Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 13 be found allowable, claims 27 and 28 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). Specifically, both claims 27 and 28 disclose subject matter which together are already disclosed in claim 13, and all three claims are dependent claims of independent claim 10.
Applicant is advised that should claim 14 be found allowable, claim 29 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). Specifically, both claims 14 and 29 disclose “wherein the optical film includes an infrared cut filter, an antireflection layer, or a combination thereof”, and both are dependent claims of independent claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13, 15, 27-28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Punzalan (PGPub No. 20220093482) in further view of Lai (PGPUB No. 20210210538).
Regarding claim 1, Punzalan teaches chip package, comprising: a substrate; a capping layer having a first surface and a second surface opposite each other, wherein the first surface of the capping layer faces the second surface of the substrate; a dam structure bonding the capping layer to the substrate and surrounding a sensing region in the substrate; and an adhesive layer surrounding the dam structure (Figs. 4a-4c point to a semiconductor package 400 comprising a die 130 (substrate), a protective cover or cap 150, and a cover adhesive 143 (dam structure; adhesive layer).), wherein the adhesive layer has a concave-tapered sidewall extending along an outer edge of the dam structure in a direction from the second surface of the substrate to the capping layer (Figs. 4b-4c point to the bottom portion (adhesive layer) of the cover adhesive 143 which has an outward slope.).
Punzalan fails to teach a substrate having a stepped sidewall and a first surface and a second surface opposite each other and adjoining the stepped sidewall.
Lai teaches a substrate having a stepped sidewall and a first surface and a second surface opposite each other and adjoining the stepped sidewall (Fig. 1 points to a substrate 200 comprising a tapered sidewall 206a and a bottom surface 206b.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Punzalan and Lai, such that the substrate comprises a stepped sidewall in order to create a recess that allows for additionally formed layers, such as a redistribution layer, to properly cover the top surface(s) without spilling over into other areas during formation.
Regarding claim 2, Punzalan teaches wherein the outer edge of the dam structure is substantially aligned with an edge of the dam structure (Figs. 4b-4c point to the cover adhesive 143.).
Regarding claim 3, Punzalan teaches a package substrate having a first surface and a second surface opposite each other, wherein the second surface of the package substrate adjoins the first surface of the substrate; and an encapsulant layer formed on that second surface of the package substrate and surrounding the substrate, the dam structure and the capping layer, wherein the second surface of the capping layer is exposed from the encapsulant layer (Figs. 4b-4c point to a package substrate 110 and an encapsulant 170.).
Regarding claim 4, Punzalan teaches wherein the encapsulant layer is in direct contact with the stepped sidewall of the substrate and the concave-tapered sidewall of the adhesive layer (Figs. 4b-4c point to the encapsulant 170, the die 130, and the cover adhesive 143.).
Regarding claim 5, Punzalan teaches wherein the encapsulant layer has a curved upper surface to form a tapered sidewall adjacent to the capping layer (Fig. 4b points to the encapsulant 170.).
Regarding claim 6, Punzalan teaches a bonding wire connecting a conductive pad disposed on the second surface of the substrate to a conductive pad disposed on the second surface of the package substrate (Figs. 4a-4c point to a plurality of wire bonds 164 provided to electrically connect die bond pads 132 on the active surface of the die to the package bond pads 112.).
Regarding claim 7, Punzalan teaches a plurality of conductive structures formed on the first surface of the package substrate (Figs. 4b-4c point to package contacts 115.).
Regarding claim 8, Punzalan teaches an optical component formed on the second surface of the substrate and corresponding to the sensing region (Figs. 4b-4c and [0029] point to a sensor region 137 corresponding to an image sensor.).
Regarding claim 9, Punzalan teaches an optical film formed on the first or second surface of the capping layer (Figs. 4a-4c point to a cover dam 1603.).
Regarding claim 10, Punzalan teaches a chip package, comprising: a substrate and a capping layer, successively stacked on a package substrate; a dam structure sandwiched between the substrate and the capping layer and surrounding a sensing region in the substrate; an encapsulant layer formed on the package substrate and surrounding the substrate, the dam structure and the capping layer; and an adhesive layer formed between a lower portion of the dam structure and the encapsulant layer (Figs. 4a-4c point to a semiconductor package 400 comprising a die 130 (substrate), a protective cover or cap 150, a cover adhesive 143 (dam structure; adhesive layer), a sensor region 137, and an encapsulant 170.); wherein a first interface between the capping layer and the encapsulant layer and a second interface between the encapsulant layer and an upper portion of the dam structure are substantially aligned with each other and extend in the same direction; and wherein the encapsulant layer has a rounded angle in direct contact with the adhesive layer (Figs. 4b-4c point to the encapsulant 170, the protective cover or cap 150, the upper portion of the cover adhesive 143 (dam structure), and the lower portion of cover adhesive 143 (adhesive layer).).
