DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/01/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner and made of record.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: Specification ¶ [0060] recited “Referring to FIGS. 2 and 6, a second emission solution 620 may be formed by baking the first emission solution 610 at a first temperature (S40)”. However, Fig. 6 does not show the emission solution 620. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FENG, Jingwen (US 20220123248 A1) “FENG et al.” in view of HAN, Moon Gyu (US 20200343487 A1) “HAN et al.”
Regarding Independent Claim 1. FENG et al. Figs. 3 and 5 discloses a method of manufacturing a light emitting diode (“a quantum dot light emitting diode” ¶ [0066]), the method comprising:
forming a first auxiliary layer (“at least one electron transport layer 4 is a plurality of electron transport layers, and the electron contribution layer 5” ¶ [0067]) on a substrate (“substrate 6” ¶ [0066]);
forming an emission layer (“S204, forming a quantum dot light emitting layer” ¶ [0101])
forming a second auxiliary layer (“a hole injection layer 8 located between the second electrode 2 and the hole transport layer 7” ¶ [0058]) on the emission layer (“quantum dot light emitting layer 3” ¶ [0073]).
However, FENG et al. does not disclose, providing a first emission solution comprising a quantum dot, on the first auxiliary layer;
forming a second emission solution by heating the first emission solution to a first temperature;
forming an emission layer by heating the second emission solution to a second temperature lower than the first temperature;
In the similar field of endeavor of QLED HAN et al. Figs. 1-7 disclose, providing a first emission solution comprising a quantum dot, on the first auxiliary layer (“first emission layer may be performed by dispersing the quantum dots in a solvent (e.g., an organic solvent) to obtain a first quantum dot organic solution” ¶ [0282]);
forming a second emission solution by heating the first emission solution to a first temperature (“The forming of the quantum dot film may further include heat-treating the applied or deposited film” ¶ [0283]);
forming an emission layer by heating the second emission solution to a second temperature lower than the first temperature (“After the removal of the treating solution (e.g., including alcohol), drying the quantum dot film may be made for example, by heating the same at a predetermined temperature.” ¶ [0290]);
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the step of forming the quantum dot emission layer of FENG et al. using the step of forming the quantum emission layer of HAN et al. in order to obtain improved efficiency, improved luminance, improved FWHM, and/or improved lifetime properties (HAN et al. ¶ [0376]).
Regarding Claim 2. FENG et al. as modified by HAN et al. discloses limitations of claim 1. However, FENG et al. does not disclose, wherein the second emission solution is annealed at the second temperature.
In the similar field of endeavor of QLED HAN et al. Figs. 1-7 disclose, wherein the second emission solution is annealed at the second temperature (“The heating temperature may be greater than or equal to about 30° C.” ¶ [0291]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the step of forming the quantum dot emission layer of FENG et al. using the step of forming the quantum emission layer of HAN et al. in order to obtain improved efficiency, improved luminance, improved FWHM, and/or improved lifetime properties (HAN et al. ¶ [0376]).
Regarding Claim 7. FENG et al. as modified by HAN et al. discloses limitations of claim 1. FENG et al. Figs. 3 and 5 further discloses, wherein the quantum dot comprises nanoparticles (“A quantum dot light emitting diode (QLED) generally includes a light emitting layer having a plurality of quantum dot nanocrystals” ¶ [0003]), and each of the nano particles comprises a core comprising a first semiconductor material and a shell comprising a second semiconductor material (“a material of the quantum dot light emitting layer 3 may be InP (indium phosphide) quantum dots or indium phosphide derived quantum dots having a core-shell structure, such as InP/ZnSe/ZnS, InP/ZnSeS/ZnS” ¶ [0050]).
Regarding Claim 8. FENG et al. as modified by HAN et al. discloses limitations of claim 7. FENG et al. Figs. 3 and 5 further discloses, wherein the first semiconductor material and the second semiconductor material each independently comprise at least one selected from the group consisting of InP, ZnSe, and ZnS (“a material of the quantum dot light emitting layer 3 may be InP (indium phosphide) quantum dots or indium phosphide derived quantum dots having a core-shell structure, such as InP/ZnSe/ZnS” ¶ [0050]).
