DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-12) in the reply filed on 3.12.2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3.12.2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamazaki (US 20160300853 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yamazaki discloses a display device comprising:
a first substrate (111/112/221) including first (top at 221) and second (bottom at 111) surfaces facing each other, and including at least one opening (132) penetrating the first and second surfaces (Fig. 2);
an inspection array (216; a 1x1 array and conductive per [0126] wherein applicant also discloses the inspection array ISA and parts ISL/ISP of Fig. 8 as conductive. Hence, 216 is a 1x1 inspection array. See MPEP 2111, 2112 and/or 2114) disposed on the first surface (top at 221) and exposed on the second surface (bottom at 111) by the opening (132, Fig. 2);
a pixel circuit layer disposed on the first surface and including at least one transistor (232) and an outer line (electrode of 252); and
a display element layer disposed on the pixel circuit layer and including a light emitting element (125) electrically connected to the transistor (Figs. 1B and 2),
wherein the inspection array (216) is electrically connected (via 224) to the outer line (electrode of 252, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Yamazaki discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein
the outer line (electrode of 252) is disposed on the inspection array (216) with an insulating layer (222) disposed between the outer line and the inspection array, and
the outer line is electrically connected to the inspection array through a contact hole (occupied by 224) penetrating the insulating layer (222, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Yamazaki discloses the display device of claim 2, wherein
the inspection array (216) includes an inspection pad (topmost surface thereof in a shape of a 2D plane abutting 224) and an inspection line (the remainder of the volume of 216 under the inspection pad) integral (one shape, as 216) with the inspection pad, and
the inspection array (216) is disposed on the first surface at a position corresponding to the opening (132, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Yamazaki discloses the display device of claim 3, wherein
the outer line (electrode of 252) extends on (indirectly) the insulating layer (222), and
the outer line is electrically connected to the inspection line (and inspection pad) through the contact hole (occupied by 224).
Regarding claim 6, Yamazaki discloses the display device of claim 4, wherein the outer line (electrode of 252) is not connected to another line except for the inspection array (216, Fig. 2; no other connection shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Yamazaki discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the first substrate (111/112/221) includes polyimide (in 111, [0113]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki (US 20160300853 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 20200168668 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Yamazaki discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the display element layer further includes:
a light emitting element layer (125/120) disposed on the pixel circuit layer and including the light emitting element (125, Figs. 1B and 2);
a color filter layer (266, [0194]) disposed on the
Yamazaki fails to disclose a color conversion layer disposed on the light emitting element layer and constructed and arranged to convert and output light emitted from the light emitting element; and a color filter layer disposed on the color conversion layer and constructed and arranged to selectively transmit the light converted by the color conversion layer.
Kim discloses (Fig. 2) a color conversion layer (351) disposed on the light emitting element layer (200) and constructed and arranged to convert and output light emitted (L3) from the light emitting element (230, [0089]); and a color filter layer (321) disposed on the color conversion layer (351) and constructed and arranged to selectively transmit the light converted by the color conversion layer (as L1, Fig. 2, [0089]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the layers of Kim in Yamazaki and arrive at the claimed invention before the effective filing date of the instant application so as to improve full-white luminance, realize neutral black reflection having no polarizing layer and/or correct reflected color coordinates changed by yellow reflection of white pixels (Kim, [0006-0008]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 7-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest (claim 5) the inspection pad includes: a first inspection pad electrically connected to a first side of the inspection line; and a second inspection pad electrically connected to a second side of the inspection line, and the inspection line has a shape that is bent at least once between the first inspection pad and the second inspection pad, and, (claim 7) further comprising: a first pad disposed on the first surface and exposed on the second surface through a through hole penetrating the first surface and the second surface, wherein the first pad is electrically insulated from the inspection array; claims 8-10 depend from claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20110309358 A1 to Kim et al. discloses (Fig. 1) test pads (150) on a bottom of a substrate (112).
US 20190280074 A1 to Li discloses (Fig. 2) a TFT array substrate (20) with a display area (AA) and a test arear (22).
/Andres Munoz/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818