DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response filed on April 08, 2026. No Claims have been amended, added or canceled. Currently claims 1-4, and 7-22 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 9 filed on April 08, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reason is set forth below,
Regarding Claim 9, in the applicant’s arguments page 5, applicant stated “Liu et al. discloses: "FIGS. 3A and 3B depict the top substrate 200 and the bottom substrate 300 after an oxidation process is performed on the metal pads 205. In an embodiment, the metal pads are copper and the oxidation 209 and 309 forms copper oxide." (Liu et al. @ Col. 4, 11. 29-32). Additionally: "In FIGS. 4A and 4B, the substrates 200 and 300 are shown after an oxide etch is performed to remove the copper oxide layers from the substrates." (Liu et al. @ Col. 4, 11. 45-48, emphasis added). Therefore, in Liu et al., the top substrate 200 and the bottom substrate 303 especially the surfaces 208, 308 and the oxide layers 209 and 309, shown in FIGS. 3A and 3B, are not ready for hybrid bonding.”.
However, Liu et al. Fig. 3A, discloses that the electrodes are exposed to receive an electrical bond, and that upper surface is planar. This appears to satisfy the limitation of being prepared for hybrid bonding, as both electrode and insulator present a planar surface that is unobstructed by any other element, thus being in condition to receive a hybrid bond. The claim merely requires that the condition be that the structure is in condition to be bonded to... not that a bond already exists. Applicant's remarks regarding Figures not used in the rejection are moot, as the rejection is not based on those figures.
With regard to applicant's assertion that the rejection based upon an intermediate product, examiner has found the argument to be not persuasive, since the claim language itself describes an intermediate product (e.g. the "prepared for hybrid bonding" aspect)
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-8 of the remarks document, filed April 08, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection of claim 1 is made over Liu, Ping-Yin (US 8802538 B1) “Liu et al.” in view of (US 20140131874 A1) “Kagawa et al.”.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-10 of the remarks document, filed April 08, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 19 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection of claim 19 is made over Liu, Ping-Yin (US 8802538 B1) “Liu et al.” in view of (US 20240222315 A1) “Uzoh 2315”
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/18/2026 and 04/30/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner and made of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-12 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu, Ping-Yin (US 8802538 B1) “Liu et al.”.
Regarding Independent Claim 9, Liu et al. Figs. 2A-3B discloses a microelectronic structure for low temperature hybrid bonding, comprising:
a first bonding layer (“a top substrate 200” Column 4, Lines 12-13) having a first upper surface (“The surface of dielectric 207 forms a bonding surface 208” Column 4, Lines 20-21), prepared for hybrid bonding (“a hybrid bonding process” Column 2, Line 55), the first bonding layer comprising:
a first conductive feature (“metal pads 205” Column 4 line 19), the first conductive feature having a metal oxide layer (“the oxidation 209 and 309 forms copper oxide” Column 4, Line 32) disposed thereover, the metal oxide layer 209 exposed at the first upper surface 208, and
a first dielectric material (“A dielectric 207” Column 4 line 18) surrounding the first conductive feature 205, the first dielectric material 207 exposed at the first upper surface 208.
Regarding Claim 10. Liu et al. as modified discloses the limitations of claim 9. Liu et al. further discloses, wherein the first conductive feature comprises one or more of copper (“Pads 205 are formed of metal. In an example embodiment, the metal is copper.” Column 4, Lines 16-17), nickel, gold, indium, molybdenum, zinc, tungsten, tantalum, and titanium (“the metal for the metal pads is one of copper (Cu), aluminum (Al), aluminum copper (AlCu), nickel (Ni), aluminum germanium (AlGe) and alloys of these metals.” Column 2, Lines 60-64).
Regarding Claim 11. Liu et al. discloses the limitations of claim 10. Liu et al. further discloses, wherein the first conductive feature 205 is at least partially separated from the surrounding dielectric material 207, wherein the separation is at least partially by the disposed metal oxide 209 (Fig. 3A shows 209 partially separates 205 from 207).
Regarding Claim 12. Liu et al. as modified by Hofrichter et al. discloses the limitations of claim 9. Liu et al. further discloses, wherein the metal oxide layer comprises copper oxide (“the oxidation 209 and 309 forms copper oxide” Column 4, Line 32).
Regarding Claim 17. Liu et al. as modified by Hofrichter et al. discloses the limitations of claim 9. Liu et al. further discloses, wherein the metal oxide layer is formed by oxidizing a metal of the first conductive feature layer (“the oxidation 209 and 309 forms copper oxide” Column 4, Line 32).