Regarding Claim 9. FENG et al. as modified by HAN et al. discloses limitations of claim 1. FENG et al. Figs. 3 and 5 further discloses, wherein the forming the first auxiliary layer (“at least one electron transport layer 4 is a plurality of electron transport layers, and the electron contribution layer 5” ¶ [0067]) comprises: forming an electron injection layer (“the electron contribution layer 5” ¶ [0067]) on the substrate 6; and forming an electron transport layer on the electron injection layer (“electron transport layer 4b is located between the quantum dot light emitting layer 3 and the electron contribution layer 5” ¶ [0069]).
Regarding Claim 10. FENG et al. as modified by HAN et al. discloses limitations of claim 1. FENG et al. Figs. 3 and 5 further discloses, wherein the forming the second auxiliary layer (“a hole injection layer 8 located between the second electrode 2 and the hole transport layer 7” ¶ [0058]) comprises: forming a hole transport layer (“hole transport layer 7” ¶ [0058]) on the emission layer 3; and forming a hole injection layer (“a hole injection layer 8 located between the second electrode 2 and the hole transport layer 7” ¶ [0058]) on the hole transport layer 7.
Regarding Claim 11. FENG et al. as modified by HAN et al. discloses limitations of claim 1. FENG et al. Figs. 3 and 5 further discloses, further comprising: forming a cathode (“first electrode 1 serves as a cathode” ¶ [0048]) on the substrate 6; and forming an anode (“the second electrode 2 serves as an anode” ¶ [0048]) on the second auxiliary layer (“a hole injection layer 8 located between the second electrode 2 and the hole transport layer 7” ¶ [0058]).
Regarding Claim 13. FENG et al. as modified by HAN et al. discloses limitations of claim 1. FENG et al. further discloses, wherein the first emission solution is provided through an inkjet printing method (“the hole injection layer, the quantum dot light emitting layer, the electron transport layer, and the cathode may be manufactured using an inkjet printing method.” ¶ [0117]).
Claims 6, 14-15, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FENG, Jingwen (US 20220123248 A1) “FENG et al.” in view of HAN, Moon Gyu (US 20200343487 A1) “HAN et al.” further in view of Steiger, Jürgen (US 20220376180 A1) “Steiger et al.”.
Regarding Claim 6. FENG et al. as modified by HAN et al. discloses limitations of claim 1. However, FENG et al. does not disclose, wherein the first emission solution is heated for about 10 minutes to 30 minutes, and the second emission solution is heated for about 5 minutes to 20 minutes.
In the similar field of endeavor of QLED HAN et al. Figs. 1-7 disclose, wherein the first emission solution is heated for about 10 minutes to 30 minutes (“for 30 minutes” ¶ [0329]), and the second emission solution is heated for about 5 minutes to 20 minutes (“for 20 minutes” ¶ [0329]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the step of forming the quantum dot emission layer of FENG et al. using the step of forming the quantum emission layer of HAN et al. in order to obtain improved efficiency, improved luminance, improved FWHM, and/or improved lifetime properties (HAN et al. ¶ [0376]).
Regarding Independent Claim 14, FENG et al. Figs. 3 and 5 discloses a method of manufacturing a light emitting diode (“a quantum dot light emitting diode” ¶ [0066]), the method comprising:
forming a first auxiliary layer (“at least one electron transport layer 4 is a plurality of electron transport layers, and the electron contribution layer 5” ¶ [0067]) on a substrate (“substrate 6” ¶ [0066]);
forming an emission layer (“S204, forming a quantum dot light emitting layer” ¶ [0101])
forming a second auxiliary layer (“a hole injection layer 8 located between the second electrode 2 and the hole transport layer 7” ¶ [0058]) on the emission layer (“quantum dot light emitting layer 3” ¶ [0073]).
