DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed subject matter of claims 6 and 16 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Specifically, the claimed subject matter of claim 6 and 16 “the first hole and the second hole are disposed on an imaginary straight line passing, in the first direction, through a center of the first emission area/[opening]” does not appear to be shown in the Drawings of the current application. For example, as shown in Figures 4-5 of the Drawings the first and second holes (which appear to be represented by the “X” marked boxes) do not appear to be disposed along an imaginary straight line passing, in the first direction (y-direction), through a center of the first emission area/opening EA1. There does not appear to be any elements disposed along the first direction and through the center of the first emission area/opening EA1 which can be interpreted as the claimed first and second holes.
No new matter should be entered.
Additionally, the drawings are objected to because Figure 5 of the Drawings appears to incorrectly label the second emission area EA2, the third emission area EA3, the shortest distance d3 and the shortest distance d4. For example, as detailed in paragraph [0106] of the Specification and Figure 6 of the Drawings lines I-I’ and II-II’ pertain to cross-sectional views of the second emission area EA2, however Figure 5 labels the emission area where lines I-I’ and II-II’ are located as the third emission area EA3 not the second emission area EA2. Similarly, as detailed in paragraph [0108] of the Specification and Figure 7 of the Drawings line IV-IV’ pertain to the cross-sectional view of the third emission area EA3, however Figure 5 labels the emission area where line IV-IV’ is located as the second emission area EA2 not the third emission area EA3. Additionally, as detailed in paragraph [0106] of the Specification the shortest distance d3 is associated with third edge E3 and the shortest distance d4 is associated with fourth edge E4, however Figure 5 depicts the shortest distance d4 at the third edge E3 and the shortest distance d3 at the fourth edge E4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4, 6-8 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “a plan view” in lines 7 and 9 of the claim, however “a plan view” element was already introduced earlier in line 6 of claim 1, which claim 2 depends from, and thereby it is unclear whether the “a plan view” in lines 7 and 9 of the claim are directed to that same element and therefore should be properly amended to “the plan view” or directed to an entirely different element and therefore should be amended with specific language to distinguish it from the already introduced element.
Claim 3 recites “a plan view” in line 5 of the claim, however “a plan view” element was already introduced earlier in line 6 of claim 1, which claim 3 depends from, and thereby it is unclear whether the “a plan view” in line 5 of the claim are directed to that same element and therefore should be properly amended to “the plan view” or directed to an entirely different element and therefore should be amended with specific language to distinguish it from the already introduced element.
Claim 4 recites “a plan view” in line 5 of the claim, however “a plan view” element was already introduced earlier in line 6 of claim 1, which claim 4 depends from, and thereby it is unclear whether the “a plan view” in line 5 of the claim are directed to that same element and therefore should be properly amended to “the plan view” or directed to an entirely different element and therefore should be amended with specific language to distinguish it from the already introduced element.
Claim 6 recites “a plan view” in line 3 of the claim, however “a plan view” element was already introduced earlier in line 6 of claim 1, which claim 6 depends from, and thereby it is unclear whether the “a plan view” in line 3 of the claim are directed to that same element and therefore should be properly amended to “the plan view” or directed to an entirely different element and therefore should be amended with specific language to distinguish it from the already introduced element.
Claim 8 recites “a shape [of the first emission area]” in line 4 of the claim, however “a shape [of the first emission area]” element was already introduced earlier in line 2 of the claim, and thereby it is unclear whether the “a shape” in line 4 of the claim are directed to that same element and therefore should be properly amended to “the shape” or directed to an entirely different element and therefore should be amended with specific language to distinguish it from the already introduced element.
Claim 11 recites “a plan view” in line 5 of the claim, however “a plan view” element was already introduced earlier in line 1 of the claim, and thereby it is unclear whether the “a plan view” in line 5 of the claim are directed to that same element and therefore should be properly amended to “the plan view” or directed to an entirely different element and therefore should be amended with specific language to distinguish it from the already introduced element.
