Detailed Action
Priority
Applicant’s arguments, see page 11, line 6- page 12, end of matrix, filed 6/02/2026, with respect to foreign priority application TW 112138094 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The priority date of 10/04/2023 has been granted and the requirements are fully satisfied.
Abstract
Applicant’s arguments, see page 12, lines 4-9, filed 6/02/2026, with respect to the abstract have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the abstract has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 7-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng et al (US Patent 10978122) hereinafter referred to as Tseng, and Oka et al. (US Pub 20190147931), hereinafter referred to as Oka.
Regarding claim 1, Tseng teaches a memory device comprising: a first memory cell (Tseng, 210, Fig. 5) comprising a control terminal (Tseng, Fig. 5, see diagram below), a first data terminal (Tseng, Fig. 5, see diagram below), and a source terminal (Tseng, Fig. 5, see diagram below); a second memory cell (Tseng, 220, Fig. 5) comprising a control terminal (Tseng, Fig. 5, see diagram below), a first data terminal (Tseng, Fig. 5, see diagram below)and a source terminal (Tseng, Fig. 5, see diagram below); and a bit line coupled to the first data terminal of the first memory cell and the first data terminal of the second memory cell (Tseng, BL1, Fig. 5).
Tseng does not teach a word line coupled to the control terminal of the first memory cell and the control terminal of the second memory cell; a first source line coupled to the source terminal of the first memory cell and configured to receive a first source voltage; a second source line coupled to the source terminal of the second memory cell and configured to receive a second source voltage, the second source voltage being different from the first source voltage.
However, Oka teaches a memory device with multiple cells, which shows; a word line coupled to the control terminal of the first memory cell and the control terminal of the second memory cell (Oka, WL0, Fig. 6); a first source line coupled to the source terminal of the first memory cell and configured to receive a first source voltage (Oka, SL0, Fig. 6); and a second source line coupled to the source terminal of the second memory cell and configured to receive a second source voltage (Oka, Fig. 6 SL1) the second source voltage being different from the first source voltage (Oka, Fig. 10, SL0 (H) and SL1 (L), paras. 82-85)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the memory device of Tseng with the word line, source line, voltages and vertical configuration of Oka in order to remove the need for an internal power supply, thereby reducing the memory macro size (Oka, para. 85).
Regarding claim 2, modified Tseng teaches he memory device of Claim 1, wherein the first source voltage (Oka, Fig. 10, SL0 (H)) is one of an enabling voltage and a disabling voltage, and the second source voltage (Oka, Fig. 10,SL1 (L)) is a remaining one of the enabling voltage and the disabling voltage (Oka, paras. 82-85).
Regarding claim 7, modified Tseng teaches he memory device of Claim 1, wherein: the first memory cell further comprises a second data terminal (Tseng, Fig. 5, see diagram below);
the second memory cell further comprises a second data terminal (Tseng, Fig. 5, see diagram below);
and the memory device further comprises a second bit line coupled to the second data terminal of the first memory cell and the second data terminal of the second memory cell (Tseng, BL2, Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 8, modified Tseng teaches the memory device of Claim 7, wherein: the first memory cell comprises: a first memory element (Tseng, 110, Fig. 5) comprising a first terminal coupled to the first data terminal of the first memory cell (Tseng, Fig. 5, see diagram below); and a second terminal (Tseng, Fig. 5, see diagram below); a second memory element (Tseng, 120, Fig. 5) comprising; a first terminal coupled to the second data terminal of the first memory cell (Tseng, Fig. 5, see diagram below), and a second terminal(Tseng, Fig. 5, see diagram below); a first transistor (Tseng, 1310, Fig. 5) comprising a control terminal coupled to the control terminal of the first memory cell, a first terminal coupled to the second terminal of the first memory element of the first memory cell, and a second terminal coupled to the source terminal of the first memory cell; a second transistor (Tseng, 1320, Fig. 5) comprising a control terminal coupled to the control terminal of the first memory cell, a first terminal coupled to the second terminal of the second memory element of the first memory cell, and a second terminal coupled to the source terminal of the first memory cell; and a third transistor (Tseng, 1330, Fig. 5) comprising a control terminal coupled to the control terminal of the first memory cell, a first terminal coupled to the first terminal of the first transistor of the first memory cell, and a second terminal coupled to the first terminal of the second transistor of the first memory cell; and the second memory cell comprises: a first memory element (Tseng, 130, Fig. 5) comprising a first terminal coupled to the first data terminal of the second memory cell, and a second terminal (Tseng, Fig. 5, see diagram below); a second memory element Tseng, 140, Fig. 5) comprising a first terminal coupled to the second data terminal of the second memory cell, and a second terminal (Tseng, Fig. 5, see diagram below); a first transistor (Tseng, 1340, Fig. 5) comprising a control terminal coupled to the control terminal of the second memory cell, a first terminal coupled to the second terminal of the first memory element of the second memory cell, and a second terminal coupled to the source terminal of the second memory cell; a second transistor (Tseng, 1350, Fig. 5) comprising a control terminal coupled to the control terminal of the second memory cell, a first terminal coupled to the second terminal of the second memory element of the second memory cell, and a second terminal coupled to the source terminal of the second memory cell; and a third transistor (Tseng, 1360, Fig. 5) comprising a control terminal coupled to the control terminal of the second memory cell, a first terminal coupled to the first terminal of the first transistor of the second memory cell, and a second terminal coupled to the first terminal of the second transistor of the second memory cell.
