DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-16) in the reply filed 7/24/26 on is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, last two lines, comprises the phrase “each of the second portions is bent from a corresponding one of the first portions”. The phrase is indefinite as it is not clear what the word “bent” entails. Applicants’ Specification in Figures 8-9 and corresponding text shows the second portion extending from the first portion in a diagonal direction. A practitioner of the art would not be able to ascertain the metes and bounds of the afore mentioned limitation, and therefore the Claim is indefinite. Further clarification and/or correction is required. Claims 2-16 are rejected based on their dependence on Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) or (a) as being anticipated by Lee et al (US 2021/0351248).
With respect to Claim 1,Lee et al discloses a display panel (Figure 13) comprising a first light-emitting unit (1340) and a second light-emitting unit (another 1340 unit) spaced apart from each other, wherein each of the first light-emitting unit and the second light-emitting unit includes an separator (1340) and at least one emitting part (central portion within 1340), the separator (1340) includes a first isolation portion, the first isolation portion (1341 and 1342) includes; first portions (1342 top and bottom) spaced apart from each other; and second portions (1341, left and right), each of the second portions is disposed between corresponding two adjacent ones of the first portions; and each of the second portions is bent (set at a diagonal angle) from a corresponding one of the first portions. See Figure 13 and corresponding text, especially paragraphs 171-185.
With respect to Claim 2, Lee et al discloses wherein each one of the second portions extends in a first direction, and each of the first portions extends in a second direction intersecting the first direction. See Figure 13, 1341 and 1342.
With respect to Claim 3, Lee et al discloses “the first isolation portion includes third portions, each of the third portions is disposed between corresponding two adjacent ones of the first portions, each one of the third portions is bent from a corresponding one of the first portions, and each of the third portions is spaced apart from a corresponding one of the second portions” See Figure 13, 1343, third portions.
With respect to Claim 11, Lee et al discloses “wherein each of the first light emitting unit and the second light emitting unit includes a first emitting part, a second emitting part and a third emitting part emitting light of different colors” . See paragraphs 65-70 and 95.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Lee et al (US 2021/0351248).
Lee et al is relied upon as discussed above.
However, Lee et a does not disclose “the separator includes one face, another face facing the one face, and a side face disposed between the one face and the another face, in a cross-sectional view, and the side face is inclined with respect to the one face”.
With respect to Claim 14, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the limitation “ the separator includes one face, another face facing the one face, and a side face disposed between the one face and the another face, in a cross-sectional view, and the side face is inclined with respect to the one face”, as the presence of faces is inherent. Moreover, with respect to the inclination , changes in shape are prima facie obvious in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10, 12-13 and 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
AGG
September 22, 2026
/ALEXANDER G GHYKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812