DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 21-24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bedell et al. (“Bedell”), US 2018/0254395, in view of Chen et al. (“Chen”), US 2021/0391376.
Regarding Claim 1, Bedell discloses a method (Figs. 1-6; ¶ 0007-0012, 0052) comprising:
forming first bonding pads (22; Fig. 3; ¶ 0045) over (¶ 0045 “In one embodiment and as shown in FIG. 3, each bond pad 22 is formed on a topmost, planar surface of the receiving substrate 20. In other embodiments, each bond pad 22 may be formed in an opening formed in the receiving substrate 20 or a mesa portion of the receiving substrate 20. The openings and mesa portions can be formed by patterning the receiving substrate 20. When such embodiments are employed, patterning may include lithography and etching”) a first substrate (20; Fig. 3; ¶ 0045 “substrate 20”), wherein the first bonding pads comprise a layer of ferromagnetic material (¶ 0046 “each bond pad 22 is composed of a magnetic metal…for example, magnetic nickel, magnetic cobalt, magnetic iron”), wherein each first bonding pad produces a respective magnetic field (¶ 0046 “each bond pad 22 is composed of a material that has magnetic properties (i.e., a magnetic material)” and “each bond pad 22 is composed of a material that is capable of magnetically attracting the metallic layer 16 of the chiplet 10”) having a first orientation (¶ 0046 bond pad 22 has “polarity (i.e., north or south)”, ¶ 0052 “the polarity of the physically exposed surface of the bond pad 22”).
Bedell does not disclose
forming second bonding pads over a second substrate; and
bonding the second substrate to the first substrate, comprising bonding the second bonding pads to the first bonding pads using metal-to-metal bonding,
wherein after bonding, the second substrate physically contacts the first substrate.
Chen discloses
forming second bonding pads (1802, 1808; Fig. 9; ¶ 0072 “metal bonding pads 1802…and 1808 embedded in a dielectric material layer 1809”) over a second substrate (1812; Fig. 9; ¶ 0072 “second wafer 1800 includes a substrate 1812”); and
bonding (Fig. 9; ¶ 0072 “The first wafer 1700 has a first side 1710 and a second side 1744 opposite to the first side 1710. The second wafer 1800 has a first side 1844 and a second side 1810 opposite to the first side 1844. The first side 1710 of the first wafer 1700 is bonded to the second side 1810 of the second wafer 1800.”) the second substrate (1812) to the first substrate (1712; Fig. 9; ¶ 0072 “first wafer 1700 includes a substrate 1712”), comprising bonding (¶ 0073 “wafer 1700 is bonded to wafer 1800) the second bonding pads (1802, 1808) to the first bonding pads (1702, 1708; Fig. 9; ¶ 0072 “first wafer 1700 includes a layer 1709 of the metal bonding pads 1702…and 1708”) using metal-to-metal bonding (¶ 0073 “wafer 1700 is bonded to wafer 1800 through a…bonding method which utilizes metal-to-metal bonding”),
wherein after bonding, the second substrate physically contacts the first substrate (Fig. 9; ¶ 0073 “wafer 1700 is bonded to wafer 1800 through a…bonding method which utilizes…insulator-to-insulator (e.g., dielectric to dielectric) bonding”; ¶ 0072 “first side 1710 of the first wafer 1700 is bonded to the second side 1810 of the second wafer 1800”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Bedel to have forming second bonding pads over a second substrate; and bonding the second substrate to the first substrate, comprising bonding the second bonding pads to the first bonding pads using metal-to-metal bonding, wherein after bonding, the second substrate physically contacts the first substrate as taught by Chen, in order to “serve a bonding function and additionally serve as an electrical connection for…wafer 1700 to…wafer 1800” (Chen ¶ 0074), thereby improving the functionality and performance of the structure.
