Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-22, 25-27 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Karhade et al. (US 2025/0006678, as recited in previous Office action).
As for claim 21, Karhade et al. disclose in Figs. 4A-4H and the related text a method, comprising:
forming a bonding film 103(1)/105(1) on a first die 110;
forming one or more dummy conductors 117 in the first bonding film, wherein the one or more dummy conductors 117 electrically float in the first bonding film (Figs. 4A-4H);
bonding a second die (left 114) to the first die via the first bonding film (Fig. 4D-4H); and
bonding a dummy die (right 114) to the first die and bonded via the first bonding film (Fig. 4D-4H), wherein dummy die (right 114) comprises:
a substrate 402;
a thermal conducting layer 403 formed over the substrate (Fig. 4D); and
a second bonding film 103(2)/105(2) formed over the thermal conducting layer (Fig. 4D-4H), wherein the second bonding film 103(2)/105(2) is bonded to the first bonding film and the one or more dummy conductors therein (Fig. 4D-4H), the one or more dummy conductors 117 are disposed in a dummy area having a (rectangle) shape similar to the dummy die (Fig. 4D-4H), and the one or more dummy conductors 117 in the first bonding film are in contact with the second bonding film (Fig. 4G-4H).
As for claim 22, Karhade et al. disclose the method of claim 21, wherein the thermal conducting layer 403 is a nitrogen containing layer [0092].
As for claim 25, Karhade et al. disclose the method of claim 22, wherein the second bonding film 103(2)/105(2) comprises silicon oxide [0078].
As for claim 26, Karhade et al. disclose the method of claim 25, further comprising an adhesive layer 408 disposed between the substrate 402 and the thermal conducting layer 403.
As for claim 27, Karhade et al. disclose the method of claim 26, wherein the adhesive layer 408 comprises silicon oxide ([0032]-[0033]).
As for claim 29, Karhade et al. disclose the method of claim 21, wherein the first bonding film 103(1)/105(1) includes a band 113 surrounding (portions) the one or more dummy conductors (Fig. 4H), the band 113 is in contact with an edge region of the dummy die (right 114), and the one or more dummy conductors 117 are disposed within (a portion of) the band (Fig. 4H).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karhade et al..
As for claim 23-24, Karhade et al. disclose the method of claim 22, except wherein the thermal conducting layer has a thickness between about 3k angstroms and about 6k angstroms; the second bonding film has a thickness between about 100 angstrom and 1000 angstroms.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the thermal conducting layer has a thickness between about 3k angstroms and about 6k angstroms and the second bonding film has a thickness between about 100 angstrom and 1000 angstroms, in order to optimize the performance of the device. Futhermore, it has been held that discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233; In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980); In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-20 and 30 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: “dummy die is free of electronic components and comprises: a semiconductor substrate…and the adjustment layer adheres to a surface of the semiconductor substrate by an adhesive layer”, as recited in claim 10; and “forming a dicing pattern over the bonding film; etching through the bonding film, the adjustment layer, and into the semiconductor substrate using the dicing pattern to form dicing trenches; depositing a protection layer in the dicing trenches and on the bonding film; attaching a carrier wafer to the protection layer; and grinding the semiconductor substrate from a back side to expose the protection layer in the dicing trenches”, as recited in claim 15. Claims 11-14, 16-20 and 30 depend among allowable claims 10 and 15.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's response filed on 06/17/2026 is acknowledged and is answered as follows.
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 7-8, with respect to the rejection of claim 21, Karhade does not teach or suggest “forming one or more dummy conductors in the first bonding film, wherein the one or more dummy conductors electrically float in the first bonding film; bonding a second die to the first die via the first bonding film; and bonding a dummy die to the first die and bonded via the first bonding film, wherein dummy die is free of electronic components, the second bonding film is bonded to the first bonding film and the one or more dummy conductors therein, the one or more dummy conductors are disposed in a dummy area having a shape similar to the dummy die, and the one or more dummy conductors in the first bonding film are in contact with the second bonding film” have been fully considered but they are not persuasive in view of the following reasons:
First, the limitation “the dummy die is free of electronic components” does not present in claim 21.
Second, Figs. 4A-4h of Karhade teach forming one or more dummy conductors 117 in the first bonding film, wherein the one or more dummy conductors 117 electrically float in the first bonding film (Figs. 4A-4H); a second bonding film 103(2)/105(2) formed over the thermal conducting layer (Fig. 4D-4H), wherein the second bonding film 103(2)/105(2) is bonded to the first bonding film and the one or more dummy conductors therein (Fig. 4D-4H), the one or more dummy conductors 117 are disposed in a dummy area having a (rectangle) shape similar to the dummy die (Fig. 4D-4H), and the one or more dummy conductors 117 in the first bonding film are in contact with the second bonding film (Fig. 4G-4H).
For above reasons, Karhade still teach the claimed invention.
In view of the foregoing reasons, the Examiner believes that all Applicant’s arguments and remarks are addressed. The Examiner has determined that the previous Office Action is still proper based on the above responses. Therefore, the rejections are sustained and maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRANG Q TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811