DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on April 6, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 16-20 are withdrawn as they are directed to a nonelected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bedell et al. (“Bedell”), US 2018/0254395.
Regarding Claim 1, Bedell discloses a method (Figs. 1-6; ¶ 0007-0012, 0052) comprising:
forming first bonding pads (22; Fig. 3; ¶ 0045) over (¶ 0045 “each bond pad 22 is formed on…substrate 20”) a first substrate (20; Fig. 3; ¶ 0045), wherein the first bonding pads comprise a layer of ferromagnetic material (¶ 0046 “each bond pad 22 is composed of a magnetic metal…for example, magnetic nickel, magnetic cobalt, magnetic iron”), wherein each first bonding pad produces a respective magnetic field having a first orientation (¶ 0046 bond pad 22 has “polarity (i.e., north or south)”, ¶ 0052 “the polarity of the physically exposed surface of the bond pad 22”); and
bonding (Figs. 4, 6; ¶ 0052, 0053) second bonding pads (16; Figs. 1-2, 4-6; ¶ 0034 “layer 16 is composed of a magnetic metal…for example, magnetic nickel, magnetic cobalt, magnetic iron”) to the first bonding pads (Figs. 4, 6; ¶ 0052, 0053) using metal-to-metal bonding (Fig. 5; ¶ 0052 “the physically exposed surface of the metallic layer 16, which is to contact the…physically exposed surface of the bond pad 22”, ¶ 0053).
Regarding Claim 2, Bedell discloses wherein each second bonding pad produces a respective magnetic field having a second orientation (¶ 0046 “for a given metallic layer 16 and a given bond pad 22, the two are arranged such that physically exposed surfaces of each that are facing each other have a different polarity (i.e., north or south)”, ¶ 0052 “the polarity of the physically exposed surface of the metallic layer 16, which is to contact the bond pad, is opposite from the polarity of the physically exposed surface of the bond pad 22”).
Regarding Claim 3, Bedell discloses wherein the first orientation and the second orientation are parallel (¶ 0046 “for a given metallic layer 16 and a given bond pad 22, the two are arranged such that physically exposed surfaces of each that are facing each other have a different polarity (i.e., north or south)”, ¶ 0052 “the polarity of the physically exposed surface of the metallic layer 16, which is to contact the bond pad, is opposite from the polarity of the physically exposed surface of the bond pad 22”).
Regarding Claim 7, Bedell discloses wherein bonding second bonding pads to the first bonding pads comprises bringing the second bonding pads toward the first bonding pads (¶ 0052 “precise placement includes bringing the first exemplary structure shown in FIG. 2 in proximity to, but not in direct contact with, the second exemplary structure shown in FIG. 3”) until the second bonding pads contact the first bonding pads (¶ 0052 “As is shown in FIG. 4, the transferred chiplets 10T are precisely placed on an underlying bond pad 22”), wherein a misalignment between the first bonding pads and the second bonding pads decreases as the second bonding pads are brought toward the first bonding pads (¶ 0052 “the magnetic attraction is caused by magnetic force of attraction that exists between magnetic materials that comprise both the chiplet 10 and the underlying bond pad 22. In such an embodiment, a magnetic moment is created in the structure that has a controlled orientation. In this embodiment, the controlled orientation means that the polarity of the physically exposed surface of the metallic layer 16, which is to contact the bond pad, is opposite from the polarity of the physically exposed surface of the bond pad 22.”) until the second bonding pads contact the first bonding pads (¶ 0052 “As is shown in FIG. 4, the transferred chiplets 10T are precisely placed on an underlying bond pad 22”).
Regarding Claim 8, Bedell discloses wherein the first bonding pads are magnetically attracted to the second bonding pads (¶ 0052 “The distance between the two exemplary structures should be close enough to allow transfer of the chiplets 10 via magnetic force of attraction. In one embodiment, the magnetic attraction is caused by magnetic force of attraction that exists between magnetic materials that comprise both the chiplet 10 and the underlying bond pad 22.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bedell et al. (“Bedell”), US 2018/0254395, in view of Keum et al. (“Keum”), US 2023/0113107.
Regarding Claim 4, Bedell does not disclose the first bonding pads further comprise a layer of antiferromagnetic material.
Keum discloses wherein the first bonding pads (640; Fig. 13; ¶ 0122 “640 may be…a plating layer” and “the connection terminal 350 may be bonded to a pad of the line 620-2 through an adhesive portion 640”) further comprise a layer of antiferromagnetic material (¶ 0122 “640 may be…a plating layer, and the plating layer may include…chromium (Cr)”, noting that chromium is antiferromagnetic material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Bedell to have the first bonding pads further comprise a layer of antiferromagnetic material, as taught by Keum, because “the connection terminal 350 of the sensor may be connected to the lines 620-1 and 620-2” (Keum ¶ 0121) “Accordingly, the connection terminal can be stably bonded to the stretchable substrate 600-3, and when the sensor is injected into the body, the separation of the sensor can be prevented” (Keum ¶ 0121) thereby improving reliability.
