Recall you did it DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 12, and 19 have been fully considered. Based on the cited prior arts Hsu, Hwang, Yeong-Maw, Wang, Leo and new grounds of rejection from Feng (US20050227479A1) the claims 1 - 20 are rejected.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments to the specification has been fully considered and resolve the specification rejection. The Specification rejections has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 5, 17, 19, and 20 has been fully considered and resolve the USC 112(b) rejection. The USC 112(b) rejections to claims 1 – 11, 17, 19, and 20 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the opening" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 4, 6, 11 – 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. (US20200105586A1; hereinafter Hsu) in view of Hwang et al. (US20220069100A1; hereinafter Hwang), further in view of Feng et al. (US20050227479A1; hereinafter Feng).
Regarding Claim 1 (Amended), Hsu discloses a method, comprising:
forming a first opening (82) in a dielectric layer (second ILD 80, the first ILD 62, and the CESL 60) to expose a source/drain region (56), FIG. 6, FIG. 12A reproduced below, [0035];
depositing a first metal layer (conductive fill material 100 of first conductive features 90) in the opening (82) and over the source/drain region (56), FIG. 7, [0036];
depositing a second metal layer (206) over the wet-cleaned first metal layer (100), FIGS. 10A, 12A, [0043], [0054];
wherein the second metal layer (206) has a uniform phase [0056]. Hsu [0056] discloses the ratio of the amount of α phase tungsten to β phase tungsten in the second conductive features 206 may be about 100% because stable α phase tungsten is preferred on SiO2, indicating the second metal layer 206 is uniform in phase with predominantly α phase tungsten.
Hsu: FIG. 12A
Hsu does not disclose “depositing a second metal layer over the annealed first metal layer.”
In a similar art, Hwang discloses a process of forming a contact structure in the semiconductor device 100, [0053].
Hwang discloses performing an annealing process to a contact region of the first metal layer (185) to modulate a grain size (changes the grain size G2 to G2’), FIG. 5D reproduced below, [0049].
depositing a second metal layer (190) over the annealed first metal layer (grain adjustment region 189 of the contact plug 185), FIG. 5E, [0068].
Hwang: FIG. 5D
Hwang discloses that a method as taught enables implementation of a low-resistance contact structure [0049]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hsu’s method in order to implement a low-resistance contact structure as disclosed by Hwang [0049].
The combination of Hsu and Hwang does not disclose “performing an annealing process to modulate a grain size of an entirety of the first metal layer within the opening.”
In a similar art, Feng discloses a method of making a metal interconnect [0002].
Feng discloses: performing an annealing process (first anneal step) to modulate a grain size of an entirety of the first metal layer (increases the grain size of the first metal layer 18 from about 0.1 - 0.5 micron to about 1 micron) within the opening (via 14 and trench 15), FIG. 4 reproduced below, [0046].
Hwang discloses performing an annealing process to a contact region of the first metal layer (185) to modulate a grain size (changes the grain size G2 to G2’), FIG. 5D, [0049], while Feng discloses annealing the first metal layer 18 to modulate the grain size (changes the grain size from about 0.1 - 0.5 micron to about 1 micron) within the opening including via 14 and trench 15. Therefore, the combination of Hsu, Hwang, and Feng discloses performing an annealing process to modulate a grain size of an entirety of the first metal layer within the opening.
Feng: FIG. 4
Feng discloses that a method as taught improves the electrical properties of the first metal layer [0046]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hsu and Hwang’s method in order to implement a structure with improved electrical properties as disclosed by Feng [0046].
Regarding Claim 2, The combination of Hsu, Hwang, and Feng discloses the method of claim 1.
Hsu discloses: wherein the first metal layer (conductive fill 100) defines a contact plug (conductive feature 90 including conductive fill 100) may be referred to as contacts, plugs, FIG. 7, [0039]), and wherein the second metal layer (206) defines a via (206 may be referred to as vias, FIG. 12A, [0057]).
Regarding Claim 3, The combination of Hsu, Hwang, and Feng discloses the method of claim 1.
Hsu discloses: wherein the first metal layer (100) includes cobalt (Co), (conductive fill material 100 may be cobalt, [0039]) and wherein the second metal layer include tungsten (W), (206 may be tungsten, [0054]).
