DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's response to the Office Non-Final Action filed on 4/8/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant amended claims 1, 4, 13-14, 16-17, and 19; and cancelled claim 3, 15, and 18.
Applicant added claims 21-23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-10, 21, 17, 19, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsao et al. (US 2020/0091146) (hereafter Tsao), in view of Liaw (US 2019/0355729) (hereafter Liaw729), in further view of Liaw et al. (US 2020/0357739) (hereafter Liaw739).
Regarding claim 1, Tsao discloses a semiconductor device structure, comprising:
a substrate 102 (Fig. 1B, paragraph 0020) having a first fin structure 110a (Fig. 1B, paragraph 0024);
a first source/drain structure 128a (Fig. 3G, paragraph 0044) over the first fin structure 110a (Fig. 3G);
a first dielectric layer 134 (Fig. 3G, paragraph 0046) over the first source/drain structure 128a (Fig. 3G) and the substrate (not shown in Fig. 3G but see 102 in Fig. 1B);
a first conductive contact structure (145 and 150a in Fig. 3G, paragraph 0057) in the first dielectric layer 134 (Fig. 3G) and over the first source/drain structure 128a (Fig. 3G), wherein a first width (vertical length of 150a in Fig. 2B) of the first conductive contact structure (145 and 150a in Fig. 3G) is greater than a first length (horizontal length of 150a in Fig. 2B) of the first conductive contact structure (145 and 150a in Fig. 3G) in a top view of the first conductive contact structure (145 and 150a in Fig. 3G);
a second dielectric layer 152 (Fig. 3G, paragraph 0060) over the first dielectric layer 134 (Fig. 3G) and the first conductive contact structure (145 and 150a in Fig. 3G); and
a first conductive via structure 166a (Fig. 3G, paragraph 0066) passing through the second dielectric layer 152 (Fig. 3G) and connected to the first conductive contact structure (145 and 150a in Fig. 3G).
Tsao does not disclose an upper portion of the first source/drain structure is embedded in the first conductive contact structure from a first bottom surface of the first conductive contact structure, and the first bottom surface is higher than a second bottom surface of the first source/drain structure and lower than a top surface of the first source/drain structure.
Liaw729 discloses an upper portion of the first source/drain structure 602 (Fig. 20C, paragraph 0040) is embedded in the first conductive contact structure (1703, 1704, and 1706 in Fig. 20C, paragraphs 0062-0063) from a first bottom surface (surface of upper portion of 1703 in Fig. 20C) of the first conductive contact structure (1703, 1704, and 1706 in Fig. 20C), and the first bottom surface (surface of upper portion of 1703 in Fig. 20C) is higher than a second bottom surface (surface of lower portion of 1703 in Fig. 20C) of the first source/drain structure (1703, 1704, and 1706 in Fig. 20C) and lower than a top surface of the first source/drain structure 602 (Fig. 20C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tsao to form an upper portion of the first source/drain structure is embedded in the first conductive contact structure from a first bottom surface of the first conductive contact structure, and the first bottom surface is higher than a second bottom surface of the first source/drain structure and lower than a top surface of the first source/drain structure, as taught by Liaw729, since the source/drain contacts 1702 (Liaw729, Fig. 20C, paragraph 0061) electrically connect their respective source/drain features 602 (Liaw729, Fig. 20C, paragraph 0061) to upper level conductors and may also directly electrically connect source/drain features 602 (Liaw729, Fig. 20C, paragraph 0061) to each other.
Tsao and Liaw729 do not disclose a second width of the first conductive via structure is greater than a second length of the first conductive via structure in a top view of the first conductive via structure, and a first width direction of the first conductive contact structure is substantially parallel to a second width direction of the first conductive via structure.
Liaw739 discloses a second width (horizontal length of 163 in Fig. 3) of the first conductive via structure 163 (Fig. 3, paragraph 0027) is greater (see Fig. 4C and paragraph 0047, wherein “The longitudinal length X3 is larger than twice of the transversal length Y3.”) than a second length (vertical length of 163 in Fig. 3) of the first conductive via structure 163 (Fig. 3) in a top view (see Fig. 3) of the first conductive via structure 163 (Fig. 3), and a first width direction (direction of horizontal length of 143 in Fig. 3) of the first conductive contact structure 143 (Fig. 3, paragraph 0044) is substantially parallel to a second width direction (direction of horizontal length of 163 in Fig. 3) of the first conductive via structure 163 (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tsao in view of Liaw729 to form a second width of the first conductive via structure is greater than a second length of the first conductive via structure in a top view of the first conductive via structure, and a first width direction of the first conductive contact structure is substantially parallel to a second width direction of the first conductive via structure, as taught by Liaw739, since a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed ranges or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 f.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 2, Tsao further discloses the semiconductor device structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first conductive via structure 166a (Fig. 3G) is in direct contact with the first conductive contact structure (145 and 150a in Fig. 3G).