Regarding Claim 2, Bedell discloses wherein each second bonding pad produces a respective magnetic field having a second orientation (¶ 0046 “for a given metallic layer 16 and a given bond pad 22, the two are arranged such that physically exposed surfaces of each that are facing each other have a different polarity (i.e., north or south)”, ¶ 0052 “the polarity of the physically exposed surface of the metallic layer 16, which is to contact the bond pad, is opposite from the polarity of the physically exposed surface of the bond pad 22”).
Regarding Claim 3, Bedell discloses wherein the first orientation and the second orientation are parallel (¶ 0046 “for a given metallic layer 16 and a given bond pad 22, the two are arranged such that physically exposed surfaces of each that are facing each other have a different polarity (i.e., north or south)”, ¶ 0052 “the polarity of the physically exposed surface of the metallic layer 16, which is to contact the bond pad, is opposite from the polarity of the physically exposed surface of the bond pad 22”).
Regarding Claim 7, Bedell discloses wherein bonding second bonding pads to the first bonding pads comprises bringing the second bonding pads toward the first bonding pads (¶ 0052 “precise placement includes bringing the first exemplary structure shown in FIG. 2 in proximity to, but not in direct contact with, the second exemplary structure shown in FIG. 3”) until the second bonding pads contact the first bonding pads (¶ 0052 “As is shown in FIG. 4, the transferred chiplets 10T are precisely placed on an underlying bond pad 22”), wherein a misalignment between the first bonding pads and the second bonding pads decreases as the second bonding pads are brought toward the first bonding pads (¶ 0052 “the magnetic attraction is caused by magnetic force of attraction that exists between magnetic materials that comprise both the chiplet 10 and the underlying bond pad 22. In such an embodiment, a magnetic moment is created in the structure that has a controlled orientation. In this embodiment, the controlled orientation means that the polarity of the physically exposed surface of the metallic layer 16, which is to contact the bond pad, is opposite from the polarity of the physically exposed surface of the bond pad 22.”) until the second bonding pads contact the first bonding pads (¶ 0052 “As is shown in FIG. 4, the transferred chiplets 10T are precisely placed on an underlying bond pad 22”).
Regarding Claim 8, Bedell discloses wherein the first bonding pads are magnetically attracted to the second bonding pads (¶ 0052 “The distance between the two exemplary structures should be close enough to allow transfer of the chiplets 10 via magnetic force of attraction. In one embodiment, the magnetic attraction is caused by magnetic force of attraction that exists between magnetic materials that comprise both the chiplet 10 and the underlying bond pad 22.”).
Regarding Claim 21, Bedel discloses a method (Figs. 1-6; ¶ 0007-0012, 0052) comprising:
forming a plurality of first bonding pads (22; Fig. 3; ¶ 0045), wherein each first bonding pad is magnetized in a first orientation (¶ 0046 bond pad 22 has “polarity (i.e., north or south)”, ¶ 0052 “the polarity of the physically exposed surface of the bond pad 22”);
forming a plurality of second bonding pads (16; Figs. 1-2, 4-6; ¶ 0034 “layer 16 is composed of a magnetic metal…for example, magnetic nickel, magnetic cobalt, magnetic iron”), wherein each second bonding pad is magnetized in a second orientation ((¶ 0046 “for a given metallic layer 16 and a given bond pad 22, the two are arranged such that physically exposed surfaces of each that are facing each other have a different polarity (i.e., north or south)”, ¶ 0052 “the polarity of the physically exposed surface of the metallic layer 16, which is to contact the bond pad, is opposite from the polarity of the physically exposed surface of the bond pad 22”).
Bedel does not disclose
a plurality of first bonding pads over a first interconnect structure;
a plurality of second bonding pads over a second interconnect structure.
