DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 04/23/2026 with respect to the rejection of the claims under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 20170031323 A1 Kim et al and under 35 USC 112(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 13 and dependent claims 14-20 recite within claim 13 “the first cathode connecting member and the second cathode connecting member are on a same level above the substrate and are electrically isolated from each other”. As claimed it is unclear how the first cathode connecting member and the second cathode connecting member are electrically isolated when the first cathode connecting member is part [electrically connected] of the first circuit as illustrated fig. 2, the second cathode connecting member is part [electrically connected] of the second circuit as illustrated fig. 4 and both the first circuit and the second circuit are electrically connected through line 171 [illustrated between fig. 2 and fig. 4]. Thus, the first cathode connecting member and the second cathode connecting member are at least partially/indirectly electrically connected and being electrically connected is mutually exclusive to being electrically isolated.
In view of the drawing and the specification for the purpose of examination the limitation will be interpreted as “the first cathode connecting member and the second cathode connecting member are on a same level above the substrate and are not directly connected to each other”.
under this interpretation the examiner did not find the limitation nor an obvious reason to modify prior art of record such that all limitations are met thus no art has been applied.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “first cathode connecting member and the second cathode connecting member… are electrically isolated from each other” of claims 13-20 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240164175 A1 Yamazaki et al hereafter “Yamazaki” in view of US 20200091253 A1 Liu et al here after “Liu”. and Chen, and US 20170031323 A1 Kim et al hereafter “Kim”
Claim 1 Yamazaki teaches an emissive display device (fig. 19A-19F) comprising:
a light emitting diode (EL fig. 19H) that includes a first circuit part (PIX2 fig. 19H) disposed in a display area (the device of fig. 19A-19H, sufficiently disclosed paragraphs 467 “The subpixel R includes a light-emitting device that emits red light. The subpixel G includes a light-emitting device that emits green light. The subpixel B includes a light-emitting device that emits blue light. The subpixel IR includes a light-emitting device that emits infrared light” and 472 “FIG. 19H illustrates an example of a pixel circuit for a subpixel including a light-emitting device”, illustrated fig. 19A-19H); and
a non-emissive element (PD fig. 19G) that includes a second circuit part (PIX1 fig. 19G) disposed in the display area [sufficiently disclosed paragraphs 467 “the subpixel PS includes a light-receiving device” and 472 “FIG. 19G illustrates an example of a pixel circuit for a subpixel including a light-receiving device”, illustrated fig. 19A-19H] and a cathode electrically connected to the second circuit part (sufficiently illustrated fig. 19G, the cathode side of the PD is connected to the light receiving circuit, note under broadest reasonable interpretation the term cathode includes the meaning “the negative electrode of a diode”),
wherein the cathode of the non-emissive element is separated from the cathode of the light emitting diode (sufficiently illustrated between fig. 19G and 19H the cathodes are at least electrically separated);
the light emitting diode comprises a cathode (sufficiently illustrated fig. 19H);
Yamazaki does not teach the light emitting diode wherein there is the cathode is “electrically connected to the first circuit part”, Yamazaki does not teach “a separator” that separates the cathode of the non-emissive element from the light emitting diode; wherein the separator surrounds the cathode of the non-emissive element, and includes a non-emissive element separator having an asymmetric cross-sectional structure, and the asymmetric cross-sectional structure has both a reverse tapered side and a tapered side on opposite sides
Chen teaches a separator (116 and/or 126 and/or 114 fig. 7, 114 illustrated but not labeled see fig. 8c) that separates adjacent electrode layers (comprising 113, and/or 123 fig. 6), wherein the separator surrounds all of the diodes [sufficiently illustrated fig. 6]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to Yamazaki by adding separators Chen teaches to separate electrodes such that “the cathode of the non-emissive element is separated from the cathode of the light emitting diode by a separator, the separator surrounds the cathode of the non-emissive element” to separate electrodes that are disconnected from each other [Chen column 9 lines 9-12] and/or to avoid pixel interference [Chen column 9 lines 24-32]
Kim teaches a separator with an asymmetric cross-sectional structure has both a reverse tapered side and a tapered side on opposite sides [BH fig. 12 (a) under MPEP 2112.01 as it is structurally identical to the separator SEP-PD as embodied in fig. 7 of the instant application].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamazaki in view of Chen and in further view of Kim such that “the asymmetric cross-sectional structure has both a reverse tapered side and a tapered side on opposite sides”.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable to effectively sperate and/or partition the elements of device and/or effectively block cracks [sufficiently disclosed paragraph 0064 Kim “However, preferably, the partition BH has an inversely tapered shape in order to effectively separate the organic emission layer OL, the cathode electrode CAT, and the inorganic films PAS1 and PAS2 formed on the partition BH from the remaining organic emission layer OL, the cathode electrode CAT, and the inorganic films PAS1 and PAS2. The planar shape and the lateral shape of the partition BH may include any shape in which an introduction path of oxygen and moisture and propagation path of cracks are effectively blocked or the path is secured to be sufficiently long”].