Claims 5-6 and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bedell et al. (“Bedell”), US 2018/0254395, in view of Fritz et al. (“Fritz”), US 2015/0137366.
Regarding Claim 5, Bedell does not disclose wherein the first substrate comprises an interconnect structure, wherein the first bonding pads are electrically connected to the interconnect structure.
Fritz discloses wherein the first substrate (200; Fig. 3; ¶ 0044 “substrate 200”) comprises an interconnect structure (Fig. 3; ¶ 0044 “substrate 200 can be a packaging substrate embedding metal lines 214 and metal via structures 216”, wherein the first bonding pads are electrically connected to the interconnect structure (Fig. 3; ¶ 0044 “substrate 200 can be a packaging substrate embedding metal lines 214 and metal via structures 216 that provide interconnection from the bonding pads 600”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Bedell to have wherein the first substrate comprises an interconnect structure, wherein the first bonding pads are electrically connected to the interconnect structure, as taught by Fritz, in order to “provide interconnection from the bonding pads 600 to connection ports (not shown) located on the opposite side of the bonding pads 600” (Fritz ¶ 0044) to provide functionality.
Regarding Claim 6, Bedell does not disclose wherein forming first bonding pads comprises performing a magnetic annealing process on the layer of ferromagnetic material.
Fritz discloses wherein forming first bonding pads comprises performing a magnetic annealing process (¶ 0035 “The magnetic field generated by the at least one electromagnet is employed to heat the magnetic component in the bonding pads 600”, ¶ 0066 “heating the magnetic material through a time-dependent magnetic field generated by the apparatus (900, 301A, 310B, 320A, 320B)”) on the layer of ferromagnetic material (600; ¶ 0035 “the magnetic material that is present within each of the bonding pads 600”, ¶ 0036 “magnetic materials such as Ni, Fe, Co”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Bedell to have wherein forming first bonding pads comprises performing a magnetic annealing process on the layer of ferromagnetic material, as taught by Fritz, because “the magnitude of the magnetic field generated by the at least one electromagnet can saturate the magnetic field in the magnetic material, thereby providing a higher heating rate for the magnetic material” (Fritz ¶ 0036, see also ¶ 0074).
Regarding Claim 9, Bedell discloses a method (Fig. 3; ¶ 0045, 0048) comprising:
forming a first bonding pad (22; Fig. 3; ¶ 0045 “each bond pad 22 is formed”, ¶ 0048 “Each bond pad 22 may be formed”), comprising:
forming a recess (¶ 0045 “each bond pad 22 may be formed in an opening formed in the receiving substrate 20”) in a first dielectric layer (20; Fig. 3; ¶ 0043 “a material stack, in any order, of a semiconductor material and an insulator material may be employed as the receiving substrate 20”);
filling the recess (¶ 0048 “bond pad 22 may be formed by first providing a blanket layer of magnetic…material” “The blanket layer of magnetic…material is then patterned to provide each bond pad 22.”) with magnetic material (¶ 0046 “each bond pad 22 is composed of a material that has magnetic properties (i.e., a magnetic material)”, ¶ 0046 “each bond pad 22 is composed of a magnetic metal…for example, magnetic nickel, magnetic cobalt, magnetic iron”); and
bonding (Figs. 4, 6; ¶ 0052, 0053) the first bonding pad to a second bonding pad (16; Figs. 1-2, 4-6; ¶ 0034 “layer 16 is composed of a magnetic metal…for example, magnetic nickel, magnetic cobalt, magnetic iron”).
Bedell does not disclose performing a magnetic annealing process on the magnetic material.
Fritz discloses performing a magnetic annealing process on the magnetic material (¶ 0035 “The magnetic field generated by the at least one electromagnet is employed to heat the magnetic component in the bonding pads 600”, ¶ 0066 “heating the magnetic material through a time-dependent magnetic field generated by the apparatus (900, 301A, 310B, 320A, 320B)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Bedell to have performing a magnetic annealing process on the magnetic material, as taught by Fritz, because “the magnitude of the magnetic field generated by the at least one electromagnet can saturate the magnetic field in the magnetic material, thereby providing a higher heating rate for the magnetic material” (Fritz ¶ 0036, see also ¶ 0074).
