Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 1/12/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US-20180174971-A1 referred as Song) in view of Adachi et al. (US-20230010901-A1 referred as Adachi).
Regarding claim 1. Song discloses a memory device, comprising:
a substrate ([0024], figure 2a, a substrate #100);
a word line buried in the substrate and extending in a first direction ([0024], figure 2a, a word line #WL buried in the substrate #100 and extending in a first (vertical) direction);
a word line cap layer over the word line ([0024], figure 2a, word line cap layers #110 over the word line #WL);
a landing pad over and in contact with the substrate and the word line cap layer ([0026], figure 2a, a landing pad #DCC is over and in contact with the substrate #100 (please note the source/drain regions #50 is part of the substrate #100 as described in [0049]) and with the word line cap layer #110);
a cell contact over and in contact with the landing pad ([0029], figure 2a, a cell contact #116 is seen over and in contact with the landing pad #DCC. Please note that #116 is a conductive layer that is part of a memory cell, therefore, can broadly be called a cell contact); and
a bit line over the word line and extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction ([0029], figure 2a, a bit line #118 (which is part of bit line #BL) is seen over the word line #WL and in a second (horizontal) direction perpendicular to the first (vertical) direction).
Song lacks a capacitor electrically connected with the cell contact.
Adachi discloses a capacitor electrically connected with the cell contact ([0008], figure 1B, a capacitor #E1/D/E2 is connected to the cell contact #11 as illustrated and described).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Song to include a capacitor electrically connected with the cell contact as taught by Adachi in order to provide additional device versatility, enhance the devices efficiency, and to reduce stress points in the circuitry.
Regarding claim 2. Song as modified discloses wherein the substrate and the landing pad are made of silicon ([0019, 0026], figure 2a, the substrate #100 and the landing pad #DCC contains silicon).
Regarding claim 10. Song as modified discloses wherein a portion of the landing pad is between the cell contact and the word line cap layer ([0026], figure 2a, a portion of the landing pad #DCC is between the cell contact #116 and the word line cap layer #110).
Claims 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US-20180174971-A1 referred as Song) and Adachi et al. (US-20230010901-A1 referred as Adachi), in further view of Seo et al. (US-20230284439-A1 referred as Seo).
Regarding claim 3. Song as modified discloses an isolation structure buried in the substrate ([0019], figure 2a, an isolation structure #102 is buried in the substrate).
Song as modified lacks an isolation structure in contact with the landing pad.
Seo discloses an isolation structure in contact with the landing pad ([0072], figure 2, the isolation structure #105 is in contact with the landing pad #330. Please note that the landing pad #330 contains silicon which could be used as a landing pad).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Song as modified to include an isolation structure in contact with the landing pad as taught by Seo in order to enhance electrical safety, distribute weight across the device, and to extend the devices lifetime.
Regarding claim 4. Song as modified discloses a dielectric layer covering the landing pad, the word line cap layer and the isolation structure ([0029], figure 2a, the dielectric layer #120 is seen entirely covering the landing pad #DCC, word line cap layer #110, and the isolation structure #102).
Regarding claim 5. Song as modified lacks wherein the dielectric layer is in contact with the cell contact and the landing pad.
Seo discloses wherein the dielectric layer is in contact with the cell contact and the landing pad ([0177, 0059], figure 2 with a clearer view in figure 14 and figure 18, the dielectric layer #351 (specifically, the one disposed over the landing pad #330) is seen with contact to the cell contact #340 and to the landing pad #330).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Song as modified to include the dielectric layer in contact with the cell contact and the landing pad as taught by Seo in order to reduce device failures, reduce manufacturing material, and to extend the devices lifetime.
Regarding claim 6. Song as modified lacks wherein a bottom of the landing pad is level with a top surface of the isolation structure.
Seo discloses wherein a bottom of the landing pad is level with a top surface of the isolation structure ([0047], figure 2, the bottom of the landing pad #330 is level with a top surface of the isolation structure #105).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Song as modified to include the bottom of the landing pad is being leveled with a top surface of the isolation structure as taught by Seo in order to increase manufacturing speed, simplify the device design, and to maximize safety in the device.
Regarding claim 7. Song as modified lacks wherein the substrate has a portion protruding over a top surface of the isolation structure, and the landing pad is in contact with sidewalls of the portion of the substrate.
Seo discloses wherein the substrate has a portion protruding over a top surface of the isolation structure, and the landing pad is in contact with sidewalls of the portion of the substrate ([0184], figure 21 annotated above, in the intermediate stage of the device illustrated the substrate #100 is seen having a portion at #Ref1 protruding over a top surface #Ref2 of the isolation structure #105. The landing pad #330 is also seen in contact with sidewalls of the portion of the substrate #100 seen at #Ref1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Song as modified to include the substrate has a portion protruding over a top surface of the isolation structure with landing pad contacts as taught by Seo in order to reduce stress points, increase electrical safety, and to reduce total device weight.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US-20180174971-A1 referred as Song) and Adachi et al. (US-20230010901-A1 referred as Adachi), in further view of Yen (US-20230345703-A1).
Regarding claim 8. Song as modified lacks a bit line contact below the bit line, wherein a bottom of the bit line contact is lower than a bottom of the landing pad.
Yen discloses a bit line contact below the bit line, wherein a bottom of the bit line contact is lower than a bottom of the landing pad ([0026], figure 2e, a bit line contact #122 is below the bit line #126 (please note that #126 includes both #128 and #130 as described in [0024]). The bottom of the bit line contact #122 is also seen lower than the bottom of the landing pad #116 (please not that the landing pad #116 is made of silicon)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Song as modified to include the bit line contact below the bit line with the bottom of the bit line contact being lower than the bottom of the landing pad as taught by Yen in order to reduce stress points, increase electrical safety, and to reduce total device weight.
Regarding claim 9. Song as modified lacks wherein a bottom of the landing pad is level with a top surface of the word line cap layer.
Yen discloses wherein a bottom of the landing pad is level with a top surface of the word line cap layer ([0021], figure 2e, the bottom of the landing pad #116 is level with a top surface of the word line cap layer #105).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Song as modified to include the bottom of the landing pad is substantially level with a top surface of the word line cap layer as taught by Yen in order to distribute the weight across the device, maximize contact to reduce device failure, and to enhance the devices integrity.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments filed 04/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
It is noted that Applicant's arguments are related to the amended subject matter, simply stating the new amendments are not seen in the prior art. As is seen in the new rejection above, these amended features are disclosed by the prior art by new prior art (Adachi et al. - US-20230010901).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACOB RAUL MARIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818