DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 05/12/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. The following claim limitations must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
“a first damage profile within the stress compensation layer” and “a composite damage profile” (claim 1)
“the front side of the substrate including one or more of: devices, circuits, and structures to be formed into the devices or the circuits” (claim 5)
“wherein the stress compensation layer comprises an existing sacrificial patterning layer, disposed on the front side” (note bolded portion, claim 6)
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: there is no description for reference numeral 102A (Fig. 2C) in the specification. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Falk et al. (US Pub. 2020/0118822).
Regarding claim 1, Falk teaches a method of stress management in a substrate 100 (Fig. 1C), comprising:
providing a stress compensation layer 112 on a main surface of the substrate 100 (Fig. 1C); and
performing a chained implant procedure to implant a set of ions into the stress compensation layer (note the repeating implant procedures discussed in Para [0032]), the chained implant procedure comprising:
directing a first implant procedure to the substrate (e.g. ion implantation 114 in Fig. 1D or ion implantation that results to implantation stripes 202 in Fig. 4A), the first implant procedure generating a first damage profile (e.g. Para [0025] or implantation stripe 202) within the stress compensation layer 112 (see Para [0025-0027, 0034], Fig. 1D -1E & Fig. 4A, also see Fig. Fig. 4B and associated text); and
directing a second implant (114 in Fig. 1E & claim 7 or second implant as discussed in Para [0034]) to the substrate 100 (Fig. 1E), different from the first implant, wherein a composite damage profile (e.g. composite damage profile created due to the second implantation shown in Fig. 1E after the first ion implantation shown in Fig. 1D or an inherent interfacial implantation region at the interface of implantation stripe 202 and implantation stripe 204 in Fig. 4A) is generated within the stress compensation layer after the second implant, the composite damage profile resulting in a higher stress response ratio than the first damage profile (since the composite damage profile and/or the interfacial implantation region is a composite of both implantation processes, it is understood that the composite damage profile/interfacial implantation region has a higher stress response ratio).
Regarding claim 2, Falk teaches the method of stress management claim 1, wherein the stress response ratio is determined as a ratio of a stress response to a given implant (Si) compared to a maximum theoretical stress response for the stress compensation layer (SM) (Fig. 1C-1F and Fig. 4A-4B).
Regarding claim 3, Falk teaches the method of stress management claim 1, wherein the first implant is performed at a first ion energy, and the second implant is performed at a second ion energy, different from the first ion energy (Para [0034, 0053- 0054], note Para [0054] wherein Falk teaches a second ion energy for a second implant different than a first ion energy for a first implant).
Regarding claim 4, Falk teaches the method of stress management claim 1, wherein directing the first implant and the second implant comprise directing a beam of silicon ions to the substrate (e.g. Fig. 1D-1E), and wherein the stress compensation layer comprises a silicon nitride material (Para [0034 & 0028]).
Regarding claim 5, Falk teaches the method of stress management claim 1, wherein the stress compensation layer is provided on a front side of the substrate (e.g. second main surface, para [0034]), the front side of the substrate including one or more of: devices, circuits, and structures to be formed into the devices or the circuits (e.g. note features 104 in Fig. 1D-1F & Para [0034]).
Regarding claim 6, Falk teaches the method of stress management claim 5, wherein the stress compensation layer comprises an existing sacrificial patterning layer (e.g. 210, Para [0034]), disposed on the front side (Fig. 4A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Falk as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of deVilliers (US Pub. 2015/0294917).
Regarding claim 7, Falk is silent on the method of stress management claim 1, wherein the first implant is performed at a first incidence angle, and the second implant is performed at a second incidence angle, different from the first incidence angle. However, deVilliers teaches a method of stress management in a substrate wherein a first implant is performed at a first incidence angle (Fig. 8), and a second implant is performed at a second incidence angle, different from the first incidence angle (Fig. 12). This has the advantage of correcting bowing and warpage, even in specific areas or different locations in the wafer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Falk with the first and second implants having first and second incidence angle, as taught by deVilliers, so as to efficiently correct bowing/warpage in a wafer.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Falk and deVilliers teaches the method of stress management claim 7, wherein the chained implant procedure is completed after the second implant and no other implant is performed (See deVilliers' Fig 8 & Fig. 12).
Conclusion
/TIMOR KARIMY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818