Chen discloses
a plurality of first bonding pads (1702, 1704, 1706,1708; Fig. 9; ¶ 0072 “metal bonding pads 1702, 1704, 1706, and 1708”) over a first interconnect structure (Fig. 9; ¶ 0076 “vertical interconnect structures (or vias) in via layers 1714, 1718, and 1722, and horizontal metal interconnect layers 1716 and 1720”);
a plurality of second bonding pads (1802, 1804, 1806, 1808; Fig. 9; ¶ 0072 “metal bonding pads 1802, 1804, 1806, and 1808”) over a second interconnect structure (Fig. 9; ¶ 0076 “via layers 1814, 1818, and 1822, and horizontal metal interconnect layers 1816 and 1820”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Bedell to have a plurality of first bonding pads over a first interconnect structure; a plurality of second bonding pads over a second interconnect structure, as taught by Chen, in order to “establish electrical connections between wafers 1700, 1800 without need to use TSVs structure” (Chen ¶ 0074; see also ¶ 0079), to “increase amount of useable areas on wafers for circuitry formation and signal routing” (Chen ¶ 0074; see also ¶ 0079 “thereby increase usage of wafer area and signal routing flexibility”).
In addition, Bedell does not disclose
bonding the second interconnect structure to the first interconnect structure, comprising:
simultaneously placing the plurality of second bonding pads on the plurality of first bonding pads: and
bonding each the plurality of second bonding pad pads to a respective the plurality of first bonding pad pads.
Chen discloses
bonding (Fig. 9; ¶ 0072 “first side 1710 of the first wafer 1700 is bonded to the second side 1810 of the second wafer 1800” and “a first wafer 1700 bonded to a second wafer 1800”) the second interconnect structure (Fig. 9; ¶ 0076 “via layers 1814, 1818, and 1822, and horizontal metal interconnect layers 1816 and 1820”) to the first interconnect structure (Fig. 9; ¶ 0076 “vertical interconnect structures (or vias) in via layers 1714, 1718, and 1722, and horizontal metal interconnect layers 1716 and 1720”), comprising:
simultaneously placing the plurality of second bonding pads on the plurality of first bonding pads (Fig. 9; ¶ 0072 “The first wafer 1700 has a first side 1710 and a second side 1744 opposite to the first side 1710. The second wafer 1800 has a first side 1844 and a second side 1810 opposite to the first side 1844. The first side 1710 of the first wafer 1700 is bonded to the second side 1810 of the second wafer 1800.”; ¶ 0075 “The pairs of metal bonding pads 1702, 1802, and 1708, 1808 are of similar width and are superposed with each other.”): and
bonding each the plurality of second bonding pad pads to a respective the plurality of first bonding pad pads (Fig. 9; ¶0075 “The pairs of metal bonding pads 1702, 1802, and 1708, 1808 are of similar width and are superposed with each other.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Bedell to have bonding the second interconnect structure to the first interconnect structure, comprising: simultaneously placing the plurality of second bonding pads on the plurality of first bonding pads: and bonding each the plurality of second bonding pad pads to a respective the plurality of first bonding pad pads, as taught by Chen, in order to “serve a bonding function and additionally serve as an electrical connection for…wafer 1700 to…wafer 1800” (Chen ¶ 0074), thereby improving the functionality and performance of the structure.
Regarding Claim 22, Bedell discloses wherein the first orientation and the second orientation are the same orientation ((¶ 0046 “for a given metallic layer 16 and a given bond pad 22, the two are arranged such that physically exposed surfaces of each that are facing each other have a different polarity (i.e., north or south)”, ¶ 0052 “the polarity of the physically exposed surface of the metallic layer 16, which is to contact the bond pad, is opposite from the polarity of the physically exposed surface of the bond pad 22”).
Regarding Claim 23, Bedell discloses wherein the first orientation is a lateral direction (Figs. 4-6 rotated 90 degrees to the right; ¶ 0046 “for a given metallic layer 16 and a given bond pad 22, the two are arranged such that physically exposed surfaces of each that are facing each other have a different polarity (i.e., north or south)”, ¶ 0052 “the polarity of the physically exposed surface of the metallic layer 16, which is to contact the bond pad, is opposite from the polarity of the physically exposed surface of the bond pad 22”, therefore when Figs. 4-6 are rotated 90 degrees to the right the result is that the first orientation is a left to right lateral orientation.).