Regarding claim 4, Tsao further discloses the semiconductor device structure as claimed in claim 2, wherein the first conductive contact structure (145 and 150a in Fig. 3G) is in direct contact with the first source/drain structure 128a (Fig. 3G).
Regarding claim 5, Tsao in view of Liaw739 discloses the semiconductor device structure as claimed in claim 1, however Tsao does not disclose the first length of the first conductive contact structure is greater than the second length of the first conductive via structure.
Liaw739 discloses the first length (vertical length of 143 in Fig. 3) of the first conductive contact structure 143 (Fig. 3, paragraph 0027) is greater than the second length (vertical length of 163 in Fig. 3) of the first conductive via structure 163 (Fig. 3, paragraph 0027).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tsao to form the first length of the first conductive contact structure is greater than the second length of the first conductive via structure, as taught by Liaw739, since a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed ranges or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 f.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 6, Tsao further discloses the semiconductor device structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first source/drain structure 128a (Fig. 3G) has a first side (left side of lower portion of 128a in Fig. 3G) and a second side (right side of lower portion of 128a in Fig. 3G), the second side (right side of lower portion of 128a in Fig. 3G) is opposite to the first side (left side of lower portion of 128a in Fig. 3G), and the first conductive via structure 166a (Fig. 3G) continuously extends across the first side (left side of lower portion of 128a in Fig. 3G) and the second side (right side of lower portion of 128a in Fig. 3G).
Regarding claim 7, Tsao further discloses the semiconductor device structure as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: a conductive line (170 and 172 in Fig. 3G, paragraph 0065) over the first conductive via structure 166a (Fig. 3G) and the second dielectric layer 152 (Fig. 3G), wherein the conductive line (170 and 172 in Fig. 3G) is electrically connected to the first source/drain structure 128a (Fig. 3G) through the first conductive contact structure (145 and 150a in Fig. 3G) and the first conductive via structure 166a (Fig. 3G).
Regarding claim 8, Tsao further discloses the semiconductor device structure as claimed in claim 7, wherein the second width direction (direction of vertical length of 166a in Fig. 2B) of the first conductive via structure 166a (Fig. 2B) is substantially perpendicular to a sidewall (horizontal sidewall of 170 in Fig. 2B) of the conductive line (170 and 172 in Fig. 2B) close to the first conductive via structure 166a (Fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 9, Tsao further discloses the semiconductor device structure as claimed in claim 7, wherein the substrate 102 (Fig. 1B) further has a second fin structure 110b (Fig. 1B, paragraph 0024), and the semiconductor device structure further comprises: a second source/drain structure 128b (Fig. 5F, paragraph 0044) over the second fin structure 110b (Fig. 5F), wherein the first dielectric layer 134 (Fig. 5F) is further over the second source/drain structure 128b (Fig. 5F), and the conductive line (170 and 172 in Fig. 5F) is further electrically connected to the second source/drain structure 128b (Fig. 5F).
Regarding claim 10, Tsao further discloses the semiconductor device structure as claimed in claim 9, wherein the first fin structure 110a (Fig. 5F) is connected to the second fin structure 110b (Fig. 5F).
Regarding claim 21, Tsao in view of Liaw729 and Liaw739 discloses the semiconductor device structure as claimed in claim 1, however Tsao does not disclose the upper portion of the first source/drain structure is embedded in the first conductive contact structure further from a sidewall of the first conductive contact structure.