Regarding Claim 10, Bedell discloses wherein forming the recess exposes a conductive feature disposed below the first dielectric layer (¶ 0042 “substrate 20 (which may also be referred to as a display substrate) may include various materials such as, for example, a semiconductor material (such as defined above in ¶ 0024 “Examples of semiconductor materials” are “II-VI compound semiconductors.”, noting that Group VI elements are Chromium, Molybdenum, and Tungsten that are highly conductive transition metals, in this instance forming the recess exposes a Group VI conductive feature).
Regarding Claim 11, Bedell does not disclose wherein the magnetic annealing process induces a magnetic field in the first bonding pad.
Fritz discloses wherein the magnetic annealing process induces a magnetic field (¶ 0036 “the magnitude of the magnetic field generated by the at least one electromagnet can saturate the magnetic field in the magnetic material” and “Typical saturation field magnitudes for…Ni, Fe, Co…are between 0.3 Tesla and 3.0 Tesla.”) in the first bonding pad.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Bedell to have wherein the magnetic annealing process induces a magnetic field in the first bonding pad, as taught by Fritz, because “the magnitude of the magnetic field generated by the at least one electromagnet can saturate the magnetic field in the magnetic material, thereby providing a higher heating rate for the magnetic material” (Fritz ¶ 0036, see also ¶ 0074).
Regarding Claim 12, Bedel discloses wherein the magnetic material comprises cobalt (¶ 0046 “each bond pad 22 is composed of a magnetic metal…such as…cobalt”).
Regarding Claim 13, Bedell does not disclose wherein the magnetic material comprises a plurality of layers.
Fritz discloses wherein the magnetic material comprises a plurality of layers (Fig. 3; ¶ 0047 “a bonding pad 600, which includes a…stack 60”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Bedell to have wherein the magnetic material comprises a plurality of layers, as taught by Fritz, to customize “the magnitude of the magnetic field generated by the at least one electromagnet can saturate the magnetic field in the magnetic material, thereby providing a higher heating rate for the magnetic material” (Fritz ¶ 0036, see also ¶ 0074).
Regarding Claim 14, Bedell does not disclose wherein the magnetic annealing process comprises heating the magnetic material while subjecting the magnetic material to an external magnetic field.
Fritz discloses wherein the magnetic annealing process comprises heating the magnetic material (Fig. 8; ¶ 0066 “heating the magnetic material through a time-dependent magnetic field generated by the apparatus (900, 301A, 310B, 320A, 320B)”) while subjecting the magnetic material to an external magnetic field (B; Fig. 8; ¶ 0065 “magnetic field B is perpendicular to the plane…of bonding pads 600”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Bedell to have wherein the magnetic annealing process comprises heating the magnetic material while subjecting the magnetic material to an external magnetic field, as taught by Fritz, to customize “the magnitude of the magnetic field generated by the at least one electromagnet can saturate the magnetic field in the magnetic material, thereby providing a higher heating rate for the magnetic material” (Fritz ¶ 0036, see also ¶ 0074).
Regarding Claim 15, Bedell discloses wherein the second bonding pad (16; Figs. 1-2, 4-6) is surrounded by a second dielectric layer (12; Figs. 1-2, 4-6 the top side of second bonding pad 16 is surrounded), and further comprising bonding the first dielectric layer to the second dielectric layer (first dielectric layer 20 is bonded to second dielectric layer 12 through elements 16, 14, 24S, and 22 in Fig. 4 and 6).
Claims 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bedell et al. (“Bedell”), US 2018/0254395, in view of Chen et al. (“Chen”), US 2021/0391376.
Regarding Claim 21, Bedel discloses a method (Figs. 1-6; ¶ 0007-0012, 0052) comprising:
forming a plurality of first bonding pads (22; Fig. 3; ¶ 0045), wherein each first bonding pad is magnetized in a first orientation (¶ 0046 bond pad 22 has “polarity (i.e., north or south)”, ¶ 0052 “the polarity of the physically exposed surface of the bond pad 22”);
forming a plurality of second bonding pads (16; Figs. 1-2, 4-6; ¶ 0034 “layer 16 is composed of a magnetic metal…for example, magnetic nickel, magnetic cobalt, magnetic iron”), wherein each second bonding pad is magnetized in a second orientation ((¶ 0046 “for a given metallic layer 16 and a given bond pad 22, the two are arranged such that physically exposed surfaces of each that are facing each other have a different polarity (i.e., north or south)”, ¶ 0052 “the polarity of the physically exposed surface of the metallic layer 16, which is to contact the bond pad, is opposite from the polarity of the physically exposed surface of the bond pad 22”); and
bonding each second bonding pad to a respective first bonding pad (Figs. 4, 6; ¶ 0052, 0053).
