DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ amendment of the claim filed 05/21/2026, in response to the rejection of claims 1-20 from the non-final office action (02/24/2026), by amending claims 1, 4-12, 15, 17, and 19-20 and cancelling claims 2-3, 16, and 18 is entered and will be addressed below.
Claim interpretations
The “a magnet plate disposed on the plurality of masks” of claims 1 and 15 includes an indirectly on the plurality of masks as Applicants’ figures show intervening components (CP, SUB) between the magnet plate CM and mask MMs.
To clarify claimed group, as claim 1 required the plurality of magnet parts moves in the selected direction (DR1), the group of claims 4-7 requires movement in the second/selected direction DR1 as shown in Figs. 6E-6F. the other group of claims 8-11 requires movement in the first/intersection direction DR2 as shown in Figs. 4D-4E and 6C.
The “the second direction corresponds to the even-numbered rows” of claim 4 and “the second direction corresponds to the odd-numbered rows” of claim 6 in the context of these claims, this is considered an intended use of the apparatus. When an apparatus that is capable of moving each rows independently or individually, it is considered read into the claimed. Similar interpretation for claims 8 and 10.
It has been held that claim language that simply specifies an intended use or field of use for the invention generally will not limit the scope of a claim (Walter, 618 F.2d at 769, 205 USPQ at 409; MPEP 2106). Additionally, in apparatus claims, intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim (In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); MPEP2111.02). When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2112.01).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7, 12-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun (KR 20190026997, hereafter ‘997), in view of Hong et al. (US 20160248049, hereafter ‘049).
‘997 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 1: a manufacturing apparatus of a display apparatus and a manufacturing method of the display apparatus (English translation, [0001], includes the claimed “A deposition apparatus comprising”):
The mask assembly 1 may include a mask frame 30, a mask sheet 10, and a support frame 40 (Fig. 1, [0040], includes the claimed “a mask frame”);
a long side of the mask frame 30 is a direction in which a plurality of mask sheets 10 are arranged, and a short side of the mask frame 30 may be a length direction of each mask sheet 10 (Figs. 1-2, [0043], 4th sentence, includes the claimed “a plurality of masks disposed on the mask frame, extending in a selected direction, disposed in an intersection direction intersecting the selected direction”, and “and each of the plurality of masks including cell areas” as shown in Fig. 2)
a magnet portion 140 ([0038], includes the claimed “a magnet plate disposed on the plurality of masks”);
the magnet unit 140 may include a plurality of electromagnets arranged adjacent to each other and operating independently of each other ([0048], last sentence, includes the claimed “and a plurality of magnet parts connected to a lower surface of the magnet plate” Fig. 2 shows a plurality of electromagnets as shown on a lower surface the magnet portion 140).
Claim 15: a manufacturing apparatus of a display apparatus and a manufacturing method of the display apparatus ([0001], includes the claimed “A deposition apparatus comprising”):
The mask assembly 1 may include a mask frame 30, a mask sheet 10, and a support frame 40 ([0040], includes the claimed “a mask frame”);
a long side of the mask frame 30 is a direction in which a plurality of mask sheets 10 are arranged, and a short side of the mask frame 30 may be a length direction of each mask sheet 10 (Figs. 1-2, [0043], 4th sentence, includes the claimed “a plurality of masks disposed on the mask frame, extending in a selected direction, disposed in an intersection direction intersecting the selected direction”, and “and each of the plurality of masks including cell areas” as shown in Fig. 2)
a magnet portion 140 ([0038], includes the claimed “a magnet plate disposed on the plurality of masks”);
the magnet unit 140 may include a plurality of electromagnets arranged adjacent to each other and operating independently of each other ([0048], last sentence, includes the claimed “and a plurality of magnet parts connected to a lower surface of the magnet plate” Fig. 2 shows a plurality of electromagnets as shown on a lower surface the magnet portion 140).
‘997 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claim 1: (1A) wherein at least one of the plurality of magnet parts is configured to move between a first arrangement (and a second arrangement);
wherein the plurality of magnet parts comprise:
a plurality of first magnet parts disposed to allow first polarities of the plurality of first magnet parts to face the plurality of masks; and
a plurality of second magnet parts disposed to allow second polarities of the plurality of second magnet parts to face the plurality of masks;
wherein in the first arrangement the plurality of first magnet parts and the plurality of second magnet parts are alternately disposed in the selected direction and the intersection direction;
(1B) wherein in the second arrangement, the plurality of first magnet parts overlapping the cell areas are sequentially disposed in the intersection direction, the plurality of second magnet parts overlapping the cell areas are sequentially disposed in the intersection direction, and the plurality of first magnet parts are alternately disposed with the plurality of second magnet parts in the selected direction.