Regarding Claim 18. Liu et al. as modified by Hofrichter et al. discloses the limitations of claim 17. Liu et al. further discloses, wherein the oxidizing is plasma oxidizing (“copper oxide is formed using O.sub.2 plasma.” Column 3, Line 6), thermal oxidizing, ozone exposure, or wet oxidizing with an inorganic or organic peroxide.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7-8, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, Ping-Yin (US 8802538 B1) “Liu et al.” in view of (US 20140131874 A1) “Kagawa et al.”.
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Liu et al. Figs. 2A-3B discloses a process for hybrid bonding (“a hybrid bonding process” Column 2, Line 55), comprising:
providing a first element (“a top substrate 200” Column 4, Lines 12-13) comprising a first dielectric material (“A dielectric 207” Column 4 line 18) having a first bonding surface (“The surface of dielectric 207 forms a bonding surface 208” Column 4, Lines 20-21), a first conductive feature (“metal pads 205” Column 4 line 19) at least partially embedded in the first dielectric material 207, a metal oxide layer (“he oxidation 209 and 309 forms copper oxide” Column 4, Line 32) formed over the first conductive feature 205 and exposed at the first bonding surface 208;
providing a second element (“a bottom substrate 300” Column 4, Line 13) comprising a second dielectric material (“Dielectric 307” Column 4, Line 26) having a second bonding surface (“The surface 308 of dielectric 307 forms a bonding surface for the bottom substrate 300” Column 4, Lines 27-28), a second conductive feature (“metal pads 305” Column 4, Lines 24-25) at least partially embedded in the second dielectric material 307; and
direct bonding (“the top substrate is turned over and oriented with the bonding surface face to face with the bonding surface of substrate 300, the features are aligned, and the top and bottom substrates are moved into physical contact between the dielectric layers” Column 4, Lines 59-63) the first element 200 to the second element 300, including directly bonding the first dielectric material 207 to the second dielectric material 307 with the metal oxide layer between the first conductive feature 205 and the second conductive feature 305.
However, Liu et al. does not disclose, direct bonding including directly bonding the first dielectric material to the second dielectric material with the metal oxide layer between the first conductive feature and the second conductive feature.
In the similar filed of endeavor of bonding technics, Kagawa et al. Figs 4-6 discloses direct bonding including directly bonding the first dielectric material (“first interlayer dielectric 15” ¶ [0067]) to the second dielectric material (“a second interlayer dielectric 25” ¶ [0067]) with the metal oxide layer (“a metallic oxide 17b” ¶ [0073]) between the first conductive feature (“a first Cu wiring joint part 18” ¶ [0068]) and the second conductive feature (“a second Cu wiring joint part 28” ¶ [0074]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the bonding structure of Liu et al. using the bonding structure including the metallic oxide layer of Kagawa et al. so that generation of voids is restrained. According to embodiments of the present disclosure, therefore, a semiconductor apparatus (electronic device) having a highly reliable joint interface between a first wiring and a second wiring and a manufacturing method therefor can be provided. (Kagawa et al., ¶ [0024]).
Regarding Claim 2. Liu et al. as modified by Kagawa et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1. Liu et al. further discloses, wherein direct bonding the first dielectric material to the second dielectric material is conducted at room temperature (“the substrates are placed into physical contact at low or room temperature. The dielectric surfaces may begin fusion bonding at this stage in the process.” Column 6, Lines 10-12).
Regarding Claim 3. Liu et al. as modified by Kagawa et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1. Liu et al. further discloses, further comprising annealing the first element and the second element at an annealing temperature to directly bond the first conductive feature to the second conductive feature (“an anneal is performed on the top and bottom substrates 200 and 300, which are already in contact. The copper pads 205 and 305 will bond and a seamless bond will form” Column 5, Lines 6-9).
Regarding Claim 4. Liu et al. as modified by Kagawa et al. discloses the limitations of claim 3. Liu et al. further discloses, wherein a metal of the metal oxide is copper (“the metal pads are copper and the oxidation 209 and 309 forms copper oxide” Column 4, Lines 31-32) and the annealing temperature is below about 250° C (“a relatively low temperature anneal is performed. The anneal can vary in temperature from 40 degrees C. to over 250 degrees C.” Column 6, Lines 12-14).
Regarding Claim 7. Liu et al. as modified by Kagawa et al. discloses the limitations of claim 4. Liu et al. further discloses, wherein the first conductive feature comprises one or more of copper (“Pads 205 are formed of metal. In an example embodiment, the metal is copper.” Column 4, Lines 16-17), nickel, gold, indium, molybdenum, zinc, tungsten, tantalum, and titanium (“the metal for the metal pads is one of copper (Cu), aluminum (Al), aluminum copper (AlCu), nickel (Ni), aluminum germanium (AlGe) and alloys of these metals.” Column 2, Lines 60-64).
