DETAILED ACTION
Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file, as electronically retrieved 11/22/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/15/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Application
In response to Office action mailed 02/05/2026, Applicants amended claims 1 and 21 in the response filed 05/04/2026.
Claim(s) 1-21 are pending examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, with respect to claims 1-21 have been considered but are moot because they do not apply to the new combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (PG Pub 2014/0183501; hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 1, refer to the Examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 1a-provided above, Han teaches a display panel 100a comprising:
a first pixel (A) comprising:
a light emitting device 150a comprising:
a first electrode 151a; and a second electrode 153a disposed over the first electrode (see Fig. 1a);
and
a transistor 130a electrically connected to the second electrode (through 151a and 152a; see Fig. 1a);
a second pixel B comprising:
a light emitting device 150a comprising:
a first electrode 151a; and a second electrode 153a disposed over the first electrode (see Fig. 1a); and
a transistor 130a electrically connected to the second electrode (through 151a and 152a; see Fig. 1a);
a first insulating layer 114a disposed on the transistor of each of the first pixel and the second pixel (see Fig. 1a);
a conductive pattern (annotated “pat-1” and “pat-2” in Fig.1 a above) disposed on the first insulating layer and comprising a first pattern (“pat-1”) corresponding to the first pixel and a second pattern (“pat-2”) corresponding to the second pixel and spaced apart from the first pattern (see Fig. 1a); and
a separator 180a disposed between the first pattern and the second pattern and contacting a portion of the first insulating layer (see Fig. 1a), which is exposed and not covered by the first pattern and the second pattern, to separate the second electrode of the first pixel from the second electrode of the second pixel (see Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 3, refer to the Examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 1a-provided above, Han teaches the separator 180 comprises a bottleneck area (bottom area abutting 114a) adjacent to the first insulating layer 114a and a wide area (top surface) disposed at an upper side of the bottleneck area in a cross-section perpendicular to a direction in which the separator extends (see Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 4, refer to the Examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 1a-provided above, Han teaches the first pattern (“pat-1”) has a substantially closed-line shape in a plan view (see Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 5, refer to the Examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 1a-provided above, Han teaches the second electrode 153a of the first pixel (A) contacts the first pattern (see Fig. 1a), and at least a portion of an area where the second electrode of the first pixel contacts the first pattern overlap the separator (see Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 6, refer to the Examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 1a-provided above, Han teaches the conductive pattern (“pat-1” and “pat-2”) is insulated 116a from the second electrode 153a of the first pixel (a) and the conductive pattern receives a constant voltage.
The recited “conductive pattern receives a constant voltage” (i.e., function) does not structurally distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus see In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 838 (CCPA 1959) (apparatus claims must distinguish in terms of structure rather than function). The only structural limitation that appears to be required for the prior art apparatus to be capable of performing the aforementioned function is having the claimed structure of claim 1 and claim 6, which Han clearly shows or in other words, the prior art appears to inherently possess the capability of performing the recited functions. "[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus, the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210 (CCPA 1971) to emphasize that “where the Patent [and Trademark] Office has reason to believe that a functional limitation asserted to be critical for establishing novelty in the claimed subject matter may, in fact be an inherent characteristic of the prior art, it possesses the authority to require the applicant to prove that the subject matter shown to be in the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on.").
Regarding claim 21, refer to the Examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 1a-provided above, Han teaches a display panel comprising:
a pixel (A) comprising: a light emitting device 150a comprising a first electrode 151a and a second electrode 153a; and a transistor 130a electrically connected to the second electrode (see Fig. 1a);
an insulating layer 116a, 117a disposed on the transistor (indirectly) and including a light emitting opening (space containing 150a) that exposes a portion of the first electrode (see Fig. 1a);
a separator 180a surrounding the light emitting opening in a plan view and contacting the insulating layer (see Fig. 1a); and
a separation pattern (annotated “pat-1” and “pat-2” in Fig.1 a above) disposed on an upper surface of the separator and spaced apart from the second electrode (see Fig. 1a), the first electrode comprising: a first portion overlapping the light emitting opening in the plan view; a second portion overlapping the separator in the plan view; and a third portion connecting the first portion and the second portion (see Fig. 1a).
Allowable Subject Matter
2. Claims 2 and 7-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 2 contains allowable subject matter, because the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other elements in claim 2, a separation pattern disposed on the separator, wherein the separation pattern and the second electrode of each of the first pixel and the second pixel have a same structure.
Claim 7 contains allowable subject matter, because the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other elements in claim 7, a connection wiring partially covered by the first insulating layer and electrically connecting the transistor of the first pixel to the second electrode of the first pixel. Claims 8-20 would be allowable, because they depend on allowable claim 7.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINA A SYLVIA/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817