Detailed Action
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the n narrowband optical filters and the plurality of optical filters must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 14 and 25 are objected to because of the following informalities: “the carrier wavelength” should be corrected to say –a carrier wavelength— due to an antecedent basis issue.
Claims 2, 17 and 26 are objected to because of the following informalities: “the shifted optical beam” should be corrected to say –a shifted optical beam-- due to an antecedent basis issue.
Claims 7, 22 and 25 are objected to because of the following informalities: “the optical circulator” should be corrected to say –an optical circulator-- due to an antecedent basis issue.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the circulator” should be corrected to say –the optical circulator-- due to an antecedent basis issue.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim should end in a period.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a known relationship “ should be corrected to say –the known relationship—and “a round trip time” should be corrected to say –the round trip time-- due to antecedent basis issues.
Claim 26 is objected to because of the following informalities: “an optical circulator” should be corrected to say –the optical circulator-- due to an antecedent basis issue.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, 17, 18-21, 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 2 line 3, claim 3 line 8, claim 17 line 3, claim 18 line 8, claim 26 line 3, and claim 27 line 9, the limitation “acousto-optic frequency shifter” lacks antecedent basis. Please note that in the independent claims 1, 14 and 25, “a frequency shifter” is claimed. Specification para. [0009] states: “In some embodiments, the frequency shifter is an acousto-optic frequency shifter (AOFS)”. Therefore, the “frequency shifter” can be interpreted as either acousto-optic or not acousto-optic, and “the acousto-optic frequency shifter” is not previously claimed. Accordingly, “acousto-optic frequency shifter” lacks antecedent basis. For examination purposes, the claim limitation is understood to mean “the frequency shifter”, rather than “acousto-optic frequency shifter”.
In claim 2 lines 3-4, 17 lines 3-4, and 26 lines 3-4, the limitation “the plurality of optical filters” lacks antecedent basis. Please note that in the independent claims 1, 14 and 25, “n narrowband optical filters” is claimed. Specification para. [0011]-[0013] also states: “n narrowband optical filters”, and does not mention a “plurality”. Specification also specifies “a Fabry-Perot type comb filter” ([0010]), “an additional broadband filter” ([0010]), “a tunable bandpass filter (TBPF) 160” ([0028]), “a mesh filter” ([0053]) and a “comb filter 570” ([0058]). Therefore, the “plurality of optical filters” can be interpreted as n narrowband optical filters, comb filters, broadband filters, bandpass filters, mesh filters, etc., and can include any combination of filters. Also, “the plurality of optical filters” is not previously claimed. Accordingly, “the plurality of optical filters” lacks antecedent basis. For examination purposes, the claim limitation is understood to be a newly claimed “plurality of optical filters” of any combination.
Claims 19-21 are rejected due to their dependencies.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 15 states, “wherein the FSL is configured to be dispersive with a known relationship between the carrier wavelength and a round trip time of the FSL”. This does not constitute a further limitation because it is verbatim from the claim of which it depends on (claim 14). Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-16, 18-25 and 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (US11867809B2), hereinafter Suzuki, in view of Sud et al. (US20210215747A1), hereinafter Sud, further in view of Phillips et al. (US5835199A), hereinafter, Phillips, further in view of Guillet de Chatellus (US20230417810A1).
As to claims 1, 14, 15 and 16, Suzuki teaches a chirped waveform analysis system (fig. 1; measurement apparatus 100) configured to imprint a chirped waveform onto laser light (fig. 1; col. 3 ln. 20-25; “The laser apparatus 110 has an optical cavity (laser resonator) and outputs a frequency-modulated laser beam with a plurality of modes, i.e. chirped waveforms. The laser apparatus 110 is provided with a frequency shifter in a cavity (resonator), and outputs a plurality of longitudinal mode lasers whose oscillation frequencies change linearly with the passage of time”. Thus, imprinting a chirped waveform, i.e. a signal in which the frequency changes over time, onto laser light), comprising:
a multiplexer configured to multiplex n different wavelengths into the laser light as a single optical beam (fig. 2; col. 5 ln. 18-21; “A WDM coupler 116”, i.e. a wavelength-division multiplexing coupler, uses a multiplexer at the transmitter to join the several signals together and a demultiplexer at the receiver to split them apart. Thus, the WDM coupler 116 acts as the multiplexer that multiplexes the different wavelengths into the laser light as a single beam) that is modulated in amplitude by an input signal comprising one or more unknown signals (col. 10 ln. 45-49; “The laser apparatus 110 outputs the frequency modulated laser beam having the plurality of longitudinal modes arranged at frequency intervals which approximately match the cavity frequency vC”. Col. 6 ln. 12-17; “The plurality of longitudinal modes represented by Equation 1 change… with the passage of the time t”. Thus, the input signal comprising one or more unknown signals is described by Suzuki as the light comprising modes);
and a frequency-shifting loop (FSL) configured to propagate the optical beam, the FSL comprising: a frequency shifter configured to shift carrier frequencies of the optical beam by a fixed amount (fig. 2; col. 5 ln. 40-45; “The laser apparatus 110 shown in FIG. 2 contains a fiber ring laser having the frequency shifter 112 in the cavity”. Col. 5 ln. 23-30; “The frequency shifter 112 shifts a frequency of a light” by the fixed amount “+vs”),
