DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed July 17, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Claims 11-20 remain withdrawn as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The amendment to the claim appears to be missing a word. The claim as written is a little confusing, as if there is something missing in the sentence. However, Examiner is interpreting the claim to read “…wherein the etching stop layer is disposed between the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung (US 20100238603 A1), in view of Chen et. al. (US 20220406768 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chung teaches a capacitor device (Fig 2 capacitor structure 100, [0042]), comprising: a first electrode (Fig 2 first electrode 110, [0042]), disposed on a substrate (Fig 2 substrate 10, [0043]); a second electrode (Fig 2 second electrode 130, [0042]), disposed on the first electrode (Fig 2 first electrode 110, [0042]); an insulating layer (Fig 2 insulation layer 120, [0042]), disposed between the first electrode (Fig 2 first electrode 110, [0042]) and the second electrode (Fig 2 second electrode 130, [0042]); a first dielectric layer (Fig 2 insulation layer 140, [0042]), disposed on the substrate (Fig 2 substrate 10, [0043]) and covering the first electrode (Fig 2 first electrode 110, [0042]), the second electrode (Fig 2 second electrode 130, [0042]) and the insulating layer (Fig 2 insulation layer 120, [0042]); a second dielectric layer (Fig 2 insulation layer 190, [0042]), disposed on the first dielectric layer (Fig 2 insulation layer 140, [0042]); and a third electrode (Fig 2 fourth electrode 180, [0042]) and a fourth electrode (Fig 2 third electrode 170, [0042]), disposed in the second dielectric layer (Fig 2 insulation layer 190, [0042]) and separated from each other (Fig 2), wherein the third electrode (Fig 2 fourth electrode 180, [0042]) is electrically connected ([0057]) to the first electrode (Fig 2 first electrode 110, [0042]), and the fourth electrode (Fig 2 third electrode 170, [0042]) is electrically connected ([0056]) to the second electrode (Fig 2 second electrode 130, [0042]).
Chung fails to teach an etching stop layer, disposed between the third electrode and the fourth electrode.
However, Chen teaches an etching stop layer (Fig 1 and 6A etch stop layer 82, [0032]) disposed between a first dielectric layer (Fig 1 and 6A ILD layer 81, [0032] corresponds to Chung: Fig 2 insulation layer 140, [0042]) and a second dielectric layer (Fig 1 and 6A dielectric material 14c, [0030] corresponds to Chung: Fig 2 insulation layer 190, [0042]) and disposed between electrodes (Fig 1 and 6A fingers 14a and 14b corresponds to Chung: Fig 2 fourth electrode 180 and third electrode 170, [0042]). Examiner interprets the fingers of 14a and 14b to be similar to that of the fingers of 11a and 11b in Fig 1A, as Chen discloses the fingers of 14a and 14b in a manner similar to that of 11a and 11b ([0028]-[0029]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chung to incorporate the teachings of Chen by having an etch stopping layer between dielectric layers and disposed between electrodes, as each element performs the same functions as it does separately and the results of the combination would have been predictable. One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that the etch stop layer is used to protect the material underneath during etch processes. Thus, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to provide additional protection to the underlying dielectric layer and plugs during the etching to form trenches for the top electrodes. MPEP 2143(I)(A)
Upon combing the etching stop layer of Chen with the dielectric layers of Chung, there would be an etching stop layer (Chen: Fig 1 and 6A etch stop layer 82, [0032]), disposed between the third electrode (Fig 1 and 6A fingers 14a, [0029] corresponds to Chung: Fig 2 fourth electrode 180, [0042]) and the fourth electrode (Fig 1 and 6A fingers 14b corresponds to Chung: Fig 2 third electrode 170, [0042]).
Regarding claim 2, Chung as modified in claim 1 teaches the second electrode (Fig 2 second electrode 130, [0042]) and the insulating layer (Fig 2 insulation layer 120, [0042]) expose a part (a part is exposed to allow for plug 160 to connect electrode 110 to electrode 180, [0057]) of the first electrode (Fig 2 first electrode 110, [0042]).
Regarding claim 3, Chung as modified in claim 1 fails to teach a cap layer disposed between the first dielectric layer and the first electrode, between the first dielectric layer and the second electrode, and between the first dielectric layer and the insulating layer.
