CTFR 18/493,614 CTFR 83642 Detailed Correspondence Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Amendment Applicants’ submission, filed on 05/18/2026, addressing claims 2-21 rejection from the non-final office action (02/18/2026), by amending claims 2-12 and 14-21 and cancelling claim 13 is entered and will be addressed below. The examiner notices Applicants incorporated the cancelled claim 13 into claim 2. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 2-12 and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 2 recites “A system for forming an ashable hardmask (AHM) film” and then “depositing on the substrate an AHM film”, this raises antecedent issue. This portion of claim 2 will be examined inclusive “depositing on the substrate the AHM film” Dependent claims 3-12 and 14-21 are also rejected under USC 112(b) at least due to dependency to rejected claim 2. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-103 AIA The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2-5, 7, 9-10, 14-15, 18, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reddy et al. (US 20150093908, from IDS, hereafter ‘908), in view of Subramonium et al. (US 8110493, from IDS, hereafter ‘493) . ‘908 teaches some limitations of: Claim 2: Methods of forming high etch selectivity, low stress ashable hard masks using plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition are provided (abstract, including the claimed “A system for forming an ashable hardmask (AHM) film, comprising”): a reactor 400 includes a process chamber 424 … The controller 428 executes machine-readable system control software stored in a mass storage device, loaded into memory device, and executed on processor so that the apparatus will perform a method in accordance with the present embodiments (Fig. 4, [0046], 2 nd and 6 th sentences, includes the claimed “a process chamber and one or more processors and memories configured for”): PECVD processes involve generating plasma in the deposition chamber. As described further below with reference to FIG. 2 ([0019], 2nd sentence), a wafer support 418 holds a substrate 416 ([0047]), The method 200 begins by providing a substrate in a chamber in operation 202 ([0027], 2 nd sentence, includes the claimed “receiving a substrate in a process chamber”); The substrate is then exposed to a process gas including a hydrocarbon precursor in operation 204 ([0027], 6 th sentence), In addition to hydrocarbon precursors, a carrier gas may be used to dilute the precursor gas flow ([0028], 2 nd sentence), An AHM was deposited on a dielectric film on a substrate using C 2 H 2 as a precursor and N 2 and He as carrier gases ([0052], includes the claimed “exposing the substrate to a process gas comprising a hydrocarbon precursor gas and inert gas”); Provided are novel methods of depositing ashable hard masks (AHMs) by plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition (PECVD) that decrease stress levels and increase etch selectivity for use in semiconductor processing ([0003]), includes the claimed “and depositing on the substrate an AHM film by a plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition (PECVD) process”), in operation 206, an ashable hard mask is deposited on the substrate by a PECVD process by igniting plasma using a dual RF plasma source that includes a low frequency (LF) component and a high frequency (HF) component ([0033], includes the claimed “wherein the process comprises: igniting a plasma generated by a dual radio frequency (RF) plasma source including a high frequency (HF) component and a low frequency (LF) component”); Next, in operation 208, the LF power is pulsed while HF power is constant ([0034], includes the claimed “a power of the HF component is constant during deposition, and a power of the LF component is pulsed”). ‘908 does not teach the other limitations of: Claim 2: wherein the LF power has an on period for a duration of between about 200 microseconds and about 300 microseconds. Claim 8: wherein the LF power is between about 3500 W and about 6500 W per 300 mm wafer. ‘908 also teaches that Duty cycle (the fraction of time during which the LF is on or at high power) for LF pulsing ranges from about 10% to about 70%. In various embodiments, the LF power is pulsed at a frequency of between about 2 Hz and about 10 Hz. In some embodiments, the LF power is pulsed at a frequency of at least about 10 Hz, or at least about 20 Hz, or at least about 100 Hz, or at least about 200 Hz ([0035]). At 200 Hz and 10% duty cycle has 500 microseconds on period, very close to the claimed 300 microseconds. ‘493 is an analogous art in the field of Pulsed PECVD Method For Modulating Hydrogen Content In Hard Mask (title), the plasma power is also pulse modulated (col. 2, line 15). ‘493 teaches that LF power of 0 to 5000 W (col. 9, line 18), Other deposition process parameters, including plasma power, carrier gas flow and chamber pressure, may also be pulsed or modulated. The pulse characteristics can be varied by varying the pulse repetition frequency (frequency of turning the pulse ON and OFF) and duty cycle (fraction of time during which the precursor pulse is ON) (col. 4, lines 60-66), for the purpose of low hydrogen content (col. 1, lines 42-45). Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have adopted LF power up to 5000 W and varying the pulse frequency and duty cycle, as taught by ‘493, to the method of ‘908, for the purpose of low hydrogen content, as taught by ‘493 (col. 1, lines 42-45). ‘908 further teaches the limitations of: Claims 3-5: An AHM was deposited on a dielectric film on a substrate using C 2 H 2 as a precursor and N 2 and He as carrier gases ([0052], includes the claimed “wherein the hydrocarbon precursor gas comprises compounds having a molecular weight of at most about 50 g/mol” of claim 3, “wherein the hydrocarbon precursor gas comprises compounds having a C:H ratio of at least 0.5” of claim 4, and “wherein the hydrocarbon precursor gas comprises acetylene (C 2 H 2 )” of claim 5). Claim 7: Low frequency RF power refers to an RF power having a frequency between about 100 kHz and about 2 MHz ([0033], 3 rd sentence, includes the claimed “wherein the LF power is provided at a frequency of less than or equal to about 2 MHz”). Claims 9-10: In some embodiments, the LF power is pulsed at a frequency of at least about 10 Hz, or at least about 20 Hz, or at least about 100 Hz, or at least about 200 Hz ([0035], last sentence, includes the claimed “wherein the LF power is pulsed at a frequency of at least about 100 Hz” of claim 9 and “wherein the LF power is pulsed at a frequency between about 100 Hz and about 1000 Hz” of claim 10). Claim 14: The various embodiments may be implemented on a multi-station or single station tool ([0044], 4 th sentence, includes the claimed “wherein the process is performed in a multi-station reactor”). Claim 15: In some embodiments, the deposited AHM has a modulus to stress ratio of 1:1. In some embodiments, the modulus of the deposited AHM is about 70 GPa and a stress is about -80 MPa ([0041], includes the claimed “wherein an internal stress of the AHM film is at most about −1400 MPa”). Claim 18: the deposited AHMs have a hydrogen content of about 18%. In some embodiments, the deposited AHMs have a hydrogen content less than about 15%, less than about 10%, or less than about 5% ([0040], last sentence, includes the claimed “wherein a hydrogen concentration of the AHM film is at most about 25 atomic percent”). Claim 20: Examples of flow rates used for four 300 mm substrates are between about 200 sccm and about 4,000 sccm of acetylene, between about 1,000 sccm and about 20,000 sccm of hydrogen, and between about 1000 sccm and about 20,000 sccm of helium ([0030], last sentence, including the claimed “wherein the inert gas is helium, substantially without any other inert gas”). Claim 21: In operation 104, a photoresist layer is deposited, exposed, and developed in accordance with the desired etch pattern (Fig. 1, [0020]), In operation 106, the AHM is opened by etching the exposed portions of the AHM ([0021]), Next, in operation 108, the substrate layer is selectively etched to transfer the pattern to the substrate layer ([0022], includes the claimed “wherein the one or more processors and memories are further configured for patterning the AHM film and etching the patterned AHM film to define features of the AHM film in the substrate”). ‘908 further teaches the limitations of: Claim 6: Total pressure in the deposition chamber may range from between about 1 and about 20 Torr. In some embodiments, pressure is between about 5 Torr and about 10 Torr. In some embodiments, the hydrocarbon precursor is introduced at a low partial pressure, e.g., between about 0.01 Torr and about 4 Torr ([0029], includes the claimed “wherein the hydrocarbon precursor has a partial pressure between about 1-2% of the process gas”, overlapping in range, see MPEP 2144.05). Claims 11-12: Duty cycle (the fraction of time during which the LF is on or at high power) for LF pulsing ranges from about 10% to about 70% ([0035], includes the claimed “wherein the LF power duty cycle is between about 10% and about 50%” of claim 11 and “wherein the LF power duty cycle is between about 60% and about 75%”, overlapping in range). Claim 16: In some embodiments, the deposited AHM has a modulus to stress ratio of 1:1. In some embodiments, the modulus of the deposited AHM is about 70 GPa and a stress is about -80 MPa ([0041], includes the claimed “wherein a modulus of the AHM film is at least about 80 GPa” 1:1 ratio relative to 80 MPa is 80 Gpa). Claim 17: Current methods to form AHMs use continuous wave RF power plasma in a PECVD process. Using continuous wave RF power results in continuous ion bombardment, which increases film density ([0025], obvious to increase the density of AHM to “wherein a density of the AHM film is at least about 1.5 g/cm 3 ”) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘908 and ‘493, as being applied to claim 2 rejection above, further in view of Wu et