Status of the Claims/Amendments
This Office Action Correspondence is in response to Applicant’s amendments filed 02 Feb 2026.
Claims 1-17, 21-23 are pending. Claim 1-6, 9-12, 14, 16 are amended. Claim 18-20 are canceled. Claims 21-23 are new.
Claim Interpretation
Detector (claim 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 10, 11, 12, 14, 16, 17) shall be interpreted in light of para. [0031] as comprising a controller configured to detect an end point of plasma processing by the plasma generated inside the chamber from a change in any of a voltage, a current, and a phase difference between the voltage and the current measured by the measuring probe with a timing synchronized with a cycle of pulses of the radio-frequency power.
Claim Objections
Claim objections discussed in the non-final rejection of 31 Oct 2025 is withdrawn in light of amendments to the claims.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 02 Feb 2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of any patent granted on Application No. 19/019808 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Double patenting rejection discussed in the non-final rejection of 31 Oct 2025 is withdrawn in light of filing of terminal disclaimer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 (and dependent claims 5, 6), claim 5, claim 10 (and dependent claims 11, 12, 13, 14, 15) and claim 11 rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph discussed in the non-final rejection of 31 Oct 2025 are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments filed 02 Feb 2026.
However, Applicant’s amendments filed 02 Feb 2026 necessitated new rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as further discussed below.
Claim 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 10, 11, 12, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 10, 11, 12, 14 there is insufficient antecedent basis for limitation "the change in any of the voltage, the current, and the phase difference between the voltage and the current measured by the measuring probe." Examiner further explains that claim 1, on which claim 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 10, 11, 12, 14 ultimately depends, recites "a change in a phase difference between the voltage and the current measured by the measuring probe."
For the purpose of examination, the Examiner interprets the above discussed limitation as "the change in
Examiner notes that in light of claim interpretation of claim 2, then claim 21 would potentially be a duplicate of claim 2.
Examiner notes that in light of claim interpretation of claim 3, then claim 22 would potentially be a duplicate of claim 3.
In light of the above, dependent claims 7, 13, 15, 16, 17, 23 are also rejected at least due to dependency on rejected claim 2, 3, 4, 10, 14, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 7, 8, 9, 21, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kabouzi et al. (US 2016/0111261 A1 hereinafter “Kabouzi”) in view of Liao et al. (US 2011/0031216 A1 hereinafter “Liao”) and Edamura et al. (US 2002/0029851 A1 hereinafter “Edamura”) and Turner et al. (US 5,576,629 hereinafter "Turner") and further substantiated by Gunston, Bill. ((2009). Cambridge Aerospace Dictionary (2nd Edition) - phase angle. Cambridge University Press. Hereinafter "Gunston").
Regarding independent claim 1, Kabouzi teaches a plasma processing apparatus (comprising multi-mode pulse process system 100 including plasma process chamber 110, Fig. 1A, para. [0045]) comprising:
a chamber (comprising plasma process chamber 110, Fig. 1A, para. [046]) provided inside with a placing pedestal (comprising wafer support 104, Fig. 1A, para. [0046]) on which a substrate (comprising wafer 102, Fig. 1A, para. [0046]) is placed;
an electrode (comprising wafer support 104 and/or second electrode 106, Fig. 1A, para. [0046]-[0047]) disposed inside the chamber (comprising 110, Fig. 1A);
a measuring probe (comprising RF voltage sensors 134, 135, RF current sensors 136, 137, RF probe 138, Fig. 1A, para. [0050]) provided in the electrode (comprising 104, Fig. 1A) or in a wire connected to the electrode (comprising 104, Fig. 1A) and configured to measure either a voltage or a current (para. [0050])(Note: 134/136 is understood to be in the electrode 104 while 135 and 137 is understood to be provided in a wire connected to the electrode);
a gas supply (comprising one or more gas sources 112, Fig. 1A) and at least one flow controller (comprising flow controllers 112B, Fig. 1A, para. [0052]) wherein the gas supple unit is configured to supply a gas to be made into plasma into the chamber (comprising 110, Fig. 1A)(para. [0052]);
a radio-frequency power supply (comprising RF sources 114, Fig. 1A) configured to supply, to the chamber (comprising 110, Fig. 1A); and
a detector (comprising controller 120, Fig. 1A) configured to detect an end point of plasma processing by the plasma generated inside the chamber from a change measured by the measuring probe (comprising sensors 134, 135, 136, 137, Fig. 1A) (para. [0040]-[0042], [0056], [0084]-[0085]).
Kabouzi does not clearly and explicitly teach that the radio-frequency power in a pulse form making the gas supplied into the chamber plasma and the measuring is with a timing synchronized with a cycle of pulses of the radio-frequency power, the change measured by the measuring probe is a change in a phase difference between the voltage and current measured by the measuring probe.
However, Liao teaches a plasma processing apparatus (comprising plasma reactor, Fig. 1, para. [0016]) including a radio-frequency power supply (comprising VHF source generator 140, bias generator 144, bias generator 148, Fig. 1, para. [0017]-[0019]) configured to provide a radio-frequency power in pulse form for making the gas supplied into the chamber a plasma (Fig. 5, para. [0017]-[0019]). Liao teaches that such a configuration enables improved etch rate control, (para. [0021], [0027],[0030]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the radio-frequency power supply to pulse to form the gas supplied into the chamber into plasma because Liao teaches that such a configuration enables improved etch rate control (Liao: para. [0021], [0027], [0030]).
Kabouzi in view of Liao as applied above does not explicitly teach the measuring is with a timing synchronized with a cycle of pulses of the radio-frequency power.
