DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species 2, corresponding to claims 1-3 and 5-9, in the reply filed on 4/13/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, and 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al., US 11,697,588, in view of Yang, US 7,651,888, and Shu et al., US 9,365,416.
Regarding claim 1, Wang (figure 2) teaches a micro-electro-mechanical system (MEMS) package, comprising:
a wafer 102;
an interconnect structure 104, disposed on the wafer 102;
a passivation layer 204, disposed on the interconnect structure 102;
a device substrate 124 comprising a first MEMS device 134, disposed on the wafer 102 and bonded to the interconnect structure 104;
the device substrate 124 also comprising a second MEMS device 138, disposed on the wafer 102 and bonded to the interconnect structure 104;
a cap substrate 128 with a first cavity 136, bonded to the device substrate 124 and a second cavity 140, bonded to the device substrate 124; and
a getter 116a, disposed in an opening of the passivation layer 204, on the interconnect structure 104 and directly under the second MEMS device 138,
wherein the first cavity 136 has a first pressure, and the second cavity 140 has a second pressure lower than the first pressure (column 2, line 62-column 3, line 2).
Wang fails to teach the device substrate comprises a first device substrate comprising the first MEMS device; and a second device substrate comprising the second MEMS device laterally spaced apart from the first device substrate.
Yang (see marked up figure 6b below) teaches the device substrate comprises a first device substrate 3 comprising the first MEMS device; and a second device substrate 4 comprising the second MEMS device laterally spaced apart from the first device substrate 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the first and second device substrates of Yang in the invention of Wang because Yang teaches and known alternative equivalent device substrate. Whether one uses one device substrate with two regions or two separate device substrates is within the ordinary level of skill to skilled artisans. The substitution of one known equivalent technique for another may be obvious even if the prior art does not expressly suggest the substitution (Ex parte Novak 16 USPQ 2d 2041 (BPAI 1989); In re Mostovych 144 USPQ 38 (CCPA 1964); In re Leshin 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960); Graver Tank & Manufacturing Co. V. Linde Air Products Co. 85 USPQ 328 (USSC 1950).
Also, Wang, which teaches a wafer type cap substrate 125 bonded to a wafer type device substrate 124, and Yang, which teaches the cap substrates bonded to the wafer, both fail to teach the cap substrate comprises a first cap substrate with a first cavity, bonded to the first device substrate; and a second cap substrate with a second cavity, bonded to the second device substrate.
Shu (figure 2) teaches a first cap substrate 118 with a first cavity, bonded to the first device substrate 110. When this teaching is combined with Yang’s teaching of a separate cap substrate for each device substrate would result in a cap structure having a cavity for each device substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the separate device substrate bonded to the device substrate of Shu in the invention of Yang because Shu teaches the equivalence of bonding the cap substrate to the device substrate (figure 2) with bonding the cap substrate to the wafer (figure 1). The substitution of one known equivalent technique for another may be obvious even if the prior art does not expressly suggest the substitution (Ex parte Novak 16 USPQ 2d 2041 (BPAI 1989); In re Mostovych 144 USPQ 38 (CCPA 1964); In re Leshin 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960); Graver Tank & Manufacturing Co. V. Linde Air Products Co. 85 USPQ 328 (USSC 1950).
With respect to claim 2, Wang (column 1, lines 14-27) teaches the first MEMS device comprises an accelerometer and the second MEMS device comprises a gyroscope.
As to claim 3, Wang (figure 2) teaches the interconnect structure 104 comprises a top electrode layer 114a, the passivation layer 204 is disposed on the top electrode layer 114a, and the getter 116a is in contact with the top electrode layer 114a.
In re claim 5, Wang (figure 2) teaches the getter is electrically 116a connected to the interconnect structure 104 (through 114a).
Concerning claim 6, Wang (figure 2) teaches a vertical projection area of the getter 116a is overlapped with a vertical projection area of the second cavity 140.
Pertaining to claim 7, Wang (figure 2) teaches the second MEMS device 138 comprises a plurality of trenches (openings through 124), and though Wang fails to teach the getter 116a has a pattern corresponding to the plurality of trenches of the second MEMS device, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use trenches in the getter in the invention of Wang (figure 2) because changes in shape or proportion are within the ordinary level of skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 IV).
In clam 8, Wang teaches the getter 116a comprises Ti (column 5, lines 22-23), a Ti based alloy, a Zr based alloy, a Zr-V based alloy or a Zr-Co based alloy.
Regarding claim 9, though Wang fails to teach the getter 116a is configured to be a conductive stopper for the second MEMS device, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the getter as a conductive stopper in the invention of Wang because this is conventionally known and used in the art. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art teach various aspects of the invention.
/DAVID A ZARNEKE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891 6/10/26