonding the first plurality of conductive features to the second plurality of conductive features; a plurality of spacer connectors (18 within 30) between the first package component and the second package component, wherein the plurality of spacer connectors interfaces a lateral surface of the first insulating layer; and an underfill (18a) surrounding the plurality of solder connectors and the plurality of spacer connectors.
Tanaka is silent with respect to “a diameter of a first solder connector of the plurality of solder connectors is greater than a vertical distance measured from a lateral surface of a first conductive feature of the first plurality of conductive features to a lateral surface of a second conductive feature of the second plurality of conductive features”.
FIG. 2 of Pu discloses a similar package, wherein a diameter of a first solder connector (221) of the plurality of solder connectors is greater than a vertical distance measured from a lateral surface of a first conductive feature of the first plurality of conductive features (211) to a lateral surface of a second conductive feature of the second plurality of conductive features (201).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tanaka, as taught by Pu. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Tanaka in the above manner for purpose of preventing collapsing during solder-reflow process (Col. 2, Lines 18-21 of Pu).
Regarding Claim 22
FIG. 1 of Tanaka discloses the plurality of spacer connectors is attached to a lateral surface of the second insulating layer by an adhesive (18a), wherein the adhesive is disposed between and extends continuously from the lateral surface of the second insulating layer (17) to lateral surfaces of the plurality of spacer connectors, and wherein the lateral surfaces of the plurality of spacer connectors face the lateral surface of the second insulating layer.
Claims 21, 23 and 24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pei, in view of Sidhu (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2014/0319682)
Regarding Claim 21
Pei discloses a package comprising: a first package component (100, FIG. 10) comprising a first insulating layer (108/112) at an exterior surface of the first package component and a first plurality of conductive features (110) in the first insulating layer; a second package component (200, FIG. 11) comprising a second insulating layer at an exterior surface of the second package component and a second plurality of conductive features in the second insulating layer; a plurality of solder connectors (164) bonding the first plurality of conductive features to the second plurality of conductive features (FIG. 13); a plurality of spacer connectors (168) between the first package component and the second package component, wherein the plurality of spacer connectors interfaces a lateral surface of the first insulating layer; and an underfill surrounding the plurality of solder connectors and the plurality of spacer connectors [0053].
Pei is silent with respect to “a diameter of a first solder connector of the plurality of solder connectors is greater than a vertical distance measured from a lateral surface of a first conductive feature of the first plurality of conductive features to a lateral surface of a second conductive feature of the second plurality of conductive features”.
FIG. 1 of Sidhu discloses a similar package, comprising: a first package component (122); a second package component (104); a first plurality of conductive features (117); a second plurality of conductive features (110); a plurality of solder connectors (112) bonding the first plurality of conductive features to the second plurality of conductive features; a plurality of spacer connectors (114) between the first package component and the second package component, wherein a diameter of a first solder connector of the plurality of solder connectors is greater than a vertical distance measured from a lateral surface of a first conductive feature of the first plurality of conductive features to a lateral surface of a second conductive feature of the second plurality of conductive features.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Pei, as taught by Sidhu. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Pei in the above manner for purpose of accommodating package substrates having thinner IC devices and/or larger thermal solution ([0002] of Sidhu).
Regarding Claim 23
FIG. 1 of Sidhu discloses each of the first plurality of spacer connectors comprises a rubber ball, a copper-cored ball, or a plastic ball [0036].
Regarding Claim 24
FIG. 1 of Sidhu discloses each of the first plurality of spacer connectors (114) is solder plated, and the plurality of spacer connectors is attached to a third plurality of conductive features in the second insulating layer.
Claim 22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pei and Sidhu, in view of Fu (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0148864).
Regarding Claim 22
Pei as modified by Sidhu discloses Claim 21.
Pei as modified by Sidhu is silent with respect to “the plurality of spacer connectors is attached to a lateral surface of the second insulating layer by an adhesive, wherein the adhesive is disposed between and extends continuously from the lateral surface of the second insulating layer to lateral surfaces of the plurality of spacer connectors, and wherein the lateral surfaces of the plurality of spacer connectors face the lateral surface of the second insulating layer”.
FIG. 3 of Fu discloses a similar package, wherein the plurality of spacer connectors (356) is attached to a lateral surface of the second insulating layer (327) by an adhesive (366), wherein the adhesive is disposed between and extends continuously from the lateral surface of the second insulating layer to lateral surfaces of the plurality of spacer connectors, and wherein the lateral surfaces of the plurality of spacer connectors face the lateral surface of the second insulating layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Pei, as taught by Fu. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Pei in the above manner for purpose of reliable joints to ensure better quality and performance ([0011] of Fu).
Claim 25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wirz and Daekerdi, in view of Shunji (U.S. Patent No. 3,350,181).
Regarding Claim 25
Wirz as modified by Daekerdi discloses Claim 6.
Wirz as modified by Daekerdi is silent with respect to “the adhesive is an epoxy glue”.
FIG. 1 of Shunji discloses a similar package, wherein the adhesive is an epoxy glue.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wirz, as taught by Shunji. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wirz in the above manner for purpose of firmly bonding (Col. 1, Lines 43-56 of Shunji).
Pertinent Art
Labonte (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0140361), Zhang (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0379923) and Rubin (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0134728).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1, 17 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897