However, Edamura teaches a plasma processing apparatus (comprising process chamber 1, Fig. 1, para. [0018]) including a measuring probe comprising a probe (comprising current/voltage impedance monitor 8 and 12, Fig. 1) configured to measure current and/or voltage wherein the measurements are made in synchronism with the timing of the pulse (para. [0018]-[0019], see Fig. 3). Edamura teaches that such a configuration enables collecting a suitable amount of data for good/high quality substrate processing (para. [0028]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configured the apparatus such that the measuring probe measures in synchronism with the timing of the pulse because Edamura teaches that such a configuration enables collecting a suitable amount of date for good/high quality substrate processing (para. [0028]).
However, Turner further teaches a detector (comprising control computer 86, Fig. 5, col 8 line 48-63) configured to detect an end point of plasma processing by the plasma generated inside the chamber (abstract, col 10 line 37-59) from a change in radio frequency voltage, current, and a phase angle of the RF power measured by the measuring probe (comprising sensors 82, Fig. 5) (col 9 line 13-17; col 16 line 48-62; col 17 line 65-col 18 line 5; claim 20, 21, 27, 35, 42; see also Fig. 22, 24, 26).
Gunston further substantiates that the phase angle is the phase difference between the voltage and current.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the measuring probe and the detector/controller to detect an end point of plasma processing by the plasma generated inside the chamber from a change in a phase angle/phase difference between the voltage and the current measured by the measuring probe because Turner teaches phase angle/difference is a known suitable parameter a controller/detector can be configured to detect/use to identify an endpoint of a plasma processing by the plasma.
Regarding claim 2 and 21, Kabouzi in view of Liao, Edamura, Turner (and further substantiated by Gunston) teaches all of the limitations of claim(s) 1 as applied above including the detector detects an end point of plasma processing from the change in the phase difference between the voltage and the current measured by the measuring probe with the timing synchronized with the cycle of the pulses of the radio-frequency power (see claim 1 rejection above. Kabouzi teaches the detector detecting the end point based on a change in a measured current or voltage (Kabouzi: para. [0084]-[0085]; Turner teaches detecting the end point based on a change in the phase difference between the voltage and the current (col 9 line 13-17; col 16 line 48-62; col 17 line 65-col 18 line 5; claim 20, 21, 27, 35, 42; see also Fig. 22, 24, 26)) and Edamura teaches measurements synchronized with the timing of the RF pulsing (Edamura: para. [0018])). Kabouzi further teaches a gas supply configured to supply an etching gas (para. [0052],[0057]) and further teachings identifying an etching end point (see Fig. 6D, para. [0036]-[0042]). Thus, the combination meets claim 2 limitations.
Regarding claim 3 and 22, Kabouzi in view of Liao, Edamura, Turner (and further substantiated by Gunston) teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as applied above and already teaches detecting an end point from the change in the phase difference between the voltage and the current measured by the measuring probe with the timing synchronized with the cycle of the pulses of the radio-frequency power (see combination of art as applied in rejected claim 1 above).
Kabouzi in view of Liao, Edamura, Turner (and further substantiated by Gunston) as applied above do not explicitly teach wherein the gas supply supplies a cleaning gas as the gas and the detector detects an end point of cleaning.
However, Kabouzi teaches that the apparatus is capable for performing a multi-mode process which can include deposition and etching phases (para. [0037],[0045], [0057]).
Additionally, Turner teaches that film can be deposited on a chamber during deposition processes (i.e. PECVD) wherein cleaning of the chamber commonly occurs using etchant/cleaning gases (col 17 line 5-9), and teaches that a change in radio frequency voltage, current and phase angle can be monitored during cleaning processes to determine end point for a cleaning process, wherein optimal timing of terminating cleaning protects chamber hardware from overetching (col 16 line 48-62; col 17 line 65-col 18 line 5).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the gas supply to supply a cleaning gas to enable a cleaning process because Kabouzi teaches that the apparatus is capable of performing a deposition process and because Turner further teaches that deposition of film on the chamber can be cleaned using a cleaning gas. Furthermore, it would be obvious to configure the measuring probe and detector to measure and detect an end point of cleaning based on the change in the phase difference between the voltage and the current because Turner teaches that such a configuration is capable of optimally monitoring and determining an end point of a cleaning process to terminate cleaning at an optimal time to prevent overetching of chamber hardware (Turner: col 16 line 48-62; col 17 line 65-col 18 line 5).
Regarding claim 7, Kabouzi in view of Liao, Edamura, Turner (and further substantiated by Gunston) teaches all of the limitations of claim(s) 2 as applied above and Kabouzi further teaches wherein the substrate (comprising wafer 102, Fig. 1A; Fig. 2A-2C, para. [0059]-[0063]) is formed with a film to be etched, and the detector (comprising controller 120, Fig. 1A) detects an end of etching of the film (para. [0084]-[0085]).
Regarding claim 8, Kabouzi in view of Liao, Edamura, Turner (and further substantiated by Gunston) teaches all of the limitations of claim(s) 1 as applied above but does not explicitly teach wherein the radio-frequency power supply supplies the radio-frequency power in a pulse form with a frequency of 100 Hz to 10 kHz.
However, Liao further teaches the radio-frequency power supply supplied the radio-frequency power in a pulse form with a frequency of 0.1kHz to 20 kHz (para. [0033]) which overlaps with claimed range of “100 Hz to 10 kHz.” Additionally, Liao teaches a specific pulse frequency example of 6 kHz, which lies within the claimed range (para. [0039]). Furthermore, Liao teaches the pulse frequency (1/tp) is a function of the pulse duration (tp) and affects the duty cycle (see Fig. 2A, para. [0022]), wherein the duty cycle can be used to control the ion energy in the plasma (para. [0037]). In other words, the pulse frequency is a result-effective variable that affects the duty cycle and ultimately the ion energy in the plasma (para. [0022],[0037]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the radio-frequency power supply to have a pulse frequency of 0.1 kHz to 20 kHz and/or specifically 6 kHz because Liao teaches that such a configuration is suitable for plasma processing. Additionally, or alternatively, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the pulse frequency because Liao teaches that the pulse frequency is a result-effective variable that affects ion energy in the plasma (Liao: para. [0022], [0037]), wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would optimize the pulse frequency to optimize the ion energy in the plasma.
