Acknowledgement
The applicant’s most recent amendment, filed on 07/31/2026, has been entered into the record. The present Office action is made with all the suggested amendments being fully considered; the pending claims are 1-12, 15, and 21-27.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to all pending claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current grounds of rejection.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following features must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 12: conformally forming a first spacer layer to cover the first fin portion, the second fin portion, the first gate structure, and the second gate structure; and forming a pair of spacers to laterally cover vertical portions of the first spacer layer, which laterally cover one of the first gate structure and the second gate structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11, 12, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ching (US # 20210043626).
Regarding Claim 1, Ching teaches a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device, comprising:
forming a first fin portion (104, I/O device) and a second fin portion (104, core device) on a semiconductor substrate (102), the first fin portion and the second fin portion being spaced apart from each other by an isolation portion (116 in trench 502);
and depositing a first gate dielectric layer (802 of 114B) and a second gate dielectric layer (high-k dielectric of 114B) on the first fin portion and the second fin portion (see Figs. 15 and corresponding text), respectively, the first gate dielectric layer having a first thickness, the second gate dielectric layer having a second thickness different from the first thickness ([0028, 46]),
wherein the first gate dielectric layer covers an upper surface and a sidewall of the first fin portion, and the second gate dielectric layer covers an upper surface and a sidewall of the second fin portion ([0027, 46, 62]).
Regarding Claim 11, Ching teaches a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device,
comprising:
forming a first fin portion (104 in I/O region) and a second fin portion (104 in core-device region) on a semiconductor substrate (102), the first fin portion and the second fin portion extending in a first direction (X-direction; [0028]) parallel to an upper surface of the semiconductor substrate, and being spaced apart from each other in a second direction (Y-direction; see Fig. 1) parallel to the upper surface of the semiconductor substrate and different from the first direction (shown);
depositing a first gate dielectric layer (802 of 114B) and a second gate dielectric layer (high-k dielectric of 114B) on the first fin portion and the second fin portion, respectively, the first gate dielectric layer having a first thickness, the second gate dielectric layer having a second thickness different from the first thickness ([0028, 46]); and
forming a first gate structure (114B) and a second gate structure (114A) on the first fin portion, the second fin portion, or each of the first fin portion and the second fin portion, each of the first gate structure and the second gate structure including a gate dielectric ([0062]), which is formed by patterning a corresponding one of the first gate dielectric layer and the second gate dielectric layer ([0060]),
wherein the first gate dielectric layer covers an upper surface and a sidewall of the first fin portion ([0046]; and see Fig. 8), and the second gate dielectric layer covers an upper surface and a sidewall of the second fin portion ([0061-62]).
Regarding Claim 12, insofar as the claim scope can be ascertained in view of the 35 USC 112 rejections and/or claim objections above, Ching teaches the method as claimed in claim 11, further comprising:
conformally forming a first spacer layer (1002A) to cover the first fin portion, the second fin portion, the first gate structure, and the second gate structure; and
forming a pair of spacers (1002B) to laterally cover vertical portions of the first spacer layer, which laterally cover one of the first gate structure and the second gate structure.
Regarding Claim 21, Ching teaches the method for manufacturing a semiconductor device,
comprising:
forming a first fin portion (104 in I/O region 106) and a second fin portion (104 in I/O core-device region 108) on a semiconductor substrate (102), the first fin portion and the second fin portion being spaced apart from each other (shown);
depositing a first gate dielectric layer (114B) and a second gate dielectric layer (114A) on the first fin portion and the second fin portion, respectively, the first gate dielectric layer having a first thickness, the second gate dielectric layer having a second thickness different from the first thickness ([0028, 46]); and
annealing one of the first gate dielectric layer and the second gate dielectric layer ([0046]),
wherein the first gate dielectric layer covers an upper surface and a sidewall of the first fin portion ([0046]), and the second gate dielectric layer covers an upper surface and a sidewall of the second fin portion ([0062]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 7-10, 15, 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ching (US # 20210043626) in view of Crowder (US # 20030094660).
