DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (A1) as being anticipated by Marimuthu et al. (US 2019/0088603 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Marimuthu (Fig. 14a) discloses a semiconductor device, comprising:
an electrical component (124);
a first interconnect structure (600, 716) disposed adjacent to the electrical component (124);
a split antenna structure (antennae 734 left and core substrate 732 left; antennae 734 right and core substrate 732 right) disposed over the electrical component (124) and first interconnect structure (600, 716 left and right) (“the upper PCB unit does not physically contact the semiconductor die even though some vertical overlap exists” [0105])
and including;
(a) a first antenna section (section around 734 left) with a first substrate (732 left) and a first antenna (734 left) disposed over the first substrate (600, 716 left and right), and
(b) a second antenna section (section around antennae 734 right) with a second substrate (732 right) and a second antenna (antennae 734 right) disposed over the second substrate (732 right), wherein
the first antenna section (section around antennae 734 left) is physically separated by a gap (802) from the second antenna section (section around antennae 734 right); and
a second interconnect structure (746, 646) formed over the electrical component (124) and first interconnect structure (600, 716).
The Examiner notes that limitation “a split antenna structure disposed over the electrical component and first interconnect structure” and “a second interconnect structure formed over the electrical component and first interconnect structure” is considered to be met as long as long as a split antenna structure and second interconnect structure is disposed on a level above/below the electrical component and first interconnect structure. The Examiner notes that claim does not require “directly over”.
Regarding Claim 2, Marimuthu discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein
further including an encapsulant (an encapsulant 750) deposited between the first substrate (732 left) and second substrate (732 right).
Regarding Claim 3, Marimuthu discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, further including
an adhesive material (742) disposed between the first antenna section (section around 734 left) and second antenna section (section around 734 right).
Regarding Claim 4, Marimuthu discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first interconnect structure (600, 716) includes an interposer unit (core substrate 600).
Regarding Claim 5, Marimuthu discloses the semiconductor device of claim 4, wherein
the first interconnect structure (600, 716) includes a conductive via (716) formed within the interposer unit (600).
Regarding Claim 6, Marimuthu discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, further including
an encapsulant (750) deposited around the electrical component (124) and first interconnect structure (600, 716).
Regarding Claim 7, Marimuthu (Fig. 14a) discloses the semiconductor device, comprising:
an electrical component (124);
a first interconnect structure (600, 716); and
a split antenna structure (734 left and 732 left; 734 right and 732 right) disposed over the electrical component (124) (“the upper PCB unit does not physically contact the semiconductor die even though some vertical overlap exists” [0105]) and first interconnect structure (734 left and 732 left) with a first antenna section (section around 734 left and 732 left) of the split antenna structure (734 left and 732 left; 734 right and 732 right) separated from a second antenna section (section around 734 right and 732 right) of the split antenna structure. (734 left and 732 left; 734 right and 732 right).
The Examiner notes that limitation “a split antenna structure disposed over the electrical component and first interconnect structure” is considered to be met as long as long as a split antenna structure is disposed on a level above the electrical component and first interconnect structure. The Examiner notes that claim does not require “directly over”.
Regarding Claim 8, Marimuthu discloses the semiconductor device of claim 7, further including
a second interconnect structure (746, 646) formed over the electrical component (124) and first interconnect structure (600).
Regarding Claim 9, Marimuthu discloses the semiconductor device of claim 7, wherein
the first antenna section (734 left and 732 left) includes a first substrate (732 left) and a first antenna (734 left) disposed over the first substrate (732 left) and the second antenna section (734 right and 732 right) includes a second substrate (732 right) and a second antenna (734 right) disposed over the second substrate (732 right) with separation (802) between the first substrate (732 left) and second substrate. (732 right). (See annotated Fig. 14a)
Regarding Claim 10, Marimuthu (Fig. 14) discloses the semiconductor device of claim 7, further including an adhesive material (742, 750) disposed between the first antenna section (section around 734 left and 732 left) and second antenna section (section around 734 right and 732 right).
Regarding Claim 11, Marimuthu (Fig. 14) discloses the semiconductor device of claim 7, wherein
the first interconnect structure (600, 716) includes an interposer unit (core substrate 600).
Regarding Claim 12, Marimuthu (Fig. 14) discloses the semiconductor device of claim 11, wherein
the first interconnect structure (600, 716) includes a conductive via (716) formed within the interposer unit (600).
Regarding Claim 13, Marimuthu (Fig. 14) discloses the semiconductor device of claim 7, further including
an encapsulant (750) deposited around the electrical component (124) and first interconnect structure (600, 716).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-10, filed 03/20/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 7 under rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (A1) as being anticipated by embodiment of Fig. 12 of Marimuthu et al. (US 2019/0088603 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (A1) as being anticipated by embodiment of Fig. 14 of Marimuthu et al. (US 2019/0088603 A1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DMITRIY YEMELYANOV/Examiner, Art Unit 2891