Liaw729 discloses the upper portion of the first source/drain structure 602 (Fig. 20C, paragraph 0040) is embedded in the first conductive contact structure (1703, 1704, and 1706 in Fig. 20C, paragraphs 0062-0063) further from a sidewall of the first conductive contact structure (1703, 1704, and 1706 in Fig. 20C, paragraphs 0062-0063).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tsao to form the upper portion of the first source/drain structure is embedded in the first conductive contact structure further from a sidewall of the first conductive contact structure, as taught by Liaw729, since the source/drain contacts 1702 (Liaw729, Fig. 20C, paragraph 0061) electrically connect their respective source/drain features 602 (Liaw729, Fig. 20C, paragraph 0061) to upper level conductors and may also directly electrically connect source/drain features 602 (Liaw729, Fig. 20C, paragraph 0061) to each other.
Regarding claim 17, Tsao discloses a semiconductor device structure, comprising:
a substrate 102 (Fig. 1B, paragraph 0020) having a first fin structure 110a (Fig. 1B, paragraph 0024) and a second fin structure 110b (Fig. 1B, paragraph 0024), wherein a first width (vertical length of 110a in Fig. 2B) of the first fin structure 110a (Fig. 2B) is less than a first length (horizontal length of 110a in Fig. 2B) of the first fin structure 110a (Fig. 2B) in a top view (see Fig. 2B) of the first fin structure 110a (Fig. 2B);
a first source/drain structure 128a (Fig. 3G, paragraph 0044) over the first fin structure 110a (Fig. 3G);
a first dielectric layer 134 (Fig. 3G, paragraph 0046) over the first source/drain structure 128a (Fig. 3G) and the substrate (not shown in Fig. 3G but see 102 in Fig. 1B);
a conductive contact structure (145 and 150a in Fig. 3G, paragraph 0057) in the first dielectric layer 134 (Fig. 3G) and over the first source/drain structure 128a (Fig. 3G), wherein the bottom surface (see Fig. 2B, wherein 150a overlaps 110a and 110b) overlaps the first fin structure 110a (Fig. 2B) and the second fin structure 110b (Fig. 2B);
a second dielectric layer 152 (Fig. 3G, paragraph 0060) over the first dielectric layer 134 (Fig. 3G) and the conductive contact structure (145 and 150a in Fig. 3G); and
a conductive via structure 162 (Fig. 3G, paragraph 0066) passing through the second dielectric layer 152 (Fig. 3G) and connected to the conductive contact structure (145 and 150a in Fig. 3G).
Tsao does not disclose a first upper portion of the first source/drain structure is embedded in the conductive contact structure from a bottom surface of the conductive contact structure.
Liaw729 discloses a first upper portion of the first source/drain structure (leftmost 602 in Fig. 20C, paragraph 0040) is embedded in the conductive contact structure (1703, 1704, and 1706 of leftmost 1702 in Fig. 20C, paragraphs 0062-0063) from a bottom surface of the conductive contact structure (1703, 1704, and 1706 of leftmost 1702 in Fig. 20C, paragraphs 0062-0063).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tsao to form a first upper portion of the first source/drain structure is embedded in the conductive contact structure from a bottom surface of the conductive contact structure, as taught by Liaw729, since the source/drain contacts 1702 (Liaw729, Fig. 20C, paragraph 0061) electrically connect their respective source/drain features 602 (Liaw729, Fig. 20C, paragraph 0061) to upper level conductors and may also directly electrically connect source/drain features 602 (Liaw729, Fig. 20C, paragraph 0061) to each other.
Tsao and Liaw729 do not disclose a second width of the conductive via structure is greater than a second length of the conductive via structure in a top view of the conductive via structure, and a length direction of the first fin structure is substantially perpendicular to a width direction of the conductive via structure.
Liaw739 discloses a second width (horizontal length of 163 in Fig. 3) of the conductive via structure 163 (Fig. 3, paragraph 0027) is greater (see Fig. 4C and paragraph 0047, wherein “The longitudinal length X3 is larger than twice of the transversal length Y3.”) than a second length (vertical length of 163 in Fig. 3) of the conductive via structure 163 (Fig. 3) in a top view (see Fig. 3) of the conductive via structure 163 (Fig. 3), and a length direction (direction of vertical length of 116 in Fig. 3) of the fin structure 116 (Fig. 3, paragraph 0030) is substantially perpendicular to a width direction (direction of horizontal length of 163 in Fig. 3) of the conductive via structure 163 (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tsao in view of Liaw729 to form a second width of the conductive via structure is greater than a second length of the conductive via structure in a top view of the conductive via structure, and a length direction of the fin structure is substantially perpendicular to a width direction of the conductive via structure, as taught by Liaw739, since a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed ranges or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 f.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 19, Tsao further discloses the semiconductor device structure as claimed in claim 17, further comprising: a first conductive line 170 (Fig. 3G, paragraph 0065) over the conductive via structure 166a (Fig. 3G) and the second dielectric layer 152 (Fig. 3G), wherein the first conductive line 170 (Fig. 3G) is electrically connected to the first source/drain structure 128a (Fig. 3G) through the conductive contact structure (145 and 150a in Fig. 3G) and the conductive via structure 166a (Fig. 3G).
