DETAILED ACTION
Claim and Specification Status
The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to claim 1 in the Applicant’s response dated 4 March 2026. The claim amendments have been addressed below.
The Examiner acknowledges the addition of new claim 3 in the Applicant’s response dated 4 March 2026. The new claim has been addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xin Lu et al. (US 2020/0168451 A1; hereinafter “Lu”) in view of Masaru Nakamura (US 2022/0172952 A1; hereinafter “Nakamura”) in further view of Katsuhiro Korematsu (US 2023/0150067 A1; hereinafter “Korematsu”).
Regarding Claim 1, Lu teaches a processing method of a bonded wafer formed through bonding (para [0061] describes a process of bonding a wafer), by a joining layer (T1, Fig. 10, para [0061] describes a bonding agent T1 which acts as a joining layer), a front surface (Wa, Fig. 10, para [0061] describes a front face of a wafer W) of a first wafer (W, Fig. 10, para [0061] describes a first wafer W) and a front surface or a back surface of a second wafer (T2, Fig. 10, para [0061] describes wherein the first wafer W is bonded to a second wafer T2 wherein the bonding will occur at a front surface of second wafer T2) , the first wafer having, on the front surface thereof, a device region in which a plurality of devices are formed (D and Wa1, Fig. 10, para [0024] describes a device region Wa1 comprising devices D formed on a front surface Wa of wafer W) and an outer circumferential surplus region that surrounds the device region (Wa2, Fig. 10, para [0024] describes an outer circumferential surplus region Wa2 surrounding the device region) and that includes a chamfered part formed at an outer circumferential edge thereof (Fig. 10, para [0024] describes wherein wafer W is chamfered at an outer circumferential edge Wd), the processing method comprising:
a focal point setting step of causing a laser beam with a wavelength having transmissibility with respect to the first wafer (para [0038] describes a laser beam of a transmission wavelength to the first wafer W) to branch into a plurality of branch laser beams (para [0037] describes wherein said laser beams are branched into laser beams of different light paths by a beam splitter or the like) and setting focal points of the respective branch laser beams at different positions (para [0037] and para [0038] describes setting different positions of the focal point of said pulse laser beam);
a modified layer forming step of forming a plurality of modified layers in a form of rings inside the first wafer (M1, Fig. 3, para [0035] describes forming a modified layer M1 which formed an annular modified region M) through holding a side of the second wafer by a first chuck table (10, Fig. 4, para [0026] describes a holding table which holds the wafer thereon), positioning the focal points of the branch laser beams inside the first wafer on an inner side in a radial direction relative to the chamfered part from a back surface of the first wafer (M, Fig. 3 and Fig. 4, para [0035] describes positioning the focal point of the laser that is inside the first wafer W on an inner side in a radial direction relative to the chamfered part from a back surface Wb of the first wafer as shown in Fig. 3 and Fig. 4), and executing irradiation with the branch laser beams (para [0035] describes irradiating the laser beam upon the wafer W); and
a grinding step of holding the side of the second wafer by a second chuck table (75, Fig. 10, para [0063] describes a chuck table 75 of a grinding apparatus 7) and grinding the back surface of the first wafer to thin the first wafer (71, Fig. 10 and Fig. 11, para [0063] and para [0064] describes a grinding means which performs grinding on the back surface Wb of the first wafer in the -Z direction resulting in a thinned wafer), after the modified layer forming step is executed (Fig. 10, para [0061] depicts a grinding step wherein para [0061] describes annular modified region formation step has already been carried out before said grinding step), wherein,
Lu fails to explicitly disclose a coordinate generation step of detecting an outermost circumference of the joining layer and generating coordinates of the outermost circumference of the joining layer.
However, Lu describes a coordinate generation step of detecting an outermost circumference of the joining layer (140 Fig. 2, para [0030] describes a camera 140 which is used to detect an outermost circumference of the wafer W wherein para [0061] describes joining layer T1 as joining wafer W and wafer T2 wherein wafer W and wafer T2 have a same circumference such that a resulting joining layer would therefore comprise a same circumference as shown in Fig. 10 wherein detecting an outermost circumference of wafer W would also detect an outermost circumference of joining layer T1) and generating coordinates of the outermost circumference of the joining layer (para [0030] describes generating coordinates of the outermost circumference of the wafer W wherein para [0061] describes joining layer T1 as joining wafer W and wafer T2 further wherein wafer W and wafer T2 have a same circumference such that a resulting joining layer would therefore comprise a same circumference as shown in Fig. 10 wherein generating coordinates of an outermost circumference of wafer W would also generate coordinates of an outermost circumference of joining layer T1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have used the coordination generation step of Lu to try generating coordinates of an outermost circumference of a joining layer instead of a wafer layer as there are a finite number of wafer and joining layers available to generate coordinates for measurement and it would provide the well-known advantage of ensuring that there is no overhang of a joining layer beyond the two wafers which could result in undesirable effects further down the manufacturing process.
Lu further fails to explicitly disclose in the modified layer forming step, the focal points of the branch laser beams are formed in a form of descending stairs in such a manner as to get closer to the joining layer in a direction from the inner side toward an outer side in the radial direction of the first wafer, a crack that extends from the modified layer formed by a lowermost one of the focal points reaches the coordinates of the outermost circumference of the joining layer generated in the coordinate generation step.
