DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 6-11 have been cancelled; claim 1 has been amended; and claims 1-5 are currently pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2016/00278899 A1, hereinafter “Kim”) in view of Huang et al. (US 2012/0289040 A1, hereinafter “Huang”).
In regards to claim 1, Kim discloses (See, for example, Fig. 11-14) a method for fabricating a radio-frequency (RF) device, comprising:
providing a substrate (202) having a core region (204) and a non-core region (206);
forming a shallow trench isolation (STI) (208L, See annotated Fig. 13 included below) in the substrate (202) between the core region (204) and the non-core region (206);
removing (See, for example, Par [0069], Fig. 13) the first gate oxide layer (210) on the core region (204);
wherein after removing (See, for example, annotated Fig. 13 included below) the first gate oxide layer (210) on the core region (204), a part (Shown as 208c, See annotated Fig. 13 included below) of the shallow trench isolation (208L, See annotated Fig. 13 included below) is still covered by the first gate oxide layer (210), and another part (208e, See annotated Fig. 13 included below) of the shallow trench isolation (208L) is exposed.
Kim is silent about
forming a first gate oxide layer on the core region and the non-core region;
forming a patterned mask on the non-core region and the STI;
forming a second gate oxide layer on the core region.
Huang while disclosing a semiconductor structure teaches (See, for example, Figs. 2-)
forming a first gate oxide layer (203) on the core region (210) and the non-core region (220);
forming a patterned mask on the non-core region and the STI (See, for example, Par [0015], and Fig. 4);
removing (See, Par [0015] and Fig. 4) the first gate oxide layer (203) on the core region (210); and
forming a second gate oxide layer (204) on the core region (210).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kim by Huang because having the method of Huang enhances device performance by improving the control over the surface roughness of the first dielectric layer in the non-core region by preventing damage of the first gate oxide layer in the non-core region during its removal from the core region.
In regards to claim 2, Kim as modified above discloses (See, for example, Figs. 12-13, Kim)
removing (See, Fig. 13) the first gate oxide layer (210) on the core region (204, Fig. 13) and part of the first gate oxide layer (210, Fig. 13) on the STI (208, Fig. 13);
forming the second gate oxide layer (220/222, Fig. 14) on the core region (204); and
forming a gate material layer (270, 230, See Par [0072] and Fig. 15) on the first gate oxide layer (262) and the second gate oxide layer (220/222).
In regards to claim 3, Kim as modified above discloses (See, for example, Fig. 15, Kim) the gate material layer comprises polysilicon (See, for example, Par [0072]).
In regards to claim 4, Kim as modified above discloses (See, for example, Fig. 16) a thickness of the second gate oxide layer (220/222) is less than a thickness of the first gate oxide layer (262).
In regards to claim 5, Kim as modified above discloses (See, for example, Fig. 2, Huang) the substrate (201) comprises a silicon-on-insulator (SOI) substrate (See, for example, Par [0010]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the new amendment in claim 1 has been considered and are addressed in the rejection stated above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/ERMIAS T WOLDEGEORGIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893