Claim 12 recites “a plan view” in lines 7 and 8-9 of the claim, however “a plan view” element was already introduced earlier in line 4 of claim 11, which claim 12 depends from, and thereby it is unclear whether the “a plan view” in lines 7 and 8-9 of the claim are directed to that same element and therefore should be properly amended to “the plan view” or directed to an entirely different element and therefore should be amended with specific language to distinguish it from the already introduced element.
Claim 13 recites “a plan view” in line 5 of the claim, however “a plan view” element was already introduced earlier in line 4 of claim 11, which claim 13 depends from, and thereby it is unclear whether the “a plan view” in line 5 of the claim are directed to that same element and therefore should be properly amended to “the plan view” or directed to an entirely different element and therefore should be amended with specific language to distinguish it from the already introduced element.
Claim 14 recites “a plan view” in line 5 of the claim, however “a plan view” element was already introduced earlier in line 4 of claim 11, which claim 14 depends from, and thereby it is unclear whether the “a plan view” in line 5 of the claim are directed to that same element and therefore should be properly amended to “the plan view” or directed to an entirely different element and therefore should be amended with specific language to distinguish it from the already introduced element.
Claim 16 recites “a plan view” in line 3 of the claim, however “a plan view” element was already introduced earlier in line 4 of claim 11, which claim 16 depends from, and thereby it is unclear whether the “a plan view” in line 3 of the claim are directed to that same element and therefore should be properly amended to “the plan view” or directed to an entirely different element and therefore should be amended with specific language to distinguish it from the already introduced element.
Claim 18 recites “a shape [of the first opening]” in line 4 of the claim, however “a shape [of the first opening]” element was already introduced earlier in line 2 of the claim, and thereby it is unclear whether the “a shape” in line 4 of the claim are directed to that same element and therefore should be properly amended to “the shape” or directed to an entirely different element and therefore should be amended with specific language to distinguish it from the already introduced element.
Note the dependent claims 3-4, 7 and 12-20 necessarily inherit the indefiniteness of the claims on which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-13, 15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jo et al. (US 2023/0209927 A1, hereinafter “Jo”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Figures 2-4 of Jo disclose a display apparatus, comprising:
a driving voltage line DVL (“driving voltage line”- ¶0071) disposed on a substrate SUB (“substrate”- ¶0031) and extending in a first direction (i.e., vertical direction as shown in Fig. 4);
a data line DL (“data lines”- ¶0122) extending in the first direction and apart from the driving voltage line DVL;
a first sub-pixel electrode AE (“anode electrode… pixel electrode”- ¶0072, specifically the pixel electrode associated with red sub-pixel R- ¶0120) in which a first emission area R is defined; and
a second sub-pixel electrode AE (“anode electrode… pixel electrode”- ¶0072, specifically the pixel electrode associated with green sub-pixel G1- ¶0120) in which a second emission area G1 is defined, wherein
the first emission area R overlaps the data line DL1 in a plan view, and
the second emission area G1 is disposed inside an edge of the driving voltage line DVL, since a portion of G1 lies within the perimeter of line DVL.
Regarding claim 2, Figures 2-4 of Jo disclose wherein the driving voltage line DVL includes:
a plurality of main portions (i.e., the portions of DVL overlapped with areas G1 and G2); and
a plurality of sub-portions (i.e., the portions of DVL connecting the portions of DVL overlapped with areas G1 and G2) extending in the first direction and connecting the plurality of main portions,
the first emission area R overlaps at least one sub-portion of the plurality of the sub-portions in a plan view, and
the second emission area G1 overlaps one main portion of the plurality of main portions in a plan view.
Regarding claim 3, Figures 2-4 of Jo disclose wherein
each of the main portions of the driving voltage line includes a first edge (i.e., left edge) and a second edge (i.e., right edge), which are disposed opposite to each other with the second emission area G1 therebetween and which extend in the first direction, and
in a plan view, a shortest distance from the first edge to the second emission G1 area is equal to a shortest distance from the second edge to the second emission area G1, since the area G1 appears to be centered along line DVL such that the respective shortest distances from the left and right edges of line DVL would be equal to one another.