Regarding claim 9, modified Tseng teaches the memory device of Claim 8, wherein the first memory element and the second memory element of the first memory cell and the first memory element and the second memory element of the second memory cell are magnetic tunnel junctions (Tseng, Col. 5, lines 43-47), and the first transistor, the second transistor and the third transistor of the first memory cell and the first transistor, the second transistor and the third transistor of the second memory cell are N-type transistors (Tseng, Col. 3, lines 25-35, Col 5, lines 29-31).
Regarding claim 10, Tseng teaches a memory device comprising: a first source line formed along a first direction (Tseng, Fig. 9, 930(SL9)); a first bit line formed along the first direction (Tseng, 950(BL 92), Fig. 9); a second bit line formed along the first direction (Tseng, 950(BL91), Fig. 9); a first memory cell (Tseng. 210, Fig. 6) comprising: a first diffusion layer (Tseng, 610, Fig. 6) at least partially overlapping with the first bit line (Tseng, Col 6, lines 13-21); and a third diffusion layer (Tseng, 610, Fig. 6) at least partially overlapping with the first bit line (Tseng, Col. 6, lines 13-21); a second memory cell (Tseng, 220, Fig. 6) comprising: a second diffusion layer (Tseng, 610, Fig. 6) at least partially overlapping with the second bit line (Tseng, Col. 6, lines 13-21); and a fourth diffusion layer at least partially overlapping with the second bit line (Tseng, Col. 6, lines 13-21); a first bit line connection layer (Tseng, 935, Fig. 9) formed along a second direction and at least partially overlapping with the first diffusion layer; and a second bit line connection layer (Tseng, 935, Fig. 9) formed along a second direction and at least partially overlapping with the third diffusion layer.
Tseng does not teach a second source line formed along the first direction, the second source line and the first source line being separated from each other, or does it teach wherein the memory cells are arranged in a stacked vertical configuration along the source lines such that the first source and bit lines cross the first and third layers, and the second source and bit lines cross the second and fourth buffer layers .
However, Oka teaches a memory device with multiple cells, which shows, a first source line coupled to the source terminal of the first memory cell (Oka, SL0, Fig. 6); and a second source line coupled to the source terminal of the second memory cell (Oka, Fig. 6 SL1), wherein the first source line and the second source line are separated from each other. Oka also teaches a configuration wherein memory cells are arranged in a stacked configuration along the source lines (Oka, SL0, SL1 Fig. 6) and wherein the source and bit lines at least partially overlap the diffusion layer (Oka, 61, Fig. 7, paras. 68-69). Utilizing the stacked configuration of Oka combined with the bit line connectors of Tseng would result in bit line connection layers that are configured perpendicular to the source and bit lines, such that the first bit line connection layer overlaps the first and second diffusion layer, and the second bit line connection layer crosses the third and fourth diffusion layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the memory device of Tseng with the second source line and stacked configuration of Oka to create a memory device with two cells and two source lines in order to remove the need for an internal power supply, thereby reducing the memory macro size (Oka, paras. 82-85).
