Election/Restrictions
Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/3/2026. Applicant has elected Group I, corresponding to claims 1-16. The examiner also acknowledges new claims 21-24, which pertain to this same elected invention Group I.
Next, the examiner acknowledges the applicant’s cancellation of claims 17-20.
Finally, Invention Group II, corresponding to the canceled claims 17-20, is withdrawn from further consideration.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 12: conformally forming a first spacer layer to cover the first fin portion, the second fin portion, the first gate structure, and the second gate structure; and
forming a pair of spacers to laterally cover vertical portions of the first spacer layer, which laterally cover one of the first gate structure and the second gate structure.
Claim 13: conformally forming a second spacer layer on the first spacer layer;
removing horizontal portions of the second spacer layer by an etching process to form a plurality of the spacers laterally covering the vertical portions of the first spacer layer, which laterally cover the first gate structure and the second gate structure;
forming a patterned photoresist layer to cover the spacers laterally covering the vertical portions of the first spacer layer, which laterally cover the first gate structure;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 12-13, the applicant recites “a pair of spacers” and “a plurality of spacers” and “removing the spacer” however it is unclear whether these spacers are distinct features, or what spacer is being removed (in claim 13).
For the sake of compact prosecution, the examiner presumes that the spacers are distinct, and claim 12 “pair of spacers” refers to the features 541b and 541c in Fig. 29, and the claim 13 “plurality of spacers” refers to 542’ in Fig. 30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Thei (US # 20190081041).
Regarding Claim 1, Thei (US # 20190081041) teaches a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device (see Figs. 3-15 and corresponding text), comprising:
forming a first fin portion (corresponds to structure in region 103) and a second fin portion (corresponds to structure in region 102) on a semiconductor substrate (106; [0017] describes these transistors as being fin-type FETs), the first fin portion and the second fin portion being spaced apart from each other (space is shown between the features); and
forming a first gate dielectric layer (302, 502) and a second gate dielectric layer (502 only) on the first fin portion and the second fin portion, respectively, the first gate dielectric layer having a first thickness (larger), the second gate dielectric layer having a second thickness (smaller) different from the first thickness.
Regarding Claim 2, Thei teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein formation of the first gate dielectric layer and the second gate dielectric layer includes:
forming a first dielectric material film (302) to cover the first fin portion and the second fin portion (see Fig. 3);
forming a patterned photoresist layer (see Fig. 4; [0021]) to cover a portion of the first dielectric material film on the first fin portion (resist is described, but not shown in the figure);
removing a remaining portion of the first dielectric material film (302 is removed) exposed from the patterned photoresist layer so as to form a first gate dielectric film (302) on the first fin portion (this is necessary to get the final gate dielectric configuration);
removing the patterned photoresist layer (described in the final sentence of [0021] but not shown); and
forming a second gate dielectric film (502) on the first gate dielectric film and the second fin portion, so as to form the first gate dielectric layer (302+502) on the first fin portion and the second gate dielectric layer (502 only) on the second fin portion, the first gate dielectric layer including the first gate dielectric film and a first portion of the second gate dielectric film disposed on the first gate dielectric film (shown), the second gate dielectric layer including a second portion of the second gate dielectric film (shown), the first thickness of the first gate dielectric layer being greater than the second thickness of the second gate dielectric layer (shown).
Regarding Claim 14, Chen teaches the same essential features here as recited in claim 1.
Claims 1 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen (US # 20240347588).
Regarding Claim 1, Chen (US # 20240347588) teaches a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device (see Figs. 1-11 and corresponding text), comprising:
forming a first fin portion (20, especially see Fig. 5) and a second fin portion (22) on a semiconductor substrate (12), the first fin portion and the second fin portion being spaced apart from each other (shown spaced by isolation features 50); and
forming a first gate dielectric layer (42) and a second gate dielectric layer (48) on the first fin portion and the second fin portion, respectively, the first gate dielectric layer having a first thickness, the second gate dielectric layer having a second thickness different from the first thickness ([0019, 22]; thickness of the gate dielectric layer 42 on the HV region 14 is greater than the thickness of the gate dielectric layer 48 on the MV region 16).