However, Chen teaches a cap layer (Fig 1 cap layer 84, [0038]) disposed between the first dielectric layer (Fig 1 ILD 50, [0042] corresponds to Chung: Fig 2 insulation layer 140, [0042]) and the first electrode (Fig 1 conductive layer 20B, [0033] corresponds to Chung: Fig 2 first electrode 110, [0042]), between the first dielectric layer (Fig 1 ILD 50, [0042] corresponds to Chung: Fig 2 insulation layer 140, [0042]) and the second electrode (Fig 1 conductive layer 20A corresponds to Chung: Fig 2 second electrode 130, [0042]), and between the first dielectric layer (Fig 1 ILD 50, [0042] corresponds to Chung: Fig 2 insulation layer 140, [0042]) and the insulating layer (Fig 1 dielectric layer 20C corresponds to Chung: Fig 2 insulation layer 120, [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chung to incorporate the teachings of Chen by having a cap layer between a dielectric layer and the layers of a capacitor structure. This would alleviate the affection of external force applied ([0039]).
Regarding claim 4, Chung as modified in claim 3 teaches a material of the cap layer (Chen: Fig 1 cap layer 84, [0038]) comprises silicon nitride (SiN) (silicon nitride, [0039]), silicon carbonitride (SiCN) or silicon oxynitride (SiON).
Regarding claim 5, Chung as modified in claim 1 fails to teach the etching stop layer disposed between the first dielectric layer (Fig 2 insulation layer 140, [0042]) and the second dielectric layer (Fig 2 insulation layer 190, [0042]).
However, Chen teaches an etching stop layer (Fig 1 and 6A etch stop layer 82, [0032]) disposed between the first dielectric layer (Fig 1 and 6A ILD layer 81, [0032] corresponds to Chung: Fig 2 insulation layer 140, [0042]) and the second dielectric layer (Fig 1 and 6A dielectric material 14c, [0030] corresponds to Chung: Fig 2 insulation layer 190, [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chung to incorporate the teachings of Chen by having an etch stopping layer between dielectric layers, as each element performs the same functions as it does separately and the results of the combination would have been predictable. One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that the etch stop layer is used to protect the material underneath during etch processes. Thus, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to provide additional protection to the underlying dielectric layer and plugs during the etching to form trenches for the top electrodes. MPEP 2143(I)(A)
Regarding claim 6, Chung as modified in claim 5 teaches the third electrode (Chung: Fig 2 fourth electrode (Fig 2 third electrode 170, [0042]) 180, [0042]) and the fourth electrode (Chung: Fig 2 third electrode 170, [0042]) extend into the etching stop layer (Chen: Fig 1 and 6A etch stop layer 82, [0032]).
Examiner notes the electrodes would need to extend into the etch stopping layer so that the third and fourth electrodes can make electrical contact with the underlying plugs.
Regarding claim 7, Chung as modified in claim 1 teaches a material of the second dielectric layer (Fig 2 insulation layer 190, [0042]) comprises a high dielectric constant (high-k) material (high-k material, [0058]).
Regarding claim 8, Chung as modified in claim 1 teaches a buffer layer (not shown insulation layer formed on substrate 10, [0043]) disposed between (the capacitor structure 100 is formed on structures formed on the substrate 10, [0043]) the substrate (Fig 2 substrate 10, [0043]) and the first electrode (Fig 2 first electrode 110, [0042]).
Regarding claim 9, Chung as modified in claim 1 teaches the third electrode (Fig 1 fourth electrode (Fig 2 third electrode 170, [0042]) 180, [0042]) and the fourth electrode (Fig 1 third electrode 170, [0042]) are each a comb-shaped electrode ([0049]).
Regarding claim 10, Chung as modified in claim 1 teaches a first conductive via (Fig 2 plug 160, [0057]) and a second conductive via (Fig 2 plug 150, [0056]), wherein the first conductive via (Fig 2 plug 160, [0057]) is disposed between the first electrode (Fig 2 first electrode 110, [0042]) and the third electrode (Fig 2 fourth electrode 180, [0042]), and the second conductive via (Fig 2 plug 150, [0056]) is disposed between the second electrode (Fig 2 second electrode 130, [0042]) and the fourth electrode (Fig 2 third electrode 170, [0042]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see 35 USC §102 and 103 section starting on page 7, filed July 17, 2026, with respect to the 35 USC §102 rejection of claim 1, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As mapped out in the rejection for claim 1 above. The etch stop layer of Chen is disposed between two dielectric materials as disclosed by Applicant in the second paragraph on page 7. However, the etch stop layer is also disposed between two adjacent electrodes, namely 14a and 14b. Chen further teaches the electrodes are fingers of a capacitor and shows arrangements of fingers 11a and 11b and suggests that the arrangement of fingers 14a and 14b are similar. This structural arrangement is very similar to the top layer of Chung; thus, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of an etch stop layer into the structure of Chung.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
/ALVIN L LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813