Claim 15: (15A) the plurality of magnet parts comprising:
a plurality of first magnet parts disposed to allow first polarities thereof to face the plurality of masks; and
a plurality of second magnet parts disposed to allow the second polarities thereof to face the plurality of masks,
wherein the plurality of first magnet parts and the plurality of second magnet parts are configured to move between a first arrangement (and a second arrangement);
wherein in the first arrangement, the plurality of first magnet parts and the plurality of second magnet parts are alternately arranged in the selected direction and the intersection direction;
(15B) wherein in the second arrangement, the plurality of first magnet parts are sequentially disposed in the intersection direction, the plurality of second magnet parts are sequentially disposed in the intersection direction, and the plurality of first magnet parts are alternately disposed with the plurality of second magnet parts in the selected direction.
‘049 is an analogous art in the field of DEPOSITION APPARATUS (title). ‘049 teaches that a mask retainer disposed in the chamber and configured to retain a mask disposed over the major surface of the substrate. The mask retainer comprises a base, and a plurality of magnets coupled to the base, at least one of the plurality of magnets being movable with respect to the base, the plurality of magnets being configured to apply magnetic force to the mask such that the mask is fixed to the substrate without substantial movement of the mask with respect to the substrate during deposition of the deposition material (abstract), FIG. 2 is a diagram illustrating an appearance before magnets move, according to an embodiment of the present invention, and FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating an appearance after the magnets of FIG. 2 move ([0030]), Each magnet 142 may individually move and the magnets 142 attached to the first plate 144a and the second plate 144b may move in groups according to the movement of each plate 144a and 144b ([0051]), and Fig. 6 shows two dimensional array of the magnets 142, each neighboring magnet having opposite polarity, for the purpose of improving cohesion between a substrate and a mask by uniformly providing a magnetic force to the mask ([0007], i.e. Fig. 6 checker board pattern of polarity of the masks same as Applicants’ Fig. 2, therefore, the claimed “first arrangement”).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have replaced the electromagnets of ‘097 with a plurality of permanent magnets permanent magnet array as shown in Fig. 6 of ‘049 (the limitations of 1A and 15A), for the purpose of improving cohesion between a substrate and a mask by uniformly providing a magnetic force to the mask, as taught by ‘049 ([0007]). As each magnet is individually movable, as taught by ‘049 ([0051]), the combined apparatus is capable of the limitations of 1B and 15B by, for example, moving plate 144b to the left by a distance of two neighboring magnets 142 or moving magnets 142 in Fig. 4 individually.
The combination of ‘997 and ‘049 further teaches the limitations of:
Claims 4-7: as each individual magnets is independently movable in Fig. 6 of ‘049, or plate 144a and 144b can be independently moveable in Fig. 5, it is capable of moving either the even-number plate/row or the odd-number plate/row, the claimed “wherein in the second arrangement the intersection direction is defined as a first direction, the selected direction is defined as a second direction, the plurality of first magnet parts and the plurality of second magnet parts disposed in even-numbered rows among rows corresponding to the second direction are shifted relative to the first arrangement in the second direction, and the second direction corresponds to the even-numbered rows” of claim 4, and “wherein the second arrangement, the plurality of first magnet parts are sequentially disposed in the first direction, the plurality of second magnet parts are sequentially disposed in the first direction, and the plurality of first magnet parts are alternately disposed with the plurality of second magnet parts in the second direction” of claim 5, similar to Applicants’ Figs. 6E or 6F and “wherein in the second arrangement the intersection direction is defined as a first direction, the selected direction is defined as a second direction, the plurality of first magnet parts and the plurality of second magnet parts disposed in odd-numbered rows among rows corresponding to the second direction are shifted relative to the first arrangement in the second direction, and the second direction corresponds to the odd-numbered rows” of claim 6 and “wherein in the second arrangement, the plurality of first magnet parts are sequentially disposed in the first direction, the plurality of second magnet parts are sequentially disposed in the first direction, and the plurality of first magnet parts are alternately disposed with the second magnet parts in the second direction” of claim 7. Note also claims 4-5 and 6-7 are different merely by namely which polarity is as the first row).
Claim 12: Fig. 6 of ‘049 shows all magnets have the same area (includes the claimed “wherein the plurality of first magnet parts have a same area as the plurality of second magnet parts in a plan view”).
Claim 13: Fig. 2 of ‘997 shows cooling plate 150 between the magnet unit 140 and the masks 10 (includes the claimed “further comprising: a cooling plate disposed between the plurality of masks and the magnet plate”).
Claim 14: The linear driving unit 183 is connected to the magnet unit 140 and the cooling plate 150 to linearly move the magnet unit 140 and the cooling plate 150 (‘997, [0058], includes the claimed “further comprising: a driver connected to an upper surface of the magnet plate and extending in a direction intersecting the selected direction and the intersection direction”).
Claim 17: By moving magnets, it intrinsically results in the claimed “wherein the plurality of first magnet parts and the plurality of second magnet parts are in different positions between the first arrangement and the second arrangement”.
Claims 8-11 and 19-20, and alternatively claims 1, 4-7, 12-15, and 17, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘997 and ‘049, as being applied to claims 3 and 17 above, in view of Krijne et al. (US 20120178190, hereafter ‘190).
In case Applicants argue that ‘049 does not clearly teach that each magnet 142 in Fig. 6 is being moved more than the distance between two neighboring magnets, separation, or the magnet plates 144a/144b is being more than the distance between two neighboring magnets.