Furthermore, regarding limitation “in a pulse form with a frequency of 100 Hz to 10 kHz,” Liao teaches an overlapping range (i.e. 0.1 kHz to 20 kHz.), wherein the courts have held that the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)(See MPEP § 2144.05(I).
Additionally, or alternatively, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP § 2144.05 II. A.
Regarding claim 9, Kabouzi in view of Liao, Edamura, Turner (and further substantiated by Gunston) teaches all of the limitations of claim(s) 1 as applied above and Kabouzi further teaches the electrode is provided in the placing pedestal (comprising 104, Fig. 1A, para. [0046]).
Kabouzi in view of Liao, Edamura, Turner (and further substantiated by Gunston) does not explicitly teach the wire connected to the electrode is provided with a matching circuit and is supplied with the radio-frequency power from the radio-frequency power supply, and the measuring probe is provided closer to the electrode than the matching circuit is in the wire.
However, Edamura further teaches the wire (i.e. bias line, para. [0018]) connected to the electrode (comprising wafer stage 5, Fig. 1) is provided with a matching circuit (comprising 10, Fig. 1) and is supplied with the radio-frequency power from the radio-frequency power supply (comprising 9, Fig. 1), and the measuring probe (comprising 8, Fig. 1) is provided closer to the electrode (comprising 5, Fig. 1) than the matching circuit (comprising 10, Fig. 1) is in the wire.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the apparatus such that the wire connected to the electrode is provided with a matching circuit and is supplied with the radio-frequency power from the radio-frequency power supply, and the measuring probe is provided closer to the electrode than the matching circuit is in the wire because Edamura teaches that such a configuration is suitable for measuring the current and voltage in a plasma processing apparatus.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 6, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kabouzi et al. (US 2016/0111261 A1 hereinafter “Kabouzi”) in view of Edamura et al. (US 2002/0029851 A1 hereinafter “Edamura”), Liao et al. (US 2011/0031216 A1 hereinafter “Liao”), Turner et al. (US 5,576,629 hereinafter "Turner") and further substantiated by Gunston, Bill. ((2009). Cambridge Aerospace Dictionary (2nd Edition) - phase angle. Cambridge University Press. Hereinafter "Gunston") as applied to claims 1, 2, 3, 7, 8, 9, 21, 22 above and further in view of Suzuki (US 2001/0006849 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Kabouzi in view of Liao, Edamura, Turner (and further substantiated by Gunston) teaches all of the limitations of claim(s) 1, 2 as applied above including a radio-frequency power supply (Kabouzi: comprising RF sources 114, Fig. 1A), the detector detects an end point of the etching from the change in the phase difference between the voltage and the current measured by the measuring probe (see claim 1 rejection above).
Kabouzi further teaches the radio-frequency power supply (comprising 114, Fig. 1A) includes a first radio-frequency generator configured to generate a first radio-frequency power and a second radio-frequency generator configured to generate a second radio-frequency power to the substrate/placing table, wherein the radio-frequency power supplies at least the first radio-frequency power at a first frequency (i.e. 50-76 MHz) and the second radio-frequency power at a second frequency (i.e. 2MHz) lower than the first frequency (para. [0053]).
Kabouzi in view of Liao, Edamura, Turner (and further substantiated by Gunston) as applied above does not clearly and explicitly teach wherein the first radio-frequency power with a first frequency is for generating plasma, the second radio-frequency power with a second frequency is for drawing an ion component in the plasma to the substrate, in a pulse form, and; measuring with a timing when a combination of the first radio-frequency power and the second radio-frequency power supplied most contributes to etching and a selection ratio. Examiner notes that “with a timing when a combination of the first radio-frequency power and the second radio-frequency power supplied most contributes to etching and a selection ratio” is interpreted in light of original instant Specification para. [0050] as the measuring probe measures during the bias RF power/second radio-frequency power is supplied.
However, Liao further teaches a first radio-frequency power with a first radio-frequency (i.e. 100 to 200 MHz or 60 MHz, para. [0017],[0027]) and a second radio-frequency power with a second radio-frequency (i.e. 1-2 MHz), wherein the first and second radio-frequencies are pulsed (para. [0017]-[0019]). Liao teaches that such a configuration enables improved etch rate control (Liao: para. [0021], [0027], [0030]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the radio-frequency power supply to include a first radio-frequency generator configured to generate a first radio-frequency power and a second radio-frequency generator configured to generate a second radio-frequency power, wherein the radio-frequency power supply supplies at least either the first radio-frequency power with a first frequency or the second radio-frequency power with a second frequency lower than the first frequency to the substrate, in a pulse form because Liao teaches that such a configuration enables improved etch rate control (Liao: para. [0021], [0027], [0030]).
Kabouzi in view of Liao, Edamura, Turner (and further substantiated by Gunston) as applied above does not explicitly teach with a timing when a combination of the first radio-frequency power and the second radio-frequency power supplied most contributes to etching and a selection ratio {interpreted in light of original instant Specification para. [0050] as the measuring probe measures during the bias RF power/second radio-frequency power is supplied}
However, Suzuki teaches a plasma processing apparatus (Fig. 1) configured to measure during the bias RF power/second radio-frequency power (comprising power from 36, Fig. 1, para. [0043]) application time (para. [0018], [0058], [0068], [0089]). Suzuki further teaches that etching process occurs when the RF bias (i.e. second radio-frequency power from 36, Fig. 1) is applied to the substrate and that monitoring/measuring synchronously with the change of the RF bias power can precisely monitor the etching process including end-point detection (para. [0089]-[0092]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the measuring probe and the detector for detecting end point such that the timing of the measuring is when a combination of the first radio-frequency power and the second radio-frequency power supplied most contributes to etching and a selection ratio {i.e. the timing of the measuring is synchronized with the application of the second radio-frequency power/ RF bias power} because Suzuki teaches that etching process occurs when the second radio-frequency power/RF bias power is applied to the substrate and that monitoring/measuring synchronously with the change of the RF bias power can precisely monitor the etching process including end-point detection (Suzuki: para. [0089]).