However, FENG et al. does not disclose, providing a first emission solution comprising a quantum dot on the first auxiliary layer;
forming a second emission solution by heating the first emission solution;
forming an emission layer by heating the second emission solution in an air environment;
In the similar field of endeavor of QLED HAN et al. Figs. 1-7 disclose, providing a first emission solution comprising a quantum dot, on the first auxiliary layer (“first emission layer may be performed by dispersing the quantum dots in a solvent (e.g., an organic solvent) to obtain a first quantum dot organic solution” ¶ [0282]);
forming a second emission solution by heating the first emission solution (“The forming of the quantum dot film may further include heat-treating the applied or deposited film” ¶ [0283]);
forming an emission layer by heating the second emission solution (“After the removal of the treating solution (e.g., including alcohol), drying the quantum dot film may be made for example, by heating the same at a predetermined temperature.” ¶ [0290]);
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the step of forming the quantum dot emission layer of FENG et al. using the step of forming the quantum emission layer of HAN et al. in order to obtain improved efficiency, improved luminance, improved FWHM, and/or improved lifetime properties (HAN et al. ¶ [0376]).
However, HAN et al. does not disclose, forming an emission layer by heating the second emission solution in an air environment.
In the similar field of endeavor of QLED Steiger et al. Fig. 1-5 discloses forming an emission layer by heating the second emission solution in an air environment (“in air for about 30 min” ¶ [0115]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the step of forming the quantum dot emission layer of FENG et al. as modified by HAN et al. using the step of forming the quantum emission layer of Steiger et al. in order to achieve the desired wavelength of light to be emitted from the quantum dot upon stimulation with a particular excitation source (Steiger et al. ¶ [0120]).
Regarding Claim 15. FENG et al. as modified by HAN et al. and Steiger et al. discloses limitations of claim 14. However, FENG et al. does not disclose, wherein the second emission solution is annealed in the air environment.
In the similar field of endeavor of QLED, Steiger et al. Fig. 1-5 discloses wherein the second emission solution is annealed in the air environment (“in air for about 30 min” ¶ [0115]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the step of forming the quantum dot emission layer of FENG et al. as modified by HAN et al. using the step of forming the quantum emission layer of Steiger et al. in order to achieve the desired wavelength of light to be emitted from the quantum dot upon stimulation with a particular excitation source (Steiger et al. ¶ [0120]).
Regarding Claim 17. FENG et al. as modified by HAN et al. and Steiger et al. discloses limitations of claim 14. However, FENG et al. does not disclose, wherein the first emission solution is heated to a first temperature, and the second emission solution is heated a second temperature lower than the first temperature.
In the similar field of endeavor of QLED HAN et al. Figs. 1-7 disclose, wherein the first emission solution is heated to a first temperature (“the heat-treating temperature may be greater than or equal to about 60° C.” ¶ [0283]; “treated at 120° C.” ¶ [0302]), and the second emission solution is heated a second temperature lower than the first temperature (“The heating temperature may be greater than or equal to about 30° C., greater than or equal to about 40° C., greater than or equal to about 50° C.,” ¶ [0291]; “rapidly cooled into room temperature” ¶ [0303]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the step of forming the quantum dot emission layer of FENG et al. using the step of forming the quantum emission layer of HAN et al. in order to obtain a ZnTeSe/ZnSeS core/shell quantum dot (HAN et al. ¶ [0304]) and to obtain improved efficiency, improved luminance, improved FWHM, and/or improved lifetime properties (HAN et al. ¶ [0376]).
Regarding Independent Claim 18, FENG et al. Figs. 3 and 5 discloses a method of manufacturing a light emitting diode (“a quantum dot light emitting diode” ¶ [0066]), the method comprising:
forming a first auxiliary layer (“at least one electron transport layer 4 is a plurality of electron transport layers, and the electron contribution layer 5” ¶ [0067]) on a substrate (“substrate 6” ¶ [0066]);
forming an emission layer (“S204, forming a quantum dot light emitting layer” ¶ [0101])
forming a second auxiliary layer (“a hole injection layer 8 located between the second electrode 2 and the hole transport layer 7” ¶ [0058]) on the emission layer (“quantum dot light emitting layer 3” ¶ [0073]).