Regarding Claim 24, Bedell does not disclose wherein the first bonding pads are electrically isolated from the first interconnect structure.
Chen discloses wherein the first bonding pads are electrically isolated from the first interconnect structure (1704, 1706; Fig. 9; ¶ 0075 “metal bonding pads 1704,…and 1706,…are provided as “dummy” pads”, ¶ 0030 “Dummy pads are not configured to provide electrical connections between wafers 100, 200.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Bedell to have wherein the first bonding pads are electrically isolated from the first interconnect structure, as taught by Chen, “to provide metal coverage and an even or level surface for enhancing bonding strength to relieve bonding stress” (Chen ¶ 0075), thereby improving reliability.
Regarding Claim 26; Bedell does not disclose further comprising forming third bonding pads over the first substrate, wherein the third bonding pads are nonmagnetic.
Chen discloses further comprising forming third bonding pads (1804, 1806; Fig. 9; ¶ 0075 “metal bonding pads…1804, and…1806”) over (Fig. 9; ¶ 0072 “first side 1710 of the first wafer 1700 is bonded to the second side 1810 of the second wafer 1800”) the first substrate (1712), wherein the third bonding pads are nonmagnetic (¶ 0075 “metal bonding pads…1804, and…1806 are provided as “dummy” pads”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Bedell to have further comprising forming third bonding pads over the first substrate, wherein the third bonding pads are nonmagnetic, as taught by Chen, “to provide…an even or level surface for enhancing bonding strength to relieve bonding stress” (Chen ¶ 0075), thereby improving the reliability of the structure.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bedell et al. (“Bedell”), US 2018/0254395, and Chen et al. (“Chen”), US 2021/0391376, as applied to Claim 1, in view of Keum et al. (“Keum”), US 2023/0113107.
Regarding Claim 4, Bedell as modified by Chen does not disclose the first bonding pads further comprise a layer of antiferromagnetic material.
Keum discloses wherein the first bonding pads (640; Fig. 13; ¶ 0122 “640 may be…a plating layer” and “the connection terminal 350 may be bonded to a pad of the line 620-2 through an adhesive portion 640”) further comprise a layer of antiferromagnetic material (¶ 0122 “640 may be…a plating layer, and the plating layer may include…chromium (Cr)”, noting that chromium is antiferromagnetic material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Bedell as modified to have the first bonding pads further comprise a layer of antiferromagnetic material, as taught by Keum, because “the connection terminal 350 of the sensor may be connected to the lines 620-1 and 620-2” (Keum ¶ 0121) “Accordingly, the connection terminal can be stably bonded to the stretchable substrate 600-3, and when the sensor is injected into the body, the separation of the sensor can be prevented” (Keum ¶ 0121) thereby improving reliability.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bedell et al. (“Bedell”), US 2018/0254395, and Chen et al. (“Chen”), US 2021/0391376, as applied to Claim 1, in view of Fritz et al. (“Fritz”), US 2015/0137366.
Regarding Claim 5, Bedell as modified by Chen does not disclose wherein the first substrate comprises an interconnect structure, wherein the first bonding pads are electrically connected to the interconnect structure.
Fritz discloses wherein the first substrate (200; Fig. 3; ¶ 0044 “substrate 200”) comprises an interconnect structure (Fig. 3; ¶ 0044 “substrate 200 can be a packaging substrate embedding metal lines 214 and metal via structures 216”, wherein the first bonding pads are electrically connected to the interconnect structure (Fig. 3; ¶ 0044 “substrate 200 can be a packaging substrate embedding metal lines 214 and metal via structures 216 that provide interconnection from the bonding pads 600”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Bedell as modified to have wherein the first substrate comprises an interconnect structure, wherein the first bonding pads are electrically connected to the interconnect structure, as taught by Fritz, in order to “provide interconnection from the bonding pads 600 to connection ports (not shown) located on the opposite side of the bonding pads 600” (Fritz ¶ 0044) to provide functionality.