Regarding Claim 4, The combination of Hsu, Hwang, and Feng discloses the method of claim 1.
Hsu does not disclose “wherein prior to performing the annealing process, the grain size of the first metal layer is less than about 30 nm.”
Hwang discloses: wherein prior to performing the annealing process, the grain size of the first metal layer (185) is less than about 30 nm, (7 nm or more, e.g., 10 nm or more, [0041], [0049]. Hwang [0041] discloses the grain G2 of the contact plug 185 may have a size of 7 nm or more; and [0049] discloses the annealing process may be applied to the upper surface of the contact plug 185 to change a size of the grain G2 of the contact plug 185.The grain size G2 of the first metal layer (185) prior to performing the annealing process may be 7nm or more, indicating the grain size can be less than 30nm.
Hwang discloses that a method as taught enables implementation of a low-resistance contact structure [0041]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method in order to implement a low-resistance contact structure as disclosed by Hwang [0041].
Regarding Claim 6, The combination of Hsu, Hwang, and Feng discloses the method of claim 1.
Hsu discloses: wherein the second metal layer (206) includes alpha-tungsten (α-W), (second conductive features 206 comprise alpha phase tungsten, [0055]).
Regarding Claim 11, The combination of Hsu, Hwang, and Feng discloses the method of claim 1.
Hsu discloses: further comprising prior to depositing the first metal layer (100), forming a barrier layer (96) in the opening (82), and depositing the first metal layer (100) over the barrier layer (96), FIG. 7, [0037], [0039].
Regarding Claim 12 (Amended), Hsu discloses a method, comprising:
forming a first contact plug (first plug 90) in contact with a first source/drain region (first source/drain region 56) and a second contact plug (second plug 90) in contact with a second source/drain region (second source/drain 56), FIG. 7, [0035], [0036]; Hsu [0035], [0036] discloses the formation of plurality of openings 82, each with source/drain regions 56.
wherein a phase of a second metal layer (206) used to form each of the first and second vias (first and second vias 120) includes an alpha phase, [0056]. Hsu [0056] discloses the ratio of the amount of α phase tungsten to β phase tungsten in the second conductive features 206 may be about 100% because stable α phase tungsten is preferred on SiO2, indicating the second metal layer 206 is uniform in phase with predominantly α phase tungsten.
Hsu does not disclose “annealing the first and second contact plugs to increase a grain size of a first metal layer used to form each of the first and second contact plugs;”
In a similar art, Hwang discloses a process of forming a contact structure in the semiconductor device 100 [0053].
Hwang discloses annealing the first and second contact plugs (first and second contact plugs 185) to increase a grain size of a contact region of the first metal layer 185 (increases the grain size of the metal in the contact plug 185 from G2 to G2’) used to form each of the first and second contact plugs (first and second contact plugs 185), [0032], [0049]. Hwang [0032] discloses forming plurality of contact structure CS1 and CS2 with contact plugs 185, indicating the formation of first and second contact plugs 185.
after annealing the first and second contact plugs (first and second contact plugs 185), forming a first via (first via hole VH) over the first contact plug (first contact plug 185) and a second via (second via hole VH) over the second contact plug (second contact plug 185), FIG. 2A, [0066]).
Hwang discloses that a method as taught enables implementation of a low-resistance contact structure [0049]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hsu’s method in order to implement a low-resistance contact structure as disclosed by Hwang [0049].
The combination of Hsu and Hwang does not disclose “annealing the first and second contact plugs to increase a grain size of an entirety of a first metal layer used to form each of the first and second contact plugs.”
In a similar art, Feng discloses a method of making a metal interconnect [0002].
Feng discloses performing an annealing process (first anneal step) to modulate a grain size of an entirety of the first metal layer (increases the grain size of the first metal layer 18 from about 0.1 - 0.5 micron to about 1 micron), FIG. 4, [0046].
Hwang discloses annealing the first and second contact plugs (first and second contact plugs 185) to increase a grain size of a contact region of the first metal layer 185 (increases the grain size of the metal in the contact plug 185 from G2 to G2’) used to form each of the first and second contact plugs (first and second contact plugs 185), [0032], [0049]. Hwang [0032] discloses forming plurality of contact structure CS1 and CS2 with contact plugs 185, indicating the formation of first and second contact plugs 185.