Regarding Claim 2, Ching teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein deposition of the first gate dielectric layer and the second gate dielectric layer includes:
depositing a first dielectric material film (802) to cover the first fin portion, the isolation portion, and the second fin portion ([0046]);
forming a patterned photoresist layer (1406) to cover a portion of the first dielectric material film on the first fin portion ([0060]);
removing a remaining portion of the first dielectric material film exposed from the patterned photoresist layer ([0060]) so as to form a first gate dielectric film (802 remainder on I/O region) on the first fin portion, the first gate dielectric film including a first portion that covers a part of an upper surface of the isolation portion, a second portion that covers the upper surface of the first fin portion, and a third portion that connects the first portion and the second portion and that laterally covers the sidewall of the first fin portion (802 covers across the top of STI 116 and the fins);
depositing a second gate dielectric film (114; [0062]) on the first gate dielectric film, the isolation portion, and the second fin portion, so as to form the first gate dielectric layer on the first fin portion and the second gate dielectric layer on the second fin portion (114B), the first gate dielectric layer including the first gate dielectric film and a first portion of the second gate dielectric film disposed on the first gate dielectric film, the second gate dielectric layer including a second portion of the second gate dielectric film, the first thickness of the first gate dielectric layer being greater than the second thickness of the second gate dielectric layer ([0046]).
Although Ching discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the method steps comprising removing the patterned photoresist layer.
Nonetheless the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Crowder is in the same or analogous field, and it teaches a set of method steps comprising removing the patterned photoresist layer ([0033, 37]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the method steps of Ching with the step suggested by Crowder would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Crowder would be to employ a set of method steps comprising removing the patterned photoresist layer. The rationale for this obvious modification is that removing the photoresist provides space and interfaces for the other parts of the device ([0033]). This would have been apparent to a person having ordinary skill in the art in reading both references because the existence and benefits of photo-resist-removal are well known in the art (see MPEP 2144.01).
Regarding Claim 7, although Ching discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein formation of the first gate dielectric layer and the second gate dielectric layer includes:
forming a patterned photoresist layer to cover the first fin portion;
treating the second fin portion with a nitrogen doping process;
removing the patterned photoresist layer; and
depositing a gate dielectric material film on the first fin portion and the second fin portion, so as to simultaneously form the first gate dielectric layer and the second gate dielectric layer on the first fin portion and the second fin portion, respectively, the first thickness of the first gate dielectric layer being greater than the second thickness of the second gate dielectric layer.
Nonetheless the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Crowder is in the same or analogous field, and it teaches masking with a patterned photoresist (7; [0033]), implanting nitrogen into the unmaked region ([0034]), stripping the resist ([0037]); forming the dielectric in a single step, the nitrogen-implanted region receiving the thinner layer because nitrogen “retards the subsequent thermal oxidation rate” ([0019, 36]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the method steps of Ching with the masked I/O fin suggested by Crowder would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by masked the I/O fin, implanted nitrogen into the exposed portion of the fin, stripped the mask, and formed the gate dielectric because the implant then allows for different thicknesses with fewer method steps ([0017, 38]).
Regarding Claim 8, Crowder, as applied to claim 7, teaches the method as claimed wherein the nitrogen doping process is conducted by implantation or thermal diffusion ([0034]).
Regarding Claim 9, Crowder, as applied to claim 8, teaches the method as claimed wherein the nitrogen doping process is conducted by implantation at an energy ranging from 1 KeV to 400 KeV ([0034-35]).
Regarding Claim 10, Crowder, as applied to claim 8, teaches the method as claimed in claim 8, wherein the nitrogen doping process is conducted by implantation at a dose ranging from 1x 1010 atoms/cm2 to 1x1016 atoms/cm2 ([0034-35]).
Regarding Claim 15, although Ching discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the method as claimed in claim 11, wherein formation of the first gate dielectric layer and the second gate dielectric layer includes:
forming a patterned photoresist layer to cover the first fin portion;
treating the second fin portion with one of a fluorine doping process and a nitrogen doping process;
removing the patterned photoresist layer; and
depositing a gate dielectric material film on the first fin portion and the second fin portion, so as to integrally form the first gate dielectric layer on the first fin portion and the second gate dielectric layer on the first fin portion and the second fin portion, respectively.