However, Nakamura teaches a similar processing method of a bonded wafer, wherein in the modified layer forming step (1003, Fig. 7, para [0034] describes a laser processing step 1003 of forming annular modified layers 13), the focal points of the branch laser beams are formed in a form of descending stairs (13, Fig. 7, para [0035] describes wherein the laser processing machine 30 sets the focal point at a plurality of different heights in the thickness direction resulting in annular layers 13 which have a greater length 131 in a thickness direction of a wafer as they are located closer to the outer peripheral edge of the wafer further wherein upon combining the laser process of Lu the laser beams would be branch laser beams) in such a manner as to get closer to the joining layer in a direction from the inner side toward an outer side in the radial direction of the first wafer (13, Fig. 7, para [0035] describes wherein a thickness 131 of the annular modified layers is greater at a location closer to the outer side wherein an annular modified layer 13 is closest to an adhesive layer of protective member 12), a crack that extends from the modified layer formed by a lowermost one of the focal points reaches the coordinates of the outermost circumference of the joining layer generated in the coordinate generation step (para [0032] and para [0042] describes wherein annular modified layers 13 may each be a cracked region that form a fracture in the annular modified layers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lu with Nakamura to further disclose a processing method of a bonded wafer comprising focal points of laser beams in a form of descending stairs in order to provide the advantage of providing fracture points so that fragments remaining after a grinding process may be subdivided enabling ease of removal and further allowing the off-cuts of a wafer to be selectively removed during a grinding process (Nakamura, para [0031] and para [0043]).
The combination of Lu and Nakamura fails to explicitly disclose simultaneously forming a plurality of modified layers in a form of rings inside the first wafer through holding a side of the second wafer by a first chuck table; and wherein the focal points of the branch laser beams are formed simultaneously in a form of descending stairs in such a manner as to get closer to the joining layer in a direction from the inner side toward an outer side in the radial direction of the first wafer.
However, Korematsu teaches a similar processing method, comprising simultaneously forming a plurality of modified layers in a form of rings inside the first wafer through holding a side of the second wafer by a first chuck table (121 and 122, Fig. 2, para [0049] and para [0049] describes forming a plurality of modified layers 121 and 122 inside a wafer 11 simultaneously with two branched lasers L1 and L2 wherein a second side of the wafer 11a is held by a support portion stage 2 further wherein upon combining Lu and Nakamura with Korematsu, the modified layers 12 of Korematsu would be in an annular shape M1 and M as disclosed by Lu); and
wherein the focal points of the branch laser beams are formed simultaneously in a form of descending stairs in such a manner as to get closer to the joining layer in a direction from the inner side toward an outer side in the radial direction of the first wafer (C1 and C2, L1 and L2, Fig. 2, para [0047] describes focal points C1 and C2 of branched laser beams L1 and L2 being formed simultaneously in a form of descending stairs as shown by the distance Dx and Dz in Fig. 2 wherein the descending stair focal points C1 and C2 are formed in such a manner as to gradually get closer to a lowest surface 11a of a wafer 11 wherein upon combining Lu and Nakamura with Korematsu, the lowest surface of the wafer 11 would be at a side closest to the joining layer T1 of Lu in a direction from an inner side toward an outer side of the bonded wafer as described by Nakamura at the outer circumference detected by the camera 140 of Lu).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lu and Nakamura with Korematsu to further disclose a processing method of a bonded wafer comprising simultaneously forming modified layers using branched lasers with focal points in a descending stair pattern in order to provide the advantage of providing a laser process which may have a plurality of laser beams with a plurality of focal points, improving processing speed and suppressing deterioration processing quality (Korematsu, para [0111] and para [0022]).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Lu, Nakamura and Korematsu teach the processing method according to claim 1, wherein,
in the grinding step, the modified layers are removed due to the grinding of the back surface of the first wafer (Lu, para [0051] describes grinding to a finish thickness L1 removing the modified layer M1 and annular modified region M), and the chamfered part is removed from the first wafer due to the cracks (Lu, N, Fig. 10, para [0043] described modified region N of chamfered portion Wd including cracks wherein para [0053] describes wherein outer circumferential portion including modified regions N can be removed during grinding).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Lu, Nakamura and Korematsu disclose the processing method according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of focal points of the branch laser beams (Korematsu, C1 and C2, L1 and L2, Fig. 2, para [0047] describes focal points C1 and C2 of branched laser beams L1 and L2 being formed simultaneously in a form of descending stairs as shown by the distance Dx and Dz in Fig. 2) are formed in such a manner as to gradually get closer to the joining layer in a direction from an inner side toward an outer side of the bonded wafer at the outer circumference of the bonded wafer (Korematsu, C1 and C2, Fig. 2 depicts wherein the focal points C1 and C2 of the branched laser beams L1 and L2 are formed in such a manner as to gradually get closer to a lowest surface 11a of a wafer 11 wherein upon combining Lu and Nakamura with Korematsu, the lowest surface of the wafer 11 would be at a side closest to the joining layer T1 of Lu in a direction from an inner side toward an outer side of the bonded wafer as described by Nakamura at the outer circumference detected by the camera 140 of Lu).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER MICHAEL MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898