Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that in regard to claim 16 that the combination of ONO and Ang prior art, does not teach the limitation of “wherein the capping material layer is formed of silicon.”
In response to this argument, the Examiner directs the applicant’s attention to the combination of ONO and Ang prior art, which clearly teaches that wherein the capping material layer (96) is formed of silicon (see Ang, Figs.7- 9 as shown below and ¶ [0027]- ¶ [0028]).
In addition, during patent examination, the pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." In re Hyatt, 211 F.3d 1367, 1372, 54 USPQ2d 1664, 1667 (Fed. Cir. 2000). While the claims of issued patents are interpreted in light of the specification, prosecution history, prior art and other claims, this is not the mode of claim interpretation to be applied during examination. During examination, the claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow. In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, F.3d, 2004 WL 1067528 (Fed. Cir. May 13, 2004) (The USPTO uses a different standard for construing claims than that used by district courts; during examination the USPTO must give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation.) This means that the words of the claim must be given their plain meaning unless applicant has provided a clear definition in the specification. In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 321, 13 USPQ2d 1320, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 1989) >; Chef America, Inc. v. Lamb-Weston, Inc., 358 F.3d 1371, 1372, 69 USPQ2d 1857 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
The Examiner would further point out that “The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). Therefore, the combination of ONO and Ang prior art reference does meet all the limitation in claim 16.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5, 7-15, and 21 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The primary reason for the allowance of the claim is the inclusion of the limitation “forming a trench into the semiconductor substrate before formation of the anode, wherein the trench is positioned in a region of the semiconductor substrate to be formed with the anode, and the trench has a bottom surface between a top surface and a bottom surface of the anode” as recited in independent claim 1, in all of the claims which is not found in the prior art references.
Claims 2-5 and 7-10 are allowed for the same reasons as claim 1, from which they depend.
The primary reason for the allowance of the claim is the inclusion of the limitation “forming a trench into the front semiconductor layer before formation of the anode, wherein the trench is positioned in a region of the front semiconductor layer to be formed with the anode, and the trench has a bottom surface between a top surface and a bottom surface of the anode” as recited in independent claim 11, in all of the claims which is not found in the prior art references.
Claims 12-15 and 21 are allowed for the same reasons as claim 11, from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ONO (JP 6184539 B2, hereinafter refer to ONO) in view of Ang et al. (U.S. 2015/0097256 A1, hereinafter refer to Ang).
Regarding Claim 16: ONO discloses a method for manufacturing a photodetection device (see ONO, Figs.1 and 6A-6J as shown below and page.1), comprising:
performing an ion implantation process to form a charge region (105) into a semiconductor substrate (101/102/112), wherein the charge region (105) has a first conductive type (note: p-Si region 105 is formed by implanting, for example, B (boron) ions) (see ONO, Fig.6D as shown above and page.3);
performing an ion implantation process to form anodes (104) with a second conductive type (note: P (phosphorus) ions are partially implanted into the Si slab waveguide 103 to form two n-Si contact regions 104) into the semiconductor substrate (101/102/112), wherein the anodes (104) at opposite sides of the charge region (105) are laterally spaced apart from the charge region (105), and portions of the semiconductor substrate (106) in between the charge region (105) and the anodes (104) respectively define a charge multiplication region (see ONO, Figs.6C-6D as shown above and page.3);
forming a recess (107) into the charge region (105), such that the charge region (105) is shaped into a charge layer (105) defining the recess (107) (see ONO, Figs. 6D-6E as shown above);
forming an absorption structure (108) in the recess (107) (see ONO, Figs. 6E-6F as shown above);
forming a capping material layer (111) covering the absorption structure (108) and the charge layer (105) (see ONO, Figs. 6H as shown above); and
wherein the cathode (109) is in contact with the absorption structure (108), and remained portions of the capping material layer (111) define a capping layer (111) entirely covering topmost surfaces of the charge layer (105) (see ONO, Figs.1 and 6J as shown above).
ONO is silent upon explicitly disclose wherein the capping material layer is formed of silicon;
performing an ion implantation process to form a cathode with the first conductive type into the capping material layer.
For support see Ang, which teaches wherein the capping material layer (96) is formed of silicon (see Ang, Figs.7- 9 as shown below and ¶ [0027]- ¶ [0028]);
performing an ion implantation process to form a cathode (104) with the first conductive type into the capping material layer (96) (see Ang, Figs.7- 9 as shown below and ¶ [0027]- ¶ [0028]).
Thus, it would have been within the scope of one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ONO and Ang to enable the known silicon capping material layer and form the cathode of ONO’s according to the teachings of Ang because one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to look to alternative suitable methods of performing the disclosed cathode of ONO and art recognized suitability for an intended purpose has been recognized to be motivation to combine. MPEP § 2144.07.
Regarding Claim 17: ONO as modified teaches a method for manufacturing a photodetection device as set forth in claim 16 as above. The combination of ONO and Ang further teaches wherein the charge layer (105), the charge multiplication regions (106) and the anodes (104) extends into the semiconductor substrate (101/102/112) by an identical depth (see ONO, Figs.1 and 6J as shown above).
Regarding Claim 18: ONO as modified teaches a method for manufacturing a photodetection device as set forth in claim 16 as above. The combination of ONO and Ang further teaches wherein patterning the semiconductor substrate (101/102/112) to form a waveguide directly in lateral contact with the absorption structure (108) and the charge layer (105) (see ONO, Figs.1 and 6J as shown above).
Regarding Claim 19: ONO as modified teaches a method for manufacturing a photodetection device as set forth in claim 16 as above. The combination of ONO and Ang further teaches wherein forming a dielectric layer (112) covering the capping layer (96), the cathode (104), the charge multiplications region (14) and the anodes (62/64) (see Ang, Figs.7- 9 as shown above); and
forming a first contact plug (114) and second contact plugs (114) through the dielectric layer (112), wherein the first contact plug (114) is landed on the cathode (104), and the second contact plugs (114) are disposed on the anodes (62/64), respectively (see Ang, Figs.7- 9 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 20: ONO as modified teaches a method for manufacturing a photodetection device as set forth in claim 19 as above. The combination of ONO and Ang further teaches wherein the dielectric layer (112) is spaced apart from the charge layer (48) via the capping layer (96) (see Ang, Fig.9 as shown above).
Furthermore, it would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of making semiconductor devices to determine the workable or optimal value for the range of dielectric layer spaced apart from the charge layer via the capping layer through routine experimentation and optimization to obtain optimal or desired device performance because the range of dielectric layer spaced apart from the charge layer via the capping layer is a result-effective variable and there is no evidence indicating that it is critical or produces any unexpected results and it has been held that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges of a result-effective variable within given prior art conditions by routine experimentation. See MPEP § 2144.05
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BITEW A DINKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812