DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following office action is in response to the amendment and remarks filed on 12/22/25.
Applicant’s amendment to claims 7, 21 and 29 is acknowledged.
Applicant’s addition of new claims 38 and 29 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-6, 10-20, 30 and 33 are cancelled.
Claims 7-9, 21-29, 31, 32 and 34-39 are pending and subject to examination at this time.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 21 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9, 29, 31, 32 and 34-39 are allowed.
Claim 24 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-23 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al., US Publication No. 2016/0343694 A1.
Lin anticipates:
21. A method for forming a semiconductor package structure, comprising (see figs. 1-2):
forming a first connection structure (110, 160) over a carrier substrate (100);
forming a via (130) over the first connection structure;
disposing a passive device (150) component over the first connection structure;
forming a molding compound (220) to surround the via and the passive device component;
forming a second connection structure (240) over the molding compound; and
forming a first conductor (260) over the second connection structure,
wherein the passive device component (150) comprises a semiconductor substrate (e.g. The substrate is not annotated in fig. 1A but it is implicit in passive device 150.) and a third connection structure (e.g. two electrodes on left and right; also annotated below in passive device 150), the third connection structure of the passive device component is disposed between the semiconductor substrate of the passive device component and the second connection structure (240) (e.g. The third connection structure comprising the electrodes on the left and right extend higher than the central portion comprising the semiconductor substrate, so it is disposed between the semiconductor substrate and the second connection structure 240.), and the molding compound (220) covers and is in contact with at least a portion of a top surface of the third connection structure. See Lin at para. [0001] – [0068], figs. 1-4.
22. The method of Claim 21, wherein the passive device (150) component is electrically coupled to the second connection structure (240) through the third connection structure (e.g. Electrically coupled through the two electrodes on left and right, element 100 and element 130.), figs. 1C and 2.
23. The method of Claim 21, wherein a thickness of the semiconductor substrate (e.g. central portion of 150 comprising the semiconductor substrate) of the passive device component (150) is less than a thickness of the molding compound (220), figs. 1C and 2.
25. The method of Claim 21, wherein the first connection structure (110, 160) is electrically connected to the second connection structure (240) by the via (130), figs. 1C and 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin, as applied to claim 21 above, in view of Yu et al., US Publication No. 2018/0226349 A1 (of record).
Regarding claims 26-27:
Lin teaches all the limitations of claim 21 above and further teaches debonding at para. [0048].
Lin is silent regarding a release layer.
In an analogous art, Yu teaches debonding uses a release layer. Specifically, Yu teaches:
26. The method of Claim 21, further comprising forming a release layer over the carrier substrate prior to the forming of the first connection structure, wherein the first connection structure is formed over the release layer, para. [0036].
27. The method of Claim 26, further comprising decomposing the release layer to separate the first connection structure from the carrier substrate, para. [0036].
Lin further teaches:
28. The method of Claim 27, further comprising forming a second conductor (270) coupled to the first connection structure (110, 160), fig. 2.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lin with the teachings of Yu to enable efficient removal of the substrate by decomposing the release layer with laser or UV light. See Yu at para. [0036].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michele Fan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818
9 March 2026