The combination of Hsu, Hwang, and Feng discloses: annealing the first and second contact plugs (Hwang: first and second contact plugs 185) to increase a grain size (Hwang: increases the grain size of the metal in the contact plugs 185 from G2 to G2’) of an entirety of a first metal layer (Feng: annealing to modulate first metal layer 18, [0046]) used to form each of the first and second contact plugs (Hwang: first and second contact plugs 185, [0032], [0049]).
Feng discloses that a method as taught improves the electrical properties of the first metal layer [0046]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hsu and Hwang’s method in order to implement a structure with improved electrical properties as disclosed by Feng [0046].
Regarding Claim 13, The combination of Hsu, Hwang, and Feng discloses the method of claim 12.
Hsu discloses: further comprising prior to forming the first and second contact plugs (first plug 90 and second plug 90), forming a silicide layer (98) over each of the first and second source/drain regions (56), and forming the first and second contact plugs (first plug 90 and second plug 90) over the silicide layer, FIG. 7, [0036].
Regarding Claim 14, The combination of Hsu, Hwang, and Feng discloses the method of claim 12.
Hsu does not explicitly disclose “wherein the first source/drain region includes an N-type source/drain region, and wherein the second source/drain region includes a P-type source/drain region.”
Hwang discloses: wherein the first source/drain region (110) includes an N-type source/drain region (in case of an NMOS transistor, the source/drain regions 110 may be doped with N-type impurities), and wherein the second source/drain region (110) includes a P-type source/drain region (in the case of a PMOS transistor, the source/drain regions 110 may be doped with P-type impurities, [0029].
Hwang discloses that a method as taught reduces contact resistance and improves device performance [0115]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method in order to reduce contact resistance and improves device performance as disclosed by Hwang [0115].
Regarding Claim 16, The combination of Hsu, Hwang, and Feng discloses the method of claim 12.
Hsu discloses: wherein the first metal layer (100) includes cobalt (Co) (conductive fill material 100 may be cobalt, [0039]), and wherein the second metal layer (206) include tungsten (W), (206 may be tungsten, [0054]).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu in view of Hwang, further in view of Yeong-Maw et al. (Influence of Post-Annealing on the Structural and Nanomechanical Properties of Co Thin Films; hereinafter Yeong-Maw).
Regarding Claim 19 (Amended), Hsu discloses a semiconductor device, comprising:
a source/drain region (56), FIG. 12A, [0036];
a contact plug (90) formed over the source/drain region (56), wherein the contact plug includes a cobalt (Co) layer, FIG. 12A, [0036];
a via (120) formed over the contact plug (90), wherein the via (120) includes a tungsten (W) layer (206) having a substantially uniform phase, the substantially uniform phase including an alpha phase [0043], [0056].
Hsu [0056] discloses the ratio of the amount of α phase tungsten to β phase tungsten in the second conductive features 206 may be about 100% because stable α phase tungsten is preferred on SiO2, indicating 206 is uniform in phase with predominantly α phase tungsten.
In a similar art, Hwang discloses a process of forming a contact structure in the semiconductor device 100 [0053].
Hwang discloses annealing the first and second contact plugs (first and second contact plugs 185) to increase a grain size of a contact region of the first metal layer 185 (increases the grain size of the metal in the contact plug 185 from G2 to G2’) used to form each of the first and second contact plugs (first and second contact plugs 185), [0032], [0049]. Hwang [0032] discloses forming plurality of contact structure CS1 and CS2 with contact plugs 185, indicating the formation of first and second contact plugs 185.
Hwang discloses that a method as taught enables implementation of a low-resistance contact structure [0049]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hsu’s method in order to implement a low-resistance contact structure as disclosed by Hwang [0049].
The combination of Hsu and Hwang does not disclose” wherein a ratio of a first portion of the Co layer that has a hexagonal close-packed (HCP) crystal structure to a second portion of the Co layer that has a face-centered cubic (FCC) crystal structure is between 1-2.”
In a similar art, Yeong-Maw discloses an investigation of the effects of thermal annealing on the microstructural and nanomechanical properties of cobalt [Abstract].
