Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species A in the reply filed on 5/26/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 6, and 9-16 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/26/29.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kato et al. (US PGPub 2015/0364461).
Claim 1: Kato teaches (Fig. 5) unidirectional transient voltage suppression (TVS) device, comprising: a first layer, comprising an N+ material, formed on a first part of a first main surface of a substrate; a second layer, extending from a second part of the first main surface, surrounding the first layer, and extending subjacent to the first layer, the second layer comprising an N- material; a third layer, comprising a P+ material, wherein the second layer is disposed between the first layer and the third layer; and an isolation region (110A), extending from the first main surface, and being disposed around the second layer.
Claim 2: Kato teaches (Fig. 5) the substrate comprises a P+ substrate, wherein the third layer extends from a second main surface of the substrate, opposite the first main surface.
Claim 7: Kato teaches (Fig. 5) the isolation region extends through the second layer and into the third layer, and wherein the second layer is disposed directly adjacent to the third layer.
Claim 8: Kato teaches (Fig. 5) the substrate defines a set of side surfaces.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al. (US PGPub 2015/0364461), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hong et al. (US PGPub 2020/0075751)
Regarding claim 4, as described above, Kato substantially reads on the invention as claimed, except Kato does not teach an N+ guard ring, extending from the first main surface, and disposed around the first layer, within the second layer. Hong teaches (Fig. 3) a N+ guard ring, extending from the first main surface, and disposed around the first layer (316), within the second layer (Deep Nwell) as being conventional in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device taught by Kato to have included the guard ring as it is known and conventional in the art as taught by Hong.
5: Kato teaches (Fig. 5) a passivation structure (110B), disposed on the first main surface, and extending over at least a portion of the isolation region, the second layer, the guard ring, and the first layer.
Claims 17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al. (US PGPub 2015/0364461) in view of Hong et al. (US PGPub 2020/0075751)
Claim 17: Kato teaches (Fig. 5) a high voltage unidirectional transient voltage suppression (TVS) device, comprising: a first layer, comprising an N+ material, formed on a first part of a first main surface of a P+ substrate; a second layer, extending from a portion of the first main surface, surrounding the first layer, and extending subjacent to the first layer, the second layer comprising an N- material, wherein a third layer, comprising a P+ material, is formed, the third layer extending below the second layer to a second main surface of the P+ substrate; and an isolation region, extending from the first main surface, and being disposed around the second layer. Kato does not teach an N+ guard ring, extending from the first main surface, and disposed around the first layer, within the second layer. Hong teaches (Fig. 3) a N+ guard ring, extending from the first main surface, and disposed around the first layer (316), within the second layer (Deep Nwell) as being conventional in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device taught by Kato to have included the guard ring as it is known and conventional in the art as taught by Hong.
Claim 19: Kato teaches (Fig. 5) a passivation structure, disposed on the first main surface, and extending over at least a portion of the isolation region, the second layer, the guard ring, and the first layer.
Claim 20: Kato teaches (Fig. 5) isolation region extends through the second layer and into the third layer, and wherein the second layer is disposed directly adjacent to the third layer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SARAH K SALERNO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814