wherein a magnitude of the frequency shift is selected based on parameters of the chirped waveform analysis system and a range of chirps to be measured for the one or more unknown signals (col. 6 ln. 9-15; “In the laser apparatus 110, each time the light in the cavity goes around the cavity, the frequency shifter 112 increases the frequency of the light traveling around the cavity by vs”, i.e. magnitude of the frequency shift. “That is, since the frequency of each of the modes increases by vs, for every passing of τRT, the rate of change of frequency dv/dt (i.e., chirp rate) becomes approximately equal to vs/τRT”. Thus, vs can be selected based on the chirp rate. Col. 5 ln. 53-62; “Also, a plurality of longitudinal modes of the light spectrum are denoted by the numbers q. The frequencies of the plurality of longitudinal modes are arranged at approximately constant frequency intervals. Supposing that τRT(=1/vc) denotes the time for light to go around the cavity, the plurality of longitudinal modes are arranged at intervals of 1/τRT(=vc)”. Thus, vs can be selected based on the number of modes, i.e. the range of chirps to be measured for the unknown signals),
and n optical filters for each of the n wavelengths (col. 8 ln. 47-60; fig. 5; “The first filter part 162 and the second filter part 164 reduce signal components in a frequency band differing from a frequency band that a user or the like wants to analyze. Here, the frequency band that the user or the like wants to analyze is set from 0 to vc. The first filter part 162 and the second filter part 164 are, for example, low-pass filters that pass signal components having a frequency equal to or less than vc. In this case, the first filter part 162 supplies the first beat signal obtained by reducing the signal components having a frequency higher than the frequency vc to the first AD converter 202. Also, the second filter part 164 supplies the second beat signal obtained by reducing the signal components having a frequency higher than the frequency vc to the second AD converter 204”. Thus, for example, there can be 2 optical filters for each of the 2 beat signals at certain wavelengths);
an optical amplifier configured to receive and amplify the optical beam from the optical amplifier to compensate for optical losses in the FSL (fig. 2; col. 5 ln. 31-32; “The gain medium 114 is supplied with a pump light and amplifies the input light”. The gain medium 114 is comprised in the laser apparatus 110 after the frequency shifter 112. Thus, the gain medium 114 receives and amplifies the optical beam, which implicitly compensates for optical loss in the frequency shifter 112);
and an optical isolator configured to receive the amplified optical signal from the optical amplifier (col. 5 ln. 42-43; fig. 2; “the laser apparatus 110 preferably further includes an isolator in the cavity” of the laser apparatus 110, which receives the amplified signal from the gain medium 114),
wherein once a carrier frequency of the optical beam is shifted to an edge of a passband of the n optical filters, the laser light of the optical beam is lost and no longer recirculates around the FSL (col. 8 ln. 51-54; The filters “pass signal components having a frequency equal to or less than vc“. Col. 6 ln. 9-11; “In the laser apparatus 110, each time the light in the cavity goes around the cavity, the frequency shifter 112 increases the frequency of the light traveling around the cavity by vs”. Therefore, once the carrier frequency is shifted to the edge of the passband vc, the laser light of the optical beam is implicitly lost and no longer recirculates around the laser apparatus 110),
and the FSL is configured to be dispersive with a known relationship between the carrier wavelength and a round trip time of the FSL (Col. 4 ln. 33-35; “The oscillation frequency of the light output from the laser apparatus 110 changes linearly with the passage of time”. Thus, the ring-shaped laser apparatus 110 with frequency shifter 112 is dispersive, because it creates a frequency-dependent phase response. The relationship between the oscillation frequency, i.e. the inverse of the carrier wavelength, and the round trip time of the ring-shaped laser apparatus 110 with frequency shifter 112 is therefore known).
However, Suzuki does not explicitly disclose the chirped waveform analysis system configured to perform fractional Fourier transform (FrFT) analysis; an input radio frequency (RF) signal; the n optical filters are narrowband optical filters; the n optical filters configured to limit a number of round trips that the optical beam takes around the FSL.
Sud, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches the chirped waveform analysis system configured to perform fractional Fourier transform (FrFT) analysis (Sud abstract; [0036]; “Fractional Fourier Transform (FrFT)-based spectrum analyzers and spectrum analysis techniques are disclosed”. “The types of signals that are present may also be identified. For instance, a chirp signal…”);
and an input radio frequency (RF) signal (Sud claim 1; radio frequency (RF) signals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Suzuki to incorporate the teachings of Sud to include the chirped waveform analysis system configured to perform fractional Fourier transform (FrFT) analysis; and an input radio frequency (RF) signal; for the advantages of viewing of the signal in different dimensions (Sud abstract) and improving operations in an increasingly dense and complex environment (Sud [0030]).
Still lacking the limitation such as the n optical filters are narrowband optical filters; the n optical filters configured to limit a number of round trips that the optical beam takes around the FSL.
Phillips, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches the n optical filters are narrowband optical filters (Phillips col. 10 ln. 29-31; the filters can be “narrow band filter” to filter out the wider band amplified spontaneous emission (ASE)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Suzuki in view of Sud to incorporate the teachings of Phillips to include the n optical filters are narrowband optical filters, for the advantage of conserving energy and preventing unwanted noise (Phillips col. 10 ln. 1-11).