The combination of Hsu, Hwang, and Yeong-Maw discloses: wherein a ratio of a first portion of the Co layer (Hwang: a portion of annealed first plug 185 metal, [0049]) that has a hexagonal close-packed (HCP) crystal structure to a second portion of the Co layer (Hwang: another portion of annealed first plug 185 metal, [0049]) that has a face-centered cubic (FCC) crystal structure is 3.1 (Yeong-Maw: 24% FCC-Co(111) and 76% HCP-Co(002), Page 3, Section:3.Results).
Yeong-Maw discloses that annealed cobalt exhibits a phase composition of about 76% hexagonal close-packed (HCP) structure and 24% of face-centered cubic (FCC) structure; and when the annealed temperature is further raised the cobalt films completely turned into FCC phase (Page 3, Section:3. Results). Therefore, Yeong-Maw discloses that changing the temperature can vary the HCP/FCC ratio of the cobalt film. It would be obvious to adjust the annealing temperature through routine optimization to obtain a desired HCP/FCC phase ratio, including the claimed range of 1 to 2.
Yeong-Maw discloses that the method as taught enables the achievement of desired mechanical properties of the cobalt layer [Page 4, Section: 3.Results, para 3]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method in order to achieve the desired mechanical properties of the cobalt layer as disclosed by Yeong-Maw [Page 4, Section: 3.Results, para 3].
Regarding Claim 20 (Amended), The combination of Hsu, Hwang, and Yeong-Maw discloses the semiconductor device of claim 19.
The combination of Hsu and Hwang does not disclose “wherein a grain size of the Co layer is in a range of between about 30-90 nm.”
The combination of Hsu, Hwang, and Yeong-Maw discloses: wherein a grain size of the Co layer (Hwang: 185) is in a range of between about 30-90 nm. (Yeong-Maw: mean annealed grain sizes of 32, 37, 38, 39, 45 nm, Page 5, Section: 3.Results, Table 1).
Yeong-Maw discloses that modulating the grain sizes can influence the mechanical properties of the cobalt layer [Page 4, Section:3.Results, para 3]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method in order to obtain the desired mechanical properties of the cobalt layer as disclosed by Yeong-Maw [Page 4, Section:3.Results, para 3].
Claims 5, 8, 9, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu in view of Hwang, further in view of Feng, still further in view of Yeong-Maw.
Regarding Claim 5 (Amended), The combination of Hsu, Hwang, and Feng discloses the method of claim 1.
The combination of Hsu, Hwang, and Feng does not disclose “wherein the annealed first metal layer has a grain size in a range of between about 30-90 nm.”
In a similar art, Yeong-Maw discloses an investigation of the effects of thermal annealing on the microstructural and nanomechanical properties of cobalt [Abstract].
The combination of Hsu, Hwang, Feng, and Yeong-Maw discloses: wherein the annealed first metal layer (Hwang: annealed first plug 185 metal, [0049]) has a grain size in a range of between about 30-90 nm (Yeong-Maw: mean annealed grain sizes of 32, 37, 38, 39, 45 nm, Page 5, Section: 3.Results, Table 1).
Yeong-Maw discloses that modulating the grain sizes can influence the mechanical properties of the cobalt layer [Page 4, Section:3.Results, para 3]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hsu, Hwang, and Feng’s method in order to obtain the desired mechanical properties of the cobalt layer as disclosed by Yeong-Maw [Page 4, Section:3.Results, para 3].
Regarding Claim 8, The combination of Hsu, Hwang, and Feng discloses the method of claim 1.
The combination of Hsu, Hwang, and Feng does not disclose “wherein the annealing process modulates the grain size of the first metal layer by a factor that is greater than one and less than or equal to three.”
The combination of Hsu, Hwang, Feng, and Yeong-Maw discloses: wherein the annealing process modulates the grain size of the first metal layer (Hwang: first plug 185 metal, [0049]) by a factor that is greater than one and less than or equal to three (Yeong-Maw: mean annealed grain sizes of 32, 37, 38, 39, 45 nm, Page 5, Section: 3.Results, Table 1).
Yeong-Maw discloses the pre-annealed cobalt film grain size of 24nm and post-annealed grain size range of 32-45nm, resulting in modulating factor in the range of 1.33 to 1.88, which is greater than one and less than or equal to three. Modulating factor = post-annealed grain size ÷ pre-annealed grain size.