Regarding Claim 8, Liu et al. as modified by Kagawa et al. discloses the limitations of claim 4. Liu et al. further discloses, wherein the second conductive feature comprises one or more of copper (“copper pads 205 and 305” Column 4, Lines 65-66), nickel, gold, indium, molybdenum, zinc, tungsten, tantalum, and titanium (“the metal for the metal pads is one of copper (Cu), aluminum (Al), aluminum copper (AlCu), nickel (Ni), aluminum germanium (AlGe) and alloys of these metals.” Column 2, Lines 60-64).
Regarding Claim 13. Liu et al. discloses the limitations of claim 12. However, Liu et al. does not disclose, wherein the metal oxide layer has a thickness of at least about 20 nm.
In the similar filed of endeavor of bonding technics, Kagawa et al. Figs 4-6 discloses wherein the metal oxide layer has a thickness of at least about 20 nm (“oxygen gettering layer 17 is formed in a thickness of about 1 to 50 nm” ¶ [0081]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the bonding structure of Liu et al. using the bonding structure including the metallic oxide layer of Kagawa et al. so that generation of voids is restrained. According to embodiments of the present disclosure, therefore, a semiconductor apparatus (electronic device) having a highly reliable joint interface between a first wiring and a second wiring and a manufacturing method therefor can be provided. (Kagawa et al., ¶ [0024]).
Claims 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, Ping-Yin (US 8802538 B1) “Liu et al.” in view of (US 20240222315 A1) “Uzoh-2315”
Regarding Independent Claim 19, Liu et al. Figs. 2A-3B discloses a bonded structure, comprising:
a first element (“a top substrate 200” Column 4, Lines 12-13), the first element comprising a first bonding layer, the first bonding layer comprising:
a first dielectric material (“A dielectric 207” Column 4 line 18) having a first upper surface (“The surface of dielectric 207 forms a bonding surface 208” Column 4, Lines 20-21), and
a first conductive feature (“metal pads 205” Column 4 line 19) at least partially embedded in the first dielectric material 207 at the upper surface 208;
a second element (“a bottom substrate 300” Column 4, Line 13), the second element comprising a second bonding layer, the second bonding layer comprising:
a second dielectric material (“Dielectric 307” Column 4, Line 26) having a second upper surface (“The surface 308 of dielectric 307 forms a bonding surface for the bottom substrate 300” Column 4, Lines 27-28), and
a second conductive feature (“metal pads 305” Column 4, Lines 24-25) at least partially embedded in the second dielectric material 307 at the second upper surface 308; and
wherein the first upper surface 208 is directly bonded (“the top substrate is turned over and oriented with the bonding surface face to face with the bonding surface of substrate 300, the features are aligned, and the top and bottom substrates are moved into physical contact between the dielectric layers” Column 4, Lines 59-63) to the second upper surface 308 at a bond interface, and the first conductive feature is directly bonded to the second conductive feature to form a bonded contact (“The copper pads 205 and 305 will bond and a seamless bond will form as shown in FIG. 6” Column 5, Lines 8-9),
However, Liu et al. does not disclose, the bonded contact having an oxygen content greater than 100 ppm of oxygen in metal within about 100 nm of the bond interface.
In the similar field of endeavor of bonding structure Uzoh-2315 discloses the bonded contact having an oxygen content greater than 100 ppm of oxygen in metal within about 100 nm of the bond interface (“In some embodiments, there is a very low or indetectable level of oxygen present between the conductive feature 72 and the conductive feature 92 after metal bonding. For example, there may be less than 1000 ppm, less than 500 ppm …. of oxygen present between the conductive feature 72 and the conductive feature 92 after bonding.” ¶ [0051]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify bonding interface of Liu et al. using the bonding interface of Uzoh-2315 in order to form a single solid interconnect structure.
Regarding Claim 20. Liu et al. as modified by Uzoh-2315 discloses the limitations of claim 19. Liu et al. further discloses, wherein the second conductive feature comprises one or more of copper (“copper pads 205 and 305” Column 4, Lines 65-66), nickel, gold, indium, molybdenum, zinc, tungsten, tantalum, and titanium (“the metal for the metal pads is one of copper (Cu), aluminum (Al), aluminum copper (AlCu), nickel (Ni), aluminum germanium (AlGe) and alloys of these metals.” Column 2, Lines 60-64).