Regarding Claim 6, Bedell as modified by Chen does not disclose wherein forming first bonding pads comprises performing a magnetic annealing process on the layer of ferromagnetic material.
Fritz discloses wherein forming first bonding pads comprises performing a magnetic annealing process (¶ 0035 “The magnetic field generated by the at least one electromagnet is employed to heat the magnetic component in the bonding pads 600”, ¶ 0066 “heating the magnetic material through a time-dependent magnetic field generated by the apparatus (900, 301A, 310B, 320A, 320B)”) on the layer of ferromagnetic material (600; ¶ 0035 “the magnetic material that is present within each of the bonding pads 600”, ¶ 0036 “magnetic materials such as Ni, Fe, Co”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Bedell as modified to have wherein forming first bonding pads comprises performing a magnetic annealing process on the layer of ferromagnetic material, as taught by Fritz, because “the magnitude of the magnetic field generated by the at least one electromagnet can saturate the magnetic field in the magnetic material, thereby providing a higher heating rate for the magnetic material” (Fritz ¶ 0036, see also ¶ 0074).
Claims 9-10, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bedell et al. (“Bedell”), US 2018/0254395, in view of Fritz et al. (“Fritz”), US 2015/0137366.
Regarding Claim 9, Bedell discloses a method (Fig. 3; ¶ 0045, 0048) comprising:
forming a first bonding pad (22; Fig. 3; ¶ 0045 “each bond pad 22 is formed”, ¶ 0048 “Each bond pad 22 may be formed”), comprising:
forming a recess (¶ 0045 “each bond pad 22 may be formed in an opening formed in the receiving substrate 20”) in a first dielectric layer (20; Fig. 3; ¶ 0043 “a material stack, in any order, of a semiconductor material and an insulator material may be employed as the receiving substrate 20”);
filling the recess (¶ 0048 “bond pad 22 may be formed by first providing a blanket layer of magnetic…material” “The blanket layer of magnetic…material is then patterned to provide each bond pad 22.”) with magnetic material (¶ 0046 “each bond pad 22 is composed of a material that has magnetic properties (i.e., a magnetic material)”, ¶ 0046 “each bond pad 22 is composed of a magnetic metal…for example, magnetic nickel, magnetic cobalt, magnetic iron”);
wherein the magnetic material has a magnetic field (¶ 0046 “each bond pad 22 is composed of a material that is capable of magnetically attracting the metallic layer 16 of the chiplet 10”) of a first orientation (¶ 0046 “for a given metallic layer 16 and a given bond pad 22, the two are arranged such that physically exposed surfaces of each…have a different polarity (i.e., north or south)”); and
bonding (Figs. 4, 6; ¶ 0052, 0053) the first bonding pad to a second bonding pad (16; Figs. 1-2, 4-6; ¶ 0034 “layer 16 is composed of a magnetic metal…for example, magnetic nickel, magnetic cobalt, magnetic iron”).
Bedell does not disclose performing a magnetic annealing process on the magnetic material.
Fritz discloses performing a magnetic annealing process on the magnetic material (¶ 0035 “The magnetic field generated by the at least one electromagnet is employed to heat the magnetic component in the bonding pads 600”, ¶ 0066 “heating the magnetic material through a time-dependent magnetic field generated by the apparatus (900, 301A, 310B, 320A, 320B)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Bedell to have performing a magnetic annealing process on the magnetic material, as taught by Fritz, because “the magnitude of the magnetic field generated by the at least one electromagnet can saturate the magnetic field in the magnetic material, thereby providing a higher heating rate for the magnetic material” (Fritz ¶ 0036, see also ¶ 0074).
In addition, Bedel does not disclose wherein the magnetic annealing process comprises subjecting the magnetic material to an external magnetic field of a second orientation, wherein after the magnetic annealing process the magnetic material has a magnetic field of the second orientation.