Yeong-Maw discloses that modulating the grain sizes can influence the mechanical properties of the cobalt layer [Page 4, Section:3.Results, para 3]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method in order to obtain the desired mechanical properties of the cobalt layer as disclosed by Yeong-Maw [Page 4, Section:3.Results, para 3].
Regarding Claim 9, The combination of Hsu, Hwang, and Feng discloses the method of claim 1.
The combination of Hsu, Hwang, and Feng does not disclose “wherein greater than 50% of the annealed first metal layer has a hexagonal close-packed (HCP) crystal structure.”
The combination of Hsu, Hwang, Feng, and Yeong-Maw disclose: wherein greater than 50% of the annealed first metal layer (Hwang: annealed first plug 185 metal, [0049]) has a hexagonal close-packed (HCP) crystal structure (Yeong-Maw: 76% HCP-Co(002), Page 3, Section:3.Results).
Yeong-Maw discloses that annealed cobalt exhibits a phase composition of about 76% hexagonal close-packed (HCP) structure and 24% of face-centered cubic (FCC) structure, indicating greater than 50% of the annealed first metal layer (Hwang: annealed first plug 185 metal, [0049]) can have an HCP structure (Yeong-Maw: Page 3, Section: 3.Results).
Yeong-Maw discloses that the method as taught enables the achievement of desired mechanical properties of the cobalt layer [Page 4, Section: 3.Results, para 3]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method in order to achieve the desired mechanical properties of the cobalt layer as disclosed by Yeong-Maw [Page 4, Section: 3.Results, para 3].
Regarding Claim 10, The combination of Hsu, Hwang, and Feng discloses the method of claim 1.
The combination of Hsu and Hwang does not disclose “wherein a ratio of a first portion of the annealed first metal layer that has a hexagonal close-packed (HCP) crystal structure to a second portion of the annealed first metal layer that has a face-centered cubic (FCC) crystal structure is greater than about 1.”
The combination of Hsu, Hwang, Feng, and Yeong-Maw discloses: wherein a ratio of a first portion of the annealed first metal layer (Hwang: a portion of annealed first plug 185 metal, [0049]) that has a hexagonal close-packed (HCP) crystal structure to a second portion of the annealed first metal layer (Hwang: another portion of annealed first plug 185 metal, [0049]) that has a face-centered cubic (FCC) crystal structure is greater than about 1 (Yeong-Maw: 24% FCC-Co(111) and 76% HCP-Co(002), Page 3, Section:3.Results).
Yeong-Maw discloses that annealed cobalt exhibits a phase composition of about 76% hexagonal close-packed (HCP) structure and 24% of face-centered cubic (FCC) structure. The ratio of the annealed first metal layer with HCP structure to FCC structure = 76÷24 = 3.1, indicating a ratio of a first portion of the annealed first metal layer that has a hexagonal close-packed (HCP) crystal structure to a second portion of the annealed first metal layer that has a face-centered cubic (FCC) crystal structure is greater than about 1.
Yeong-Maw discloses that the method as taught enables the achievement of desired mechanical properties of the cobalt layer [Page 4, Section: 3.Results, para 3]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method in order to achieve the desired mechanical properties of the cobalt layer as disclosed by Yeong-Maw [Page 4, Section: 3.Results, para 3].
Regarding Claim 17 (Amended), The combination of Hsu, Hwang, and Feng discloses the method of claim 12.
The combination of Hsu, Hwang, and Feng does not disclose “wherein after annealing the first and second contact plugs, the grain size of the first metal layer is in a range of between about 30-90 nm.”
The combination of Hsu, Hwang, and Feng, and Yeong-Maw disclose: wherein after annealing the first and second contact plugs (Hwang: first and second contact plugs 185, [0049]), the grain size of the first metal layer (Hwang: first contact plug 185 metal) is in a range of between about 30-90 nm, (Yeong-Maw: mean annealed grain sizes of 32, 37, 38, 39, 45 nm, Page 5, Section: 3.Results, Table 1).
Yeong-Maw discloses that modulating the grain sizes can influence the mechanical properties of the cobalt layer [Page 4, Section:3.Results, para 3]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method in order to obtain the desired mechanical properties of the cobalt layer as disclosed by Yeong-Maw [Page 4, Section:3.Results, para 3].
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu, in view of Hwang, further in view of Feng, still further in view of Wang et al. (US20170170061A; hereinafter Wang).
