DETAILED ACTION
Attorney Docket Number: 102351-2158-01727/US13821
Filling Date: 11/02/23
Inventor: Ho et al
Examiner: Bilkis Jahan
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 11-12, 14, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dang et al (US 2016/0336638 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Dang discloses an electronic device (Fig. 10), comprising: a first electronic component 1010 (Para. 62); a second electronic component 1020 (Para. 62); an interconnection structure 1040 (Paras. 62, 63) below the first electronic component 1010 and the second electronic component 1020, and electrically connecting the first electronic component 1010 to the second electronic component 1020; and a first waveguide 1040 (Paras. 62, 63) below the first electronic component 1010 and the second electronic component 1020, and configured to transmit electromagnetic waves (functional).
Regarding claim 2, Dang discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first waveguide 1040 is configured to transmit signals between the second electronic component 1020 and an antenna 1030 (Paras. 62, 63).
Regarding claim 3, Dang discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first electronic component 1010 is configured to modulate a signal from the second electronic component 1020.
Regarding claim 5, Dang discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the second electronic component includes a power amplify element 1020 (RFIC).
Regarding claim 6, Dang discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first waveguide 1040 includes a plurality of conductive structures 1040 (conductive structures connected between 1030 and 1010/1020).
Regarding claim 7, Dang discloses the electronic device of claim 6, wherein the plurality of conductive structures include conductive pillars separated from each other (conductive structures connected between 1030 and 1010/1020).
Regarding claim 8, Dang discloses the electronic device of claim 6, wherein the plurality of conductive structures 1040 (two conductive wires connected to 1010 and 1020) are configured to define a channel for transmitting the electromagnetic waves (any conductive structure passes electromagnetic waves).
Regarding claim 11, Dang discloses the electronic device of claim 6, wherein a first part of the plurality of conductive structures defines a filter 1040 (left connection structure filter signals from antenna).
Regarding claim 12, Dang discloses the electronic device of claim 6, wherein a second part of the plurality of conductive structures defines a divider 1040 (right connection structure drives signals from antenna).
Regarding claim 14, Dang discloses the electronic device of claim 10, wherein the first conductive layer 1040 (left connection structure filter signals from antenna) defines a first antenna 1030 (Paras. 62, 63) electrically coupled to the first waveguide 1040.
Regarding claim 18, Dang discloses an electronic device (Fig. 10), comprising: a baseband chip 1010 (Para. 62, claim does not specify baseband chip); a RFIC 1020 (Para. 62) adjacent to the baseband chip 1010; and a waveguide 1040 (Paras. 62, 63) disposed below the baseband chip 1010 and the RFIC 1020, wherein the waveguide 1040 defines an antenna 1030 electrically connected to the RFIC 1020.
Regarding claim 19, Dang discloses the electronic device of claim 18, wherein at least a portion of the baseband chip or the RFIC 1020 overlaps the waveguide 1040.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dang et al (US 2016/0336638 A1) in view of Rofougaran (US 2014/0154999 A1, Rofo hereinafter).
Regarding claim 4, Dang does not explicitly disclose the electronic device of claim 3, wherein the first electronic component is configured to convert the signal from an analog signal to a digital signal.
However, Rofo discloses the first electronic component is configured to convert the signal from an analog signal to a digital signal 112, 505 (Figs. 1, 5, Paras. 17, 44).
Rofo teaches the above modification is used to convert analog signal to digital signal (Paras. 17, 44).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute Dang first electronic component with Rofo electronic component as suggested above to convert analog signal to digital signal (Paras. 17, 44).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10, 13, 15 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 16 and 17 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The applied prior arts neither anticipate nor render the claimed subject matter obvious because they fail to teach the claimed electronic device, comprising: a bridge die below the baseband die and the RFIC, and electrically connecting a portion of output terminals of the baseband die with a portion of output terminals of the RFIC in combination with all other limitations as recited in claim 16.
Conclusion
BILKIS . JAHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2817
/BILKIS JAHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817