Nonetheless the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Crowder is in the same or analogous field, and it teaches a method as claimed wherein formation of a first gate dielectric layer and a second gate dielectric layer includes:
forming a patterned photoresist layer to cover a device region ([0033]);
treating a second fin portion with one of a fluorine doping process and a nitrogen doping process ([0034] describes halogen implant);
removing a patterned photoresist layer ([0037]); and
depositing a gate dielectric material film with multiple thicknesses ([0036-38]).
The sequence of the doping steps may be reversed ([0028]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the method steps of Ching with the masked I/O fin suggested by Crowder would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by masked the I/O fin, implanted nitrogen into the exposed portion of the fin, stripped the mask, and formed the gate dielectric because the implant then allows for different thicknesses with fewer method steps ([0017, 38]).
Regarding Claim 24, Ching teaches the method as claimed in claim 21, wherein the first thickness of the first gate dielectric layer is greater than the second thickness of the second gate dielectric layer ([0046, 60]),
Although Ching discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the method wherein the second fin portion is doped with a plurality of nitrogen ions.
Nonetheless the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Crowder is in the same or analogous field, and it teaches a method wherein an unmasked region is doped with a plurality of nitrogen ions ([0034, 36, 38]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the dielectric formation steps of Ching with the nitrogen-ion doping suggested by Crowder would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Crowder would be to employ a method wherein the second fin portion is doped with a plurality of nitrogen ions. The rationale for this obvious modification is that the ion implant then allows for different dielectric thicknesses with fewer method steps ([0017, 38]).
Regarding Claim 25, Ching teaches the method as claimed in claim 2, wherein the second portion of the second gate dielectric film (114A portion in the core-gate-trench) includes a first part ([0062]) that covers a remaining part of the upper surface of the isolation portion, a second part that covers the upper surface of the second fin portion, and a third part that connects the first part of the second gate dielectric film and the second part of the second gate dielectric film and that laterally covers the sidewall of the second fin portion ([0027] raised channel 112).
Regarding Claim 26, although Ching discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the method as claimed in claim 11, wherein the first gate dielectric layer and the second gate dielectric layer are simultaneously deposited to form a continuous layer structure.
Nonetheless the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Crowder is in the same or analogous field, and it teaches a method wherein an unmasked region is doped with a plurality of nitrogen ions such that two dielectric features are simultaneously deposited to form a continuous layer structure ([0034, 36, 38]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the dielectric formation steps of Ching with the continuous layer structure suggested by Crowder would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Crowder would be to employ a method as claimed in claim 11, wherein the first gate dielectric layer and the second gate dielectric layer are simultaneously deposited to form a continuous layer structure. The rationale for this obvious modification is that the ion implant then allows for different dielectric thicknesses along a continuous layer, which results in fewer method steps ([0017, 38]).
Claims 3-6 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ching (US # 20210043626) in view of Crowder (US # 20030094660), and Ting (US # 20200357802).
Regarding Claim 3, although Ching discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein formation of the first gate dielectric layer and the second gate dielectric layer includes: forming a patterned photoresist layer to cover the first fin portion; treating the second fin portion with a fluorine doping process; removing the patterned photoresist layer; and depositing a gate dielectric material film on the first fin portion and the second fin portion, so as to simultaneously form the first gate dielectric layer and the second gate dielectric layer on the first fin portion and the second fin portion, respectively, the first thickness of the first gate dielectric layer being less than the second thickness of the second gate dielectric layer.
Nonetheless the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Crowder teaches masking a first region with patterned photoresist ([0029]), implanting a growth-rate modifying species into the unmasked region ([0030]), removing the photoresist ([0033]), and forming a dielectric layer that has multiple thicknesses ([0038]). Ting teaches a fluorine implant may be performed to increase oxide growth ([0024]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the method steps of Ching with the masking and implant steps suggested by Crowder and Ting would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Crowder and Ting would be to employ a method as claimed in claim 1, wherein formation of the first gate dielectric layer and the second gate dielectric layer includes: forming a patterned photoresist layer to cover the first fin portion; treating the second fin portion with a fluorine doping process; removing the patterned photoresist layer; and depositing a gate dielectric material film on the first fin portion and the second fin portion, so as to simultaneously form the first gate dielectric layer and the second gate dielectric layer on the first fin portion and the second fin portion, respectively, the first thickness of the first gate dielectric layer being less than the second thickness of the second gate dielectric layer. The rationale for this obvious modification is that fluorine-treated fins provide greater thickness and makes it possible to decrease the number of steps for forming the dielectrics with different thicknesses ([0017, 38]).