Regarding Claim 7, The combination of Hsu, Hwang, and Feng discloses the method of claim 1.
The combination of Hsu, Hwang, and Feng does not disclose “wherein the annealing process is performed at a temperature of between about 250-400 degrees Celsius, in a 30-70% H2 ambient environment, at a pressure of between about 10-30 Torr, and for a duration of between about 5-10 minutes.”
In a similar art, Wang discloses a method 100 of fabricating a contact structure of a semiconductor device [0013].
Wang discloses: wherein the annealing process is performed at a temperature of between about 250-400 degrees Celsius (about 200°C and about 800°C), in a 30-70% H2 ambient environment (the gas may be hydrogen (H2) at a concentration at a level between about 1% and 100%), at a pressure of between about 10-30 Torr (pressure during annealing may be between about 1*10−4 torr and 1520 Torr), and for a duration of between about 5-10 minutes (for a time of between about 10 seconds and about 30 minutes), [0052].
Wang discloses that a method as taught enables implementation of a low-resistance contact structure [0003], [0052]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method in order implement a low-resistance contact structure as disclosed by Wang [0003], [0052].
Regarding Claim 18, The combination of Hsu, Hwang, and Feng discloses the method of claim 12.
The combination of Hsu, Hwang, and Feng does not disclose “wherein the annealing the first and second contact plugs is performed at a temperature of between about 250-400 degrees Celsius, in a 30-70% H2 ambient environment, at a pressure of between about 10-30 Torr, and for a duration of between about 5-10 minutes.”
Hwang discloses annealing of first and second contact plugs (first and second contact plugs185) but does not disclose “the annealing is performed at a temperature of between about 250-400 degrees Celsius, in a 30-70% H2 ambient environment, at a pressure of between about 10-30 Torr, and for a duration of between about 5-10 minutes.”
Wang discloses: wherein the annealing process is performed at a temperature of between about 250-400 degrees Celsius (about 200°C and about 800°C), in a 30-70% H2 ambient environment (the gas may be hydrogen (H2) at a concentration at a level between about 1% and 100%), at a pressure of between about 10-30 Torr (pressure during annealing may be between about 1*10−4 torr and 1520 Torr), and for a duration of between about 5-10 minutes (for a time of between about 10 seconds and about 30 minutes), [0052].
Wang discloses that a method as taught enables implementation of a low-resistance contact structure [0003], [0052]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hsu and Hwang’s method in order implement a low-resistance contact structure as disclosed by Wang [0003], [0052].
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu in view of Hwang, further in view of Feng, still further in view of Leo et al. (US20200381298A1; hereinafter Leo).
Regarding Claim 15, The combination of Hsu, Hwang, and Feng discloses the method of claim 12.
The combination of Hsu, Hwang, and Feng does not disclose “wherein at least one of the first and second vias includes a slot via with an adjacent gate via to provide a composite via, and wherein the composite via provides an electrical connection between the at least one of the first and second vias and a gate electrode layer of an adjacent gate structure.”
In a similar art, Leo discloses methods of forming a shared contact structure in a semiconductor device [0011].
Leo discloses: wherein at least one of the first and second vias (openings 259 and 281) includes a slot via (opening 281) merged with an adjacent gate via (opening 259 exposes gate conductive material 226) to provide a composite via (butted contact opening 238), and wherein the composite via (butted contact opening 238) provides an electrical connection between the at least one of the first and second vias and a gate electrode layer of an adjacent gate structure (the conductive fill 227 in the butted contact opening 238 electrically connects opening 259 to the gate conductive material 226), FIG. 15, 17A, [0058].
Leo discloses that a method as taught enables electrical connection without a horizontal metal interconnect layer, improving throughput and reducing manufacturing cost [0058], [0062]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hsu, Hwang, and Feng’s method in order to improve throughput and reduce manufacturing cost as disclosed by Leo [0058], [0062].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner should be directed to Krishna J Palaniswamy whose telephone number
is (571)272-6239. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:30AM -
5PM EST.
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor, Brent Fairbanks can be reached on 408-918-7532. The fax phone number
for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-483-7639.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is
available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center,
visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-
center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For
additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197
(toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Krishna J. Palaniswamy/
Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/Brent A. Fairbanks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899