al. (US 7781351, hereafter ‘351) . ‘908 further teaches some limitations of: Claim 19: wherein the process chamber has a pedestal and a showerhead, and a gap between the pedestal and the showerhead is less than about 20 mm while depositing the AHM film. ([0046]), a wafer support 418 holds a substrate 416 ([0047], includes the clamed “wherein the process chamber has a pedestal and a showerhead”). The combination of ‘908 and ‘493 does not teach the limitations of: Claim 19: (wherein the process chamber has a pedestal and a showerhead), and a gap between the pedestal and the showerhead is less than about 20 mm while depositing the AHM film. ‘351 is an analogous art in the field of igniting and maintaining a plasma using dual frequency radio frequency (RF) power (col. 3, lines 3-4), including C 2 H 2 (col. 3, line 39)ith various hydrocarbons (col. 1, lines 32-33). ‘351 teaches that the separation gap between the showerhead and the block is maintained at a distance of between about 5 mm and 100 mm (claim 13 of ‘351). Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have adopted a separation gap between the pedestal and the showerhead at 5 mm, as taught by ‘351, to the apparatus of ‘908, for its suitability with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07 . Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 05/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regarding to 112 rejection, see the upper portion of page 5, Applicants’ amendment addressed some issues but failed to address one issue as shown in the 112(b) rejection above in this OC. In regarding to 35 USC 103 rejection over Reddy ‘908 and Subramonium ‘493, Applicants argue the claim range is a critical range that achieves unexpected results by increasing mean ion energy while maintaining a low mean density, see the middle of page 6. This argument is found not persuasive. The entire quote of the Specification for this result is ‘ fast pulsing frequency and low duty cycle , resulting in a short LF “on time” allows the plasma to increase the peak ion energy while maintaining a low mean ion density’ ([0038]). Furthermore, Applicants’ disclosure includes “Certain embodiments use relatively fast (greater than 100 Hz at 25% duty cycle) LF pulsing” [0039]. This range is already taught by ‘908. ‘908 teaches: Duty cycle (the fraction of time during which the LF is on or at high power) for LF pulsing ranges from about 10% to about 70%. In various embodiments, the LF power is pulsed at a frequency of between about 2 Hz and about 10 Hz. In some embodiments, the LF power is pulsed at a frequency of at least about 10 Hz, or at least about 20 Hz, or at least about 100 Hz , or at least about 200 Hz ([0035]). Furthermore, At 200 Hz and 10% duty cycle has 500 microseconds on period, very close to the claimed 300 microseconds. The advantage Applicants asserted as unexpected results from [0038], however, Applicants’ claim of 100 Hz (claim 9) and duty cycle 10%-75% (claims 11-12) does not necessarily falls into the amended “wherein the LF power has an on period for a duration of between about 200 microseconds and about 300 microseconds”. Still furthermore, “to increase the peak ion energy while maintaining a low mean ion density” as described in [0038] is a qualitative statement. There is no definite unexpected result in either peak ion energy or ion density that is demonstrated from 500 microseconds to 300 microseconds. Operating at higher than 200 Hz pulse frequency is well-known in the arts and cited in conclusion below . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 8969212 is cited for “Pulse frequencies between 50 Hz and 5 kHz were found to be particularly effective …” (col. 8, lines 54-55). US 20130222055 is cited for RF pulse (typically in the range of 1 kHz-10 kHz) ([0010]) . Applicants’ submitted IDS, US 7981777, is cited for “Methods Of Depositing Stable And Hermetic Ashable Hardmask Films” (title). Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KEATH T CHEN whose telephone number is (571)270-1870. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30am-5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Parviz Hassanzadeh can be reached at 571-272-1435. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KEATH T CHEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/493,614 Page 2 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/493,614 Page 3 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/493,614 Page 4 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/493,614 Page 5 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/493,614 Page 6 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/493,614 Page 7 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/493,614 Page 8 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/493,614 Page 9 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/493,614 Page 10 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/493,614 Page 11 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/493,614 Page 12 Art Unit: 1716