However, FENG et al. does not disclose, providing a first emission solution comprising a quantum dot on the first auxiliary layer;
forming an emission layer by heating the emission solution in an air environment;
In the similar field of endeavor of QLED HAN et al. Figs. 1-7 disclose, providing a first emission solution comprising a quantum dot, on the first auxiliary layer (“first emission layer may be performed by dispersing the quantum dots in a solvent (e.g., an organic solvent) to obtain a first quantum dot organic solution” ¶ [0282]);
forming an emission layer by heating the emission solution (“After the removal of the treating solution (e.g., including alcohol), drying the quantum dot film may be made for example, by heating the same at a predetermined temperature.” ¶ [0290]);
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the step of forming the quantum dot emission layer of FENG et al. using the step of forming the quantum emission layer of HAN et al. in order to obtain improved efficiency, improved luminance, improved FWHM, and/or improved lifetime properties (HAN et al. ¶ [0376]).
However, HAN et al. does not disclose, forming an emission layer by heating the emission solution in an air environment.
In the similar field of endeavor of QLED Steiger et al. Fig. 1-5 discloses forming an emission layer by heating the emission solution in an air environment (“in air for about 30 min” ¶ [0115]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the step of forming the quantum dot emission layer of FENG et al. as modified by HAN et al. using the step of forming the quantum emission layer of Steiger et al. in order to achieve the desired wavelength of light to be emitted from the quantum dot upon stimulation with a particular excitation source (Steiger et al. ¶ [0120]).
Regarding Claim 20. FENG et al. as modified by HAN et al. and Steiger et al. discloses limitations of claim 18. However, FENG et al. does not disclose, wherein the emission solution is heated for about 5 minutes to 20 minutes at about 70 °C or more and 200 °C or less.
In the similar field of endeavor of QLED HAN et al. Figs. 1-7 disclose, wherein the emission solution is heated for about 5 minutes to 20 minutes at about 70 °C or more and 200 °C or less (“Each of the following quantum dot solutions …. at a temperature of 80° C. for 20 minutes to form each of emission layers A-1, B-1, A-2, B-2” ¶ [0314]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the step of forming the quantum dot emission layer of FENG et al. using the step of forming the quantum emission layer of HAN et al. in order to obtain improved efficiency, improved luminance, improved FWHM, and/or improved lifetime properties (HAN et al. ¶ [0376]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FENG, Jingwen (US 20220123248 A1) “FENG et al.” in view of HAN, Moon Gyu (US 20200343487 A1) “HAN et al.” further in view of AOKI, Shinji (US 20240199952 A1) “AOKI et al.”.
Regarding Claim 3. FENG et al. as modified by HAN et al. discloses limitations of claim 1. However, FENG et al. does not disclose, wherein the first temperature is greater than 200 °C and less than 250 °C, and the second temperature is about 70 °C or more and 200 °C or less.
In the similar field of endeavor of QLED AOKI et al., wherein the first temperature is greater than 200 °C and less than 250 °C (“This reaction can synthesize the group II-VI element semiconductor nanocrystal shell by adding the group VI element precursor solution under high-temperature conditions between 150° C. and 350° C. after a mixed solution is made by adding the group II element precursor solution to the reaction solution used for the Mg-containing shell layer formation step.” ¶ [0066]), and the second temperature is about 70 °C or more and 200 °C or less (“heating to a temperature of 100° C. to 180°” ¶ [0067]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the step of forming the quantum dot emission layer of FENG et al. using the step of forming the quantum emission layer of AOKI et al. in order to remove dissolved oxygen and water from the dissolved solution (AOKI et al. ¶ [0067]).
Claim 4-5, 16 and 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FENG, Jingwen (US 20220123248 A1) “FENG et al.” in view of HAN, Moon Gyu (US 20200343487 A1) “HAN et al.” further in view of OHNO, Masakatsu (US 20180047609 A1) “OHNO et al.”
Regarding Claim 4. FENG et al. as modified by HAN et al. discloses limitations of claim 1. However, FENG et al. does not disclose, wherein the first emission solution is heated in a nitrous oxide (N2O) environment, and the second emission solution is heated in an air environment.