Liu teaches that a light emitting diode (OLED fig. 5A-5B) connected a driving circuit [illustrated fig. 5B] by the cathode [sufficiently illustrated fig. 5B] is an alternative to the light emitting diode connected to a substantially identical driving circuit by the anode [Fig. 5A] wherein the driving circuit and the substantially identical driving circuit comprising a driving voltage line (comprising Vdd and Vss fig. 5A-5B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yamazaki in view of Chen and Kim in further view of Liu such that “a cathode electrically connected to the first circuit part” as rearrangement of part is prima facie type obviousness [See MPEP 2144.04 VI. C.] and/or substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie type obviousness [See MPEP 2144.06, in this case the purpose is driving the Light emitting diode].
Claim 3 Yamazaki in view of Chen, Liu and Kim teach the emissive display device of claim 1, wherein
The cathode of the non-emissive element is electrically connected to a first separator upper conductive layer [met by the modification in view of Chen, fig. 6 a portion of the electrode 113 and/or 123 extends over a portion of the separator comprising 114, under broadest reasonable interpretation the portion of the electrode extending over the separator maybe considered “a first separator upper conductive layer” that is integral and connected to the electrode ] disposed on the top of the non-emissive element separator [illustrated Chen fig. 6], and a second separator upper conductive layer disposed on a top of the separator [sufficiently disclosed the display is disclosed as an matrix and/or array of the pixels of fig. 19A-19F comprising elements subpixels driver and/or sensor circuits PIX1 and PIX2, Paragraph 0500 “the display portion consists of pixels arranged in a matrix” ].
Yamazaki in view of Chen, Liu and Kim as modified in claim 1 does not teach the first separator upper conductive layer disposed on the top of the non-emissive element separator and the second separator upper conductive layer disposed on the top of the separator are electrically connected to each other, and
the cathode of the non-emissive element is electrically connected to a cathode of another non-emissive element disposed at a distance from the cathode of the non-emissive element through the second separator upper conductive layer disposed on the top of the separator and the first separator upper conductive layer disposed on the top of the non-emissive element separator.
Chen teaches a first separator upper conductive layer [comprising 123 on the top of 114, not labeled but illustrated see fig. 8c for label] disposed on the top of a first separator [comprising 114 and 126 fig. 6] and a second separator upper conductive layer [comprising a different portion of 123 on the top of 114 fig. 6 on an adjacent diode in view of fig. 3a] disposed on top of the separator are electrically connected to each other [fig. 3a sufficiently illustrates that 123 adjacent diodes are connected across separators and/or separating regions, fig. 4 sufficiently illustrates that the diodes (R, G, B fig. 4 and 130) are like elements (Bs are connected to Bs, Rs are connected to Rs, and Gs are connected to Gs)], and
the electrode of a diode element (comprising 123 on top of 122 fig. 6) is electrically connected to an electrode of another diode element disposed at a distance from the electrode of the non-emissive element through the second separator upper conductive layer disposed on the top of the separator and the first separator upper conductive layer disposed on the top of the non-emissive element separator [sufficiently illustrated in fig. 3a in view of the diode structure as presented in fig. 6, and in further view of fig. 4].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamazaki in view of Chen, Liu and Kim in further view of Chen such that “the first separator upper conductive layer disposed on the top of the non-emissive separator and the second separator upper conductive layer disposed on the top of the separator are electrically connected to each other, and the cathode of the non-emissive element is electrically connected to a cathode of another non-emissive element disposed at a distance from the cathode of the non-emissive element through the second separator upper conductive layer disposed on top of the separator and the first separator upper conductive layer disposed on top of the non-emissive element separator.” to provide a common voltage line and/or power to the diodes. [sufficiently disclosed Chen column 5 line 25 to column 6 line 5].