Fritz discloses wherein the magnetic annealing process comprises subjecting the magnetic material to an external magnetic field (B; Figs. 8, 10; ¶ 0065 “the magnetic field B is perpendicular to the plane…of bonding pads 600”; ¶ 0073 “the magnetic field B is parallel to the plane…of bonding pads 600”) of a second orientation (Figs 8, 10, 11; ¶ 0074 “the direction of the time-dependent magnetic field can be adjusted”; ¶ 0075 “the magnetic field B includes a spatially varying region. The electromagnets…are configured to move”; ¶ 0076 “substrate 200 can be moved relative to the apparatus (340A, 340B) that generates the time-dependent magnetic field”), wherein after the magnetic annealing process the magnetic material has a magnetic field of the second orientation (¶ 0074 “the direction of the time-dependent magnetic field can be adjusted”; ¶ 0075 “the magnetic field B includes a spatially varying region. The electromagnets…are configured to move”; ¶ 0076 “substrate 200 can be moved relative to the apparatus (340A, 340B) that generates the time-dependent magnetic field” therefore the magnetic material has a magnetic field of the second orientation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Bedell to have wherein the magnetic annealing process comprises subjecting the magnetic material to an external magnetic field of a second orientation, wherein after the magnetic annealing process the magnetic material has a magnetic field of the second orientation, as taught by Fritz, because the “magnetic field can be adjusted to maximize the heating of the magnetic material in the bonding pads 600” (Fritz ¶ 0074) to improve the reliability of the structure (Fritz ¶ 0078).
Regarding Claim 10, Bedell discloses wherein forming the recess exposes a conductive feature disposed below the first dielectric layer (¶ 0042 “substrate 20 (which may also be referred to as a display substrate) may include various materials such as, for example, a semiconductor material (such as defined above in ¶ 0024 “Examples of semiconductor materials” are “II-VI compound semiconductors.”, noting that Group VI elements are Chromium, Molybdenum, and Tungsten that are highly conductive transition metals, in this instance forming the recess exposes a Group VI conductive feature).
Regarding Claim 12, Bedel discloses wherein the magnetic material comprises cobalt (¶ 0046 “each bond pad 22 is composed of a magnetic metal…such as…cobalt”).
Regarding Claim 13, Bedell does not disclose wherein the magnetic material comprises a plurality of layers.
Fritz discloses wherein the magnetic material comprises a plurality of layers (Fig. 3; ¶ 0047 “a bonding pad 600, which includes a…stack 60”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Bedell to have wherein the magnetic material comprises a plurality of layers, as taught by Fritz, to customize “the magnitude of the magnetic field generated by the at least one electromagnet can saturate the magnetic field in the magnetic material, thereby providing a higher heating rate for the magnetic material” (Fritz ¶ 0036, see also ¶ 0074).
Regarding Claim 14, Bedell does not disclose wherein the magnetic annealing process comprises heating the magnetic material while subjecting the magnetic material to the external magnetic field.
Fritz discloses wherein the magnetic annealing process comprises heating the magnetic material (Fig. 8; ¶ 0066 “heating the magnetic material through a time-dependent magnetic field generated by the apparatus (900, 301A, 310B, 320A, 320B)”) while subjecting the magnetic material to the external magnetic field (B; Fig. 8; ¶ 0065 “magnetic field B is perpendicular to the plane…of bonding pads 600”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Bedell to have wherein the magnetic annealing process comprises heating the magnetic material while subjecting the magnetic material to the external magnetic field, as taught by Fritz, to customize “the magnitude of the magnetic field generated by the at least one electromagnet can saturate the magnetic field in the magnetic material, thereby providing a higher heating rate for the magnetic material” (Fritz ¶ 0036, see also ¶ 0074).
