DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5, 9, 10, 12 15, and 21-31 are pending.
Claims 6-8, 11, 13, 14, and 16-20 are cancelled.
Claims 21-31 are new.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/01/2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Subspecies 2-IV, relating to claims 9 and 12, in the reply filed on 03/04/2026 is acknowledged. Examiner notes that new claims added, claims 21-31, read on elected species of 2-IV. Therefore, claims 1-5, 9, 10, 12, 15, and 21-31 will be examined on the merits. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Applicant did not appropriately elect from the presented subspecies of the election requirement of 01/13/2026, which required election of one group from each of subspecies 1, 2, and 3. However, as applicant has cancelled all claims not relating to the elected group 2-IV, the issue is considered moot. For purposes of compact prosecution, Examiner will examine on the merits the elected species of 2-IV.
Claims 6-8, 11, 13, 14, and 16-20 are cancelled from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected subspecies. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
ENCAPSULATED PACKAGE STRUCTURE HAVING A THERMAL INTERFACE MATERIAL
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 21, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US PGPub 2022/0336318; herein known as Lin).
Regarding claim 1, Lin teaches (Fig. 1G) a package structure, comprising: a package substrate (120, [0054]); an electronic device (110, 112, [0039]) disposed on and electrically connected ([0048]) to the package substrate; a thermal interface material (TIM) (140, [0065]) disposed on the electronic device; a lid (150, [0063]) disposed on the TIM; and an insulating encapsulant (116, [0051]) disposed on the package substrate and laterally encapsulating the electronic device and the TIM (see figure), wherein a lateral dimension of the TIM is greater than a lateral dimension of the electronic device (TIM 140 is shown to extend past the edges of the electronic device 110 in the x-direction).
Regarding claim 3, Lin teaches (Fig. 1G) the package structure of claim 1, wherein the electronic device comprises: an interposer substrate (102, [0050]); semiconductor dies (110, 112, [0048]) disposed on and electrically connected ([0048]) to the interposer substrate; and a gap filling layer (114, [0049]) disposed on the interposer substrate and laterally encapsulating the semiconductor dies (114 shown to be deposited around all sides of the semiconductor die).
Regarding claim 4, Lin teaches (Fig. 1G) the package structure of claim 3, wherein sidewalls of the interposer substrate (102, [0050]) substantially align with sidewalls of the gap filling layer (116, [0051]).
Regarding claim 21, Lin teaches (Fig. 1G) the package structure of claim 3, wherein sidewalls of the gap filling layer (114, [0049]) are spaced apart from the TIM (140, [0065]) through the insulating encapsulant (116, [0051]).
Regarding claim 24, Lin teaches (Fig. 1G) the package structure of claim 1, wherein sidewalls of the lid (150, [0063]) are spaced apart from the insulating encapsulant (116, [0051]).
Claims 10, 12, and 26-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fang (US PGPub 2022/0262697; herein known as Fang).
Regarding claim 10, Fang teaches (annotated Fig. 1 below) a package structure, comprising: an electronic device (12, [0030]) having a first side (122, [0031]) and a second side (126, [0031]), wherein the second side is opposite to the first side; a package substrate (3, [0030]) disposed on the first side of the electronic device; a thermal interface material (TIM) (113, [0035]) disposed on the second side of the electronic device; an insulating encapsulant (16, [0035]) wrapping around the electronic device and the TIM; and a lid (10, [0034]) disposed on the TIM and the electronic device, wherein the TIM comprises a main portion (MP) sandwiched between the lid and the electronic device, and a protruding portion (PP) extending from the main portion to cover sidewalls (123, [0035]) of the electronic device.
Regarding claim 12, Fang teaches (annotated Fig. 1 above) the package structure of claim 10, wherein sidewalls of the protruding portion (PP) of the TIM are covered by the insulating encapsulant (16, [0035]).
Regarding claim 26, Fang teaches (annotated Fig. 1 below) the package structure of claim 10, wherein the protruding portion of the TIM comprises: a plate extending along the lid (PL), and a protrusion (PP) extending from the plate to the package substrate, and covering the sidewalls of the electronic device (12, [0030]).
Regarding claim 27, Fang teaches (annotated Fig. 1 below) the package structure of claim 10, wherein the insulating encapsulant (16, [0035]) comprises an upper portion, and a lower portion extending between the package substrate and the upper portion, and wherein a lateral dimension (D1) of the upper portion of the insulating encapsulant is less than a lateral dimension (D2) of the lower portion of the insulating encapsulant.
Regarding claim 28, Fang teaches (Fig. 1) a package structure, comprising: a package substrate (3, [0030]); an electronic device (12, [0030]) disposed on and electrically connected to the package substrate; a thermal interface material (TIM) (113, [0035]) disposed on the electronic device; a lid (10, [0034]) disposed on the TIM; and an insulating encapsulant (16, [0035]) disposed on the package substrate and laterally encapsulating the electronic device and the TIM (see figure), wherein the TIM covers sidewalls of the electronic device. See Figure.