In the similar field of endeavor of light emitting devices, OHNO et al. discloses wherein the first emission solution is heated in a nitrous oxide (N2O) environment (“a nitrous oxide gas” ¶ [0093]), and the second emission solution is heated in an air environment (“an air atmosphere” ¶ [0127]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify atmosphere of the step of heat treatment of the quantum dot emission layer of FENG et al. as modified by HAN et al. using the atmosphere of OHNO et al. in order to provide a high-yield peeling method can be provided. (OHNO et al. ¶ [0020]).
Regarding Claim 5. FENG et al. as modified by HAN et al. discloses limitations of claim 4. However, FENG et al. does not disclose, wherein the air environment comprises moisture and oxygen.
In the similar field of endeavor of light emitting devices, OHNO et al. discloses wherein the air environment comprises moisture (“The hydrogen and the oxygen that is contained in the oxygen-containing layer react with each other to produce water.” ¶ [0066) and oxygen (“an oxygen-containing gas is preferably supplied.” ¶ [0063]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify atmosphere of the step of heat treatment of the quantum dot emission layer of FENG et al. as modified by HAN et al. using the atmosphere of OHNO et al. in order to provide a high-yield peeling method can be provided. (OHNO et al. ¶ [0020]).
Regarding Claim 16. FENG et al. as modified by HAN et al. and Steiger et al. discloses limitations of claim 14. However, FENG et al. does not disclose, wherein the first emission solution is heated in a nitrous oxide(N2O) environment, and the air environment comprises moisture and oxygen.
In the similar field of endeavor of light emitting devices, OHNO et al. discloses wherein the first emission solution is heated in a nitrous oxide (N2O) environment (“a nitrous oxide gas” ¶ [0093]), and the air environment comprises moisture (“The hydrogen and the oxygen that is contained in the oxygen-containing layer react with each other to produce water.” ¶ [0066) and oxygen (“an oxygen-containing gas is preferably supplied.” ¶ [0063]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify atmosphere of the step of heat treatment of the quantum dot emission layer of FENG et al. as modified by HAN et al. using the atmosphere of OHNO et al. in order to provide a high-yield peeling method can be provided. (OHNO et al. ¶ [0020]).
Regarding Claim 19. FENG et al. as modified by HAN et al. and Steiger et al. discloses limitations of claim 18. However, FENG et al. does not disclose, wherein the air environment comprises moisture and oxygen.
In the similar field of endeavor of light emitting devices, OHNO et al. discloses wherein the air environment comprises moisture (“The hydrogen and the oxygen that is contained in the oxygen-containing layer react with each other to produce water.” ¶ [0066) and oxygen (“an oxygen-containing gas is preferably supplied.” ¶ [0063]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify atmosphere of the step of heat treatment of the quantum dot emission layer of FENG et al. as modified by HAN et al. using the atmosphere of OHNO et al. in order to provide a high-yield peeling method can be provided. (OHNO et al. ¶ [0020]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FENG, Jingwen (US 20220123248 A1) “FENG et al.” in view of HAN, Moon Gyu (US 20200343487 A1) “HAN et al.” further in view of YAMAZAKI, Shunpei (US 20240341109 A1) “YAMAZAKI et al.”.
Regarding Claim 12. FENG et al. as modified by HAN et al. discloses limitations of claim 11, However, FENG et al. does not disclose further comprising: forming a capping layer on the anode.
In the similar field of endeavor of QLED YAMAZAKI et al. Figs. 31D and 31F discloses further comprising: forming a capping layer (“a layer 785 illustrated in FIG. 31D” ¶ [0684]) on the anode 788 (“upper electrode 788 is an anode” ¶ [0681]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the light emitting device of FENG et al. as modified by HAN et al. including the layer on the anode so that a color filter (also referred to as a coloring layer) may be provided as the layer 785 illustrated in FIG. 31D. When white light passes through a color filter, light of a desired color can be obtained (YAMAZAKI et al. ¶ [0685]).
Conclusion
/AKHEE SARKER-NAG/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893