Regarding claim 5, Figures 2-4 of Jo disclose the display apparatus further comprising:
a lower conductive layer SD1 (“source-drain electrode material patterns”- ¶0090) disposed under the driving voltage line DVL (which is formed from pattern SD2- ¶0148); and
a first insulating layer PAS0 (“passivation layer”- ¶0093) disposed between the driving voltage line DVL and the lower conductive layer SD1,
wherein a plurality of holes (i.e., the openings filled by the via connecting SD1 to SD2) through which the driving voltage line DVL and the lower conductive layer SD1 contact each other are defined in the first insulating layer PAS0.
Note, there would be a “plurality of holes”, since each contact hole CNT as shown in Figure 4 would correspond to its own opening filled by the via connecting SD1 to SD2 as shown in Figure 3.
Regarding claim 8, Figures 2-4 of Jo disclose wherein the first emission area R has a shape symmetrical with respect to an imaginary straight line passing, in the first direction, through a center of the first emission area R, and
the first emission area R has a shape symmetrical with respect to an imaginary straight line passing, in a second direction (i.e., horizontal direction as shown in Fig. 4) perpendicular to the first direction, through the center of the first emission area R.
Regarding claim 9, Figures 2-4 of Jo disclose wherein the second emission area G1 has a shape symmetrical with respect to an imaginary straight line passing, in a direction (i.e., diagonal direction as shown in Fig. 4) intersecting the first direction and a second direction (i.e., horizontal direction as shown in Fig. 4) perpendicular to the first direction, through a center of the second emission area G1.
Regarding claim 10, Figures 2-4 of Jo disclose wherein the first emission area R emits red light or blue light (¶0124), and
the second emission area G1 emits green light (¶0124).
Regarding independent claim 11, Figures 2-4 of Jo disclose a display apparatus, comprising:
a driving voltage line DVL (“driving voltage line”- ¶0071) disposed on a substrate SUB (“substrate”- ¶0031) and extending in a first direction (i.e., vertical direction as shown in Fig. 4);
a data line DL (“data lines”- ¶0122) extending in the first direction and apart from the driving voltage line DVL;
a first sub-pixel electrode AE (“anode electrode… pixel electrode”- ¶0072, specifically the pixel electrode associated with red sub-pixel R- ¶0120) overlapping the data line DL in a plan view;
a second sub-pixel electrode AE (“anode electrode… pixel electrode”- ¶0072, specifically the pixel electrode associated with green sub-pixel G1- ¶0120) overlapping the driving voltage line DVL in a plan view;
a bank layer BANK (“bank”- ¶0098) overlapping edges of the first and second sub-pixel electrodes R, G1;
a first opening (i.e., the opening in BANK associated with red sub-pixel R- ¶0120, hereinafter “R”) corresponding to a portion of the first sub-pixel electrode R and defined in the bank layer BANK;
a second opening (i.e., the opening in BANK associated with green sub-pixel G1- ¶0120, hereinafter “G1”) corresponding to a portion of the second sub-pixel electrode G1 and defined in the bank layer BANK;
a first emission layer EL (“emission layer”, specifically emission layer EL associated with red sub-pixel R- ¶¶0099, 0120) corresponding to the first opening R, disposed on the bank layer BANK;
a second emission layer EL (“emission layer”, specifically emission layer EL associated with green sub-pixel G1- ¶¶0099, 0120) corresponding to the second opening G1, disposed on the bank layer BANK; and
an opposite electrode CE (“cathode electrode”- ¶0072) on the first emission layer EL and the second emission layer EL,
wherein the second opening G1 of the bank layer BANK is disposed inside an edge of the driving voltage line DVL, since a portion of G1 lies within the perimeter of line DVL.