Regarding claim 23, Tsao further discloses the semiconductor device structure as claimed in claim 17, further comprising: a second source/drain structure 128b (Fig. 5F, paragraph 0044) over the second fin structure 110b (Fig. 5F, paragraph 0024).
Tsao does not disclose a second upper portion of the second source/drain structure is embedded in the conductive contact structure from the bottom surface of the conductive contact structure.
Liaw729 discloses a second upper portion of the second source/drain structure (middle 602 in Fig. 20C, paragraph 0040) is embedded in the conductive contact structure (1703, 1704, and 1706 of middle 1702 in Fig. 20C, paragraphs 0062-0063) from the bottom surface of the conductive contact structure (1703, 1704, and 1706 of middle 1702 in Fig. 20C, paragraphs 0062-0063).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tsao to form a second upper portion of the second source/drain structure is embedded in the conductive contact structure from the bottom surface of the conductive contact structure, as taught by Liaw729, since the source/drain contacts 1702 (Liaw729, Fig. 20C, paragraph 0061) electrically connect their respective source/drain features 602 (Liaw729, Fig. 20C, paragraph 0061) to upper level conductors and may also directly electrically connect source/drain features 602 (Liaw729, Fig. 20C, paragraph 0061) to each other.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsao in view of Liaw729 and Liaw739 as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Liaw et al. (US 2019/0067131) (hereafter Liaw131).
Regarding claim 11, Tsao further discloses the semiconductor device structure as claimed in claim 9, further comprising: a second conductive contact structure (145 and 150b of 110b in Fig. 5F) in the first dielectric layer 134 (Fig. 5F) and over the second source/drain structure 128b (Fig. 5F), wherein the second dielectric layer 152 (Fig. 5F) is further over the second conductive contact structure (145 and 150b of 110b in Fig. 5F); and a second conductive via structure 166b (Fig. 5F, paragraph 0073) passing through the second dielectric layer 152 (Fig. 5F) and connected to the second conductive contact structure (145 and 150b of 110b in Fig. 5F).
Tsao, Liaw729, and Liaw739 do not disclose the second conductive via structure has a second substantially strip shape in a top view of the second conductive via structure.
Liaw131 discloses the second conductive via structure 70D (Fig. 1A, paragraph 0043) has a second substantially strip shape (“rectangular-shaped” in paragraph 0043) in a top view (see Fig. 1A) of the second conductive via structure 70D (Fig. 1A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tsao in view of Liaw729 and Liaw739 to form the second conductive via structure has a second substantially strip shape in a top view of the second conductive via structure, as taught by Liaw131, since such a modification would have involved a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed invention was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 12, Tsao further discloses the semiconductor device structure as claimed in claim 11, wherein in a top view of the first conductive via structure 166a (Fig. 2B) and the second conductive via structure 166b (Fig. 2B).
Tsao and Liaw729 do not disclose a third width of the second conductive via structure is greater than a third length of the second conductive via structure, and the second width direction of the first conductive via structure is substantially parallel to a third width direction of the second conductive via structure.
Liaw739 discloses a third width (horizontal length of 164 in Fig. 3) of the second conductive via structure 164 (Fig. 3, paragraph 0027) is greater than a third length (vertical length of 164 in Fig. 3) of the second conductive via structure 164 (Fig. 3), and the second width direction (direction of horizontal length of 163 in Fig. 3) of the first conductive via structure 163 (Fig. 3, paragraph 0027) is substantially parallel to a third width direction (direction of horizontal length of 163 in Fig. 3) of the second conductive via structure 164 (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tsao in view of Liaw729 to form a third width of the second conductive via structure is greater than a third length of the second conductive via structure, and the second width direction of the first conductive via structure is substantially parallel to a third width direction of the second conductive via structure, as taught by Liaw739, since a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed ranges or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 f.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claims 13, 14, 16, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsao et al. (US 2020/0091146) (hereafter Tsao), in view of Liaw et al. (US 2020/0357739) (hereafter Liaw739).