Bedel does not disclose
a plurality of first bonding pads over a first interconnect structure;
a plurality of second bonding pads over a second interconnect structure.
Chen discloses
a plurality of first bonding pads (1702, 1704, 1706,1708; Fig. 9; ¶ 0072 “metal bonding pads 1702, 1704, 1706, and 1708”) over a first interconnect structure (Fig. 9; ¶ 0076 “vertical interconnect structures (or vias) in via layers 1714, 1718, and 1722, and horizontal metal interconnect layers 1716 and 1720”);
a plurality of second bonding pads (1802, 1804, 1806, 1808; Fig. 9; ¶ 0072 “metal bonding pads 1802, 1804, 1806, and 1808”) over a second interconnect structure (Fig. 9; ¶ 0076 “via layers 1814, 1818, and 1822, and horizontal metal interconnect layers 1816 and 1820”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Bedell to have a plurality of first bonding pads over a first interconnect structure; a plurality of second bonding pads over a second interconnect structure, as taught by Chen, in order to “establish electrical connections between wafers 1700, 1800 without need to use TSVs structure” (Chen ¶ 0074; see also ¶ 0079), to “increase amount of useable areas on wafers for circuitry formation and signal routing” (Chen ¶ 0074; see also ¶ 0079 “thereby increase usage of wafer area and signal routing flexibility”).
Regarding Claim 22, Bedell discloses wherein the first orientation and the second orientation are the same orientation ((¶ 0046 “for a given metallic layer 16 and a given bond pad 22, the two are arranged such that physically exposed surfaces of each that are facing each other have a different polarity (i.e., north or south)”, ¶ 0052 “the polarity of the physically exposed surface of the metallic layer 16, which is to contact the bond pad, is opposite from the polarity of the physically exposed surface of the bond pad 22”).
Regarding Claim 23, Bedell discloses wherein the first orientation is a lateral direction (Figs. 4-6 rotated 90 degrees to the right; ¶ 0046 “for a given metallic layer 16 and a given bond pad 22, the two are arranged such that physically exposed surfaces of each that are facing each other have a different polarity (i.e., north or south)”, ¶ 0052 “the polarity of the physically exposed surface of the metallic layer 16, which is to contact the bond pad, is opposite from the polarity of the physically exposed surface of the bond pad 22”, therefore when Figs. 4-6 are rotated 90 degrees to the right the result is that the first orientation is a left to right lateral orientation.).
Regarding Claim 24, Bedell does not disclose wherein the first bonding pads are electrically isolated from the first interconnect structure.
Chen discloses wherein the first bonding pads are electrically isolated from the first interconnect structure (1704, 1706; Fig. 9; ¶ 0075 “metal bonding pads 1704,…and 1706,…are provided as “dummy” pads”, ¶ 0030 “Dummy pads are not configured to provide electrical connections between wafers 100, 200.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Bedell to have wherein the first bonding pads are electrically isolated from the first interconnect structure, as taught by Chen, “to provide metal coverage and an even or level surface for enhancing bonding strength to relieve bonding stress” (Chen ¶ 0075), thereby improving reliability.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bedell et al. (“Bedell”), US 2018/0254395 and Chen et al. (“Chen”), US 2021/0391376, as applied to Claim 21, in view of Keum et al. (“Keum”), US 2023/0113107.
Regarding Claim 25, Bedell as modified by Chen does not disclose wherein each first bonding pad comprises a layer of ferromagnetic material sandwiched between two layers of antiferromagnetic material.
Keum discloses wherein each first bonding pad (640; Fig. 13; ¶ 0122 “640 may be…a plating layer” and “the connection terminal 350 may be bonded to a pad of the line 620-2 through an adhesive portion 640”) comprises a layer of ferromagnetic material sandwiched between two layers of antiferromagnetic material (¶ 0122 “640 may be…a plating layer, and the plating layer may include at least one selected from among…nickel (Ni),…and chromium (Cr)”, in this instance ferromagnetic material nickel is sandwiched between two layers of antiferromagnetic material chromium).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Bedell as modified to have wherein each first bonding pad comprises a layer of ferromagnetic material sandwiched between two layers of antiferromagnetic material, as taught by Keum, because the sandwiched layers would reduce any negative effect in the coupling that may be caused by external noise, thereby increasing the electrical stability in the connection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jiang et al., US 6,011,307, discloses forming first bond pads over a first substrate and bonding second bond pads to the first bond pads. Shen et al., US 2022/0285434, discloses forming first bond pads over a first substrate and bonding second bond pads to the first bond pads. Chiang et al., US 11,640,949, discloses forming first bond pads over a first substrate and bonding second bond pads to the first bond pads.
/R.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818