Regarding claim 11, modified Tseng teaches the memory device of Claim 10, wherein:
the first memory cell (Tseng, 210, Fig 6) further comprises: a first polysilicon layer (Tseng, WL1, Fig. 6, Col. 8, lines 24-34) formed along the second direction and at least partially overlapping with the first source line and the first bit line; a third polysilicon layer ((Tseng, WL2, Fig. 6, Col. 8, lines 24-34) formed along the second direction and at least partially overlapping with the first source line and the first bit line, wherein the first diffusion layer is located between the first polysilicon layer and the third polysilicon layer(Tseng, 610, Fig. 6); a fifth polysilicon layer (Tseng, WL3, Fig. 6, Col. 8, lines 24-34) formed along the second direction and at least partially overlapping with the first source line and the first bit line, wherein the third diffusion layer is located between the third polysilicon layer and the fifth polysilicon layer (Tseng, 610, Fig. 6); a first magnetic tunnel junction overlapping with the first diffusion layer and the first bit line (Tseng, 110, Fig 6, Col. 2, lines 32-51, Col 5, lines 43-47) ; a third magnetic tunnel junction overlapping with the third diffusion layer and the first bit line (Tseng, 120, Fig 6, Col. 2, lines 32-51, Col 5, lines 43-47); a fifth diffusion layer at least partially overlapping with the first source line (Tseng, 610, Fig. 6); and a sixth diffusion layer at least partially overlapping with the first source line(Tseng, 610, Fig. 6,): and the second memory cell (Tseng, 220, Fig. 6) further comprises; a second polysilicon layer (Tseng, WL4, Fig. 6, Col. 8, lines 24-34) formed along the second direction and at least partially overlapping with the second source line and the second bit line; a fourth polysilicon layer (Tseng, WL5, Fig. 6, Col. 8, lines 24-34) formed along the second direction and at least partially overlapping with the second source line and the second bit line, wherein the second diffusion layer is located between the second polysilicon layer and the fourth polysilicon layer (Tseng, 610, 610); a sixth polysilicon layer formed along the second direction and at least partially overlapping with the second source line and the second bit line (Tseng, WL6, Fig. 6, Col. 8, lines 24-34), wherein the fourth diffusion layer is located between the fourth polysilicon layer and the sixth polysilicon layer (Tseng, 610, Fig. 6); a second magnetic tunnel junction overlapping with the second diffusion layer and the second bit line (Tseng, 130, Fig 6, Col. 2, lines 32-51, Col 5, lines 43-47); a fourth magnetic tunnel junction overlapping with the fourth diffusion layer and the second bit line (Tseng, 140, Fig 6, Col. 2, lines 32-51, Col 5, lines 43-47); a seventh diffusion layer at least partially overlapping with the second source line (Tseng, 610, Fig. 6); and an eighth diffusion layer at least partially overlapping with the second source line (Tseng, 610, Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 12, modified Tseng teaches he memory device of Claim 11, wherein:
the first source line and the second source line are formed by a same conductive layer (Ok, para. 75); the first bit line and the second bit line are formed by a same conductive layer (Tseng, Fig. 9, 950(BL91), 950(BL92), Col. 8, lines 24-34); the first bit line connection layer and the second bit line connection layer are formed by a same conductive layer (Tseng, 935, Col. 8, lines 43-50);
the first polysilicon layer, the second polysilicon layer, the third polysilicon layer, the fourth polysilicon layer, the fifth polysilicon layer and the sixth polysilicon layer are formed by a same polysilicon layer (Tseng, 920, Fig. 9, Col. 8, lines 11-20), and the first diffusion layer, the second diffusion layer, the third diffusion layer, the fourth diffusion layer, the fifth diffusion layer, the sixth diffusion layer, the seventh diffusion layer and the eighth diffusion layer are formed by a same diffusion layer (Tseng, 910, Fig. 9, and 610, Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 13, modified Tseng teaches the memory device of Claim 11, wherein the first polysilicon layer, the second polysilicon layer, the third polysilicon layer, the fourth polysilicon layer, the fifth polysilicon layer and the sixth polysilicon layer are separated from each other (Tseng, 920, Fig 9, and WL1-9, Fig. 6, Col. 8, lines 24-34).
Regarding claim 14, modified Tseng teaches the memory device of Claim 11, further comprising: a first contact overlapping with the fifth diffusion layer (Tseng, CT, Fig. 6 see diagram below); a second contact overlapping with the sixth diffusion layer (Tseng, CT, Fig. 6, see diagram below); a third contact overlapping with the seventh diffusion layer (Tseng, CT, Fig. 6, see diagram below, using the vertical configuration imported from Oka, the second and third contact would be separate contacts); and a fourth contact overlapping with the eighth diffusion layer (Tseng, CT, Fig. 6 see diagram below).
Regarding claim 15, modified Tseng teaches the memory device of Claim 11, wherein:
the first memory cell further comprises a first via (Tseng, 971, Fig. 9) overlapping with the third diffusion layer and the third magnetic tunnel junction (Tseng, 9410, Fig. 9); and the second memory cell further comprises a second via (Tseng, 972, Fig. 9) overlapping with the second diffusion layer and the second magnetic tunnel junction (Tseng, 9420, Fig. 9).
Regarding, claim 16, modified Tseng teaches the memory device of Claim 10, wherein the first bit line and the second bit line are separated from each other, (Tseng, 950(BL91) and 950(BL92), Fig. 9)
Regarding claim 17, modified Tseng teaches the memory device of Claim 10, wherein the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction (Tseng, SL, WL, Fig. 6, SL is in first direction and WL is in second direction), (Oka, Fig. 7, para. 68, Second direction is orthogonal to the first direction).
Response to Arguments Claim Rejections 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments, see page 12, line 4- page17 line 14, filed 6/02/2026, with respect to the rejections of claim(s) 1-2 and 7-17 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Tseng and Oka, as described above.
Conclusion
/KIERAN M. CUNNINGHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/Britt Hanley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893