Regarding claim 13, Tsao discloses a semiconductor device structure, comprising:
a substrate 102 (Fig. 1B, paragraph 0020) having a fin structure 110a (Fig. 1B, paragraph 0024);
a first source/drain structure (128a of left 10 in Fig. 3G, paragraph 0044) over the fin structure 110a (Fig. 3G);
a first dielectric layer 134 (Fig. 3G, paragraph 0046) over the first source/drain structure (128a of left 10 in Fig. 3G) and the substrate (not shown in Fig. 3G but see 102 in Fig. 1B);
a first conductive contact structure (145 and 150a of left 10 in Fig. 3G, paragraph 0057) in the first dielectric layer 134 (Fig. 3G) and over the first source/drain structure (128a of left 10 in Fig. 3G);
a second dielectric layer 152 (Fig. 3G, paragraph 0060) over the first dielectric layer (145 and 150a in Fig. 3G) and the first conductive contact structure (145 and 150a of left 10 in Fig. 3G);
a first conductive via structure (166a of left 10 in Fig. 3G, paragraph 0066) passing through the second dielectric layer 152 (Fig. 3G) and connected to the first conductive contact structure (145 and 150a of left 10 in Fig. 3G); and
a second source/drain structure (128a of right 10 in Fig. 3G, paragraph 0044) over the fin structure 110a (Fig. 3G);
a gate stack 140c (Fig. 3G, paragraph 0051) between the first source/drain structure (128a of left 10 in Fig. 3G) and the second source/drain structure (128a of right 10 in Fig. 3G);
a first spacer (122 contacting left sidewall of 140c in Fig. 3G, paragraph 0030) connected between the first source/drain structure (128a of left 10 in Fig. 3G) and the gate stack 140c (Fig. 3G);
a second spacer (122 contacting right sidewall of 140c in Fig. 3G, paragraph 0030) connected between the second source/drain structure (128a of right 10 in Fig. 3G) and the gate stack 140c (Fig. 3G);
a conductive line 170 (Fig. 3G, paragraph 0066) over the first conductive via structure (166a of left 10 in Fig. 3G) and the second dielectric layer 152 (Fig. 3G), wherein the conductive line 170 (Fig. 3G) is electrically connected between the first source/drain structure (128a of left 10 in Fig. 3G) and the second source/drain structure (128a of right 10 in Fig. 3G), and the conductive line 170 (Fig. 3G) is a continuous structure.
Tsao does not disclose a first width of the first conductive via structure is greater than a first length of the first conductive via structure in a top view of the first conductive via structure.
Liaw739 discloses a first width (horizontal length of 163 in Fig. 3) of the first conductive via structure 163 (Fig. 3, paragraph 0027) is greater (see Fig. 4C and paragraph 0047, wherein “The longitudinal length X3 is larger than twice of the transversal length Y3.”) than a first length (vertical length of 163 in Fig. 3) of the first conductive via structure 163 (Fig. 3) in a top view (see Fig. 3) of the first conductive via structure 163 (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tsao to form a first width of the first conductive via structure is greater than a first length of the first conductive via structure in a top view of the first conductive via structure, as taught by Liaw739, since a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed ranges or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 f.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 14, Tsao further discloses the semiconductor device structure as claimed in claim 13, wherein a second width (vertical length of 170 in Fig. 2B) of the conductive line 170 (Fig. 2B) is less than a second length (horizontal length of 170 in Fig. 2B) of the conductive line 170 (Fig. 2B) in a top view (see Fig. 2B) of the conductive line 170 (Fig. 2B), and a width direction (direction of vertical length of 166a of left 10 in Fig. 2B) of the first conductive via structure (166a of left 10 in Fig. 3G) is substantially perpendicular to a length direction (direction of horizontal length of 170 in Fig. 2B) of the conductive line 170 (Fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 16, Tsao in view of Liaw739 discloses the semiconductor device structure as claimed in claim 13, however Tsao does not disclose the first width of the first conductive via structure is greater than a second width of the first source/drain structure, and a first width direction of the first conductive via structure is substantially parallel to a second width direction of the first source/drain structure.