Claim 4 Yamazaki in view of Chen, Liu and Kim teach the emissive display device of claim 1, wherein the separator surrounds the cathode of the non-emissive element [met by the modification made above in view of Chen, fig. 6 of Chen the separator surrounds all of the diodes that are desired to be disconnected or separated from one another, this would include the light receiving diodes not just the light emitting diodes], and has a same substantially tapered shape or substantially an angle on opposite side surfaces [met by the modification of in view of Chen, The Separator has a tapered shaped across all elements illustrated fig. 6].
Claim 5 Yamazaki in view of Chen, Liu and Kim the emissive display device of claim 4, wherein a cathode (one of the cathodes of PD fig. 19G) disposed in a light receiving area [the area of the non-emissive element] where the non-emissive element is disposed;
a cathode of another non-emissive element disposed at a distance [sufficiently disclosed the display is disclosed as a matrix and/or array of the pixels of fig. 19A-19F comprising elements subpixels driver and/or sensor circuits PIX1 and PIX2, Paragraph 0500 “the display portion consists of pixels arranged in a matrix”, thus although not explicitly illustrated it is necessarily present]
Yamazaki in view of Chen, Liu and Kim as modified above does not explicitly teach the cathode is integral with the cathode of another non-emissive element disposed at a distance from the light receiving area without being separated by the separator.
Chen teaches a first diode electrode (a first portion of 123 contacting a first 122 fig. 3a) and a second diode electrode (a second portion of 123 contacting a second 122 fig. 3a) that are disposed at a distance [sufficiently illustrated fig. 3a];
wherein the first diode electrode and the second diode are integral with each other [sufficiently illustrated fig. 3a] and not separated by a separator (no separator is illustrated as separating the first diode electrode and the second diode electrode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take Yamazaki in view of Chen, Liu and Kim and further modify it in view of Chen such that the cathode “is integral with the cathode of another non-emissive element disposed at a distance from the light receiving area without being separated by the separator” to provide a common voltage line and/or power to the diodes. [sufficiently disclosed Chen column 5 line 25 to column 6 line 5]
Claim 6 Yamazaki in view of Chen, Liu and Kim teach the emissive display device of claim 1, wherein the separator surrounds each of the cathode of the light emitting diode and the cathode of the non-emissive element [met by the modification made above in view of Chen, fig. 6 of Chen the separator surrounds all of the diodes that are desired to be disconnected or separated from one another, this would include the light receiving diodes not just the light emitting diodes], and has substantially reversely tapered sidewalls on opposite side surfaces [met in view of Chen element 116 of the separator appears to have a reversely tapered sidewalls on opposite side surfaces].
Claim 7 Yamazaki in view of Chen, Liu, and Kim the emissive display device of claim 6, further comprising:
an additional second driving voltage line (comprising V1 and V5 fig. 19G; note the voltage difference between V1 and V5 maybe considered the driving voltage of the circuit) electrically connected to the light receiving diode;
and a separate embodiment (fig. 13a) wherein a non-emissive element(440 fig. 13a) is electrically connected through a contact hole (see annotation below)
Yamazaki in view of Chen, Liu, and Kim does not teach the additional second driving voltage line electrically connected to the cathode of the non-emissive element through a contact hole to transfer a second driving voltage.
Liu teaches that a diode (OLED fig. 5A-5B) connected a circuit [illustrated fig. 5B] by the cathode [sufficiently illustrated fig. 5B] is an alternative the diode connected to a substantially identical circuit by the anode [Fig. 5A] wherein the circuit and the substantially identical circuit comprising a driving voltage line (comprising Vdd and Vss fig. 5A-5B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yamazaki in view of Chen in further view of Liu such that the “additional second driving voltage line electrically connected to the cathode of the non-emissive” as rearrangement of part is prima facie type obviousness [See MPEP 2144.04 VI. C.] and/or substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie type obviousness [See MPEP 2144.06, in this case the purpose is driving the Light emitting diode].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify Yamazaki in view of Chen such that “the cathode of the light receiving diode through a contact hole to transfer a second driving voltage” to power the receiving diode through adjacent vertical layers and/or substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie type obviousness [See MPEP 2144.06, in this case the purpose is driving the Light receiving diode].
