DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, species B, claims 7-11 and new claims 21-26, in the reply filed on 2/3/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/3/26.
Applicant’s cancellation of non-elected claims 1-6 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7, 8, 10, 11 21, 22, 24 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al., CN 108878529 B (see attached English machine translation).
Zhang anticipates:
7. A method, comprising (see fig. 3):
forming a fin structure (301) above a substrate (300) of a semiconductor device;
forming a dummy gate structure (304) that wraps around the fin structure on at least three sides of the fin structure;
forming a sidewall protection layer (307) on a sidewall spacer layer (306) of the dummy gate structure;
removing a portion of the fin structure adjacent to the dummy gate structure to form a source/drain recess (301b),
wherein the sidewall protection layer (307) resists etching of the fin structure under the sidewall spacer layer; and
forming a source/drain region (308) in the source/drain recess. See Zhang at English machine translation pages 9-19, figs. 1-4.
8. The method of claim 7, further comprising: forming an interlayer dielectric (ILD) layer (310) over the source/drain region (308) and over the sidewall protection layer (7), fig. 3F.
10. The method of claim 7, wherein removing the portion of the fin structure adjacent to the dummy gate structure comprises:
removing a second portion of the fin structure (301)adjacent to the dummy gate structure (304) to increase a depth of the source/drain recess (301b) from a first depth (e.g. depth of h1 in fig. 3C) to a second depth (e.g. depth of 301b in fig. 3D); and
wherein the method further comprises:
removing a first portion of the fin structure (301) adjacent to the dummy gate structure to form the source/drain recess (301a) to the first depth (e.g. depth of h1 in fig. 3C)
11. The method of claim 10, wherein removing the first portion of the fin structure adjacent to the dummy gate structure to form the source/drain recess to the first depth comprises:
removing, prior to formation of the sidewall protection layer (307), the first portion of the fin structure (301) adjacent to the dummy gate structure (304) to form the source/drain recess (301a) to the first depth (e.g. depth of h1 in fig. 3C).
21. A method, comprising (see fig. 3):
forming a fin structure (301) above a substrate (300) of a semiconductor device;
forming a dummy gate structure (304) on the fin structure; forming a sidewall spacer layer (306) on the dummy gate structure;
forming a sidewall protection layer (307) on the sidewall spacer layer, wherein the sidewall protection layer (307) extends below a bottom surface of a portion of the dummy gate structure (304) that is on the fin structure;
removing a portion of the fin structure adjacent to the dummy gate structure to form a source/drain recess (301b); and
forming a source/drain region (308) in the source/drain recess. See Zhang at English machine translation pages 9-19, figs. 1-4.
22. The method of claim 21, wherein the sidewall protection layer (307) extends below the bottom surface of the dummy gate structure by greater than 0% to approximately 50% of a depth of the source/drain region (e.g. depth of h1+thickness of 303), fig. 3C.
24. The method of claim 21, wherein the sidewall protection layer comprises silicon oxide (SiOx), silicon nitride (SixNy), silicon carbonitride (SiCN), silicon oxynitride (SiON), or silicon oxycarbonitride (SiOCN), page 13.
Regarding claim 25:
Zhang teaches the limitations as applied to claim 8 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 23, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, as applied to claims and 21 above.
Regarding claim 9:
Zhang teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches:
9. The method of claim 7, wherein forming the sidewall protection layer comprises:
forming the sidewall protection layer (307) on a top surface of the dummy gate structure and on a top surface of the portion of the fin structure (e.g. page 13),
wherein the sidewall protection layer (307) is removed from the top surface of the dummy gate structure (304) and from the top surface of the portion of the fin structure (301)… (e.g. page 13),
wherein the sidewall protection layer (307) is retained on the sidewall spacer layer (306) of the dummy gate structure (304) after removal of the portion of the fin structure (301) (e.g. page 14, fig. 3D).
Zhang teaches the sidewall protection layer is patterned/removed in a separate step before removing the portion of the fin structure.
Zhang does not expressly teach the sidewall protection layer is removed in an integral step when removing the portion of the fin structure.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in to perform “wherein the sidewall protection layer is removed…when removing the portion of the fin structure”, since forming in one piece (e.g. one, integral step) an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces (e.g. two, separate steps) and put together involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04, Legal Precedent as Source of Supporting Rationale, V. Making Portable, Integral, Separable, Adjustable or Continuous.
Regarding claim 23:
Zhang teaches all the limitations of claim 21, and further teaches the sidewall protection layer comprises silicon oxide, silicon nitride, and silicon oxynitride, page 13.
Zhang does not expressly teach wherein the sidewall protection layer comprises a polymer material.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to form the sidewall protection layer comprises a polymer material, since it is ithin the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended purpose as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See MPEP § 2144.07, Art Recognized Suitability for an Intended Purpose.
Regarding claim 26:
Zhang teaches the fin structure is removed using a dry etching process or by dry etching combined with wet etching process at page 14.
Zhang is silent the dry etching process is an anisotropic etch.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform
“wherein the portion of the fin structure is removed using an anisotropic etch technique” because Zhang teaches an “anisotropic dry etching process” at page 10.
Conclusion
/Michele Fan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818
5 May 2026