Punzalan fails to teach wherein a bottom width of the substrate is greater than a top width of the substrate.
Lai teaches wherein a bottom width of the substrate is greater than a top width of the substrate (Fig. 1 points to a substrate 200 comprising a lower surface 200a (bottom width) and an upper surface 200b (top width).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Punzalan and Lai, such that a bottom width of the substrate is greater than a top width of the substrate in order to create a tapered side surface with a bottom recess that allows for additionally formed layers, such as a redistribution layer, to properly cover the top surface(s) without spilling over into other areas during formation.
Regarding claim 11, Punzalan in combination with Lai teaches wherein the substrate has a stepped sidewall that is in direct contact with the encapsulant layer (Figs. 4a-4c of Punzalan point to the encapsulant 170 and the die 130 (substrate). Fig. 1 of Lai further points to the substrate 200 comprising a tapered sidewall 206a and a bottom surface 206b.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Punzalan and Lai, such that the substrate comprises a stepped sidewall in order to create a recess that allows for additionally formed layers, such as a redistribution layer, to properly cover the top surface(s) without spilling over into other areas during formation.
Regarding claim 12, Punzalan teaches wherein the encapsulant layer has a curved upper surface to form a tapered sidewall adjacent to the capping layer (Figs. 4b-4c point to the encapsulant 170).
Regarding claim 13, Punzalan teaches an optical component formed over the substrate and corresponding to the sensing region; and an optical film formed over one of two opposite surfaces of the capping layer (Figs. 4a-4c and [0029] point to a sensor region 137 corresponding to an image sensor and a cover dam 1603 (optical film).).
Regarding claim 15, Punzalan teaches a bonding wire formed in the encapsulant layer and electrically connecting the substrate to the package substrate (Figs. 4a-4c point to a plurality of wire bonds 164.); and a plurality of conductive structures in contact with the package substrate and electrically connected to the substrate via the bonding wire (Figs. 4b-4c point to package contacts 115.).
Regarding claim 27, Punzalan teaches an optical component formed on substrate and corresponding to the sensing region (Figs. 4a-4c and [0029] point to the sensor region 137 corresponding to an image sensor.).
Regarding claim 28, Punzalan teaches an optical film formed on the capping layer (Figs. 4a-4c and [0029] point to the cover dam 1603 (optical film).).
Regarding claim 30, Punzalan teaches the chip package as claimed in claim 1, further comprising one of: a. an optical component formed on the second surface of the substrate and corresponding to the sensing region; b. an optical film formed on the first or second surface of the capping layer; or c. an optical component formed on the second surface of the substrate and corresponding to the sensing region, and an optical film formed on the first or second surface of the capping layer (Figs. 4a-4c and [0029] point to a sensor region 137 corresponding to an image sensor and a cover dam 1603 (optical film).).
Claim(s) 14 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Punzalan et al. in further view of Akiyama (PGPub No. 20240170514).
Regarding claim 14, Akiyama teaches wherein the optical film includes an infrared cut filter, an antireflection layer, or a combination thereof (Fig. 1 points to an imaging element package 11 comprising an infrared cut filter 15 on a sealing glass 14.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Punzalan et al. and Akiyama, such that the optical film includes an infrared cut filter in order to prevent light in the infrared wavelength range from being transmitted.
Regarding claim 29, Akiyama teaches wherein the optical film includes an infrared cut filter, an antireflection layer, or a combination thereof (Fig. 1 points to an imaging element package 11 comprising an infrared cut filter 15 on a sealing glass 14.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Punzalan et al. and Akiyama, such that the optical film includes an infrared cut filter in order to prevent light in the infrared wavelength range from being transmitted.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 06/01/2026, with respect to election requirement between claims 1-15 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The election requirement for said claims has been withdrawn. Thus claims 1-15, along with new claims 27-30, are considered and discussed above.
Conclusion
/PATRICK CULLEN/Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899