Regarding Claim 11, Chen teaches the same essential features here as recited in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 14, Chen teaches the same essential features here as recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3-6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US # 20240347588) in view of Crowder (US # 20030094660) and Ting (US # 20200357802).
Regarding Claim 3, although Chen discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein formation of the first gate dielectric layer and the second gate dielectric layer includes:
forming a patterned photoresist layer to cover the first fin portion;
treating the second fin portion with a fluorine doping process;
removing the patterned photoresist layer; and
forming a gate dielectric material film on the first fin portion and the second fin portion, so as to form the first gate dielectric layer on the first fin portion and the second gate dielectric layer on the second fin portion, the first thickness of the first gate dielectric layer being less than the second thickness of the second gate dielectric layer.
Nonetheless the prior art at the time the application was filed renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Crowder (US # 20030094660) is in the same or analogous field, and it teaches a method wherein formation of a first gate dielectric layer and a second gate dielectric layer includes:
forming a patterned photoresist layer (6) to cover a first transistor portion (see Fig. 1);
treating a second portion with a halogen-type doping process (Cl or Br implant, as opposed to fluorine);
removing the patterned photoresist layer ([0033]); and
forming a gate dielectric material film (see Fig. 4, features 4, 5) on the first fin portion (4) and the second fin portion (5), so as to form a first thickness of the first gate dielectric layer being less than the second thickness of the second gate dielectric layer (feature 4 is thicker than feature 5).
As a second example, Ting (US # 20200357802) also teaches a method of forming transistors, including the modifying of the growth rates of oxide growth using ions, such as nitrogen (decrease oxide growth rate) and fluorine implants (increase oxide growth rate; see [0024]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the gate dielectric formation of Chen with the implantation techniques suggested by Crowder and Ting would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Crowder and Ting would be to employ a method as claimed in claim 1, wherein formation of the first gate dielectric layer and the second gate dielectric layer includes: forming a patterned photoresist layer to cover the first fin portion; treating the second fin portion with a fluorine doping process; removing the patterned photoresist layer; and forming a gate dielectric material film on the first fin portion and the second fin portion, so as to form the first gate dielectric layer on the first fin portion and the second gate dielectric layer on the second fin portion, the first thickness of the first gate dielectric layer being less than the second thickness of the second gate dielectric layer. The rationale for this obvious modification is that the ion implantation reduces the number of photoresist masks and associated removal steps. This would have been apparent to a person having ordinary skill in the art in reading both references because the existence and benefits of modulating dielectric thicknesses are well known in the art (see MPEP 2144.01).
Regarding Claim 4, Ting, as applied to claim 3, teaches a method as claimed in claim 3, wherein the fluorine doping process is conducted by implantation or thermal diffusion ([0024]).
Regarding Claim 5, Crowder, as applied to claim 3, teaches the method wherein the doping process is conducted by implantation at an energy ranging from 1 KeV to 400 KeV ([0030]). And Ting, as applied to claim 3 and 4, teaches that the implanted halogen ion is also fluorine. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to use fluorine, since it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill. In re Leshing, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) and Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Regarding Claim 6, Crowder, as applied to claim 3, teaches the method wherein the doping process is conducted by implantation at a dose ranging from 1x 1010 atoms/cm2 to 1x1016 atoms/cm2 ([0030]). And Ting, as applied to claim 3 and 4, teaches that the implanted halogen ion is also fluorine. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to use fluorine, since it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill. In re Leshing, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) and Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Regarding Claim 15, Chen teaches the same essential features here as recited in claim 3.
Claim 7-10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US # 20240347588) in view of Crowder (US # 20030094660).
Regarding Claim 7, although Chen discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein formation of the first gate dielectric layer and the second gate dielectric layer includes:
forming a patterned photoresist layer to cover the first fin portion;
treating the second fin portion with a nitrogen doping process;
removing the patterned photoresist layer; and
forming a gate dielectric material film on the first fin portion and the second fin portion, so as to form the first gate dielectric layer on the first fin portion and the second gate dielectric layer on the second fin portion, the first thickness of the first gate dielectric layer being greater than the second thickness of the second gate dielectric layer.