Still lacking the limitation such as the n optical filters configured to limit a number of round trips that the optical beam takes around the FSL.
Guillet de Chatellus, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches the n optical filters configured to limit a number of round trips that the optical beam takes around the FSL (Guillet de Chatellus [0104]; “optical bandpass filter BP configured to set said maximum number N of round trips”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Suzuki in view of Sud and Phillips to incorporate the teachings of Guillet de Chatellus to include the n optical filters configured to limit a number of round trips that the optical beam takes around the FSL; for the advantage of enhanced control (Guillet de Chatellus [0074]).
Suzuki Fig. 1
Suzuki Fig. 2
Suzuki Fig. 5
As to claim 25, Suzuki teaches a chirped waveform analysis system (fig. 1; The chirped waveform analysis system is described by Suzuki as the measurement apparatus 100. Col. 3 ln. 20-25; “The laser apparatus 110 has an optical cavity (laser resonator) and outputs a frequency-modulated laser beam with a plurality of modes, i.e. chirped waveforms. The laser apparatus 110 is provided with a frequency shifter in a cavity (resonator), and outputs a plurality of longitudinal mode lasers whose oscillation frequencies change linearly with the passage of time”. Thus, imprinting a chirped waveform, i.e. a signal in which the frequency changes over time, onto laser light), comprising:
a frequency-shifting loop (FSL) (fig. 2; col. 5 ln. 40-45; “The laser apparatus 110 shown in FIG. 2 contains a fiber ring laser having the frequency shifter 112 in the cavity”) configured to receive an optical beam comprising n different wavelengths of laser light modulated in amplitude (claim 1; frequency-modulated laser beam with a plurality of modes) by an input signal comprising one or more unknown signals (col. 10 ln. 45-49; “The laser apparatus 110 outputs the frequency modulated laser beam having the plurality of longitudinal modes arranged at frequency intervals which approximately match the cavity frequency vC”. Col. 6 ln. 12-17; “The plurality of longitudinal modes represented by Equation 1 change… with the passage of the time t”. Thus, the input signal comprising one or more unknown signals is described by Suzuki as the light comprising modes), and configured to propagate the optical beam (fig. 2; col. 5 ln. 40-45; “The laser apparatus 110 shown in FIG. 2 contains a fiber ring laser having the frequency shifter 112 in the cavity”. Col. 5 ln. 23-30; “The frequency shifter 112 shifts a frequency of a light” by the fixed amount “+vs”. Thus, the optical beam is propagated), the FSL comprising:
a frequency shifter configured to shift carrier frequencies of the optical beam by a fixed amount (fig. 2; col. 5 ln. 40-45; “The laser apparatus 110 shown in FIG. 2 contains a fiber ring laser having the frequency shifter 112 in the cavity”. Col. 5 ln. 23-30; “The frequency shifter 112 shifts a frequency of a light” by the fixed amount “+vs”),
wherein a magnitude of the frequency shift is selected based on parameters of the chirped waveform analysis system and a range of chirps to be measured for the one or more unknown signals (col. 6 ln. 9-15; “In the laser apparatus 110, each time the light in the cavity goes around the cavity, the frequency shifter 112 increases the frequency of the light traveling around the cavity by vs”, i.e. magnitude of the frequency shift. “That is, since the frequency of each of the modes increases by vs, for every passing of τRT, the rate of change of frequency dv/dt (i.e., chirp rate) becomes approximately equal to vs/τRT”. Thus, vs can be selected based on the chirp rate. Col. 5 ln. 53-62; “Also, a plurality of longitudinal modes of the light spectrum are denoted by the numbers q. The frequencies of the plurality of longitudinal modes are arranged at approximately constant frequency intervals. Supposing that τRT(=1/vc) denotes the time for light to go around the cavity, the plurality of longitudinal modes are arranged at intervals of 1/τRT(=vc)”. Thus, vs can be selected based on the number of modes, i.e. the range of chirps to be measured for the unknown signals),
and n optical filters for each of the n wavelengths (col. 8 ln. 47-60; fig. 5; “The first filter part 162 and the second filter part 164 reduce signal components in a frequency band differing from a frequency band that a user or the like wants to analyze. Here, the frequency band that the user or the like wants to analyze is set from 0 to vc. The first filter part 162 and the second filter part 164 are, for example, low-pass filters that pass signal components having a frequency equal to or less than vc. In this case, the first filter part 162 supplies the first beat signal obtained by reducing the signal components having a frequency higher than the frequency vc to the first AD converter 202. Also, the second filter part 164 supplies the second beat signal obtained by reducing the signal components having a frequency higher than the frequency vc to the second AD converter 204”. Thus, for example, there can be 2 optical filters for each of the 2 beat signals at certain wavelengths);
an optical amplifier configured to receive and amplify the optical beam from the optical amplifier to compensate for optical losses in the FSL (fig. 2; col. 5 ln. 31-32; “The gain medium 114 is supplied with a pump light and amplifies the input light”. The gain medium 114 is comprised in the laser apparatus 110 after the frequency shifter 112. Thus, the gain medium 114 receives and amplifies the optical beam, which implicitly compensates for optical loss in the frequency shifter 112);
and an optical isolator configured to receive the amplified optical signal from the optical amplifier (col. 5 ln. 42-43; fig. 2; “the laser apparatus 110 preferably further includes an isolator in the cavity” of the laser apparatus 110, which receives the amplified signal from the gain medium 114)
