DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-5 and 16-18) in the reply filed on February 23, 2026 acknowledged. Claims 6-15, 19 and 20 drawn to non-elected invention have been withdrawn from examination for patentability.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on October 22, 2023 and IDS filed on November 30, 2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDSs are considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to for the following informality:
In Fig. 1D, the reference character “135” should be corrected to be as --145--. Support can be found at least in the paragraph [145] of the original specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schröder et al. US 2017/0256552.
Regarding claim 1, Schröder teaches a structure (e.g., Fig. 9A) comprising
a proximal material layer (e.g., 101A, Fig. 9A, [72], [61]; and/or 901A, Fig. 9A, [72]);
a proximal dipole layer (e.g., 102, Fig. 9A, [59]: The material layer 102 of Schröder includes magnesium that pertains to the materials of proximal/distal n-type dipole layers disclosed in Applicant’s original disclosure (e.g., [65]), thus it is considered as a proximal dipole layer: Regarding the term “proximal”, please refer to the paragraph [0057] of Applicant’s original disclosure) adjacent to the proximal material layer;
a high-k dielectric (e.g., 902A, Fig. 9A, [73]: The layer 902A of Schröder includes aluminum oxide (having a dielectric constant in the range of 8 to 10) that pertains to high-k dielectric materials that have a dielectric constant higher than that of silicon dioxide (about 3.9), thus it is considered as a high-k dielectric.) adjacent to the proximal dipole layer;
a distal dipole layer (e.g., 102, Fig. 9A, [59]: The material layer 102 of Schröder includes magnesium that pertains to the materials of proximal/distal n-type dipole layers disclosed in Applicant’s original disclosure (e.g., [65]), thus it is considered as a distal dipole layer: Regarding the term “distal”, please refer to the paragraph [0057] of Applicant’s original disclosure) adjacent to the high-k dielectric; and,
a distal material layer (e.g., 103A, Fig. 9A, [72], [61]; and/or 901A, Fig. 9A, [72]) adjacent to the distal dipole layer.
Regarding claim 2, Schröder teaches the structure according to claim 1 wherein electric potential decreases towards the high-k dielectric (According to Applicant’s original disclosure ([64], [153]), electric potential decreases towards the high-k dielectric in the structure (having n-type dipole layers) shown in Fig. 2C (also see Fig. 1C). Thus, the structure of Fig. 9A of Schröder including the claimed configurations/materials is considered as having the claimed property.).
Regarding claim 4, Schröder teaches the structure according to claim 1 wherein the proximal dipole layer and the distal dipole layer comprise an element selected from a list consisting of element selected from the list consisting of magnesium (Mg), erbium (Er), strontium (Sr), scandium (Sc), yttrium (Y), lanthanum (La), and cerium (Ce) (e.g., [59]).
Regarding claim 18, Schröder teaches the structure according to claim 1 wherein at least one of the distal material layer and the proximal material layer comprises a transition metal nitride (e.g., [61]).
Claims 1, 3, 5, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al. KR 2023-0077515 (Park et al. US 2023/0165013, equivalent to the KR reference as an English translation, is used in rejection).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches a structure (e.g., Fig. 1, [22]-[36]) comprising
a proximal material layer (e.g., 140, Fig. 1, [26]; and/or DL2, Fig. 1, [33]);
a proximal dipole layer (e.g., IS, Fig. 1, [32]: The layer IS of Park includes aluminum oxide that pertains to the materials of proximal/distal p-type dipole layers disclosed in Applicant’s original disclosure (e.g., [29], [66]), thus it is considered as a proximal dipole layer.) adjacent to the proximal material layer;
a high-k dielectric (e.g., DL1, Fig. 1, [31]: The layer DL1 of Park includes hafnium zirconium oxide that pertains to the materials of high-k dielectric layers disclosed in Applicant’s original disclosure (e.g., [158], [159]), thus it is considered as a high-k dielectric.) adjacent to the proximal dipole layer;
a distal dipole layer (e.g., IF, Fig. 1, [28]: The layer IF of Park includes aluminum oxide that pertains to the materials of proximal/distal p-type dipole layers disclosed in Applicant’s original disclosure (e.g., [29], [66]), thus it is considered as a distal dipole layer.) adjacent to the high-k dielectric; and,
a distal material layer (e.g., 120, Fig. 1, [26]) adjacent to the distal dipole layer.
Regarding claim 3, Park teaches the structure according to claim 1 wherein electric potential increases towards the high-k dielectric (According to Applicant’s original disclosure ([67], [156]), electric potential increases towards the high-k dielectric in the structure ((having p-type dipole layers) shown in Fig. 2D (see Fig. 1D). Thus, the structure of Fig. 1 including the claimed configurations/materials is considered as having the claimed property.).
Regarding claim 5, Park teaches the structure according to claim 1 wherein the proximal dipole layer and the distal dipole layer comprise an element selected from a list consisting of vanadium (V), aluminum (Al), nickel (Ni), and tin (Sn) (e.g., [32], [28]).
Regarding claim 17, Park teaches the structure according to claim 1 wherein at least one of the distal dipole layer and the proximal dipole layer comprises a material selected from a list consisting of aluminum oxide, vanadium oxide, tin oxide, and nickel oxide (e.g., [32], [28]).
Regarding claim 18, Park teaches the structure according to claim 1 wherein at least one of the distal material layer and the proximal material layer comprises a transition metal nitride (e.g., [26]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schröder et al. US 2017/0256552 in view of Yang US 10,026,731.
Regarding claim 16, Schröder teaches the structure according to claim 1 as discussed above.
Schröder does not explicitly teach wherein at least one of the distal dipole layer and the proximal dipole layer comprises a material selected from a list consisting of scandium oxide, strontium oxide, lanthanum oxide, cerium oxide, and yttrium oxide.
Schröder, however, recognizes that the dipole layer 102 includes lead magnesium niobium oxide (e.g., [59]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have known that lanthanum oxide, yttrium oxide, lead magnesium niobium oxide and the like have been commonly used in the semiconductor industry as dielectric materials for MIM capacitors as suggested by Yang (e.g., col. 11, line 18 to col. 12, line 12).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Schröder to include wherein at least one of the distal dipole layer and the proximal dipole layer comprises a material selected from a list consisting of scandium oxide, strontium oxide, lanthanum oxide, cerium oxide, and yttrium oxide as suggested by Yang because such a modification for its conventional use would have been a common sense choice by one skilled in the semiconductor art. MPEP §2143.
Conclusion
/BO B JANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 March 21, 2026