Regarding limitation “for generating plasma” and “for drawing an ion component in the plasma to the substrate,” these are intended use/functional limitations. Since Kabouzi in view of Liao, Edamura and Suzuki teaches all of the structure limitations including first and second radio-frequency generation units, the apparatus of the same is considered capable of meeting the intended use/functional limitations.
Furthermore, the courts have ruled the following: a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). MPEP §2114. II
Regarding claim 5, Kabouzi in view of Liao, Edamura, Turner (and further substantiated by Gunston) and Suzuki teaches all of the limitations of claim 4 and further teaches wherein the detector detects the end point of the etching from the change in the phase difference between the voltage and the current measured by the measuring probe (see teachings of Turner in claim 1 rejection above) in a period during which the second radio-frequency power (i.e. bias RF power applied to the substrate) is supplied (Suzuki: para. [0089]).
Regarding claim 6, Kabouzi in view of Liao, Edamura, Turner (and further substantiated by Gunston) and Suzuki teaches all of the limitations of claim 4 as applied above including the detector detects the end point of the etching from the change in the phase difference between the voltage and the current measured by the measuring probe (see claim 1 rejection above).
Kabouzi in view of Liao, Edamura, Turner (and further substantiated by Gunston) and Suzuki does not explicitly teach wherein the radio-frequency power supply supplies the first radio-frequency power and the second radio-frequency power each in a pulse form with periods during which the first radio-frequency power and the second radio-frequency power are supplied partially overlapping or without the periods during which the first radio-frequency power and the second radio-frequency power are supplied overlapping, and the measurement is in a period during which only the second radio-frequency power is supplied.
However, Liao further teaches wherein the radio-frequency power supply supplies the first radio-frequency power (i.e. source) and the second radio-frequency power (i.e. bias) each in a pulse form with periods during which the first radio-frequency power and the second radio-frequency power are supplied partially overlapping (see Fig. 2B, 2C, 3A-4B; para. [0023]-[0025], [0027]) OR without the periods during which the first radio-frequency power and the second radio-frequency power are supplied overlapping (para. [0035] describes source/first radio-frequency power and bias/second radio-frequency power pulsed synchronously with bias on when source is off for a phase difference of 180 degrees and duty cycle of 50%). Liao teaches controlling the pulsed supply of the first radio-frequency power (i.e. source) and the second radio-frequency power (i.e. bias) independently and adjusting the phase lead or lag of the RF envelopes and controlling the overlap between the RF envelopes of the pulses to control plasma ion density and ultimately controlling the etch rate of a process (para. [0027]-[0029]). In other words, the overlap of the supply of the first and second radio-frequency power is a result-effective variable which affects etch rate. Additionally, Liao teaches the embodiment without the periods during which the first radio-frequency power and the second radio-frequency power are supplied overlapping (para. [0035] describes source/first radio-frequency power and bias/second radio-frequency power pulsed synchronously with bias on when source is off for a phase difference of 180 degrees and duty cycle of 50%) enables minimizing charging effects on the substrate (para. [0035]).
Additionally, Suzuki further teaches that etching process occurs when the RF bias (i.e. second radio-frequency power from 36, Fig. 1) is applied to the substrate and that monitoring/measuring synchronously with the change of the RF bias power can precisely monitor the etching process including end-point detection (para. [0089]-[0092]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the radio-frequency power supply to supply the first radio-frequency power and the second radio-frequency power each in a pulse form with periods during which the first radio-frequency power and the second radio-frequency power are supplied partially overlapping or alternatively to optimize the periods of overlap of the supply of the first radio-frequency power and the second radio-frequency power and to configure the measurement to be during the period when only the second radio-frequency power is supplied (i.e. in an operation mode/embodiment when first and second radio-frequency power is 180 degrees out of phase and operating at 50% duty cycle) because Liao teaches that such a configuration of controlling the overlap of the pulses of the first and second radio-frequency power enables controlling/optimizing the plasma ion density and the etch rate and minimizing charge effects (Liao: para. [0027]-[0029], [0035]) and because Suzuki teaches that the supply of the second radio-frequency power drives the etching process and measuring during the supply of the second radio-frequency power supply would enable precise process monitoring of the etching process (Suzuki: para. [0089]-[0092]).
Regarding claim 23, Kabouzi in view of Liao, Edamura, Turner (and further substantiated by Gunston) and Suzuki teaches all of the limitations of claim 4 as applied above but does not explicitly teach wherein the radio-frequency power supply supplies the first radio-frequency power and the second radio-frequency power each in a pulse form with periods during which the first radio-frequency power and the second radio-frequency power are supplied partially overlapping or without the periods during which the first radio-frequency power and the second radio-frequency power are supplied overlapping.