The combination of ‘997 and ‘049 does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 8: wherein in the second arrangement
the selected direction is defined as a first direction,
the intersection direction is defined as a second direction,
the plurality of first magnet parts and the plurality of second magnet parts disposed in even-numbered columns among columns corresponding to the first direction are shifted relative to the first arrangement in the first direction, and
the first direction corresponds to the even-numbered columns.
Claim 9: wherein in the second arrangement
the plurality of first magnet parts are sequentially disposed in the second direction,
the plurality of second magnet parts are sequentially disposed in the second direction, and
the plurality of first magnet parts are alternately disposed with the plurality of second magnet parts in the first direction.
Claim 10: wherein in the second arrangement
the selected direction is defined as a first direction,
the intersection direction is defined as a second direction,
the plurality of first magnet parts and the plurality of second magnet parts disposed in odd-numbered columns among columns corresponding to the first direction are shifted relative to the first arrangement in the first direction, and
the first direction corresponds to the odd-numbered columns.
Claim 11: wherein in the second arrangement,
the plurality of first magnet parts are sequentially disposed in the second direction,
the plurality of second magnet parts are sequentially disposed in the second direction, and
the plurality of first magnet parts are alternately disposed with the plurality of second magnet parts in the first direction.
Claim 19: wherein the intersection direction is defined as a first direction,
the selected direction is defined as a second direction, and
in the second arrangement, the plurality of first magnet parts are sequentially disposed in the first direction, the plurality of second magnet parts are sequentially disposed in the first direction, and the plurality of first magnet parts are alternately arranged with the plurality of second magnet parts in the second direction.
Claim 20: wherein the selected direction is defined as a first direction,
the intersection direction is defined as a second direction, and
in the second arrangement, the plurality of first magnet parts are sequentially arranged in the second direction, the plurality of second magnet parts are sequentially disposed in the second direction, and the plurality of first magnet parts are alternately arranged with the plurality of second magnet parts in the first direction
‘049 further teaches that as illustrated in FIG. 3, the plurality of magnets 142 according to the embodiment of the present invention may move to have high magnetic force strength in the inactive region 24 of the mask 20 which may block the deposition material 30 ([0044]). Note the deposition regions 12 varied in size in one side view direction but ‘049 does not show the deposition regions in another side view. Note also the magnets 142 position at the boundary between deposition region and the inactive region 24.
In other words, Figs. 2-3 of ‘049 shows the extent of movement is due to the size variation of the deposition regions 12.
‘190 is an analogous art in the field of Arrangement For Holding A Substrate In A Material Deposition Apparatus (title), including a shadow mask (abstract). ‘190 teaches that For example, deposition opening D of the shadow mask 2 is associated with the corresponding region R on the substrate 10 (Fig. 1a, [0039], 4th sentence). Fig. 1a shows the size of the openings D or the separation between neighboring openings D varied in both side views.
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have adopted mask 2 of ‘190 as the mask unit 140 of ‘997, therefore, to have adopted magnet spacing by the smallest opening D as shown in Fig. 1a of ‘190, and to have the movement capability according to the largest opening D as shown in Fig. 1a of ‘190, in other to have the capability to perform the adjustment as shown in Figs. 2-3 of ‘049 (therefore, each magnet 142 is capable of being moved more than the distance between two neighboring magnets). Furthermore, to have adopted movement of the individual magnets 142 of ‘049 in the directions DR2, for the purpose of improving cohesion between a substrate and a mask by uniformly providing magnetic forces to the mask in both horizontal directions, as taught by ‘049 ([0007]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regarding to the 112(b) rejections, see the top of page 9, Applicants’ amendment overcomes the rejection.
In regarding to 35 USC 103 rejection of claims 1-7 and 12-17, Applicants argue that Chun ‘997 and Hong ‘049 does not teach “wherein in the second arrangement, the plurality of first magnet parts overlapping the cell areas are sequentially disposed in the intersection direction, the plurality of second magnet parts overlapping the cell areas are sequentially disposed in the intersection direction, and the plurality of first magnet parts are alternately disposed with the plurality of second magnet parts in the selected direction” of amended claim 1 and 15, by citing [0010] and [0052] and Fig. 6 is not the second arrangement, of ‘049 see page 10.
This argument is found not persuasive.
Applicants ignore [0051] of ‘049:
Each magnet 142 may individually move and the magnets 142 attached to the first plate 144a and the second plate 144b may move in groups according to the movement of each plate 144a and 144b.
As each magnet is individually movable, as taught by ‘049 ([0051]), the combined apparatus is capable of the limitations of 1B and 15B by, for example, moving plate 144b to the left by a distance of two neighboring magnets 142 or moving magnets 142 in Fig. 4 individually.
The examiner omitted the rejection based on ‘659 merely to simplify the OC.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 3276423 is cited for big variation of mask opening in both directions (Fig. 1).
US 6214631 is cited for triangular apertures 110 on mask 100 (Fig. 1).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEATH T CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716