Nonetheless the prior art at the time the application was filed renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Crowder (US # 20030094660) is in the same or analogous field, and it teaches a method wherein a formation of a first gate dielectric layer (discussed below) and a second gate dielectric layer (discussed below) includes:
forming a patterned photoresist layer (7) to cover a first fin portion (right side, see Fig. 2);
treating a second fin portion (left side) with a nitrogen doping process ([0034]; see Fig. 2);
removing the patterned photoresist layer ([0037]); and
forming a gate dielectric material film on the first fin portion and the second fin portion (4 and 5, respectively), so as to form the first gate dielectric layer (4) on the first fin portion and the second gate dielectric layer (5) on the second fin portion, the first thickness of the first gate dielectric layer being greater than the second thickness of the second gate dielectric layer (shown in Fig. 4).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the gate dielectric formation of Chen with the ion implantations suggested by Crowder would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Crowder would be to employ a method as claimed in claim 1, wherein formation of the first gate dielectric layer and the second gate dielectric layer includes: forming a patterned photoresist layer to cover the first fin portion; treating the second fin portion with a nitrogen doping process; removing the patterned photoresist layer; and forming a gate dielectric material film on the first fin portion and the second fin portion, so as to form the first gate dielectric layer on the first fin portion and the second gate dielectric layer on the second fin portion, the first thickness of the first gate dielectric layer being greater than the second thickness of the second gate dielectric layer. The rationale for this obvious modification is that ion implantation reduces the number of photoresist masks and associated removal steps. This would have been apparent to a person having ordinary skill in the art in reading both references because the existence and benefits of modulating dielectric thicknesses are well known in the art (see MPEP 2144.01).
Regarding Claim 8, Crowder, as applied to claim 7, teaches the method as claimed in claim 7, wherein the nitrogen doping process is conducted by implantation or thermal diffusion ([0034]).
Regarding Claim 9, Crowder, as applied to claim 8, teaches the method as claimed in claim 8, wherein the nitrogen doping process is conducted by implantation at an energy ranging from 1 KeV to 400 KeV ([0034]).
Regarding Claim 10, Crowder, as applied to claim 8, teaches the method as claimed in claim 8, wherein the nitrogen doping process is conducted by implantation at a dose ranging from 1x 1010 atoms/cm2 to 1x1016 atoms/cm2. ([0034]).
Regarding Claim 16, Chen teaches the same essential features here as recited in claim 7.
Claim 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US # 20240347588) in view of Ching (US # 20210043626).
Regarding Claim 21, the same scope and explanation of claim 1 essentially applies to most of the limitations here.
Although Chen discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the method including a step of annealing one of the first gate dielectric layer and a second gate dielectric layer.
Nonetheless the prior art at the time the application was filed renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Ching is in the same or analogous field, and it teaches a method ([0046]) including a step of annealing one of the first gate dielectric layer and a second gate dielectric layer ([0046]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the dielectric formation of Chen with the annealing step suggested by Ching would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Ching would be to employ a method including a step of annealing one of the first gate dielectric layer and a second gate dielectric layer. The rationale for this obvious modification is that an annealing step improves the material quality, such as increasing the material density and reducing the defects.
Claim 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US # 20240347588) in view of Ching (US # 20210043626), Crowder (US # 20030094660), and Ting (US # 20200357802).
Regarding Claim 23, Chen teaches the same essential features here as recited in claim 3.
Regarding Claim 24, Chen teaches the same essential features here as recited in claim 7.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US # 20240347588) in view of Ching (US # 20210043626) and further in view of King (US # 20040110337).
Regarding Claim 22, although Chen discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the method as claimed in claim 21, wherein the one of the first gate dielectric layer and a second gate dielectric layer is annealed at a temperature ranging from 500 °C to 1600 °C.
Nonetheless the prior art at the time the application was filed renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, King is in the same or analogous field, and it teaches a method of annealing a gate dielectric (1040) at a temperature ranging from 500 °C to 1600 °C ([0182]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the anneal of Chen in view of Ching with the temperature range suggested by King would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by King would be to employ a method as claimed in claim 21, wherein the one of the first gate dielectric layer and a second gate dielectric layer is annealed at a temperature ranging from 500 °C to 1600 °C. The rationale for this obvious modification is that this annealing provides healing to any damage to the gate insulator ([0181]).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A JOHNSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899