Regarding Claim 4, Crowder and Ting, as applied to claim 3, teaches the method wherein the fluorine doping process is conducted by implantation or thermal diffusion (Crowther [0030] and Ting [0024]).
Regarding Claim 5, Crowder, as applied to claim 4, teaches the method as claimed in claim 4, wherein the fluorine doping process is conducted by implantation at an energy ranging from 1 KeV to 400 KeV ([0030-31]).
Regarding Claim 6, Crowder, as applied to claim 4, teaches the method as claimed in claim 4, wherein the fluorine doping process is conducted by implantation at a dose ranging from 1x 1010 atoms/cm2 to 1x1016 atoms/cm2 ([0030]).
Regarding Claim 23, although Ching discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the method as claimed in claim 21, wherein the first thickness of the first gate dielectric layer is less than the second thickness of the second gate dielectric layer, and the second fin portion is doped with a plurality of fluorine ions.
Although Ching discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the method as claimed in claim 21, wherein the first thickness of the first gate dielectric layer is less than the second thickness of the second gate dielectric layer, and the second fin portion is doped with a plurality of fluorine ions.
Nonetheless the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Ting is in the same or analogous field, and it teaches a portion is doped with a plurality of fluorine ions ([0024]). Crowder teaches a method wherein the first thickness of the first gate dielectric layer is less than the second thickness of the second gate dielectric layer ([0030, 38]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the method steps of Ching with the dielectric formation steps suggested by Ting and Crowder would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Ting and Crowder would be to employ a method as claimed in claim 21, wherein the first thickness of the first gate dielectric layer is less than the second thickness of the second gate dielectric layer, and the second fin portion is doped with a plurality of fluorine ions. The rationale for this obvious modification is that implanted fluorine ions into the fin active region because it provides it affects the thickness of the gate dielectric layer and minimizes the number of method steps in the formation of a variety of gate-dielectric thicknesses.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ching (US # 20210043626) in view of King (US # 20040110337).
Regarding Claim 22, Ching teaches the method as claimed in claim 21, wherein the one of the first gate dielectric layer and the second gate dielectric layer is annealed ([0046])
Although Ching discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the gate dielectric method annealing at a temperature ranging from 500 °C to 1600 °C.
Nonetheless the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, King is in the same or analogous field, and it teaches a gate dielectric (1040) method annealing at a temperature ranging from 500°C to 1600°C ([0181-82]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the anneal temperature of Ching with the temperature suggested by King would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by King would be to employ a gate dielectric method annealing at a temperature ranging from 500 °C to 1600 °C. The rationale for this obvious modification is that this temperature range provides improved material quality, such as damage repair ([0046]).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ching (US # 20210043626) in view of Crowder (US # 20030094660), and further in view of Gardner (US # 5882993).
Regarding Claim 27, Crowder, as applied to claim 15, teaches the method as claimed in claim 15, wherein the one of the fluorine doping process and the nitrogen doping process (0034)
Although Ching in view of Crowder discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the method wherein the doping process is conducted by thermal diffusion.
Nonetheless the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Gardner is in the same or analogous field, and it teaches a method wherein the doping process is conducted by thermal diffusion (col. 5, lns. 46-52; col. 6, lns. 1-4; gate dielectric 118 is formed on top of that region after diffusion of nitrogen).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the halogen doping process of Ching in view of Crowder with the thermal diffusion process suggested by Gardner would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Gardner would be to employ a method wherein the doping process is conducted by thermal diffusion. The rationale for this obvious modification is that thermal diffusion provides the same growth-retarding species in the same mask-defined regions and may then produce the same differential in gate-dielectric thickness (col. 6, lns. 55-64). This would have been apparent to a person having ordinary skill in the art in reading both references because the existence and benefits of implantation and thermal diffusion are well known in the art (see MPEP 2144.01). These two techniques were art-recognized alternatives for accomplishing the identical purpose. See MPEP 2413(I)(B).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER A JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899