and ensure that the amplified optical signal travels in a direction of the optical circulator in the FSL (fig. 1-2; The isolator allows light to travel only in the forward direction. The optical circulator 130 with directional arrow in fig. 2 circulates the light in the forward direction. Thus, the isolator implicitly ensures the amplified optical signal travels in a direction of the optical circulator 130);
and a first fiber optic coupler configured to receive output light from the optical isolator and provide portions of the received light to a demultiplexer and the FSL (fig. 2; col. 5 ln. 18-21; “A WDM coupler 116”, i.e. a wavelength-division multiplexing coupler, uses a multiplexer at the transmitter to join the several signals together and a demultiplexer at the receiver to split them apart. The WDM coupler 116 receives output light from the laser apparatus 110 in the cavity, which comprises the isolator in the cavity around the loop. The WDM coupler 116 provides portions of the received light to itself and to the frequency shifter 112 of the laser apparatus 110),
wherein the FSL is configured to be dispersive with a known relationship between the carrier wavelength and a round trip time of the FSL (Col. 4 ln. 33-35; “The oscillation frequency of the light output from the laser apparatus 110 changes linearly with the passage of time”. Thus, the ring-shaped laser apparatus 110 with frequency shifter 112 is dispersive, because it creates a frequency-dependent phase response. The relationship between the oscillation frequency, i.e. the inverse of the carrier wavelength, and the round trip time of the ring-shaped laser apparatus 110 with frequency shifter 112 is therefore known),
and the optical isolator (col. 5 ln. 42-43; fig. 2; “The laser apparatus 110 preferably further includes an isolator in the cavity”. The isolator allows light to travel only in the forward direction) is configured to let light propagate in a direction towards the fiber optic coupler (fig. 1; col. 3 ln. 34-36; “The branching part 120 is, for example, a one-in-three-out fiber optic coupler”. The branching part 120 receives output light from the laser apparatus 110, which comprises the isolator in the cavity. Thus, the isolator lets light propagate in a direction towards the branching part 120, the fiber optic coupler).
However, Suzuki does not explicitly disclose an input radio frequency (RF) signal; and the n optical filters are narrowband optical filters, the n optical filters configured to limit a number of round trips that the optical beam takes around the FSL.
Sud, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches an input radio frequency (RF) signal (Sud claim 1; radio frequency (RF) signals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Suzuki to incorporate the teachings of Sud to include an input radio frequency (RF) signal; for the advantage of improving operations in an increasingly dense and complex environment (Sud [0030]).
Still lacking the limitations such as the n optical filters are narrowband optical filters, the n optical filters configured to limit a number of round trips that the optical beam takes around the FSL.
Phillips, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches the n optical filters are narrowband optical filters (Phillips col. 10 ln. 29-31; the filters can be “narrow band filter” to filter out the wider band amplified spontaneous emission (ASE)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Suzuki in view of Sud to incorporate the teachings of Phillips to include the n optical filters are narrowband optical filters, for the advantage of conserving energy and preventing unwanted noise (Phillips col. 10 ln. 1-11).
Still lacking the limitation such as the n optical filters configured to limit a number of round trips that the optical beam takes around the FSL.
Guillet de Chatellus, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches the n optical filters configured to limit a number of round trips that the optical beam takes around the FSL (Guillet de Chatellus [0104]; “optical bandpass filter BP configured to set said maximum number N of round trips”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Suzuki in view of Sud and Phillips to incorporate the teachings of Guillet de Chatellus to include the n optical filters configured to limit a number of round trips that the optical beam takes around the FSL; for the advantage of enhanced control (Guillet de Chatellus [0074]).
As to claims 3, 18 and 27, Suzuki teaches n electro-optical modulators configured to receive and be driven by an input signal, the n electro-optical modulators configured to encode the input signal into laser light at a respective wavelength of the n wavelengths (col. 10 ln. 45-49; “The laser apparatus 110 outputs the frequency modulated laser beam having the plurality of longitudinal modes arranged at frequency intervals which approximately match the cavity frequency vC”. Col. 6 ln. 12-17; “The plurality of longitudinal modes represented by Equation 1 change… with the passage of the time t”. Thus, an electro-optical modulator is implied by the frequency modulated laser beam, driven by an input signal, which is encoded into the laser light at a respective wavelength 1/ vC);
and a multiplexer configured to receive the encoded laser light from the n electro-optical modulators, combine the encoded laser light into the optical beam (fig. 2; col. 5 ln. 18-21; “A WDM coupler 116”, i.e. a wavelength-division multiplexing coupler, uses a multiplexer at the transmitter to join the several signals together and a demultiplexer at the receiver to split them apart. Thus, the WDM coupler 116 acts as the multiplexer that receives the encoded laser light from the frequency modulated laser beam and combines, i.e. multiplexes, the encoded laser light into the optical beam it outputs),
and provide the optical beam to the FSL at a location in an optical path of the optical beam prior to the acousto-optic frequency shifter (fig. 2; col. 5 ln. 18-21; “A WDM coupler 116”, i.e. a wavelength-division multiplexing coupler, uses a multiplexer at the transmitter to join the several signals together and a demultiplexer at the receiver to split them apart. Thus, the WDM coupler 116 provides the optical beam to ring/loop at a location in the optical path prior to the frequency shifter 112).