Chen Annotated fig. 13a: highlighting a contact hole
Claim 8 Yamazaki in view of Chen, Liu, Kim teach the emissive display device of claim 1, wherein
an anode of the light emitting diode receives a first driving voltage [the voltage differential between V4 and V5, sufficiently illustrated fig. 19H], and
the cathode of the non-emissive element receives a second driving voltage [the voltage differential between V1 and V2, sufficiently illustrated fig. 19H]].
Claim 9 Yamazaki in view of Chen, Liu, and Kim teach the emissive display device of claim 8, wherein the second circuit part includes:
a first sensing transistor (M13 fig. 19G) that includes a gate electrode [sufficiently illustrated fig. 19G] electrically connected to a cathode of the non-emissive element [the cathode end of PD fig. 19G], a first electrode [sufficiently illustrated fig. 19G the side of M13 connected to V3 fig. 19G] to which a common voltage [V3 fig. 19G] is transferred, and a second electrode [sufficiently illustrated fig. 19G the side of M13 connected to M14 fig. 19G];
a second sensing transistor (M14 fig. 19G) that includes a gate electrode [sufficiently illustrated fig. 19G] , a first electrode (the side of M14 connected to M13 fig. 19G, sufficiently illustrated) electrically connected to the second electrode of the first sensing transistor, and a second electrode (the side of M14 connected to OUT1 fig. 19G) electrically connected to a sensing line (OUT1 fig. 19G); and
a third sensing transistor (M12 fig. 19G) that includes a gate electrode [sufficiently illustrated fig. 19G], a first electrode (the side of M12 connected to V2 fig. 19G) a to which a reset voltage is applied [V2 fig. 19G met under MPEP 2112.01, the structure of V2 fig. 19 of Yamazaki is identical to the structure of Vreset fig. 4 of the instant application therefore the function of being capable of performing as a reset voltage is presumed], and a second electrode (M12 connected to PD through M11 fig. 19G) electrically connected to the cathode of the non-emissive element.
Yamazaki in view of Chen, Liu, Kim does not teach the first sensing transistor that includes the gate electrode electrically connected to an anode of the non-emissive element nor
the second electrode (of the third sensing transistor) electrically connected to the anode of the non-emissive element.
Liu teaches that a diode (OLED fig. 5A-5B) connected a circuit [illustrated fig. 5B] by the cathode [sufficiently illustrated fig. 5B] is an alternative the diode connected to a substantially identical circuit by the anode [Fig. 5A] wherein the circuit and the substantially identical circuit comprising a driving voltage line (comprising Vdd and Vss fig. 5A-5B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yamazaki in view of Chen in further view of Liu such that the “the first sensing transistor that includes the gate electrode electrically connected to an anode of the non-emissive element” and “the second electrode (of the third sensing transistor) electrically connected to the anode of the non-emissive element” as rearrangement of part is prima facie type obviousness [See MPEP 2144.04 VI. C.] and/or substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie type obviousness [See MPEP 2144.06, in this case the purpose is driving the Light emitting diode].
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Yamazaki in view of Liu, Kim and Chen as shown above and in further view of Kumeta.
Claim 10 Yamazaki in view of Chen, Liu and Kim teaches the emissive display device of claim 9, wherein the first circuit part includes:
a first transistor (M16 fig. 19H) that includes a gate electrode [sufficiently illustrated fig. 19H], a first electrode [sufficiently illustrated fig. 19H], and a second electrode [sufficiently illustrated fig. 19H];
a second transistor (M15 fig. 19H) that includes a gate electrode [sufficiently illustrated fig. 19H], a first electrode (the electrode of M15 connected to VS fig. 19H) electrically connected to a data line (VS fig. 19H), and a second electrode (the electrode of M15 connected to M16 fig. 19H) electrically connected to the gate electrode of the first transistor [sufficiently illustrated fig. 19H];
Yamazaki in view of Chen, Liu and Kim does not teach a fifth transistor that includes a gate electrode, a first electrode electrically connected to the cathode of the light emitting diode, and a second electrode electrically connected to the first electrode of the first transistor; and
a sixth transistor that includes a gate electrode, a first electrode electrically connected to the second electrode of the first transistor, and a second electrode receiving a second driving voltage.