However, Liao further teaches wherein the radio-frequency power supply supplies the first radio-frequency power (i.e. source) and the second radio-frequency power (i.e. bias) each in a pulse form with periods during which the first radio-frequency power and the second radio-frequency power are supplied partially overlapping (see Fig. 2B, 2C, 3A-4B; para. [0023]-[0025], [0027]) OR without the periods during which the first radio-frequency power and the second radio-frequency power are supplied overlapping (para. [0035] describes source/first radio-frequency power and bias/second radio-frequency power pulsed synchronously with bias on when source is off for a phase difference of 180 degrees and duty cycle of 50%). Liao teaches controlling the pulsed supply of the first radio-frequency power (i.e. source) and the second radio-frequency power (i.e. bias) independently and adjusting the phase lead or lag of the RF envelopes and controlling the overlap between the RF envelopes of the pulses to control plasma ion density and ultimately controlling the etch rate of a process (para. [0027]-[0029]). In other words, the overlap of the supply of the first and second radio-frequency power is a result-effective variable which affects etch rate. Additionally, Liao teaches the embodiment without the periods during which the first radio-frequency power and the second radio-frequency power are supplied overlapping (para. [0035] describes source/first radio-frequency power and bias/second radio-frequency power pulsed synchronously with bias on when source is off for a phase difference of 180 degrees and duty cycle of 50%) enables minimizing charging effects on the substrate (para. [0035]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the radio-frequency power supply to supply the first radio-frequency power and the second radio-frequency power each in a pulse form with periods during which the first radio-frequency power and the second radio-frequency power are supplied partially overlapping or alternatively to optimize the periods of overlap of the supply of the first radio-frequency power and the second radio-frequency power because Liao teaches that such a configuration of controlling the overlap of the pulses of the first and second radio-frequency power enables controlling/optimizing the plasma ion density and the etch rate and minimizing charge effects (Liao: para. [0027]-[0029], [0035]).
Claim(s) 10, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kabouzi et al. (US 2016/0111261 A1 hereinafter “Kabouzi”) in view of Edamura et al. (US 2002/0029851 A1 hereinafter “Edamura”), Liao et al. (US 2011/0031216 A1 hereinafter “Liao”), Turner et al. (US 5,576,629 hereinafter "Turner") and further substantiated by Gunston, Bill. ((2009). Cambridge Aerospace Dictionary (2nd Edition) - phase angle. Cambridge University Press. Hereinafter "Gunston") as applied to claims 1, 2, 3, 7, 8, 9, 2, 22 above and further in view of Suzuki (US 2001/0006849 A1) or alternatively Leray (US 2014/0232374 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Kabouzi in view of Liao, Edamura, Turner (and further substantiated by Gunston) teaches all of the limitations of claim(s) 3 as applied above including a radio-frequency power supply (Kabouzi: comprising RF sources 114, Fig. 1A), the detector detects an end point of the etching from the change in the phase difference between the voltage and the current measured by the measuring probe (see teachings of Turner in claim 1 rejection above).
Kabouzi further teaches the radio-frequency power supply (comprising 114, Fig. 1A) includes a first radio-frequency generator configured to generate a first radio-frequency power and a second radio-frequency generator configured to generate a second radio-frequency power to the substrate/placing table, wherein the radio-frequency power supplies at least the first radio-frequency power at a first frequency (i.e. 50-76 MHz) and the second radio-frequency power at a second frequency (i.e. 2MHz) lower than the first frequency (para. [0053]).
Kabouzi in view of Liao, Edamura, Turner (and further substantiated by Gunston) as applied above does not clearly and explicitly teach wherein the first frequency is for generating plasma the second frequency is for drawing an ion component in the plasma to the placing pedestal, in a pulse form, and; measuring with a timing when a combination of the first radio-frequency power and the second radio-frequency power supplied most contributes to cleaning. Examiner notes that “with a timing when a combination of the first radio-frequency power and the second radio-frequency power supplied most contributes to cleaning” is interpreted under broadest reasonable interpretation as a timing of supplying a first radio-frequency power, a second radio-frequency power or supplying both first and second radio-frequency power.
However, Liao further teaches a first radio-frequency power with a first radio-frequency (i.e. 100 to 200 MHz or 60 MHz, para. [0017],[0027]) and a second radio-frequency power with a second radio-frequency (i.e. 1-2 MHz), wherein the first and second radio-frequencies are pulsed (para. [0017]-[0019]). Liao teaches that such a configuration enables improved etch rate control (Liao: para. [0021], [0027], [0030]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the radio-frequency power supply to include a first radio-frequency generator configured to generate a first radio-frequency power and a second radio-frequency generator configured to generate a second radio-frequency power, wherein the radio-frequency power supply supplies at least either the first radio-frequency power with a first frequency or the second radio-frequency power with a second frequency lower than the first frequency to the substrate, in a pulse form because Liao teaches that such a configuration enables improved etch rate control (Liao: para. [0021], [0027], [0030]).
Kabouzi in view of Liao, Edamura, Turner (and further substantiated by Gunston) applied above does not explicitly teach with a timing when a combination of the first radio-frequency power and the second radio-frequency power supplied most contributes to cleaning is interpreted under broadest reasonable interpretation as a timing of supplying a first radio-frequency power, a second radio-frequency power or supplying both first and second radio-frequency power.
However, Suzuki teaches a plasma processing apparatus (Fig. 1) configured to measure during the bias RF power/second radio-frequency power (comprising power from 36, Fig. 1, para. [0043]) application time (para. [0018], [0058], [0068], [0089]). Suzuki further teaches that etching process occurs when the RF bias (i.e. second radio-frequency power from 36, Fig. 1) is applied (i.e. bias applied at the placing pedestal 114, Fig. 1) and that monitoring/measuring synchronously with the change of the RF bias power can precisely monitor the etching process including end-point detection (para. [0089]-[0092]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the measuring probe and the detector for detecting end point such that the timing of the measuring is when a combination of the first radio-frequency power and the second radio-frequency power supplied most contributes to cleaning of at least the placing pedestal {i.e. the timing of the measuring is synchronized with the application of the second radio-frequency power/ RF bias power} because Suzuki teaches that etching process occurs when the second radio-frequency power/RF bias power is applied (i.e. second radio-frequency power is applied to the placing pedestal) and that monitoring/measuring synchronously with the change of the RF bias power can precisely monitor the etching process including end-point detection (Suzuki: para. [0089]).