However, Suzuki does not explicitly disclose an input radio frequency (RF) signal.
Sud, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches an input radio frequency (RF) signal (Sud claim 1; radio frequency (RF) signals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Suzuki to incorporate the teachings of Sud to include an input radio frequency (RF) signal; for the advantage of improving operations in an increasingly dense and complex environment (Sud [0030]).
As to claims 4 and 19, Suzuki teaches a demultiplexer at an output of the FSL (fig. 2, after the WDM coupler 116, the light goes through the loop to the output coupler 118), the demultiplexer configured to receive the optical beam from the FSL and demultiplex the optical beam into the n wavelengths (fig. 2; col. 5 ln. 18-21; “A WDM coupler 116”, i.e. a wavelength-division multiplexing coupler, uses a multiplexer at the transmitter to join the several signals together and a demultiplexer at the receiver to split them apart. The WDM coupler receives output light from the laser apparatus 110 in the cavity and is configured to demultiplex the optical beam into implicitly the n wavelengths);
and n photodetectors configured to receive a respective wavelength of the n wavelengths (col. 8 ln. 22-27; “The first photoelectric conversion part 154 and the second photoelectric conversion part 156 receive the multiplexed reflected light and reference light and convert them into electrical signals. Each of the first photoelectric conversion part 154 and the second photoelectric conversion part 156 may be a photodiode or the like”. Thus, the photodiodes 154, 156 receive respective wavelengths)
and measure an intensity waveform of the respective wavelength (fig. 6; col. 9 ln. 30-34; “FIG. 6 shows an example of an outline of quadrature detection by the beat signal generation part 150 and the conversion part 160 according to the present embodiment. In FIG. 6, the horizontal axis indicates the frequency of the beat signal, and the vertical axis indicates the signal intensity”)
and produce an analog electrical output responsive thereto (fig. 5; col. 8 ln. 67- co. 9 ln. 4; “The first AD converter 202 and the second AD converter 204 convert the analog signals into the digital signals”. Before the analog signals enter 202, 204, the photodiodes 154, 156 produce them),
wherein output from the demultiplexer is a unique order of the input signal (col. 10 ln. 45-49; “The laser apparatus 110 outputs the frequency modulated laser beam having the plurality of longitudinal modes arranged at frequency intervals which approximately match the cavity frequency vC”. Thus, the WDM coupler 116 outputs a unique order of the input signal, i.e. the modes).
However, Suzuki does not explicitly disclose an input radio frequency (RF) signal.
Sud, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches an input radio frequency (RF) signal (Sud claim 1; radio frequency (RF) signals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Suzuki to incorporate the teachings of Sud to include an input radio frequency (RF) signal; for the advantage of improving operations in an increasingly dense and complex environment (Sud [0030]).
Suzuki Fig. 6
As to claims 5 and 20, Suzuki teaches n analog-to-digital converters (ADCs) configured to receive the analog electrical output from the respective photodetectors, convert the received analog electrical output into a digital signal, and output the digital signal (fig. 5; col. 8 ln. 67- co. 9 ln. 4; “The first AD converter 202 and the second AD converter 204 convert the analog signals into the digital signals”. Before the analog signals enter 202, 204, the photodiodes 154, 156 produce them).
As to claims 6, 21 and 29, Suzuki teaches a computing system or an oscilloscope configured to receive the digital signals output by the n ADCs (fig. 1 and 5; col. 14 ln. 62-65; “At least a part of the conversion part 160, the extraction part 170, and the calculation part 180 is configured by a computer or the like”. Thus, at least the calculation part 180 of the computer receives the digital signals output by the ADCs 202, 204)
and determine the order that was applied and the chirp rate that the order matches by a relationship between the frequency shift applied by the AOFS and the wavelength-dependent round trip time through the FSL (col. 6 ln. 9-20; “Since the frequency of each of the modes increases by vs, for every passing of τRT, the rate of change of frequency dv/dt (i.e., chirp rate) becomes approximately equal to vs/τRT. Therefore, the plurality of longitudinal modes represented by Equation 1 change… with the passage of time”. Thus, the order and the chirp rate are determined and are related between the frequency shift applied by the frequency shifter 112 that can be an AOFS (Col. 5 ln. 22-25) and the round trip time τRT).
However, Suzuki does not explicitly disclose FrFT analysis; wherein when the intensity waveform measured at a particular wavelength comprises a periodic train of individual sharp peaks separated by the loop transit time of the FSL, the chirp rate associated with the FrFT order applied for that wavelength is present in the input RF signal.
Sud, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches FrFT analysis (Sud abstract; [0036]; “Fractional Fourier Transform (FrFT)-based spectrum analyzers and spectrum analysis techniques are disclosed”. “The types of signals that are present may also be identified. For instance, a chirp signal…”);
and an input radio frequency (RF) signal (Sud claim 1; radio frequency (RF) signals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Suzuki to incorporate the teachings of Sud to include FrFT analysis; and an input radio frequency (RF) signal; for the advantages of viewing of the signal in different dimensions (Sud abstract) and improving operations in an increasingly dense and complex environment (Sud [0030]).