Kumeta teaches a driving circuit (fig. 22) for a light emitting diode (206 fig. 22) comprising; a fifth transistor (203 fig. 22) that includes a gate electrode [sufficiently illustrated fig. 22], a first electrode electrically (the electrode of 203 connected to 206 fig. 22) connected to the light emitting diode [sufficiently illustrated fig. 22], and a second electrode (the electrode of ) electrically connected to the first electrode of a first transistor (201 fig. 22); and
a sixth transistor (208 fig. 22) that includes a gate electrode [sufficiently illustrated fig. 22], a first electrode (the electrode of 208 connected to 201 fig. 22) electrically connected to a second electrode of the first transistor (the electrode of 201 connected to 208 fig. 22), and a second electrode (the electrode of 208 connected to ELVDD) receiving a second driving voltage (the voltage differential between ELVDD and ELVSS fig. 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yamazaki in view of Chen, Liu and Kim in further view of Kumeta such that there is --a fifth transistor that includes a gate electrode, a first electrode electrically connected the light emitting diode, and a second electrode electrically connected to the first electrode of the first transistor-- and “a sixth transistor that includes a gate electrode, a first electrode electrically connected to the second electrode of the first transistor, and a second electrode receiving a second driving voltage” to control the light-emitting diode using a control signal [Kumeta paragraph 100] and/or combining equivalents (in this case driving circuits) known for the same purpose is prima facie type obviousness (See MPEP 2144.06) in this case driving the light emitting diode.
Yamazaki in view of Chen, Liu, Kim and Kumeta as shown above meets the limitation “a first electrode (of the fifth transistor) electrically connected to the cathode of the light emitting diode.” in view of the rearrangement of parts of Liu as shown in claim 1 wherein the diode being connected by the cathode or the anode are art recognized equivalents for driving a light emitting diode.
Claim 11 Yamazaki in view of Chen, Liu, Kim and Kumeta teach the emissive display device of claim 10, a stack structure for a transistor [sufficiently disclosed 259 fig. 13B]
Yamazaki in view of Chen Liu, Kim and Kumeta does not explicitly teach wherein at least one of the first transistor, the second transistor, the fifth transistor, and the sixth transistor of the first circuit part and at least one of the first sensing transistor, the second sensing transistor, and the third sensing transistor of the second circuit part have substantially a same stacked structure. [Fig. 13B ].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify before the effective filing date of the claimed such that “at least one of the first transistor, the second transistor, the fifth transistor, and the sixth transistor of the first circuit part and at least one of the first sensing transistor, the second sensing transistor, and the third sensing transistor of the second circuit part have substantially a same stacked structure” As duplication of parts prima facie type obviousness [See MPEP 2144.04 VI. B.].
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Yamazaki in view of Liu, Kim, Chen and Kumeta as shown above and in further view of US 20240324353 A1 Han et al hereafter “Han
Claim 12 Yamazaki in view of Chen, Liu, Kim and Kumeta the emissive display device of claim 10, further comprising:
a cathode connecting member that electrically connects the first electrode of the fifth transistor and the cathode of the light emitting element [met by the modification of the fifth transistor as in view of Kumeta and the cathode connection of the light emitting element in view of Liu],
Yamazaki in view of Chen, Liu, Kim and Kumeta does not teach wherein the cathode connecting member has a three-layer structure, and
the cathode connecting member and the cathode of the light emitting diode are electrically connected by a side contact.
Han teaches a cathode connecting member (fig. 4) comprising a cathode (50 fig. 4) electrically connected by a side contact (32 fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamazaki in view of Chen, Liu, Kim and Kumeta in view of the connection structure of Han teaches such that “the cathode connecting member and the cathode of the light emitting diode are electrically connected by a side contact” to electrically connect the cathode and/or as a part of routine optimization to reduce the resistance and/or voltage drop of the cathode layer and/or improve the display effect and/or brightness uniformity of the display panel [Paragraph 0097 Han, See MPEP 2144.05 II].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the layers of the contact connecting member as taught by Yamazaki in view of Chen, Liu, Kim,Kumeta and Han such that “the cathode connecting member has a three-layer structure” as duplication of parts is prima facie type obviousness [See MPEP 2144.04 VI. B.] and/or as part of routine optimization of the effective resistance and/or voltage drop across the cathode connecting member, wherein the number of layers and/or the thickness of the cathode connection member is the result effecting variable [see MPEP 2144.05 II].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WCT/Examiner, Art Unit 2893 /Britt Hanley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893