Regarding claim 12, Figures 2-4 of Jo disclose wherein the driving voltage line DVL includes:
a plurality of main portions (i.e., the portions of DVL overlapped with areas G1 and G2); and
a plurality of sub-portions (i.e., the portions of DVL connecting the portions of DVL overlapped with areas G1 and G2) extending in the first direction and connecting the plurality of main portions,
the first opening R overlaps at least one sub-portion of the plurality of the sub-portions in a plan view, and
the second opening G1 overlaps one main portion of the plurality of main portions in a plan view.
Regarding claim 13, Figures 2-4 of Jo disclose wherein each of the main portions of the driving voltage line DVL includes a first edge (i.e., left edge) and a second edge (i.e., right edge), which are disposed opposite to each other with the second opening G1 therebetween and which extend in the first direction, and
in a plan view, a shortest distance from the first edge to the second opening G1 is equal to a shortest distance from the second edge to the second opening G1, since the area G1 appears to be centered along line DVL such that the respective shortest distances from the left and right edges of line DVL would be equal to one another.
Regarding claim 15, Figures 2-4 of Jo disclose the display apparatus further comprising:
a lower conductive layer SD1 (“source-drain electrode material patterns”- ¶0090) disposed under the driving voltage line DVL (which is formed from pattern SD2- ¶0148); and
a first insulating layer PAS0 (“passivation layer”- ¶0093) disposed between the driving voltage line DVL and the lower conductive layer SD1,
wherein a plurality of holes (i.e., the openings filled by the via connecting SD1 to SD2) through which the driving voltage line DVL and the lower conductive layer SD1 contact each other are defined in the first insulating layer PAS0.
Note, there would be a “plurality of holes”, since each contact hole CNT as shown in Figure 4 would correspond to its own opening filled by the via connecting SD1 to SD2 as shown in Figure 3.
Regarding claim 18, Figures 2-4 of Jo disclose wherein the first opening R has a shape symmetrical with respect to an imaginary straight line passing, in the first direction, through a center of the first opening, and
the first opening R has a shape symmetrical with respect to an imaginary straight line passing, in a second direction (i.e., horizontal direction as shown in Fig. 4) perpendicular to the first direction, through the center of the first opening R.
Regarding claim 19, Figures 2-4 of Jo disclose wherein the second opening G1 has a shape symmetrical with respect to an imaginary straight line passing, in a direction (i.e., diagonal direction as shown in Fig. 4) intersecting the first direction and a second direction (i.e., horizontal direction as shown in Fig. 4) perpendicular to the first direction, through a center of the second opening G1.
Regarding claim 20, Figures 2-4 of Jo disclose wherein the first emission layer R emits red light or blue light (¶0124), and
the second emission layer G1 emits green light (¶0124).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6-7, 14 and 16-17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, the prior art of record including Jo, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including, but not limited to, “wherein each of the main portions of the driving voltage line includes a third edge and a fourth edge, which are disposed opposite to each other with the second emission area therebetween and extend in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, and in a plan view, a shortest distance from the third edge to the second emission area is equal to a shortest distance from the fourth edge to the second emission area”.
Regarding claim 6 (which claim 7 depends from), the prior art of record including Jo, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including, but not limited to, “wherein the plurality of holes include a first hole and a second hole, which overlap one first emission area in a plan view, and the first hole and the second hole are disposed on an imaginary straight line passing, in the first direction, through a center of the first emission area”.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art of record including Jo, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including, but not limited to, “wherein each of the main portions of the driving voltage line includes a third edge and a fourth edge, which are disposed opposite to each other with the second opening therebetween and extend in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, and in a plan view, a shortest distance from the third edge to the second opening is equal to a shortest distance from the fourth edge to the second opening”.
Regarding claim 16 (which claim 17 depends from), the prior art of record including Jo, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including, but not limited to, “wherein the plurality of holes include a first hole and a second hole, which overlap one first opening in a plan view, and the first hole and the second hole are disposed on an imaginary straight line passing, in the first direction, through a center of the first opening”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lee et al. (US 2018/0247988 A1), which discloses a display apparatus comprising a driving voltage line positioned relative to emission areas.
/JAY C CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817