Still lacking the limitation such as wherein when the intensity waveform measured at a particular wavelength comprises a periodic train of individual sharp peaks separated by the loop transit time of the FSL, the chirp rate associated with the order applied for that wavelength is present in the input signal.
Phillips, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches wherein when the intensity waveform measured at a particular wavelength comprises a periodic train of individual sharp peaks separated by the loop transit time of the FSL (Phillips fig. 5-6; col.4 ln. 42-46; The waveforms generated by the optical ring circuit in fig. 5-6 demonstrate a periodic train of individual sharp peaks. Fig. 5 is at particular frequency, i.e. inverse of particular wavelength. Fig. 6 is at particular transit times around the optical ring circuit),
the chirp rate associated with the order applied for that wavelength is present in the input signal (Phillips Col. 4 ln. 37-45; “The amplifier loop is aligned on the first diffraction order of the modulator 151 for frequency-shifted feedback, while the zeroth order beams are used for coupling the signal from optical ring circuit 20 into the amplifier loop and coupling the amplified output beam out of the amplifier loop”. Thus, the rate of change of phase, i.e. the chirp rate, is associated with the diffraction order applied for the wavelength. Col. 9 ln. 24-33; “Optional use of a phase modulator (not shown) with a large phase shift and a modulation period that is short in comparison with the primary loop transit time in optical ring circuit 20 may be used to randomize the phases of different frequency components. According to the well-known mathematical relationship, rate of change of phase is equal to instantaneous frequency shift, so varying or randomizing phases fills the frequency content of the waveform with incommensurate spectral frequency spacing”. Thus, the rate of change of phase, i.e. the chirp rate, is present in the input signal of the optical ring circuit 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Suzuki in view of Sud to incorporate the teachings of Phillips to include wherein when the intensity waveform measured at a particular wavelength comprises a periodic train of individual sharp peaks separated by the loop transit time of the FSL, the chirp rate associated with the order applied for that wavelength is present in the input signal; for the advantages of accurate measurements with minimal ambiguity (Phillips abstract) and low loss (Phillips col. 4 ln. 42-45).
Phillips Fig. 5-6
As to claims 7, 8 and 22, Suzuki teaches an optical isolator configured to receive the output light from the multiplexer and the optical circulator (col. 5 ln. 42-43; fig. 2; “the laser apparatus 110 preferably further includes an isolator in the cavity” of the laser apparatus 110. The isolator receives the output light from the WDM coupler 116 as the light loops around the ring);
and a first fiber optic coupler configured to receive output light from the optical isolator and provide portions of the received light to the demultiplexer and the FSL (fig. 2; col. 5 ln. 18-21; “A WDM coupler 116”, i.e. a wavelength-division multiplexing coupler, uses a multiplexer at the transmitter to join the several signals together and a demultiplexer at the receiver to split them apart. The WDM coupler 116 receives output light from the laser apparatus 110 in the cavity, which comprises the isolator in the cavity around the loop. The WDM coupler 116 provides portions of the received light to itself and to the frequency shifter 112 of the laser apparatus 110),
wherein the optical isolator (col. 5 ln. 42-43; fig. 2; “The laser apparatus 110 preferably further includes an isolator in the cavity”. The isolator allows light to travel only in the forward direction) is configured to let light propagate in a direction towards the fiber optic coupler (fig. 1; col. 3 ln. 34-36; “The branching part 120 is, for example, a one-in-three-out fiber optic coupler”. The branching part 120 receives output light from the laser apparatus 110, which comprises the isolator in the cavity. Thus, the isolator lets light propagate in a direction towards the branching part 120, the fiber optic coupler).
However, Suzuki does not explicitly disclose wherein the first fiber optic coupler is configured to provide a larger portion of its received light to the FSL than to the demultiplexer.
Phillips, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches wherein the first fiber optic coupler is configured to provide a portion of its received light to the FSL (Phillips fig. 2; The optical ring circuit 20 comprises the coupler 22 and the WDM1, i.e. the demultiplexer. Col. 14 ln. 33-37; “The single seed frequency light is first routed through a third coupler (V3) 22, which may be, but is not necessarily, variable, where a portion, such as about fifty percent (50%), of the light power is diverted into optical fiber 23 and routed to the optical switch (M2) 24”, i.e through the FSL. Col. 14 ln. 41-45; “Before gating light pulses to the second stage amplifier 40… the desired additional frequency content is added to the seed light in the primary optical loop provided by the optical ring circuit 20. To do so, the remainder of the light power from coupler 22 that is not routed to the optical switch 24 remains in optical fiber 21 and is routed into the ring” circuit 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Suzuki in view of Sud to incorporate the teachings of Phillips to include wherein the first fiber optic coupler is configured to provide a portion of its received light to the FSL; for the advantages of accurate measurements with minimal ambiguity (Phillips abstract) and low loss (Phillips col. 4 ln. 42-45).
Still lacking the limitation such as the portion of its received light provided to the FSL is larger than provided to the demultiplexer.