Regarding Claim 21. Liu et al. as modified by Uzoh-2315 discloses the limitations of claim 19. However, Liu et al. does not disclose, wherein oxygen content is greater than an oxygen saturation level of the first and/or second conductive features within 100 nm of the bond interface.
However, Liu et al. does not disclose, wherein oxygen content is greater than an oxygen saturation level of the first and/or second conductive features within 100 nm of the bond interface.
In the similar field of endeavor of bonding structure Uzoh-2315 discloses wherein oxygen content is greater than an oxygen saturation level of the first and/or second conductive features within 100 nm of the bond interface (“the respective conductive features 106a and 106b can be recessed below exterior (e.g., upper) surfaces (non-conductive bonding surfaces 112a and 112b) of the dielectric field region or non-conductive bonding layers 108a and 108b, for example, recessed by less than 30 nm, less than 20 nm, less than 15 nm, or less than 10 nm, for example, recessed in a range of 2 nm to 20 nm, or in a range of 4 nm to 10 nm. In various embodiments, prior to direct bonding, the recesses in the opposing elements can be sized such that the total gap between opposing contact pads is less than 15 nm, or less than 10 nm. ” ¶ [0027]; “In some embodiments, there is a very low or indetectable level of oxygen present between the conductive feature 72 and the conductive feature 92 after metal bonding. For example, there may be less than 1000 ppm, less than 500 ppm …. of oxygen present between the conductive feature 72 and the conductive feature 92 after bonding.” ¶ [0051]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify bonding interface of Liu et al. using the bonding interface of Uzoh-2315 in order to be directly bonded to one another without an adhesive at room temperature in some embodiments (Uzoh-2315, ¶ [0027]).
Regarding Claim 22. Liu et al. as modified by Uzoh-2315 discloses the limitations of claim 19. Liu et al. further discloses, wherein the oxygen content in the bonded contact includes oxygen in a metal oxide formed from a metal of the first conductive structure (“oxidize the metal pad layer to form a metal oxide” Column 7, Line 16; “performing an oxidation process includes one of an O2 plasma, thermal oxidation” Column 7, Line 31-32).
Claims 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, Ping-Yin (US 8802538 B1) “Liu et al.” in view of GONDCHARTON, Paul (US 20150380383 A1) “GONDCHARTON et al.”.
Regarding Claim 14, Liu et al. discloses the limitations of claim 9. Liu et al. does not disclose, wherein the first upper surface formed by the metal oxide layer has a surface roughness of at least 2 nm RMS.
In the similar field of endeavor of direct boding structure GONDCHARTON et al. discloses wherein the first upper surface formed by the metal oxide layer has a surface roughness of at least 2 nm RMS (“it is possible, in the context of the invention, to obtain a direct bonding with surfaces presenting a roughness of up to 50 nm RMS with oxidation” ¶ [0016]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the surface roughness of Liu et al. using the Liu surface roughness including the oxide layer of GONDCHARTON et al. in order to allow improving the quality of the bonding interface (GONDCHARTON et al., ¶ [0016]).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, Ping-Yin (US 8802538 B1) “Liu et al.” in view of Uzoh, Cyprian Emeka (US 20220208702 A1) “Uzoh et al.”.
Regarding Claim 15. Liu et al. discloses the limitations of claim 9. However, Liu et al. does not disclose, wherein the oxide layer comprises nanograins.
In the similar field of endeavor of boding structure, Uzoh et al. discloses, wherein the oxide layer comprises nanograins (“nano-grains” ¶ [0032]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the oxide layer of Liu et al. using the nanograin oxide layer of Uzoh et al. in order to provide greater flexibility for the design of plating processes and/or more efficient conductive material filling (Uzoh et al., ¶ [0032]).
Regarding Claim 16. Liu et al. as modified by Uzoh et al. discloses the limitations of claim 15. However, Liu et al. does not disclose, wherein the nanograins have an average maximum dimension in the range of about 2 nm to 100 nm.
In the similar field of endeavor of boding structure, Uzoh et al. discloses, wherein the nanograins have an average maximum dimension in the range of about 2 nm to 100 nm (“an average grain size in the small grain region 26 at or near the upper side 14b can be about 10 nanometers (nm) to 200 nm, or about 30 nm to 200 nm.” ¶ [0039]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the oxide layer of Liu et al. using the nanograin oxide layer of Uzoh et al. in order to provide greater flexibility for the design of plating processes and/or more efficient conductive material filling (Uzoh et al., ¶ [0032]).
Conclusion
/AKHEE SARKER-NAG/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893