Alternatively, Leray teaches an RF sensor (comprising 130a-130d, Fig. 1) capable of collecting current, voltage and phase data (para. [0016]). Leray teaches that the measurements are taken/reported during a non-zero (i.e. during periods when the RF power is supplied) to avoid feedback control instabilities attributable to the null period between successive pulses (para. [0021]-[0022], [0031]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the measuring probe and the detector for detecting end point such that the timing of the measuring is when a combination of the first radio-frequency power and the second radio-frequency power supplied most contributes to cleaning (i.e. during the application of RF power) because Leray teaches that such a configuration avoids feedback control instabilities attributable to the null period between successive pulses (Leray: para. [0021]-[0022], [031]).
Regarding limitation “for generating plasma” and “for drawing an ion component in the plasma to the placing pedestal,” these are intended use/functional limitations. Since Kabouzi in view of Liao, Edamura, Turner and Suzuki or alternatively Leray teaches all of the structure limitations including first and second radio-frequency generation units, the apparatus of the same is considered capable of meeting the intended use/functional limitations.
Furthermore, the courts have ruled the following: a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). MPEP §2114. II
Regarding claim 13, Kabouzi in view of Liao, Edamura, Turner (and further substantiated by Gunston) and Suzuki (or alternatively Leray) {hereinafter “modified Kabouzi”} teaches all of the limitations of claim(s) 10 above.
Kabouzi further teaches wherein the first frequency is set to a frequency in a range of 40 MHz to 130 MHz (i.e. 50-76 MHz), and the second frequency is set to a frequency lower than the first frequency and in a range of 400 kHz to 40 MHz (i.e. 2MHz) (para. [0053]).
Claim(s) 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kabouzi et al. (US 2016/0111261 A1 hereinafter “Kabouzi”) in view of Edamura et al. (US 2002/0029851 A1 hereinafter “Edamura”), Liao et al. (US 2011/0031216 A1 hereinafter “Liao”), Turner et al. (US 5,576,629 hereinafter "Turner") and further substantiated by Gunston, Bill. ((2009). Cambridge Aerospace Dictionary (2nd Edition) - phase angle. Cambridge University Press. Hereinafter "Gunston") and Suzuki (US 2001/0006849 A1) or alternatively Leray (US 2014/0232374 A1) as applied to claims 10, 13 above and further in view of Yatsuda et al. (US 2010/0190350 A1 hereinafter “Yatsuda”).
Regarding claim 11, Kabouzi in view of Liao, Edamura, Turner (and further substantiated by Gunston) and Suzuki or alternatively Leray {hereinafter “modified Kabouzi”}, teaches all of the limitations of claim 3, 10 as applied above including the detector detects an end point of cleaning from the change in any of the voltage, the current, and the phase difference between the voltage and the current measured by the measuring probe with the timing synchronized with the cycle of the pulses of the radio-frequency power (see claim 3 and 10 rejections above).
Kabouzi further teaches the radio-frequency power supply supplies the first radio-frequency power{i.e. source with a frequency of 50-75 MHz} to the placing pedestal (comprising 104, Fig. 1A) or a ceiling (comprising second electrode 106, Fig. 1A) of the chamber and supplies the second radio-frequency power{i.e. a source with a frequency of } to the placing pedestal (comprising 104, Fig. 1A)(para. [0053]).
Modified Kabouzi as applied above do not explicitly teach the detector detects the end point of the cleaning of the ceiling inside the chamber from the change in any of the voltage, the current and the phase difference between the voltage and the current measured by the measuring probe in a period during which the first radio-frequency power is supplied and detects the end point of the cleaning of the placing pedestal from the change in any of the voltage, the current, and the phase difference between the voltage and the current measured by the measuring probe in a period during which the second radio-frequency power is supplied.
However, Turner teaches that a change in radio frequency voltage, current and phase angle can be monitored during cleaning processes to determine end point for a cleaning process, wherein optimal timing of terminating cleaning protects chamber hardware from overetching (col 16 line 48-62; col 17 line 65-col 18 line 5).
Additionally, Yatsuda teaches that application of a first radio-frequency power (comprising 48', Fig. 13) for plasma generation applied to the ceiling/upper electrode (comprising 34, Fig. 13) generates a high-density plasma in the vicinity of the ceiling/upper electrode (comprising 34, Fig. 13) (para. [0084]-[0086]). Further, Yatsuda teaches that applying a bias RF power/second radio-frequency power to the placing table (comprising 16, Fig. 13) draws ions towards the placing table (para. [0085]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the measuring probe and the detector/controller to detect the end point of the cleaning of the ceiling in side from the change in any of the voltage, the current and the phase difference between the voltage and the current measured by the measuring probe in a period during which the first radio-frequency power is supplied because Turner teaches that measuring the change in any of the voltage, the current and the phase difference between the voltage and the current measured by the measuring probe enables optimally monitoring and determining an end point of a cleaning process to terminate cleaning optimally to prevent overetching of chamber hardware (Turner: col 16 line 48-62; col 17 line 65-col 18 line 5) and because Yatsuda teaches during the period of application of the first radio-frequency power at the ceiling/upper electrode a high density plasma is generated, which one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate would drive/contributes to the cleaning processing at the ceiling/upper electrode of the chamber.
Further, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the measuring probe and the detector/controller to detect the end point of the cleaning of the placing pedestal from the change in the phase difference between the voltage and the current measured by the measuring probe in a period during which the second radio-frequency power is supplied because Turner teaches that measuring the change in the phase difference between the voltage and the current measured by the measuring probe enables optimally monitoring and determining an end point of a cleaning process to terminate cleaning optimally to prevent overetching of chamber hardware (Turner: col 16 line 48-62; col 17 line 65-col 18 line 5) and because Yatsuda teaches application of the second radio-frequency power at the placing table draws ions towards the placing table (Yatsuda: para. [0085]), which one of ordinary skill in the art would understand drives/contributes to the cleaning process at the placing table.