Liaw739 discloses the first width (horizontal length of 163 in Fig. 3) of the first conductive via structure 163 (Fig. 3, paragraph 0027) is greater than a second width of the first source/drain structure (portion of 116 above 122 in Fig. 3), and a first width direction (direction of horizontal length of 163 in Fig. 3) of the first conductive via structure 163 (Fig. 3) is substantially parallel to a second width direction (direction of horizontal length of portion of 116 above 122 in Fig. 3) of the first source/drain structure (portion of 116 above 122 in Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tsao to form the first width of the first conductive via structure is greater than a second width of the first source/drain structure, and a first width direction of the first conductive via structure is substantially parallel to a second width direction of the first source/drain structure, as taught by Liaw739, since a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed ranges or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 f.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 22, Tsao further discloses the semiconductor device structure as claimed in claim 13, wherein a second conductive contact structure (145 and 150a of right 10 in Fig. 3G, paragraph 0057) in the first dielectric layer 134 (Fig. 3G) and over the second source/drain structure (128a of right 10 in Fig. 3G); and
a second conductive via structure (166a of right 10 in Fig. 3G, paragraph 0066) passing through the second dielectric layer 152 (Fig. 3G) and connected to the second conductive contact structure (145 and 150a of right 10 in Fig. 3G), wherein the conductive line 170 (Fig. 3G) is connected to the second conductive via structure (166a of right 10 in Fig. 3G).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsao in view of Liaw729 and Liaw739 as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2021/0134784) (hereafter Kim).
Regarding claim 20, Tsao further discloses the semiconductor device structure as claimed in claim 19, further comprising: a second conductive line 172 (Fig. 5F, paragraph 0065) over the second dielectric layer 152 (Fig. 5F) and adjacent to the first conductive line 170 (Fig. 5F).
Tsao, Liaw729, and Liaw739 do not disclose a first linewidth of the first conductive line is greater than a second linewidth of the second conductive line.
Kim discloses a first linewidth (W3 in Fig. 6, paragraph 0064) of the first conductive line M1_VDD (Fig. 6, paragraph 0064) is greater than a second linewidth (W4 in Fig. 6, paragraph 0064) of the second conductive line M1_S (Fig. 6, paragraph 0064).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tsao in view of Liaw729 and Liaw739 to form a first linewidth of the first conductive line is greater than a second linewidth of the second conductive line, as taught by Kim, since a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed ranges or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 f.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's arguments filed 4/8/2026 have been fully considered.
2. The applicant argues (REMARKS, third paragraph in page 11) that “The Examiner has not provided any evidence showing that the utilized references disclose "a second source/drain structure over the fin structure; a gate stack between the first source/drain structure and the second source/drain structure; a first spacer connected between the first source/drain structure and the gate stack; a second spacer connected between the second source/drain structure and the gate stack; and a conductive line over the first conductive via structure and the second dielectric layer, wherein the conductive line is electrically connected between the first source/drain structure and the second source/drain structure, and the conductive line is a continuous structure" as recited in amended claim 13.” However, Tsao et al. (US 2020/0091146) disclose a second source/drain structure (128a of right 10 in Fig. 3G, paragraph 0044) over the fin structure 110a (Fig. 3G); a gate stack 140c (Fig. 3G, paragraph 0051) between the first source/drain structure (128a of left 10 in Fig. 3G) and the second source/drain structure (128a of right 10 in Fig. 3G); a first spacer (122 contacting left sidewall of 140c in Fig. 3G, paragraph 0030) connected between the first source/drain structure (128a of left 10 in Fig. 3G) and the gate stack 140c (Fig. 3G); a second spacer (122 contacting right sidewall of 140c in Fig. 3G, paragraph 0030) connected between the second source/drain structure (128a of right 10 in Fig. 3G) and the gate stack 140c (Fig. 3G); and a conductive line 170 (Fig. 3G, paragraph 0066) over the first conductive via structure (166a of left 10 in Fig. 3G) and the second dielectric layer 152 (Fig. 3G), wherein the conductive line 170 (Fig. 3G) is electrically connected between the first source/drain structure (128a of left 10 in Fig. 3G) and the second source/drain structure (128a of right 10 in Fig. 3G), and the conductive line 170 (Fig. 3G) is a continuous structure.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 2, 4-12, 17, 19-21, and 23 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.B.K/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813