DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed 6/4/2026 in which claim 1 was amended.
Claims 1-14 are pending with claims 1-7 presented for examination and claims 8-14 remaining withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2, "a sidewall of the MTJ is less than the thickness" should be amended to read -the sidewall of the MTJ is less than a thickness-. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al (US 2019/0088863 and Lu hereinafter) in view of Jacob et al (US 2020/0098976 and Jacob hereinafter) in view of Bak et al (US 2017/0054070 and Bak hereinafter).
As to claims 1-7: Lu discloses [claim 1] a semiconductor device (Fig. 1M; [0030]), comprising: a magnetic tunneling junction (MTJ) (130; [0014]) on a substrate (100; [0012]); a first liner (142; [0017]) adjacent to the MTJ (130); a second liner (154; [0026]) on and directly contacting the first liner (142), wherein sidewalls of the first liner (sidewalls of 142 that contact 130), the second liner (sidewalls of 154 that contact 142 and 134), and the MTJ (sidewalls of 130 that contact 142 and 154) are aligned (the sidewalls noted previously interface along a plane that extends along the sidewalls of 130 and are thus aligned) to a top surface of the substrate (100) and the first liner (142) comprises an uneven thickness (142 is narrower at the top and bottom compared to the center along the sidewall of 130) while the second liner (154) comprises an even thickness (154 along the top surface of 126 and along the sidewalls of 130 and 134 are the same constant thickness); and a first metal interconnection (190; [0030]) on the MTJ (130), wherein the first metal interconnection (190) comprises a barrier layer (barrier layer; [0030]) contacting the second liner (154); [claim 2] further comprising: a first inter-metal dielectric (IMD) layer (180; [0028]) around the second liner (154); a second metal interconnection under the MTJ (Fig. 1A; 112; [0012]); and a second IMD layer (Fig. 1A; 110; [0012]) around the second metal interconnection (112); [claim 3] wherein a thickness (Fig. 1M; thickness of 142 at the interface of 132 and 134 of 130) of the first liner (142) on a sidewall of the MTJ (130) is less than the thickness (thickness of 142 closest to 110, which is the thickness of 142 directly on 126) of the first liner (142) on a top surface of the second IMD layer (110); [claim 4] wherein a top surface (top of 134) of the MTJ (130) comprises a planar surface (flat surface); [claim 7] wherein the first liner (142) and the second liner (154) are made of different materials (142 can be silicon nitride and 154 can be a metal oxide; [0017]-[0018] and [0027]).
Lu fails to expressly disclose [claim 1] where the sidewalls are perpendicular to the top surface of the substrate; [claim 5] wherein a first sidewall of the first metal interconnection is aligned with a first sidewall of the MTJ; [claim 6] wherein a second sidewall of the first metal interconnection is aligned with a second sidewall of the MTJ.
Lu discloses in Fig. 1M an MTJ device 130 with slanted/angled sidewalls where the sidewalls of the first metal interconnection 190 are slanted/angled as well.
Jacob discloses in Fig. 13 and [0028] an MTJ device 60 with sidewalls perpendicular to the substrate such [claim 1] that the sidewalls of the liner layer(s) 70 ([0029]) formed on the MTJ with perpendicular sidewalls will be perpendicular; [claim 5] wherein a first sidewall (Fig. 13; left sidewall) of the first metal interconnection (131; [0041]) is aligned (sidewalls of 131 and 60 are coplanar and are thus aligned) with a first sidewall (left sidewall) of the MTJ (60); [claim 6] wherein a second sidewall (right sidewall) of the first metal interconnection (131) is aligned (sidewalls of 131 and 60 are coplanar and are thus aligned) with a second sidewall (right sidewall) of the MTJ (60).
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art because, as stated in KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp, in the instant case choosing the sidewalls of the MTJ to be perpendicular to the substrate top surface and the sidewalls of the first interconnection are perpendicular to the substrate top surface such that they are coplanar with the MTJ as in Jacob instead of angled sidewalls of the MTJ and first interconnection as in Lu; if this leads to the anticipated success, in the instant case a device that can store information, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill.
Lu in view of Jacob fail to expressly disclose [claim 1] where the barrier layer directly contacts the second liner.
Bak discloses an MTJ device in Fig. 16 [claim 1] where the barrier layer (240; [0126]) of the first metal interconnection (260; [0125]) directly contacts the second liner (205; [0115]).
Given the teachings of Bak, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying Lu in view of Jacob by employing the well-known or conventional features of MTJ fabrication, such as displayed by Bak, by employing a barrier layer between the liner layers and IMD and the metal interconnections in order to reduce contamination between the metal interconnections and the surrounding layers.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JOSEPH C. NICELY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2813
/JOSEPH C. NICELY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813