Regarding claim 12, Modified Kabouzi teaches all of the limitations of claim 3, 10 as applied above including the detector detects an end point of cleaning from the change in the phase difference between the voltage and the current measured by the measuring probe with the timing synchronized with the cycle of the pulses of the radio-frequency power (see claim 3 and 10 rejections above).
Modified Kabouzi as applied above do not explicitly teach the detector detects the end point of the cleaning of a sidewall part inside the chamber from the change in any of the current, and the phase difference between the voltage and the current measured by the measuring probe in a period during which the first radio-frequency power and the second radio-frequency power are supplied.
However, Turner teaches that a change in phase angle/difference can be monitored during cleaning processes to determine end point for a cleaning process wherein the reactor geometry can lead to local regions of thicker deposition, wherein the radio frequency signals can detect these secondary end points, wherein optimal timing of terminating cleaning protects chamber hardware from overetching (col 16 line 48-62; col 17 line 65-col 18 line 5).
Further, Liao teaches that the first radio-frequency power (i.e. source) and the second radio-frequency power (i.e. bias) can be applied at the same time (Fig. 2B and 2C, para. [0022]-[0023]).
Additionally, Yatsuda teaches that application of a first radio-frequency power (comprising 48', Fig. 13) for plasma generation applied to the ceiling/upper electrode (comprising 34, Fig. 13) generates a high-density plasma in the vicinity of the ceiling/upper electrode (comprising 34, Fig. 13) (para. [0084]-[0086]), while application of the first radio-frequency power to the placing table enables generating high-density plasma in the vicinity of the placing table (para. [0062]). Further, Yatsuda teaches that applying a bias RF power/second radio-frequency power to the placing table (comprising 16, Fig. 13) draws ions towards the placing table (para. [0085]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the measuring probe and the detector/controller to detect the end point of the cleaning of any part of the chamber including the sidewall part from the change in any of the voltage, the current, and the phase difference between the voltage and the current measured by the measuring probe in a period during which the first and second radio-frequency power is supplied because Turner teaches that measuring the change in the phase difference between the voltage and the current measured by the measuring probe enables optimally monitoring and determining an end point of a cleaning process including secondary end points of areas of the chamber which may have thicker deposition and enables terminating cleaning optimally to prevent overetching of chamber hardware (Turner: col 16 line 48-62; col 17 line 65-col 18 line 5), because Liao teaches the first and second radio frequency power can be applied at the same time and because Yatsuda teaches application of the first-radio-frequency power near an upper electrode/ceiling contributes to plasma generation in the vicinity of the ceiling/upper wall and obviously adjacent sidewalls and the second radio-frequency power at the placing table draws ions towards the placing table (Yatsuda: para. [0085]), which one of ordinary skill in the art would understand drives/contributes to the cleaning in the vicinity of the placing pedestal including adjacent walls.
Claim(s) 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kabouzi et al. (US 2016/0111261 A1 hereinafter “Kabouzi”) in view of Edamura et al. (US 2002/0029851 A1 hereinafter “Edamura”), Liao et al. (US 2011/0031216 A1 hereinafter “Liao”), Turner et al. (US 5,576,629 hereinafter “Turner”) and further substantiated by Gunston, Bill. ((2009). Cambridge Aerospace Dictionary (2nd Edition) - phase angle. Cambridge University Press. Hereinafter "Gunston"), and Leray (US 2014/0232374 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Kabouzi in view of Liao, Edamura, Turner (and further substantiated by Gunston) and Leray {hereinafter “modified Kabouzi”} teaches all of the limitations of claim(s) 10 above including a radio-frequency power supply (Kabouzi: comprising 114, Fig. 1A, para. [0052]). Modified Kabouzi as applied above already teaches the detector detects the end point of the cleaning from the change in the phase difference between the voltage and the current measured by the measuring probe (see teachings of Turner in claim 10 rejection above).
Kabouzi further teaches the radio-frequency power supply supplies a third radio-frequency with a third frequency (i.e. 25-30 MHz) between the first frequency (i.e. 50-76 MHz) and the second frequency (i.e. 2 MHz) (para. [0053]).
Modified Kabouzi as applied above does not explicitly teach wherein the third radio-frequency power is in a pulse form, the cleaning is of a sidewall part inside the chamber, the measurement is made during a period during which the third radio-frequency power is supplied.
However, Liao teaches a plasma processing apparatus including three radio-frequency sources/powers (comprising 140, 144, 148, Fig. 1) that are each pulsed (para. [0017]-[0019]). Liao teaches the such a configuration can enable enhancing the etching rate, create higher sheath voltages to increase the etch rate of the material being etched, and enable control/adjustment of the plasma ion density distribution (para. [0027],[0030], [0039]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the third radio-frequency power to also pulse because Liao teaches such a configuration of three pulsing radio-frequency powers can enable controlling/adjustment of plasma ion density distribution and enhancing etch rate (Liao: para. [0027], [0030], [0039]).
Regarding limitation “the cleaning of a side wall part inside the chamber,” Turner teaches that the reactor wall conditions lead to measured load impedance changes and reactor geometry can lead to local regions of thicker deposition wherein determining the termination of clean processes at the optimal time protects chamber hardware from unnecessary over etching (col 16 line 48-62).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the apparatus such that the detector detects the endpoint of the cleaning of a side wall part inside the chamber (i.e. optimal end point for different regions of the chamber) because Turner teaches that reactor wall geometry can lead to local regions of thicker deposition wherein determining the termination of clean processes at the optimal time protects chamber hardware from unnecessary over etching (Turner: col 16 line 48-62).
