DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 4-9 have been considered but are moot on grounds of new rejection. The double patenting rejection of claims 10-15 is maintained due to lack of a properly filed terminal disclaimer.
Double Patenting
Claims 10-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-4 and 10-19 of copending Application No. 19/273,960. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
In regards to claim 10, 19/273,960 (claims 1, 2, 3, 10, 11, 17, 18, 19) discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a first well region laterally separated from a second well region in a substrate; a shallow trench isolation (STI) structure laterally between the first well region and the second well region in the substrate; a first deep implant region of a first dopant type opposite to a dopant type of the first well region, and vertically lower than the STI structure; a second deep implant region of a second dopant type opposite to a dopant type of the second well region, and vertically lower than the STI structure; a first shallow implant region of the first dopant type, vertically over the first deep implant region, and laterally between the first well region and the STI structure; and a second shallow implant region of the second dopant type, vertically over the second deep implant region, and laterally between the second well region and the STI structure.
In regards to claim 11, 19/273,960 (claims 4, 12) discloses wherein a dopant concentration in the first deep implant region is higher than a dopant concentration in the first shallow implant region, and wherein a dopant concentration in the second deep implant region is higher than a dopant concentration in the second shallow implant region.
In regards to claim 12, 19/273,960 (claim 16) discloses further comprising a first planar CMOS device in the first well region and a second planar CMOS device in the second well region.
In regards to claim 13, 19/273,960 (claim 13) discloses wherein the first dopant type of the first deep implant region and the second dopant type of the second deep implant region are opposite to each other.
In regards to claim 14, 19/273,960 (claim 14) discloses wherein the first dopant type of the first deep implant region and the second dopant type of the second deep implant region are identical.
In regards to claim 15, 19/273,960 (claims 5, 15, 20) discloses wherein the STI structure surrounds each of the first well region and the second well region.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karalkar et al. (Karalkar) (US 2023/0141491 A1) in view of Song et al. (Song) (CN 115020343 A).
In regards to claim 1, Karalkar (Figs. 3A, 3D and associated text and items) discloses a semiconductor device (items 300A, 300D), comprising: a first well region (item 315 on the left or right) laterally separated from a second well region (item 315 on the left or right) in a substrate (item 301); a shallow trench isolation (STI) structure (item 399) laterally between the first well region (item 315 on the left or right) and the second well region (item 315 on the left or right) in the substrate (item 301); a first implant region (items 331 or 332) of a third dopant type (n-type, paragraph 24) opposite to a first dopant type (p-type, paragraph 21) of the first well region (item 315 on the left or right) in the substrate (item 301), and disposed vertically lower than the STI structure (item 399); and a second implant region (items 331 or 332) of a fourth dopant type opposite to a second dopant type (n-type, paragraph 24) of the second well region in the substrate (item 301), and disposed vertically lower than the STI structure (item 399), but does not specifically disclose a shallow trench isolation (STI) structure (item 399) laterally between the first well region (item 315 on the left or right) and the second well region (item 315 on the left or right) in the substrate (item 301) and extending vertically lower than the first well region and the second well region.
Song (Fig. 18 and associated text) discloses a shallow trench isolation (STI) structure (item 14) laterally between the first well region (item 15) and the second well region (item 16) in the substrate (item 10) and extending vertically lower than the first well region (item 15) and the second well region (item 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Song for the purpose of ensuring the isolation effect between different semiconductor devices.
In regards to claim 4, Karalkar (Figs. 3A, 3D and associated text and items) discloses wherein the first dopant type (p-type, paragraph 21) and the second dopant type (p-type, paragraph 21) are identical.
In regards to claim 6, Karalkar (Figs. 3A, 3D and associated text and items) discloses wherein the STI structure (item 399) surrounds each of the first well region (item 315 on the left or right) and the second well region (item 315 on the left or right), wherein the first implant region (items 331 or 332) is disposed laterally between the first well region (item 315 on the left or right) and a lateral center of the STI structure (item 399), and wherein the second implant region (items 331 or 332) is disposed laterally between the second well region (item 315 on the left or right)and the lateral center of the STI structure (item 399).
In regards to claim 7, Karalkar (Figs. 3A, 3D and associated text and items) discloses wherein the STI structure (item 399) is in a shape of inverted trapezoid.
In regards to claim 8, Karalkar as modified by Song does not specifically disclose wherein a ratio of a width of the first implant region to a width of the STI structure is in a range from 5/100 to 95/100, and wherein a ratio of a width of the second implant region to the width of the STI structure is in a range from 5/100 to 95/100.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the invention to include a ratio of a width of the first implant region to a width of the STI structure being in a range from 5/100 to 95/100, and wherein a ratio of a width of the second implant region to the width of the STI structure being in a range from 5/100 to 95/100, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)).
Examiner notes that the Applicant has not given any criticality as to where any value within the ranges claimed yields an unexpected advantage and/or result.
Claim(s) 5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karalkar et al. (Karalkar) (US 2023/0141491 A1) in view of Song et al. (Song) (CN 115020343 A) as applied to claims 1, 4 and 6-8 above, and further in view of Disney et al. (Disney) (US 8,089,129 B2) or Mahalingan et al. (Mahalingam) (US 2023/0134131 A1).
In regards to claim 5, Karalkar does not specifically disclose wherein the first dopant type and the second dopant type are opposite.
Disney (Figs. 1-5, and associated text and items) discloses wherein the first dopant type (items 104/n-type or 105/p-type) and the second dopant type (items 104/n-type or 105/p-type) are opposite.
Mahalingan (Fig. 2, and associated text and items) discloses wherein the first dopant type (items 223/n-type or 220/p-type) and the second dopant type (items 223/n-type or 220/p-type) are opposite.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Disney or Mahalingam for the purpose of having a device that includes NMOS and PMOS transistors (col. 3,lines 40-60, Disney, paragraph 10, Mahalingam).
In regards to claim 9, Karalkar as modified by Song, as further modified by Disney (Figs. 1-5, and associated text and items) or Mahalingan (Fig. 2, and associated text and items) discloses further comprising a first complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) device (items 100A, 100B, Disney, item 207, Mahalingam) formed in the first well region (items 104, Disney, item 223, Mahalingam) and a second CMOS device (item 100C, Disney, item 206, Mahalingam) formed in the second well region (item 105, Disney, item 220, Mahalingam), wherein the first CMOS device (items 100A, 100B, Disney, item 207, Mahalingam) comprises a first planar MOSFET transistor, and wherein the second CMOS device (item 100C, Disney, item 206, Mahalingam) comprises a second planar MOSFET transistor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 21-25 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TELLY D. GREEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2898
/TELLY D GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898 September 8, 2026