However, applicant has not provided criticality for “the portion of its received light provided to the FSL is larger than provided to the demultiplexer”. Applicant discloses merely that “the combined signal is guided to an input 90%/10% fiber optic coupler 220. However, different light percentages for each output may be used without deviating from the scope of the invention. The coupling ratio may be wavelength-dependent to equalize the seed power into loop… The arm coming from multiplexer 216 sees only one pass, whereas the arm coming from optical circulator 260 sees many passes and gives a much larger contribution to system loss, as such, this arm has the higher transmission” (Specification para. [0039]-[0040]). Further, it has been held that finding the optimal or working ranges of a variable involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05). In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Suzuki in view of Sud and Phillips to incorporate the portion of its received light provided to the FSL is larger than provided to the demultiplexer; for the advantage of limiting transmission loss (Phillips col. 21 ln. 11-19).
Phillips Fig. 2
As to claim 9, 10 and 23, Suzuki teaches a second fiber optic coupler located between the multiplexer and the circulator and the optical isolator (fig. 1; col. 3 ln. 34-36; “The branching part 120 is, for example, a one-in-three-out fiber optic coupler”, between the WDM coupler 116 in the laser apparatus 110 and the circulator 130 and the isolator in the cavity of the laser apparatus 110);
a first fiber optic arm connecting the multiplexer to the second fiber optic coupler (col. 3 ln. 28-31; “The branching part 120 branches the frequency-modulated laser beam output from the laser apparatus 110, with a portion of it as a reference light and at least some of the remaining portion of it as a measurement light”. The laser apparatus 110 comprises the WDM coupler 116. Therefore, the branching part 120 connects the WDM coupler 116 to the one-in-three-out fiber optic coupler of the branching part 120);
and a second fiber optic arm connecting the optical circulator to the second fiber optic coupler (fig. 1; col. 3 ln. 36-39; “the branching part 120 supplies the measurement light to the optical circulator 130”, thus, the circulator 130 is connected to the one-in-three-out fiber optic coupler of the branching part 120).
Suzuki in view of Sud and Phillips does not explicitly disclose wherein light traveling along the first arm takes one pass around the FSL, and light traveling around the second arm takes multiple passes around the FSL.
However, applicant has not provided criticality for “wherein light traveling along the first arm takes one pass around the FSL, and light traveling around the second arm takes multiple passes around the FSL”. Applicant discloses merely that “the combined signal is guided to an input 90%/10% fiber optic coupler 220. However, different light percentages for each output may be used without deviating from the scope of the invention. The coupling ratio may be wavelength-dependent to equalize the seed power into loop… The arm coming from multiplexer 216 sees only one pass, whereas the arm coming from optical circulator 260 sees many passes and gives a much larger contribution to system loss, as such, this arm has the higher transmission” (Specification para. [0039]-[0040]). Further, it has been held that finding the optimal or working ranges of a variable involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05). In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Suzuki in view of Sud and Phillips to incorporate wherein light traveling along the first arm takes one pass around the FSL, and light traveling around the second arm takes multiple passes around the FSL; for the advantage of limiting transmission loss (Phillips col. 21 ln. 11-19).
As to claims 11 and 24, Suzuki teaches n lasers for each of the n electro-optical modulators, each of the n lasers configured to emit the laser light at the n respective wavelengths for each of the respective electro-optical modulators (col. 10 ln. 45-49; “The laser apparatus 110 outputs the frequency modulated laser beam having the plurality of longitudinal modes arranged at frequency intervals which approximately match the cavity frequency vC”. Col. 6 ln. 12-17; “The plurality of longitudinal modes represented by Equation 1 change… with the passage of the time t”. Thus, an electro-optical modulator is implied by the frequency modulated laser beam, driven by an input signal, which is encoded into the laser light at a respective wavelength 1/ vC. Therefore, there are n lasers for each of the n electro-optical modulators, each of the n lasers configured to emit the laser light at the n respective wavelengths for each of the respective electro-optical modulators).
As to claim 12, Suzuki teaches wherein the n wavelengths are separated from one another by a distance L (col. 4 ln. 33-41; “Since the oscillation frequency of the light output from the laser apparatus 110 changes linearly with the passage of time, a frequency difference, which is dependent on a propagation delay corresponding to the difference in the propagation distance, occurs between the oscillation frequency of the reference light and the oscillation frequency of the reflected light. The beat signal generation part 150 generates a beat signal corresponding to such a frequency difference”).
As to claim 13, Suzuki in view of Sud does not explicitly disclose wherein the n narrowband optical filters are configured as a single element comb filter.
Phillips, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches wherein the n narrowband optical filters (Phillips col. 10 ln. 29-31; the filters can be “narrow band filter” to filter out the wider band amplified spontaneous emission (ASE)) are configured as a single element comb filter (Phillips fig. 5; col. 8 ln. 49-56; “The resulting successively recombined portions of the original and sequential stages of frequency shifted light fed to the optical switch modulator 25 comprise the original seed frequency 192 produced by the master oscillator 12 plus a plurality of incrementally shifted frequencies 193, 194, . . . , n, as illustrated in the frequency spectrum 35”. Thus, the filter is a single element comb filter, which creates a series of the original signal at different frequencies, ultimately created regularly spaced peaks as in fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Suzuki in view of Sud to incorporate the teachings of Phillips to include wherein the n narrowband optical filters are configured as a single element comb filter; for the advantage of conserving energy and preventing unwanted noise (Phillips col. 10 ln. 1-11).