Regarding claim 29, Fang teaches (annotated Fig. 1) the package structure of claim 28, wherein the TIM comprises a main portion (MP) sandwiched between the lid and the electronic device, and a protruding portion (PP) extending from the main portion to cover the sidewalls of the electronic device.
Regarding claim 30, Fang teaches (Fig. 1) the package structure of claim 28, wherein sidewalls of the TIM (113, [0035]) are covered by the insulating encapsulant (16, [0035]). See Figure.
Regarding claim 31, Fang teaches (Fig. 1) the package structure of claim 28, wherein the insulating encapsulant (16, [0035]) laterally encapsulates the lid (10, [0034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9, 22, 23, ad 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fang.
Regarding claim 2, Lin teaches the package structure of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein sidewalls of the package substrate substantially align with sidewalls of the insulating encapsulant.
Fang teaches (Fig. 1) wherein sidewalls of the package substrate (3, [0032]) substantially align with sidewalls of the insulating encapsulant (16, [0035]).
Because Lin and Fang are both directed toward encapsulated packages, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lin and Fang to include wherein sidewalls of the package substrate substantially align with sidewalls of the insulating encapsulant in order to allow for simultaneous grinding for smoothness of the encapsulant and the substrate (Fang, [0038]).
Regarding claim 9, Lin teaches the package structure of claim 1 but does not explicitly teach wherein sidewalls of the TIM are covered by the insulating encapsulant.
Fang teaches (Fig. 1) wherein sidewalls of the TIM (11, [0035]) are covered by the insulating encapsulant (16, [0035]).
Because Lin and Fang are both directed toward encapsulated packages, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lin and Fang to include wherein sidewalls of the TIM are covered by the insulating encapsulant in order to provide isolation for the TIM from air, moisture, and other elements, as is known in the art.
Regarding claim 22, Lin teaches the package structure of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the TIM comprises a main portion sandwiched between the lid and the electronic device, and a protruding portion extending from the main portion into the insulating encapsulant.
Fang teaches (annotated Fig. 1 below) wherein the TIM (11, [0035]) comprises a main portion (MP) sandwiched between the lid (10, [0036]) and the electronic device (12, [0031]), and a protruding portion (PP) extending from the main portion into the insulating encapsulant (16, [0035]).
Because Lin and Fang are both directed toward encapsulated packages, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lin and Fang to include wherein the TIM comprises a main portion sandwiched between the lid and the electronic device, and a protruding portion extending from the main portion into the insulating encapsulant in order to increase adhesion between the die and the TIM by embedding the die within the TIM to decrease shifting during encapsulation (Fang, [0035, 0046]).
Regarding claim 23, Lin teaches the package structure of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein sidewalls of the lid are in contact with the insulating encapsulant.
Fang teaches (Fig. 1) wherein sidewalls of the lid (10, [0035]) are in contact with the insulating encapsulant (16, [0035]).
Because Lin and Fang are both directed toward encapsulated packages, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lin and of Fang to include wherein sidewalls of the lid are in contact with the insulating encapsulant in order to provide isolation and protection for the lid from air, water, and outside elements, as is known in the art.
Regarding claim 25, Lin teaches the package structure of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the insulating encapsulant comprises an upper portion, and a lower portion extending between the package substrate and the upper portion, and wherein a lateral dimension of the upper portion of the insulating encapsulant is less than a lateral dimension of the lower portion of the insulating encapsulant.
Fang teaches (annotated Fig. 1 below) wherein the insulating encapsulant (16, [0035]) comprises an upper portion, and a lower portion extending between the package substrate and the upper portion, and wherein a lateral dimension (D1) of the upper portion of the insulating encapsulant is less than a lateral dimension (D2) of the lower portion of the insulating encapsulant.
Because Lin and Fang are both directed toward encapsulated packages, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lin and of Fang to include wherein the insulating encapsulant comprises an upper portion, and a lower portion extending between the package substrate and the upper portion, and wherein a lateral dimension of the upper portion of the insulating encapsulant is less than a lateral dimension of the lower portion of the insulating encapsulant in order to provide conformal protection of the electronic device and to provide rigidity to the device (Fang, [0060]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Chang et al. (US PGPub 2022/0028842; herein known as Chang).
Regarding claim 15, Fang teaches the package structure of claim 10, but does not explicitly teach wherein the lid comprises an upper portion and a lower portion extending between the TIM and the upper portion, and a lateral dimension of the upper portion of the lid is less than a lateral dimension of the lower portion of the lid.
Chang teaches (see annotated Fig. 20 below) wherein the lid (254, [0071]) comprises an upper portion and a lower portion extending and a lateral dimension of the upper portion (D1) is less than a lateral dimension of the lower portion of the lid (D2).
Fang teaches a package substrate having a lid, but does not teach a lid with a varying width. Chang teaches a lid with a varying width. Both lids are taught to function as a heat dissipator for the respective devices, (Fang, [0035]; Chang, [0074]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the lid structure of Chang for the lid of Fang for the predictable result of providing heat dissipation. See MPEP 2143.I.B.
Conclusion
/EMILY FARMER/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/DAVIENNE N MONBLEAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812