DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (2019/0259822) in view of Park et al. (2016/0322453).Regarding claim 1, Jeon et al. teach in figure 15 and related text a display device comprising:
a substrate 110;
a driving transistor 250 on the substrate and comprising a first active layer 130 and a first gate electrode 170;
a first switching transistor 255 comprising a second active layer 135, the second active layer being disposed on a layer that is different from a layer on which the first active layer is positioned, and a second gate electrode 175;
a second switching transistor 260 comprising a third active layer 140, the third active layer being disposed on a layer that is different from the layer on which the second active layer is positioned, and a third gate electrode 180;
a first gate insulating layer 150 between the second active layer 135 and the second gate electrode 175;
a second gate insulating layer 150 between the third active layer 140 and the third gate electrode 180; and
a third gate insulating layer 150 between the first active layer 130 and the first gate electrode 170,
wherein, in an upward direction from the substrate, the first gate electrode 170 is above the first active layer 130, and the third gate electrode 180 is at a higher level than the third active layer 140, and
wherein at least one layer selected from the second active layer 135 of the first switching transistor and the third active layer 140 of the second switching transistor does not overlap the third gate insulating layer 150 in a thickness direction of the display device.
Jeon et al. do not teach that a first distance between the first active layer 130 and the first gate electrode 170 is greater than a second distance between the third active layer 140 and the third gate electrode 180.
Park et al. teach in figure 3 and related text that the gate insulating layer 120, 130 of the driving transistor 115 is greater than the of the gate insulating layer 120 of the first switching transistor 110.
Park et al. and Jeon et al. are analogous art because they are directed to light emitting display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Jeon et al. because they are from the same field of endeavor.It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to form the gate insulating layer of the driving transistor greater than the of the gate insulating layer of the first switching transistor, such that a first distance between the first active layer and the first gate electrode is greater than a second distance between the second active layer and the second gate electrode, as taught by Park et al., in Jeon et al.’s device, in order to adjust the current flow in the driving and switching transistors.
Regarding claim 2, Jeon et al. do not teach that a third distance between the second active layer and the second gate electrode is greater than the second distance between the third active layer and the third gate electrode. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to form a third distance between the second active layer and the second gate electrode is greater than the second distance between the third active layer and the third gate electrode in prior art’s device in order to be able to use the first switching transistor in application which requires high voltage.
Regarding claim 3, Jeon et al. do not teach that the first active layer and the third active layer each comprise an oxide semiconductor, and the second active layer comprises polysilicon.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to form the first active layer and the third active layer each comprise an oxide semiconductor, and the second active layer comprises polysilicon, in prior art’s device in order to adjust the device characteristics, as is well-known in the art, by adjusting the required electron mobility and the on/off ratio of the different transistors according to the requirements of the application at hand.
Furthermore, it is well known in the art that driving transistors have high mobility and thus have low energy consumption and high reliability. On the other hand, switching transistors have a short ON period and maintains a long OFF period (see e.g. Choi 2020/0209697).
Regarding claim 4, Jeon et al. do not teach that the first gate electrode, the first active layer, the third gate electrode, and the third active layer are each at a higher level than the first gate insulating layer. That is, Jeon et al. do not teach that the first switching transistor is closer to the substrate than the second switching transistor and the driving transistor. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to form the second switching transistor and the driving transistor further from the substrate than the first switching transistor in prior art’s device in order to provide better insulation to the second switching transistor and the driving transistor by forming them further from the substrate.
Regarding claim 5, Jeon et al. teach in figure 15 and related text that the second gate insulating layer 150 is also between the first gate electrode 130 and the first active layer 170.
Regarding claim 6, Jeon et al. teach in figure 15 and related text that the third gate insulating layer 150 is between the second gate insulating layer 150 (part thereof) and the first active layer 170.
Regarding claim 7, Jeon et al. teach in figure 15 and related text that the third gate insulating layer 150 is disposed directly on the second gate insulating layer 150 (part thereof).
Regarding claim 8, Jeon et al. teach in figure 15 and related text that the third gate electrode is spaced apart from the third gate insulating layer 150 (part thereof).
Regarding claim 9, Jeon et al. teach in figure 15 and related text that the second gate insulating layer 150 is on the first active layer 130.
Regarding claim 10, Jeon et al. teach in figure 15 and related text a fourth gate insulating layer 190 on the first gate electrode, wherein the fourth gate insulating layer directly contacts the second gate insulating layer and the third gate insulating layer.
Regarding claim 11, Jeon et al. teach in figure 15 and related text that the fourth gate insulating layer directly contacts the first gate electrode and the third gate electrode.
Regarding claim 12, Jeon et al. teach in figure 15 and related text that an electrode 290 of a capacitor on the fourth gate insulating layer 190 (since capacitance is present between electrodes 290 and 175), wherein the electrode of the capacitor overlaps the first gate electrode.
Regarding claim 13, Jeon et al. teach in figure 15 and related text a light blocking layer 350 between the substrate and the first active layer, wherein the light blocking layer overlaps the first active layer in the thickness direction of the display device.
Regarding claim 14, Jeon et al. teach in figure 15 and related text that at least one layer selected from among the second active layer and the third active layer does not overlap the light blocking layer in the thickness direction of the display device.
Regarding claim 15, Jeon et al. do not teach that the second gate electrode and the light blocking layer are directly on the first gate insulating layer. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to form the second gate electrode and the light blocking layer are directly on the first gate insulating layer in prior art’s device in order to apply the light blocking layer of the two transistors structure of figure 13 to the three transistors structure of the embodiment of figure 15.
Regarding claim 16, in the combined device, the first distance is greater than a third distance between the second active layer and the second gate electrode.
O.N. /ORI NADAV/
1/27/2026 PRIMARY EXAMINER
TECHNOLOGY CENTER 2800