As to claim 28, Suzuki teaches a demultiplexer at an output of the FSL (fig. 2, after the WDM coupler 116, the light goes through the loop to the output coupler 118), the demultiplexer configured to receive the optical beam from the FSL and demultiplex the optical beam into the n wavelengths (fig. 2; col. 5 ln. 18-21; “A WDM coupler 116”, i.e. a wavelength-division multiplexing coupler, uses a multiplexer at the transmitter to join the several signals together and a demultiplexer at the receiver to split them apart. The WDM coupler receives output light from the laser apparatus 110 in the cavity and is configured to demultiplex the optical beam into implicitly the n wavelengths);
and n photodetectors configured to receive a respective wavelength of the n wavelengths (col. 8 ln. 22-27; “The first photoelectric conversion part 154 and the second photoelectric conversion part 156 receive the multiplexed reflected light and reference light and convert them into electrical signals. Each of the first photoelectric conversion part 154 and the second photoelectric conversion part 156 may be a photodiode or the like”. Thus, the photodiodes 154, 156 receive respective wavelengths)
and measure an intensity waveform of the respective wavelength (fig. 6; col. 9 ln. 30-34; “FIG. 6 shows an example of an outline of quadrature detection by the beat signal generation part 150 and the conversion part 160 according to the present embodiment. In FIG. 6, the horizontal axis indicates the frequency of the beat signal, and the vertical axis indicates the signal intensity”)
and produce an analog electrical output responsive thereto (fig. 5; col. 8 ln. 67- co. 9 ln. 4; “The first AD converter 202 and the second AD converter 204 convert the analog signals into the digital signals”. Before the analog signals enter 202, 204, the photodiodes 154, 156 produce them);
and n analog-to-digital converters (ADCs) configured to receive the analog electrical output from the respective photodetectors, convert the received analog electrical output into a digital signal, and output the digital signal (fig. 5; col. 8 ln. 67- co. 9 ln. 4; “The first AD converter 202 and the second AD converter 204 convert the analog signals into the digital signals”. Before the analog signals enter 202, 204, the photodiodes 154, 156 produce them), wherein output from the demultiplexer is a unique order of the input signal (col. 10 ln. 45-49; “The laser apparatus 110 outputs the frequency modulated laser beam having the plurality of longitudinal modes arranged at frequency intervals which approximately match the cavity frequency vC”. Thus, the WDM coupler 116 outputs a unique order of the input signal, i.e. the modes).
However, Suzuki does not explicitly disclose an input radio frequency (RF) signal.
Sud, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches an input radio frequency (RF) signal (Sud claim 1; radio frequency (RF) signals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Suzuki to incorporate the teachings of Sud to include an input radio frequency (RF) signal; for the advantage of improving operations in an increasingly dense and complex environment (Sud [0030]).
Claims 2, 17 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki in view of Sud, Phillips and Guillet de Chatellus, and further in view of Smith et al. (US 20200256727 A1), hereinafter Smith.
As to claims 2, 17 and 26, Suzuki teaches wherein the FSL further comprises an optical circulator configured to receive the optical beam from the acousto-optic frequency shifter (col. 3 ln. 31-39; fig. 1-2; “The branching part 120 branches the frequency-modulated laser beam output from the laser apparatus 110…” into the “measurement light”. “In the example of FIG. 1, the branching part 120 supplies the measurement light to the optical circulator 130”. Thus, the optical circulator 130 receives the optical beam from the frequency shifter 112. Col. 5 ln. 22-25; The frequency shifter 112 is, for example, an acousto-optic frequency shifter (AOFS) having acousto-optic elements”),
send the shifted optical beam to a plurality of optical filters (fig. 1 and 3; the shifted optical beam (shifted by the frequency shifter in laser apparatus 110) is sent from the optical circulator 130 to the conversion part 160, which comprise the filters 162, 164),
and output the optical beam (col. 3 ln. 44-48; “the optical circulator 130 outputs a light”).
However, Suzuki in view of Sud and Phillips does not explicitly disclose the optical circulator configured to receive the optical beam from a plurality of optical filters.
Guillet de Chatellus, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches the optical circulator configured to receive the optical beam from an optical filter (Guillet de Chatellus fig. 5; [0101]; [0104]; first circulator C01 directs the first signal V1 to a first delay line DL1 comprising the first frequency shifter AOM1; first circulator C01 receives the optical beam from optical bandpass filter BP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Suzuki in view of Sud and Phillips to incorporate the teachings of Guillet de Chatellus to include the optical circulator configured to receive the optical beam from an optical filter; for the advantage of limiting the number of round trips (Guillet de Chatellus [0104]) for enhanced control (Guillet de Chatellus [0074]).
Still lacking the limitation such as the optical filter is a plurality of optical filters.
Smith, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches the optical filter is a plurality of optical filters (Smith [0008]; “An optical filter (e.g., a multispectral filter) may include a set of optical channels designed to transmit light in different wavelength ranges. For example, the set of optical channels may include… bandpass filters, each of which may be designed to pass light in a respective wavelength range”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Suzuki in view of Sud, Phillips and Guillet de Chatellus to incorporate the teachings of Smith to include the optical filter is a plurality of optical filters; for the advantage of transmitting light in different wavelength ranges (Guillet de Chatellus [0008]), enhancing control.
Guillet de Chatellus Fig. 5
Conclusion
/KEMAYA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877