Regarding Claim 15, Bedell discloses wherein the second bonding pad (16; Figs. 1-2, 4-6) is surrounded by a second dielectric layer (12; Figs. 1-2, 4-6 the top side of second bonding pad 16 is surrounded), and further comprising bonding the first dielectric layer to the second dielectric layer (first dielectric layer 20 is bonded to second dielectric layer 12 through elements 16, 14, 24S, and 22 in Fig. 4 and 6).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bedell et al. (“Bedell”), US 2018/0254395 and Chen et al. (“Chen”), US 2021/0391376, as applied to Claim 21, in view of Keum et al. (“Keum”), US 2023/0113107.
Regarding Claim 25, Bedell as modified by Chen does not disclose wherein each first bonding pad comprises a layer of ferromagnetic material sandwiched between two layers of antiferromagnetic material.
Keum discloses wherein each first bonding pad (640; Fig. 13; ¶ 0122 “640 may be…a plating layer” and “the connection terminal 350 may be bonded to a pad of the line 620-2 through an adhesive portion 640”) comprises a layer of ferromagnetic material sandwiched between two layers of antiferromagnetic material (¶ 0122 “640 may be…a plating layer, and the plating layer may include at least one selected from among…nickel (Ni),…and chromium (Cr)”, in this instance ferromagnetic material nickel is sandwiched between two layers of antiferromagnetic material chromium).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Bedell as modified to have wherein each first bonding pad comprises a layer of ferromagnetic material sandwiched between two layers of antiferromagnetic material, as taught by Keum, because the sandwiched layers would reduce any negative effect in the coupling that may be caused by external noise, thereby increasing the electrical stability in the connection.
Response to Arguments
In their amendment and response dated 7/21/2026, the applicant states (page 2 of 10) that “Applicant submits that Bedell does not teach a second substrate that physically contacts Bedell's asserted first substrate (20), as recited in claim 1.”
The amendments to Claim 1 has necessitated an updated rejection of Claim 1 over Bedell and Chen, as discussed supra.
The applicant states (page 3 of 10) that “an external magnetic field of a second orientation”.
As discussed supra, Fritz discloses an external magnetic field (B; Figs. 8, 10; ¶ 0065 “the magnetic field B is perpendicular to the plane…of bonding pads 600”; ¶ 0073 “the magnetic field B is parallel to the plane…of bonding pads 600”) of a second orientation (Figs 8, 10, 11; ¶ 0074 “the direction of the time-dependent magnetic field can be adjusted”; ¶ 0075 “the magnetic field B includes a spatially varying region. The electromagnets…are configured to move”; ¶ 0076 “substrate 200 can be moved relative to the apparatus (340A, 340B) that generates the time-dependent magnetic field”).
The applicant states (page 3 of 10) that “the cited references, either individually or in combination, do not teach or suggest all of the features of claim 9”.
The amendments to Claim 9 has necessitated an updated rejection of Claim 9, as discussed supra.
The applicant states (page 4 of 10) that “Bedell fails to disclose at least "bonding the second interconnect structure to the first interconnect structure" as recited in claim 21”.
As discussed supra, Chen discloses bonding (Fig. 9; ¶ 0072 “first side 1710 of the first wafer 1700 is bonded to the second side 1810 of the second wafer 1800” and “a first wafer 1700 bonded to a second wafer 1800”) the second interconnect structure (Fig. 9; ¶ 0076 “via layers 1814, 1818, and 1822, and horizontal metal interconnect layers 1816 and 1820”) to the first interconnect structure (Fig. 9; ¶ 0076 “vertical interconnect structures (or vias) in via layers 1714, 1718, and 1722, and horizontal metal interconnect layers 1716 and 1720”).
The applicant states (page 4 of 10) that “the cited references, either individually or in combination, do not teach or suggest all of the features of claim 21”.
The amendments to Claim 21 has necessitated an updated rejection of Claim 21.
Independent Claims 1, 9, and 21 are rejected for at least the reasons stated supra. Dependent Claims 2-8, 10, 12-15, and 22-26 are rejected for at least the reasons stated supra.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818