Regarding limitation “during a period during which the third radio-frequency power is supplied,” Leray teaches an RF sensor (comprising 130a-130d, Fig. 1) capable of collecting current, voltage and phase data (para. [0016]). Leray teaches that the measurements are taken/reported during a non-zero (i.e. during periods when the RF power is supplied) to avoid feedback control instabilities attributable to the null period between successive pulses (para. [0021]-[0022], [0031]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the measuring probe and the detector for detecting end point such that the timing of the measuring is when a third radio-frequency power is supplied (i.e. during the application of any of the RF power including the third radio-frequency power) because Leray teaches that such a configuration avoids feedback control instabilities attributable to the null period between successive pulses (Leray: para. [0021]-[0022], [031]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Kabouzi teaches all of the limitations of claim 14 as applied above and Kabouzi further teaches wherein the third frequency (25-30 MHz) is set to a frequency lower than the first frequency (50-75 MHz), higher than the second frequency (2MHz), and in a range of 13 MHz to 60 MHz (25-30 MHz) (Kabouzi: para. [0053]).
Claim(s) 16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kabouzi et al. (US 2016/0111261 A1 hereinafter “Kabouzi”) in view of Edamura et al. (US 2002/0029851 A1 hereinafter “Edamura”), Liao et al. (US 2011/0031216 A1 hereinafter “Liao”), Turner et al. (US 5,576,629 hereinafter "Turner") and further substantiated by Gunston, Bill. ((2009). Cambridge Aerospace Dictionary (2nd Edition) - phase angle. Cambridge University Press. Hereinafter "Gunston") as applied to claims 1, 2, 3, 7, 8, 9, 21, 22 above and further in view of Mase et al. (US 5,016,663 hereinafter “Mase”).
Regarding claim 16, Kabouzi in view of Liao, Edamura, Turner (and further substantiated by Gunston) teaches all of the limitations of claim(s) 3 as applied above including detecting an end point from the change the phase difference between the voltage and the current measured by the measuring probe with the timing synchronized with the cycle of the pulses of the radio-frequency power (see combination of art as applied in rejected claim 1 above).
Kabouzi in view of Liao, Edamura, Turner (and further substantiated by Gunston) does not explicitly teach determining a change amount per unit time of the voltage and detecting the end point of the cleaning based on a timing when the change amount peaks.
However, Mase further teaches determining a change amount per unit time (dv/dt) of the voltage and detecting the end point (P, Fig. 2) of the cleaning based on a timing when the change amount peaks (i.e. abruptly decreases, or maximum change) (col 3 line 60-col 4 line 27). Mase teaches that such a configuration enables real-time monitoring and ending of cleaning can be determined with high precision (col 4 line 44-49).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the measuring probe and the detector to detect/determine the change amount per unit time of the voltage and detect the end point of the cleaning based on a timing when the change amount peaks because Mase teaches this is a known configuration to monitor in real time the cleaning process and enable determining end of cleaning with high precision (Mase: col 4 line 44-49).
Regarding claim 17, Kabouzi in view of Liao, Edamura, Turner (and further substantiated by Gunston) and Mase teaches all of the limitations of claim(s) 16 as applied above but does not explicitly teach wherein the detector detects a timing when a certain margin time has elapsed from the timing when the change amount peaks as the end point of the cleaning. {examiner interprets “wherein the detector detects a timing when a certain margin time has elapsed from the timing when the change amount peaks as the end point of the cleaning” as the end point it the timing when the change amount peaks as the end point of the cleaning and the detector additionally detects a timing when a certain margin time has elapsed from the end point.}
However, Mase further teaches wherein the detector detects a timing when a certain margin time (comprising R, Fig. 2) time has elapsed from the timing when the change amount peaks (comprising P, Fig. 2) as the end point of the cleaning (col 3 line 60-col 4 line 27, specifically col 4 line 14-27). Mase teaches that such a configuration enables real-time monitoring and ending of cleaning can be determined with high precision, while reducing overetch time for improved operating efficiency and throughput (col 4 line 44-65).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the detector to detect a timing when a certain margin time has elapsed from the timing when the change amount peaks as the end point of the cleaning because Mase teaches this is a known configuration of plasma processing that enables reducing overetch time for improved operating efficiency and throughput (col 4 line 44-65).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02 Feb 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive due to new grounds of rejections necessitated by Applicant’s amendments filed 02 Feb 2026.
Applicant argues (remarks page 10-11) regarding U.S.C. 103 rejection of independent claim 1, prior art of record Kabouzi, Liao, Edamura, alone or in combination fail to teach/suggest amended claim limitation "a detector configured to detect an end point of plasma processing by the plasma generated inside the chamber from a change in a phase difference between the voltage and the current measured by the measuring probe with a timing synchronized with a cycle of pulses of the radio-frequency power" as currently claimed in amended claim 1.
Examiner responds claim 1 rejection has been modified as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments filed 02 Feb 2026. Currently claim 1 is rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kabouzi, Liao, Edamura, Turner and further substantiated by Gunston wherein Turner teaches a detector configured to detect an end point of plasma processing by the plasma generated inside the chamber from a change in a phase angle/difference between the voltage and the current measured by the measuring probe and Edamura teaches timing synchronized with a cycle of pulses of the radio-frequency power as discussed in detail in claims rejections above. Gunston is relied upon to substantiate that the phase angle taught by Turner is understood to be the phase difference between the voltage and the current measured by the measuring probe, as discussed in detail in claims rejections above. It would be obvious to configure the measuring probe and the detector to detect an end point of a plasma processing by the plasma generated inside the chamber form a change in a phase difference between the voltage and the current measured by the measuring probe because Turner teaches phase angle/difference is a known suitable parameter a controller/detector can be configured to detect/use to identify an endpoint of a plasma processing by the plasma.
In light of the above, independent claim(s) 1 is rejected.
Further, in view of Examiner’s remarks regarding independent claim(s) 1, the dependent claims 2-17 are also rejected, as detailed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAUREEN CHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1716 /RAM N KACKAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716